Bitcoin Forum
November 25, 2017, 04:18:06 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: AMD R9 290X?  (Read 108140 times)
stefffe
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131



View Profile
October 11, 2013, 03:27:55 PM
 #61

any test in scrypt mining?

Yes, Im all into scrypt now days....But I cant seem to get a good hash rate, I was expecting same as 7970 as they are pretty much the same cards. But I only get 585 khash and the temp is waaay too high with 91c.

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511583486
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511583486

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511583486
Reply with quote  #2

1511583486
Report to moderator
1511583486
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511583486

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511583486
Reply with quote  #2

1511583486
Report to moderator
fattypig
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224



View Profile WWW
October 11, 2013, 03:32:49 PM
 #62

any test in scrypt mining?

Yes, Im all into scrypt now days....But I cant seem to get a good hash rate, I was expecting same as 7970 as they are pretty much the same cards. But I only get 585 khash and the temp is waaay too high with 91c.

your temp is really way too high, have high temp sometimes causes your hash rate to go lower. Do you have a 16x PCIE extender or something to hang it in the air?

A picture or 2 would be great.

stefffe
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131



View Profile
October 11, 2013, 03:36:17 PM
 #63

any test in scrypt mining?

Yes, Im all into scrypt now days....But I cant seem to get a good hash rate, I was expecting same as 7970 as they are pretty much the same cards. But I only get 585 khash and the temp is waaay too high with 91c.

your temp is really way too high, have high temp sometimes causes your hash rate to go lower. Do you have a 16x PCIE extender or something to hang it in the air?

A picture or 2 would be great.


As this card is connected to my office-pc, it is inside a closed case...thats probably why it is heating up so much. I also get artifacts on the screen so I dont think this is healty for the card? Cheesy

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
Lucky - Luciano
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 621



View Profile
October 11, 2013, 07:13:54 PM
 #64




No extra options tho

Nice  Grin

If you have time can you test it on litecoin or any other Scrypt base coin?
I want to see how many Kh/s it gives. Also please try to post watt usage Tongue

Hi,

I have been testing different settings for scrypt and I think im doing something wrong with the settings. Atm I only get avg 585 khash with these settings:

,
"intensity" : "13",
"vectors" : "1",
"worksize" : "256",
"kernel" : "scrypt",
"lookup-gap" : "0",
"thread-concurrency" : "8192",
"shaders" : "2048",
"gpu-engine" : "1110",
"gpu-fan" : "10-90",
"gpu-memclock" : "1605",
"gpu-memdiff" : "0",
"gpu-powertune" : "0",
"gpu-vddc" : "0.000",
"temp-cutoff" : "95",
"temp-overheat" : "86",
"temp-target" : "76",
"api-port" : "4028",
"expiry" : "120",
"gpu-dyninterval" : "7",
"gpu-platform" : "0",
"gpu-threads" : "1",
"log" : "5",
"no-pool-disable" : true,
"queue" : "1",
"scan-time" : "120",
"scrypt" : true,
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",
"shares" : "0",


If anyone has a clue what to change for more khash please say so Smiley I have tried higher Tc with lg 1-2 but that doesnt work at all.
[/quote
    Try "gpu-threads" : "2". You can try other settings of my 7970:
"lookup-gap" : "2",
"thread-concurrency" : "8192",
"gpu-engine" : "1080",
"gpu-memclock" : "1500",
"auto-fan" : true,
Samir_H
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


View Profile
October 11, 2013, 07:23:33 PM
 #65

As this card is connected to my office-pc, it is inside a closed case...thats probably why it is heating up so much. I also get artifacts on the screen so I dont think this is healty for the card? Cheesy

At 91c it's not going to last...
YipYip
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
October 11, 2013, 10:05:21 PM
 #66

The Smoke test is they are no real improvement Sad


OBJECT NOT FOUND
fattypig
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224



View Profile WWW
October 12, 2013, 01:17:41 AM
 #67

any test in scrypt mining?

