Bitcoin Forum
February 22, 2020, 01:49:54 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 [69] 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitmain launches the Z9 Equihash miner  (Read 36797 times)
Eyedol-X
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 505



View Profile
June 29, 2018, 02:52:11 AM
 #1361

Screw Bitmain...this is how you get a 2 in 1 miner by yourself Cheesy

Might have some fun stuff for you guys soon (I figured out the voltage controller which is how I hit 800mhz stable btw).



Are you using a voltage app to adjust please educate!

Unfortunately no, trying to build a solution similar to my L3+ voltage app, but currently I had to hack into the voltage controller and control it externally via a Raspberry pi. This is what it looks like, and doubt most people will want to do this to their brand new units:

Seems like bitmain saw what I was doing with their L3's and they shut off the user space i2c interface which controls all this stuff, they also haven't release the firmware so I can't hack that to enable it. Either way even if I can get it working with the internal controller, you will still have to pull your boards and shunt two resistor pads to connect the voltage controller i2c lines, they also purposely set these lines disconnected so there is no possibility for normal users to change anything.

All this makes sense when you look at the hardware, they are running these way below half power of what they can output...so they REALLY don't want people to know this. These things are polaris sized dies ~200mm^2. Each of these dies can easily do 100 watts each with proper cooling (vs the stock 20 watts). This is definitely the most advanced ASIC bitmain has made, and you can see all the billions they are making is going into serious R&D.

Even their voltage controllers are in the "GPU" territory now. This is run by an advanced muti-phase regulator. This particular board has 6 phases, with only 4 phases used. Each phase has a 60amp capability, so total output of 240 amps. Stock voltage is set at 800mv so were talking 200 watts PER BOARD, with only 80 watts utilized. Im already order parts for the rest of the phases since I'm already running near the max with 20 KSols/s I'm running now. That will bump things up to over 300 watts and over 25KSols/s. These chips will definitely be running at 2KSols each in their big miner.


Some great info here, what do you feel would be the recommended max chip temp for the included cooling solution?
1582379394
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1582379394

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1582379394
Reply with quote  #2

1582379394
Report to moderator
1582379394
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1582379394

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1582379394
Reply with quote  #2

1582379394
Report to moderator
100% First Deposit Bonus Instant Withdrawals Best Odds 10+ Sports Since 2014 No KYC Asked Play Now
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1582379394
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1582379394

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1582379394
Reply with quote  #2

1582379394
Report to moderator
Oakey22
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 480
Merit: 322


View Profile
June 29, 2018, 07:10:56 AM
 #1362

Great work on getting the pi to control the voltage controller. If you decide to release how to do it all that would be awesome
REF Crypto
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 29, 2018, 08:23:30 AM
 #1363

Daily gain rows gain!
whoismoses
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 58


View Profile
June 29, 2018, 11:21:52 AM
 #1364

Does the "Discarded" column matter? The two bold number below are the "Accepted" and "Discarded" values.

Alive   17   568   0   8,662   0   115,123   134   0   8   24,249   0   17   0:00:08
jackmin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 29, 2018, 12:09:19 PM
 #1365

hi a question, why no one seems to be mining in antpool? is it other pool has better payout?
happie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 29, 2018, 12:18:52 PM
 #1366

Does the "Discarded" column matter? The two bold number below are the "Accepted" and "Discarded" values.

Alive   17   568   0   8,662   0   115,123   134   0   8   24,249   0   17   0:00:08

No discarded is of no concern. Those are shares not processed by the miner and has no effect on efficiency.
malizechris
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 86
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
June 29, 2018, 12:51:02 PM
 #1367

How can I start mining. I'm new here?
TGJ
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 118
Merit: 3


View Profile
June 29, 2018, 01:12:15 PM
 #1368

How can I start mining. I'm new here?
Plug in your machine and join a pool. It’s that simple.
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1637
Merit: 1243


View Profile
June 29, 2018, 03:05:33 PM
Merited by not.you (3)
 #1369

Screw Bitmain...this is how you get a 2 in 1 miner by yourself Cheesy

Might have some fun stuff for you guys soon (I figured out the voltage controller which is how I hit 800mhz stable btw).



Are you using a voltage app to adjust please educate!

Unfortunately no, trying to build a solution similar to my L3+ voltage app, but currently I had to hack into the voltage controller and control it externally via a Raspberry pi. This is what it looks like, and doubt most people will want to do this to their brand new units:

Seems like bitmain saw what I was doing with their L3's and they shut off the user space i2c interface which controls all this stuff, they also haven't release the firmware so I can't hack that to enable it. Either way even if I can get it working with the internal controller, you will still have to pull your boards and shunt two resistor pads to connect the voltage controller i2c lines, they also purposely set these lines disconnected so there is no possibility for normal users to change anything.

