Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2017, 08:05:34 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: AMD R9 290X?  (Read 108064 times)
rascal777
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 05:28:01 AM
 #421

290X/290 is not more power efficient than 280X. Even if it is so then the difference is really negligible. I see people mining with cards for 500E and mobos for 200E and can't stop wondering how are you going to make profit with such poorly chosen hardware ?


I need to see if I can find a calculator for this somewhere.

BTC TIPS  19n2ienyueN4RiC38KFSZMQMgrNLgu9Uuc
"Apparently, so I am told, there exist "people" who prefer to wipe sitting down. From the front. Initial research indicates it could be up to half the population." -- benjamindees
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1510949134
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510949134

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510949134
Reply with quote  #2

1510949134
Report to moderator
fulviata
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 101

VR Technologies


View Profile WWW
January 25, 2014, 09:35:54 AM
 #422

I was finally able to pull nearly a solid mh/s from one 290x for over 6 hours stable  Cheesy

Nothing really ridiculous either, just 1040/1500 at a TC value that took me quite some time to find. If you want and try for the same, start at 12x shaders for TC and find the best core/mem ratio. Then, just start increasing TC 50-100 each swat till the hashrate suffers. I never had to deviate more than 5mhz on core clock from the 1040 I started at. I'm right under 34000 for a TC value, but if I had to guess I'd say your results probably won't exactly match mine.

Lots of rejects, I was trying a new pool. Ignore the fan speed, don't know wtf is going on with that. Heat absolutely kills these cards too, I could show you a vid of what happens when I stall all my rad fans. The card shoots to high 70's lickidy split, and soon stumbles to 880kh/s or so...





I was able to get to 1.004mh/s, and it looked pretty damn cool having one card in the mh/s range in cgminer. It's not very stable though, yet  Grin



Hi, i can ask you an update about your cgminer config? can you post the config pls? i'm try to find the right configuration but i dont go up 880Kh/s :-)

thanks and compliments for your rig.

●●●VRT.WORLD● #VRT TOKEN SALE BEGINS ON DECEMBER,5●●●
VRT ICO: FIRST BLOCKCHAIN ECOSYSTEM for VR VRT ●
● [Twitter] [Facebook] [Medium] [Telegram] [Reddit] [Golos] [Youtube] ●
pontiacg5
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile
January 25, 2014, 06:07:51 PM
 #423


Hi, i can ask you an update about your cgminer config? can you post the config pls? i'm try to find the right configuration but i dont go up 880Kh/s :-)

thanks and compliments for your rig.

I posted my config in the post you quoted. You will not be able to run identical settings to mine, so quit being lazy and follow the guide I took the time to post.

Please DO NOT send me private messages asking for help setting up GPU miners. I will not respond!!!
Zombie123
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 812


View Profile
January 25, 2014, 09:02:22 PM
 #424

A question to all 290X owners here.

Why did you buy theese gpu`s? I can not work out how they can beat a 280X pricewice.
You're right.
1x 290X = 500 EUR
1x 280X = 250 EUR, so 2x280X=500 EUR
The final cost is the same.
with 2x280X will take more speed than 1x290X

true
but if you look at it like this.

4xamd 290x = +/- 1800 euro = 3600 - 3700 khash
4xamd 280x = +/- 1040 euro =  2800 - 3000 khash

so now thats a diff of about 800 euro's but if you wat to achieve the same hashrate at the 290x
you need to buy another mobo, cpu, memory, storage, powersupply and finally a 280x

and running 2 computers will have a bigger electricity bill.

so in the end you will pay more for 280x to achieve the same khashrate.
but thats only if your planning to build a strong rig etc



I have to agree with this analysis. For people who just want to build 1 or 2 rigs why should they go for 280X. Yes upfront cost is more but that doesn't matter in longer term. I have 4* XFX 290s set up mining away ( 880 for 3 and 900 for 1) so around 3.5Mhz with one Rig. I got them while they were 440$ at amazon. Unfortunately I cannot find them anymore Sad at that price and most of them are on back order. I can easily make .08 BTC on that rig / day without lifting a finger.. Now If I build a rig from 280X I can get a max of 2.7Mz  I lose around .02BTC each day

Cost wise 280X are cheaper by 100$ at max So I spend .5BTC extra on the rig which can be recovered in 1.5 Month ( may be 2 month if earnings keep on falling )

Is there any flaw with this reasoning ?
1369
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile WWW
February 06, 2014, 12:02:31 AM
 #425

Thanks for the info on this thread, was able to setup & get stable ~900khs on my 2 290x's using the figures & tips from the previous posts.