Yes, Im all into scrypt now days....But I cant seem to get a good hash rate, I was expecting same as 7970 as they are pretty much the same cards. But I only get 585 khash and the temp is waaay too high with 91c.

You have to do something before you spoil other hardware. At 91C for graphic card, your motherboard, processor and everything else ganna be close to 70C.

chandrakant
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
October 12, 2013, 05:57:27 AM
 #68

any test in scrypt mining?

Yes, Im all into scrypt now days....But I cant seem to get a good hash rate, I was expecting same as 7970 as they are pretty much the same cards. But I only get 585 khash and the temp is waaay too high with 91c.

I was expecting a lot more kh/s  Cry
Anyways try increasing the Intensity to 15 & thread-concurrency too & see if the kh/s increases.
Also the main reason of high temp is your cabinet. I guess it doesn't have enough ventilation.
cowandtea
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


View Profile
October 12, 2013, 06:09:08 AM
 #69

You need some fan to exhaust the heat out and some holes to let the cool air go in.

Shouldn't cost you a lot..

Wipeout2097
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
October 12, 2013, 10:18:49 PM
 #70

Set "thread-concurrency" to 24000 or so.

See https://litecoin.info/Mining_hardware_comparison and look at the parameters used to take 7970's to higher hash rates. You should get 700+ Kh/s out of your card.


 
 
           ▄████▄
         ▄████████▄
       ▄████████████▄
     ▄████████████████▄
    ████████████████████      ▄█▄                 ▄███▄                 ▄███▄                 ▄████████████████▀   ▄██████████

  ▄▄▄▀█████▀▄▄▄▄▀█████▀▄▄▄     ▀██▄             ▄██▀ ▀██▄             ▄██▀ ▀██▄             ▄██▀                   ██
▄█████▄▀▀▀▄██████▄▀▀▀▄█████▄     ▀██▄         ▄██▀     ▀██▄         ▄██▀     ▀██▄         ▄██▀        ▄█▄          ▀██████████████▄
████████████████████████████       ▀██▄     ▄██▀         ▀██▄     ▄██▀         ▀██▄     ▄██▀          ▀█▀                        ██
 ▀████████████████████████▀          ▀██▄ ▄██▀             ▀██▄ ▄██▀     ▄█▄     ▀██▄ ▄██▀                                       ██
   ▀████████████████████▀              ▀███▀                 ▀███▀       ▀█▀       ▀███▀      ▄███████████████████████████████████▀
     ▀████████████████▀
       ▀████████████▀
         ▀████████▀
           ▀████▀
║║


║║
.
.

║║
██
║║
.
.

║║
██
║║
.
║║


║║
RandomQ
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672



View Profile
October 13, 2013, 03:10:29 AM
 #71

I saw someone posted this to another site

R9 280X   
740    KH/s
300    Watts
1100    Core
1500    Memory
cgminer 3.5.0   
Gigabyte GV-R928XOC-3GD   
"-w 256 -g 2 -I 13 --shaders 2048" / Windows 7, 1.15v - not locked, 78C, 015.039.000.001 firmware version
fattypig
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224



View Profile WWW
October 13, 2013, 03:44:51 AM
 #72

I saw someone posted this to another site

R9 280X   
740    KH/s
300    Watts
1100    Core
1500    Memory
cgminer 3.5.0   
Gigabyte GV-R928XOC-3GD   
"-w 256 -g 2 -I 13 --shaders 2048" / Windows 7, 1.15v - not locked, 78C, 015.039.000.001 firmware version

Thanks for the info, looks like the hash is almost the same as HD 7970. Have to wait for R9 290X now.. few more days

l3jmr
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 94


View Profile
October 13, 2013, 09:16:00 AM
 #73

300w looks like ALOT doesnt it?
stefffe
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131



View Profile
October 13, 2013, 11:27:58 AM
 #74

I saw someone posted this to another site

R9 280X   
740    KH/s
300    Watts
1100    Core
1500    Memory
cgminer 3.5.0   
Gigabyte GV-R928XOC-3GD   
"-w 256 -g 2 -I 13 --shaders 2048" / Windows 7, 1.15v - not locked, 78C, 015.039.000.001 firmware version

Thanks for the info, looks like the hash is almost the same as HD 7970. Have to wait for R9 290X now.. few more days


I get 550khash with these settings :O ?