All this makes sense when you look at the hardware, they are running these way below half power of what they can output...so they REALLY don't want people to know this. These things are polaris sized dies ~200mm^2. Each of these dies can easily do 100 watts each with proper cooling (vs the stock 20 watts). This is definitely the most advanced ASIC bitmain has made, and you can see all the billions they are making is going into serious R&D.

Even their voltage controllers are in the "GPU" territory now. This is run by an advanced muti-phase regulator. This particular board has 6 phases, with only 4 phases used. Each phase has a 60amp capability, so total output of 240 amps. Stock voltage is set at 800mv so were talking 200 watts PER BOARD, with only 80 watts utilized. Im already order parts for the rest of the phases since I'm already running near the max with 20 KSols/s I'm running now. That will bump things up to over 300 watts and over 25KSols/s. These chips will definitely be running at 2KSols each in their big miner.


Some great info here, what do you feel would be the recommended max chip temp for the included cooling solution?

These are GPU sized dies...I would not push them more than what you would push your normal GPU. These are not the normal small packaged dies Bitmain uses, so they can definitely not take 90C+ of continuous temps before something goes wrong.

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
Eyedol-X
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 505



View Profile
June 29, 2018, 03:08:42 PM
 #1370

Screw Bitmain...this is how you get a 2 in 1 miner by yourself Cheesy

Might have some fun stuff for you guys soon (I figured out the voltage controller which is how I hit 800mhz stable btw).



Are you using a voltage app to adjust please educate!

Unfortunately no, trying to build a solution similar to my L3+ voltage app, but currently I had to hack into the voltage controller and control it externally via a Raspberry pi. This is what it looks like, and doubt most people will want to do this to their brand new units:

Seems like bitmain saw what I was doing with their L3's and they shut off the user space i2c interface which controls all this stuff, they also haven't release the firmware so I can't hack that to enable it. Either way even if I can get it working with the internal controller, you will still have to pull your boards and shunt two resistor pads to connect the voltage controller i2c lines, they also purposely set these lines disconnected so there is no possibility for normal users to change anything.

All this makes sense when you look at the hardware, they are running these way below half power of what they can output...so they REALLY don't want people to know this. These things are polaris sized dies ~200mm^2. Each of these dies can easily do 100 watts each with proper cooling (vs the stock 20 watts). This is definitely the most advanced ASIC bitmain has made, and you can see all the billions they are making is going into serious R&D.

Even their voltage controllers are in the "GPU" territory now. This is run by an advanced muti-phase regulator. This particular board has 6 phases, with only 4 phases used. Each phase has a 60amp capability, so total output of 240 amps. Stock voltage is set at 800mv so were talking 200 watts PER BOARD, with only 80 watts utilized. Im already order parts for the rest of the phases since I'm already running near the max with 20 KSols/s I'm running now. That will bump things up to over 300 watts and over 25KSols/s. These chips will definitely be running at 2KSols each in their big miner.


Some great info here, what do you feel would be the recommended max chip temp for the included cooling solution?

These are GPU sized dies...I would not push them more than what you would push your normal GPU. These are not the normal small packaged dies Bitmain uses, so they can definitely not take 90C+ of continuous temps before something goes wrong.

I don't push my GPU's past 72-75c max so sounds like some of those out there with extreme overclocks should take note of the temps.
not.you
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1729
Merit: 1018


View Profile
June 29, 2018, 03:17:14 PM
 #1371

Quote from: conversation
...snip...

Some great info here, what do you feel would be the recommended max chip temp for the included cooling solution?

These are GPU sized dies...I would not push them more than what you would push your normal GPU. These are not the normal small packaged dies Bitmain uses, so they can definitely not take 90C+ of continuous temps before something goes wrong.

I don't push my GPU's past 72-75c max so sounds like some of those out there with extreme overclocks should take note of the temps.

This is good to know!
Sebahl
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 95
Merit: 3


View Profile
June 29, 2018, 03:28:01 PM
 #1372

I am debating if I should buy the 2nd batch, since I have the $250 coupons?! What are you guys doing with the coupons? I have free electricity included in my apartment cost so I would be happy if I could just ROI in  half a year. But I am afraid those will become doorstoppers eventually?!
Felunk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 29, 2018, 04:18:12 PM
 #1373

I am debating if I should buy the 2nd batch, since I have the $250 coupons?! What are you guys doing with the coupons? I have free electricity included in my apartment cost so I would be happy if I could just ROI in  half a year. But I am afraid those will become doorstoppers eventually?!