Horifatto
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546

Bullandterrier


View Profile
February 08, 2014, 09:00:46 AM
 #426

Hi, someone can help me? I have a problem with my r9 290x sapphire

If i set the TC over 27400 the miner (use multi miner or bfgminer) doesn't mine... why?

I 20 - g 2 - w 512

gpu 938
memory 1500

windows 7



perhan007
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile
February 08, 2014, 09:33:38 AM
 #427

Since I'm using BAMT 1.5, my 5x-powercolor290x-rig does solid 4600 kHash with no rejected shares but with widely open windows @ 92 degree celsius - so it's not a long term solution Sad

http://oi59.tinypic.com/54vaz9.jpg
Eastwind
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
February 08, 2014, 01:47:22 PM
 #428

A question to all 290X owners here.

Why did you buy theese gpu`s? I can not work out how they can beat a 280X pricewice.
You're right.
1x 290X = 500 EUR
1x 280X = 250 EUR, so 2x280X=500 EUR
The final cost is the same.
with 2x280X will take more speed than 1x290X

true
but if you look at it like this.

4xamd 290x = +/- 1800 euro = 3600 - 3700 khash
4xamd 280x = +/- 1040 euro =  2800 - 3000 khash

so now thats a diff of about 800 euro's but if you wat to achieve the same hashrate at the 290x
you need to buy another mobo, cpu, memory, storage, powersupply and finally a 280x

and running 2 computers will have a bigger electricity bill.

so in the end you will pay more for 280x to achieve the same khashrate.
but thats only if your planning to build a strong rig etc



I have to agree with this analysis. For people who just want to build 1 or 2 rigs why should they go for 280X. Yes upfront cost is more but that doesn't matter in longer term. I have 4* XFX 290s set up mining away ( 880 for 3 and 900 for 1) so around 3.5Mhz with one Rig. I got them while they were 440$ at amazon. Unfortunately I cannot find them anymore Sad at that price and most of them are on back order. I can easily make .08 BTC on that rig / day without lifting a finger.. Now If I build a rig from 280X I can get a max of 2.7Mz  I lose around .02BTC each day

Cost wise 280X are cheaper by 100$ at max So I spend .5BTC extra on the rig which can be recovered in 1.5 Month ( may be 2 month if earnings keep on falling )

Is there any flaw with this reasoning ?

5X280X have similar hash rate to 4X290X. There are many motherboards supporting 6 or 7 cards.

You also need to factor in the cost of electricity.
Zombie123
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 812


View Profile
February 09, 2014, 01:38:52 PM
 #429

If I want to put 5 cards I would put another 290 electricity difference is negligible for 280 and 290 unless you are only mining litecoin
longjohnnoob
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
February 09, 2014, 03:50:41 PM
 #430

hi
currently thinking about building a rig. from reading this thread . the 290 is the best card to get. I read somewhere that there is a motherboard available now that can support 6 cards. Any1 know of this motherboard?
Eastwind
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
February 11, 2014, 02:20:18 PM
 #431

hi
currently thinking about building a rig. from reading this thread . the 290 is the best card to get. I read somewhere that there is a motherboard available now that can support 6 cards. Any1 know of this motherboard?

Just an example, MSI Z77A G45 or GD55, GD65.

Motherboard designed for mining, and better riser cables in this thread
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=365181.0;topicseen

Motherboard of choice for 6 or more GPU's
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=186877.0;topicseen
mitsarasss
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 179


View Profile
February 27, 2014, 05:22:37 PM
 #432


I was able to get to 1.004mh/s, and it looked pretty damn cool having one card in the mh/s range in cgminer. It's not very stable though, yet  Grin
9999RPM!!!!  Shocked  
pontiacg5
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile
February 27, 2014, 09:52:42 PM
 #433


I was able to get to 1.004mh/s, and it looked pretty damn cool having one card in the mh/s range in cgminer. It's not very stable though, yet  Grin
9999RPM!!!!  Shocked  

It is over 9000 because it's a super 290x.