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
ivanlabrie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile
October 13, 2013, 12:34:10 PM
 #75

I saw someone posted this to another site

R9 280X   
740    KH/s
300    Watts
1100    Core
1500    Memory
cgminer 3.5.0   
Gigabyte GV-R928XOC-3GD   
"-w 256 -g 2 -I 13 --shaders 2048" / Windows 7, 1.15v - not locked, 78C, 015.039.000.001 firmware version

Thanks for the info, looks like the hash is almost the same as HD 7970. Have to wait for R9 290X now.. few more days


I get 550khash with these settings :O ?

I've tried lots of things and bioses, and drivers with my former 7970 and had similar results. Had to clock it to 1053/1850 to get to 620kh/s :/
fattypig
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224



View Profile WWW
October 13, 2013, 12:52:59 PM
 #76

I saw someone posted this to another site

R9 280X   
740    KH/s
300    Watts
1100    Core
1500    Memory
cgminer 3.5.0   
Gigabyte GV-R928XOC-3GD   
"-w 256 -g 2 -I 13 --shaders 2048" / Windows 7, 1.15v - not locked, 78C, 015.039.000.001 firmware version

Thanks for the info, looks like the hash is almost the same as HD 7970. Have to wait for R9 290X now.. few more days


I get 550khash with these settings :O ?

I've tried lots of things and bioses, and drivers with my former 7970 and had similar results. Had to clock it to 1053/1850 to get to 620kh/s :/

Are you guys doing it right? In term of thread count and other settings. Because you should be getting 630 at stock clock and about 750 overclocked.

Too bad I don't have one and I can't really test it myself.

l3jmr
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 94


View Profile
October 13, 2013, 12:57:15 PM
 #77

I use the exact same settings on my sapphire 7970, with exception of not setting shaders but thread concurrency to 8192 and it works 760khash. Clock is set to 1080/1500 1,13v, 80 C in a computer case, not open air.
ivanlabrie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile
October 13, 2013, 02:43:54 PM
 #78

I saw someone posted this to another site

R9 280X   
740    KH/s
300    Watts
1100    Core
1500    Memory
cgminer 3.5.0   
Gigabyte GV-R928XOC-3GD   
"-w 256 -g 2 -I 13 --shaders 2048" / Windows 7, 1.15v - not locked, 78C, 015.039.000.001 firmware version

Thanks for the info, looks like the hash is almost the same as HD 7970. Have to wait for R9 290X now.. few more days


I get 550khash with these settings :O ?

I've tried lots of things and bioses, and drivers with my former 7970 and had similar results. Had to clock it to 1053/1850 to get to 620kh/s :/

Are you guys doing it right? In term of thread count and other settings. Because you should be getting 630 at stock clock and about 750 overclocked.

Too bad I don't have one and I can't really test it myself.

I did everything I could do, researched a whole lot and even helped others achieve good results with their gpus over at overclock.net but couldn't get my gpu to mine properly. I never had an issue with my former 6950, nor my 7950. (which wasn't the best miner but still pulled over 600kh/s without so much hassle)

Trying to figure out what card to get next, I'll probably order next month.
stefffe
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131



View Profile
October 14, 2013, 08:30:09 AM
 #79


Hi there, after a weekend full of testing.. all I can get is 605khash with my R9 280X with 1080/1500 settings...tried a lot of things, but most settings get a HUGE amount of HW errors.

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
stefffe
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131



View Profile
October 14, 2013, 01:59:34 PM
 #80


I get 550khash with these settings :O ?
There is something wrong here as you should be getting much more.
I get 650-700 from 7950s..



Yup I figured as much..but  I Dont know what. Using higher TC makes cgminer crash on start, same with using lookup-gap, tried clocking some, that got me 20-30 higher khash but crashed the card efter 15 mins

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!