With free electricity and coupon i'd give you the green light....sounds like zcash is not gonna fork now so you'll always have a coin to mine.  Even though all the z9 ever made(and the faster more effecient ones coming out) will be on it with you, you should be good with the free power and the low consumption on this device to at least ROI and not get your apartment supervisor angry at the high power bills(for awhile anyway).  But yeah this guy will be a big paper weight in 3-6 months, so if you expect your free power situation to change i'd say no.
Kahooli
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 29, 2018, 04:21:15 PM
 #1374

Screw Bitmain...this is how you get a 2 in 1 miner by yourself Cheesy

Might have some fun stuff for you guys soon (I figured out the voltage controller which is how I hit 800mhz stable btw).



Are you using a voltage app to adjust please educate!


Some great info here, what do you feel would be the recommended max chip temp for the included cooling solution?

These are GPU sized dies...I would not push them more than what you would push your normal GPU. These are not the normal small packaged dies Bitmain uses, so they can definitely not take 90C+ of continuous temps before something goes wrong.

https://forum.z.cash/t/let-s-talk-about-asic-mining/27353/3845?u=kahooli

FYI, someone pulled a die on one and tromp has made some comments regarding the silicon.
bones261
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1727



View Profile
June 29, 2018, 05:04:52 PM
 #1375

I am debating if I should buy the 2nd batch, since I have the $250 coupons?! What are you guys doing with the coupons? I have free electricity included in my apartment cost so I would be happy if I could just ROI in  half a year. But I am afraid those will become doorstoppers eventually?!

With free electricity and coupon i'd give you the green light....sounds like zcash is not gonna fork now so you'll always have a coin to mine.  Even though all the z9 ever made(and the faster more effecient ones coming out) will be on it with you, you should be good with the free power and the low consumption on this device to at least ROI and not get your apartment supervisor angry at the high power bills(for awhile anyway).  But yeah this guy will be a big paper weight in 3-6 months, so if you expect your free power situation to change i'd say no.

What are you talking about? Zcash just did a vote at their Montreal conference and will be putting ASIC resistance on the back burner. https://www.coindesk.com/zcash-governance-panel-shoots-research-asic-resistance/
By the time they get around to it, ASIC mining will have a strong foothold and the GPU miners will go searching elsewhere for the few scraps left; if not shutting down entirely. Since most of the mining hash will be derived from ASICS, I am sure they will get increasing push back from their ASIC mining community. Who is going to go along with turning their coin making machines into bricks?
prettycode
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 29, 2018, 07:38:25 PM
 #1376

Average Hashrate Questions

Can anyone comment on the average hashrate ("KSol/S(avg)") that the Z9-mini reports (not pool-side hashrate)? Specifically what I'm wondering is average since when? Since boot time? In last 24 hours? In last hour?

The reason I ask is because I've been playing with Frequency setting, and getting some strange results. For example, I ran on Frequency 750 and after 30 minutes got an average of 15.45 kh/sec average. Then I ran on 737 for four hours and got 16.15 kh/sec average. After rebooting because of a circuit breaker tripping, I'm now averaging 15.98 kh/sec on 737 after two hours.

Anyone else seeing these kind of strange results? Am I just not waiting long enough for the average to even out? If so, what's a good amount of time to wait? Or could really be the case that my mini hashes less on 750 than 737?
1a1a11a
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 29, 2018, 07:39:26 PM
 #1377

mine is dead today, cannot find hashboard any more, I have rebooted and reset, still not working any suggestions? My last temperature check is 75 degree on chip, shouldn't get significantly higher than it.
lunobird
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 114


View Profile
June 29, 2018, 07:48:31 PM
 #1378

mine is dead today, cannot find hashboard any more, I have rebooted and reset, still not working any suggestions? My last temperature check is 75 degree on chip, shouldn't get significantly higher than it.

Did you overclock it?
1a1a11a
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 29, 2018, 08:34:51 PM
 #1379

I changed the frequency to 656.


mine is dead today, cannot find hashboard any more, I have rebooted and reset, still not working any suggestions? My last temperature check is 75 degree on chip, shouldn't get significantly higher than it.

Did you overclock it?
Eyedol-X
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 505



View Profile
June 29, 2018, 08:51:50 PM
 #1380

I changed the frequency to 656.


mine is dead today, cannot find hashboard any more, I have rebooted and reset, still not working any suggestions? My last temperature check is 75 degree on chip, shouldn't get significantly higher than it.

Did you overclock it?

From my testing, until I see someone with more information, I'm not running it higher than about 66C in a temperature controlled room which for my environment equates to about 575mhz.

I may back it down back 550mhz as they only run about 63C at that temp for me.
Pages: « 1 ... 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 [69] 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!