Bitcoin Forum
November 23, 2017, 09:01:22 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: AMD R9 290X?  (Read 108125 times)
Fassan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
November 07, 2013, 07:02:07 AM
 #241

Try this:

-setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
-setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
cgminer --scrypt -o  -u  -p  -I 20 --thread-concurrency 8191 --worksize 256 -g 2 --lookup-gap 0

840 with a lot of hw error.

I don't know 100% the blue screen is related to the tc. When i play with cgminer (start and stopping) the driver may stop responding and I need to reboot and the occasional bluescreen. But if I reboot and start cgminer and let it run = no problems.
1511470882
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511470882

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511470882
Reply with quote  #2

1511470882
Report to moderator
1511470882
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511470882

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511470882
Reply with quote  #2

1511470882
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511470882
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511470882

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511470882
Reply with quote  #2

1511470882
Report to moderator
1511470882
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511470882

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511470882
Reply with quote  #2

1511470882
Report to moderator
1511470882
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511470882

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511470882
Reply with quote  #2

1511470882
Report to moderator
ivanlabrie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile
November 07, 2013, 09:27:01 AM
 #242

Try this:

-setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
-setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
cgminer --scrypt -o  -u  -p  -I 20 --thread-concurrency 8191 --worksize 256 -g 2 --lookup-gap 0

840 with a lot of hw error.

I don't know 100% the blue screen is related to the tc. When i play with cgminer (start and stopping) the driver may stop responding and I need to reboot and the occasional bluescreen. But if I reboot and start cgminer and let it run = no problems.

Oh my bad, try that with higher TC...was a bit sleepy. :p
Fassan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
November 07, 2013, 04:26:49 PM
 #243

Try this:

-setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
-setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
cgminer --scrypt -o  -u  -p  -I 20 --thread-concurrency 8191 --worksize 256 -g 2 --lookup-gap 0

840 with a lot of hw error.

I don't know 100% the blue screen is related to the tc. When i play with cgminer (start and stopping) the driver may stop responding and I need to reboot and the occasional bluescreen. But if I reboot and start cgminer and let it run = no problems.

Oh my bad, try that with higher TC...was a bit sleepy. :p

No good results Sad.

What is the correct way to calculate the tc?
pontiacg5
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile
November 07, 2013, 04:39:43 PM
 #244

From the scrypt readme

Quote
--thread-concurrency:
This tunes the optimal size of work that scrypt can do. It is internally tuned
by cgminer to be the highest reasonable multiple of shaders that it can
allocate on your GPU. Ideally it should be a multiple of your shader count.
vliw5 architecture (R5XXX) would be best at 5x shaders, while VLIW4 (R6xxx and
R7xxx) are best at 4x. Setting thread concurrency overrides anything you put
into --shaders and is ultimately a BETTER way to tune performance.
SUMMARY: Spend lots of time finding the highest value that your device likes
and increases hashrate.

Quote
---
TUNING AN AMD RADEON 7970
Example tuning a 7970 for Scrypt mining:

On linux run this command:
export GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT=100
or on windows this:
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
in the same console/bash/dos prompt/bat file/whatever you want to call it,
before running cgminer.

First, find the highest thread concurrency that you can start it at. They should
all start at 8192 but some will go up to 3 times that. Don't go too high on the
intensity while testing and don't change gpu threads. If you cannot go above
8192, don't fret as you can still get a high hashrate.
Delete any .bin files so you're starting from scratch and see what bins get
generated.

First try without any thread concurrency or even shaders, as cgminer will try to
find an optimal value
cgminer -I 13

If that starts mining, see what bin was generated, it is likely the largest
meaningful TC you can set.
Starting it on mine I get:
scrypt130302Tahitiglg2tc22392w64l8.bin

See tc22392 that's telling you what thread concurrency it was. It should start
without TC parameters, but you never know. So if it doesn't, start with
--thread-concurrency 8192 and add 2048 to it at a time till you find the highest
value it will start successfully at.


Please DO NOT send me private messages asking for help setting up GPU miners. I will not respond!!!
Fassan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
November 07, 2013, 06:02:57 PM
 #245

So according to reamde I should try 2816 x 4 and 5 =  11264 14080 tc. Low results here.
If my math isn't off the overclockers guy uses shaders x 11.63 ish and thats way off according to readme.

The readme don't always apply 100% (sometimes way off) to find the sweet spot. I am wrong here?
Can cards really differ this much or is this a problem with win 8.1 and or AMD drivers??
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile
November 07, 2013, 06:07:43 PM
 #246

My best setting so far is 882KH/s. 920/1500 TC 32765 -g 1. Still havent had time to mess with -g 2, but the only way I can get -g 2 to work without hw errors at 800kh/s or more is with TC at 22550ish or higher. -g 2 needs intensity of 19 or 20 with this card, not 13 like a 7970. These don't configure like previous cards at all.
Fassan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
November 07, 2013, 06:45:49 PM
 #247

My best setting so far is 882KH/s. 920/1500 TC 32765 -g 1. Still havent had time to mess with -g 2, but the only way I can get -g 2 to work without hw errors at 800kh/s or more is with TC at 22550ish or higher. -g 2 needs intensity of 19 or 20 with this card, not 13 like a 7970. These don't configure like previous cards at all.

Running 880 now with those clocks. Smiley
winner999
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
November 07, 2013, 07:40:00 PM
 #248

It looks like 1000kh/s is possible with higher clocks.
forevernoob
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 676



View Profile
November 07, 2013, 08:31:22 PM
 #249

It looks like 1000kh/s is possible with higher clocks.