 


Please DO NOT send me private messages asking for help setting up GPU miners. I will not respond!!!
Wipeout2097
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
February 27, 2014, 10:25:45 PM
 #434

You're right.
1x 290X = 500 EUR
1x 280X = 250 EUR, so 2x280X=500 EUR
The final cost is the same.
with 2x280X will take more speed than 1x290X

I miss the cost for long time power consumption in your calculation...  please can you add them...   :-)

Power consumption on 280x is easily scalable. If it is your priority, you can undervolt them down to 0.9V, losing ~20% hashrate and saving 35 ~ 40% of power. You still get 600 ~ 650 Kh/s at 150W, depending on GPU and VRM stability


 
 
           ▄████▄
         ▄████████▄
       ▄████████████▄
     ▄████████████████▄
    ████████████████████      ▄█▄                 ▄███▄                 ▄███▄                 ▄████████████████▀   ▄██████████

  ▄▄▄▀█████▀▄▄▄▄▀█████▀▄▄▄     ▀██▄             ▄██▀ ▀██▄             ▄██▀ ▀██▄             ▄██▀                   ██
▄█████▄▀▀▀▄██████▄▀▀▀▄█████▄     ▀██▄         ▄██▀     ▀██▄         ▄██▀     ▀██▄         ▄██▀        ▄█▄          ▀██████████████▄
████████████████████████████       ▀██▄     ▄██▀         ▀██▄     ▄██▀         ▀██▄     ▄██▀          ▀█▀                        ██
 ▀████████████████████████▀          ▀██▄ ▄██▀             ▀██▄ ▄██▀     ▄█▄     ▀██▄ ▄██▀                                       ██
   ▀████████████████████▀              ▀███▀                 ▀███▀       ▀█▀       ▀███▀      ▄███████████████████████████████████▀
     ▀████████████████▀
       ▀████████████▀
         ▀████████▀
           ▀████▀
║║


║║
.
.

║║
██
║║
.
.

║║
██
║║
.
║║


║║
1369
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile WWW
February 27, 2014, 10:43:19 PM
 #435


I was able to get to 1.004mh/s, and it looked pretty damn cool having one card in the mh/s range in cgminer. It's not very stable though, yet  Grin
9999RPM!!!!  Shocked  

It is over 9000 because it's a super 290x.



Hate to burst this bubble, but with the latest release of CUDAminer,  Nvidia's Titan2 is now the top hashing card available. I got mine clocked @ 1,486kh/s stable. But I could only get it hashing Trollcoin, perhaps something with the proportionally modified gravity algorithm.... Any similar experiences?

dzzima
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
February 28, 2014, 09:17:38 AM
 #436

I have troubles with mining at itencity over 14 - the driver/card crashes, cgminer shows 0.00/0.00 hashrate.

I'm using win 8.1, catalyst 14.1, PSU 1250w, 8gb, stock gpu, memclock and voltage.  TC is 35765. Please help.

With -I 14 I have around 660 khash/s. Please help.
tico988
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
March 03, 2014, 09:54:52 PM
 #437

Does anyone have Sapphire R9 290X 4G DDR5 (SKU: 21226-00-40G)?

I tried everything but TC can't be higher than 25000, best performance at 22528, that is around 840khps.

Other settings standard:

"intensity" : "20",
"worksize" : "256",
"lookup-gap" : "2",
"shaders" : "2816",
"thread-concurrency" : "22528",
"gpu-engine" : "900",
"gpu-fan" : "90",
"gpu-memclock" : "1550",
"gpu-powertune" : " 0",
"temp-cutoff" : "90",
"temp-overheat" : "85",
"temp-target" : "80",

"api-port" : "4028",
"expiry" : "120",
"failover-only" : true,
"gpu-threads" : "1",
"no-pool-disable" : true,

"log" : "5",
"queue" : "1",
"scan-time" : "60",
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",
"scrypt" : true,
"kernel" : "scrypt",
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"

Any idea why cards go in failure when increasing TC above 25k? Do you think I could get more than 840 khps from those cards?
Zombie123
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 812


View Profile
March 03, 2014, 10:32:48 PM
 #438

Does anyone have Sapphire R9 290X 4G DDR5 (SKU: 21226-00-40G)?

I tried everything but TC can't be higher than 25000, best performance at 22528, that is around 840khps.

Other settings standard:

"intensity" : "20",
"worksize" : "256",
"lookup-gap" : "2",
"shaders" : "2816",
"thread-concurrency" : "22528",
"gpu-engine" : "900",
"gpu-fan" : "90",
"gpu-memclock" : "1550",
"gpu-powertune" : " 0",
"temp-cutoff" : "90",
"temp-overheat" : "85",
"temp-target" : "80",

"api-port" : "4028",
"expiry" : "120",
"failover-only" : true,
"gpu-threads" : "1",
"no-pool-disable" : true,

"log" : "5",
"queue" : "1",
"scan-time" : "60",
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",
"scrypt" : true,
"kernel" : "scrypt",
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"

Any idea why cards go in failure when increasing TC above 25k? Do you think I could get more than 840 khps from those cards?

how much ram do you have 4 or 8G
Varvarin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1105


No good deed goes unpunished


View Profile WWW
March 03, 2014, 10:57:51 PM
 #439

Does anyone have Sapphire R9 290X 4G DDR5 (SKU: 21226-00-40G)?

I tried everything but TC can't be higher than 25000, best performance at 22528, that is around 840khps.

Other settings standard:

"intensity" : "20",
"worksize" : "256",
"lookup-gap" : "2",
"shaders" : "2816",
"thread-concurrency" : "22528",
"gpu-engine" : "900",
"gpu-fan" : "90",
"gpu-memclock" : "1550",
"gpu-powertune" : " 0",
"temp-cutoff" : "90",
"temp-overheat" : "85",
"temp-target" : "80",

"api-port" : "4028",
"expiry" : "120",
"failover-only" : true,
"gpu-threads" : "1",
"no-pool-disable" : true,

"log" : "5",
"queue" : "1",
"scan-time" : "60",
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",
"scrypt" : true,
"kernel" : "scrypt",
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"

Any idea why cards go in failure when increasing TC above 25k? Do you think I could get more than 840 khps from those cards?

how much ram do you have 4 or 8G

I think the RAM speed is too high, especially without the powertune. Try at 1400MHz and see if that works, 290x should be able to handle  --thread-concurrency 32765 (27400 works good on 290) rather well and "worksize" : "512", GPU engine will be fine at 940Mhz, but hot. Judging by the temp target, you aren't using a stock card, no need to have fan running at 90%. 45-75% will do.

"auto-fan" : true,
"gpu-fan" : "45-75",

Coinmarket Cat prowls once again.
https://twitter.com/VarvarinEMC2
tico988
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
March 04, 2014, 08:45:44 AM
 #440

I have 8 GB RAM

T
Does anyone have Sapphire R9 290X 4G DDR5 (SKU: 21226-00-40G)?

I tried everything but TC can't be higher than 25000, best performance at 22528, that is around 840khps.

Other settings standard:

"intensity" : "20",
"worksize" : "256",
"lookup-gap" : "2",
"shaders" : "2816",
"thread-concurrency" : "22528",
"gpu-engine" : "900",
"gpu-fan" : "90",
"gpu-memclock" : "1550",
"gpu-powertune" : " 0",
"temp-cutoff" : "90",
"temp-overheat" : "85",
"temp-target" : "80",

"api-port" : "4028",
"expiry" : "120",
"failover-only" : true,
"gpu-threads" : "1",
"no-pool-disable" : true,

"log" : "5",
"queue" : "1",
"scan-time" : "60",
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",
"scrypt" : true,
"kernel" : "scrypt",
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"

Any idea why cards go in failure when increasing TC above 25k? Do you think I could get more than 840 khps from those cards?

how much ram do you have 4 or 8G

I think the RAM speed is too high, especially without the powertune. Try at 1400MHz and see if that works, 290x should be able to handle  --thread-concurrency 32765 (27400 works good on 290) rather well and "worksize" : "512", GPU engine will be fine at 940Mhz, but hot. Judging by the temp target, you aren't using a stock card, no need to have fan running at 90%. 45-75% will do.

"auto-fan" : true,
"gpu-fan" : "45-75",

tnx...I'll try your suggestions and let you know if it let me increase TC....should I also set the powertune to 20 or something like that?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!