Screenshot?

Zawamiya
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 535



View Profile
November 08, 2013, 01:51:41 AM
 #250

It looks like 1000kh/s is possible with higher clocks.

What is your settings?
CryptoCluster
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile
November 08, 2013, 02:56:14 PM
 #251

Someone on Litecoin forum got 843 khs from 290 non-x version.
source: https://forum.litecoin.net/index.php/topic,6842.0.html

"The cumulative development of a medium of exchange on the free market — is the only way money can become established. ... government is powerless to create money for the economy; it can only be developed by the processes of the free market." M. N. Rothbard
ivanlabrie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile
November 08, 2013, 03:42:53 PM
 #252

Someone on Litecoin forum got 843 khs from 290 non-x version.
source: https://forum.litecoin.net/index.php/topic,6842.0.html

Thanks! That's the one I want...
carly200
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
November 08, 2013, 06:52:49 PM
 #253

I am not registered on that board... but I would like to know the Watt at the wall.

And also, if those settings are stable for 30min,  24h.... (and not just a 2min test)
leannemckim46
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile
November 09, 2013, 12:54:06 AM
 #254

Someone on Litecoin forum got 843 khs from 290 non-x version.
source: https://forum.litecoin.net/index.php/topic,6842.0.html

Thanks! That's the one I want...

Thanks for sharing, now we just need to wait if the wattage usage is same as R9 280x.... but again I am thinking since ASIC is for scrypt... what should I do ... hm...

██████████████████████
██████████████████████
██████████████████████
██████████████████████
██████████████████████
██████████████████████
██████████████████████
██████████████████████
██████████████████████
██████████████████████
██████████████████████
██████████████████████
██████████████████████
██████████████████████
RISE
easynote
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


"Flixxo - Watch, Share, Earn!"


View Profile
November 09, 2013, 01:26:12 AM
 #255

Maybe i buy that card soon Cheesy

X       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄██▀▀         ▀▀██▄
  ▄██▀              ▀██▄
 ▄██     ██▄▄          ██▄
▄██      █████▄▄        ██▄
██       ████████▄▄      ██
██       ███████████▄    ██
██       ██████████▀     ██
▀██      ███████▀       ██▀
 ▀██     ████▀         ██▀
  ▀██▄   █▀          ▄██▀
    ▀██▄▄         ▄▄██▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
.flixxo    X▄████████████████████▄
██████████████████████
██████████████████████
████████████▀▀███████
█████▀████░░░░░░▄████
█████░░░░░░░░░░▄█████
█████▄░░░░░░░░░░██████
██████░░░░░░░░░███████
███████░░░░░░▄████████
████▄▄░░░░▄▄██████████
██████████████████████
██████████████████████
▀████████████████████▀
▄████████████████████▄
██████████████████████
█████████▀█▀██████████
██████▀▀▀▀▀████████
██████▄▄░░▄▄▄░░███████
████████░░███░░███████
████████░░░░░░▀███████
████████░░███▄░░██████
██████▀▀░░▀▀▀░░░██████
██████▄▄▄▄▄▄███████
█████████▄█▄██████████
██████████████████████
▀████████████████████▀
X[[]]X
MelodyRowell
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 338


View Profile
November 09, 2013, 01:49:14 AM
 #256

Nice, waiting for more info for R9 290 cards..... wattage Tongue
Gator-hex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


View Profile
November 09, 2013, 02:45:29 AM
 #257

Quote
Still waiting for more info about the non x...

Nice, waiting for more info for R9 290 cards..... wattage

It's 2x7870s (2560 SPUs) on a single card that's all you need to know.  Wink

The most power efficient card is the new 7990 (4096 SPUs) with 2x 8pin power. (effectivly 2x7970s with the power of a single 7970!)

goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
November 09, 2013, 03:18:10 AM
 #258

Both my SAPPHIRE 290X come with Elpida Memory and are duds wrt scrypt mining. Anything above 550Kh/s comes with lots of HW errors.

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
November 09, 2013, 03:33:26 AM
 #259

If your card is working great can you please post the output of MemtestCL. it's kind of like a memory test for GPU

https://simtk.org/project/xml/downloads.xml?group_id=385

Both my Sapphire R9 290X with Elpida Memory chips throw lots of errors

The errors are in      Random blocks Test
Random blocks: 985 errors (0 ms)
Code:
Test iteration 6 on 128 MiB of memory on device 0 (Hawaii): 0 errors so far
        Moving Inversions (ones and zeros): 0 errors (0 ms)
        Moving Inversions (random): 0 errors (16 ms)
        Memtest86 Walking 8-bit: 0 errors (31 ms)
        True Walking zeros (8-bit): 0 errors (16 ms)
        True Walking ones (8-bit): 0 errors (15 ms)
        Memtest86 Walking zeros (32-bit): 0 errors (78 ms)
        Memtest86 Walking ones (32-bit): 0 errors (63 ms)
        Random blocks: 985 errors (0 ms)
        Memtest86 Modulo-20: 0 errors (171 ms)
        Logic (one iteration): 0 errors (0 ms)
        Logic (4 iterations): 0 errors (0 ms)
        Logic (local memory, one iteration): 0 errors (16 ms)
        Logic (local memory, 4 iterations): 0 errors (0 ms)

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
scyth3
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 463


View Profile
November 09, 2013, 07:50:37 AM
 #260

Nice, waiting for more info for R9 290 cards..... wattage Tongue

I'm getting 360w at wall for the whole system.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!