Bitcoin Forum
July 21, 2019, 03:34:31 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 ... 56 »
  Print  
Author Topic: HashFast BabyJet users thread  (Read 68570 times)
yrral
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 02:51:40 AM
 #1

Based on the success of the Avalon ASIC users thread, I'm posting one for HashFast now that some people have received theirs.

Please no discussion about broken promises/delivery/refunds etc.
1563680071
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563680071

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563680071
Reply with quote  #2

1563680071
Report to moderator
1563680071
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563680071

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563680071
Reply with quote  #2

1563680071
Report to moderator
1563680071
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563680071

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563680071
Reply with quote  #2

1563680071
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1563680071
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563680071

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563680071
Reply with quote  #2

1563680071
Report to moderator
joshv06
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 965
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 02:54:51 AM
 #2

Can someone get a Kill-a-watt on one of these?
yrral
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 03:46:03 AM
 #3

I have a mFi power strip so I don't know how accurate it is compared to a kil-a-watt but it says that the miner is drawing 497/498 watts overclocked to 500Gh (650 mhz core clock).

For comparison it says the raspberry pi is drawing 2.5 watts.

NiteShdw
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 08:30:03 AM
 #4

How can you change the clock rate on the miner?
jspielberg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250



View Profile
January 22, 2014, 12:29:14 PM
Last edit: January 31, 2014, 11:21:54 AM by jspielberg
 #5

This would be better at the first post... but first page will have to do.

First contact with HF Engineer!

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=426644.msg4849096#msg4849096

Hi Guys,

My name is Phil, and I'm one of the engineers working crazy hard on getting your mining rigs to you and working great.

We've had to do a lot of work to get to this point (I've been averaging 4 hours a night sleep over the past few months), and we still are cranking as hard as we can, so please bear with us.

If you received a BabyJet and it's not working well, I advise you first to try our special MinePeon distribution on your Raspberry Pi.  It has a patched version of cgminer which helps stability, and also the distribution has a mechanism to enable firmware and software updates to be pushed out to you as we develop them.  Many of the first shipments didn't have this package, but you can download it.

Our #1 priority has been to get you your products, and now we are working hard on making sure they work well for you.  We are hiring people as fast as we can so that we can build a world-class support system for you.

Until then, I'll try and help as much as I can, time permitting.  The best use of my time is in the lab, as I'm sure you'll agree.

If you are running on the Raspberry Pi and your status screen doesn't show your MinePeon Version to be at least 0.2.4.3hf4, then you could benefit from an update.  It also includes cgminer version 3.11.0hf1, which should help solve some reliability issues until we (and Con Kolivas) can get a better version to you.  The known issues on this version are that reported hashrates are too high.  (I've seen it 2X)  Just use your pools stats, as they are going to be the most accurate.  Also, if there is a warm-boot on the RPI with your HashFast boards connected, something in the RPI's USB Hub/Controller gets left in a strange state and it sometimes takes a handful of tries before cgminer can successfully get connected.  We've set up the system to keep trying over and over again, and usually within a minute or two it "takes" and begins mining.  To avoid this, be sure to disconnect the USB before rebooting.  The goal in this special distribution was to ensure mining automatically runs and gets going again if there is a problem, that way you don't wake up to find it died right after you went to sleep.

We hope to get these issues  fixed soon!  Please let me know if you have any problems or possible ideas that may help, so we can try to incorporate them.  


To install the new version:
1. If running MinePeon, first make a backup from the Settings tab (near the bottom).

2. Download this SD card image: Windows: http://setup.hashfast.com/hashfast-minepeon-1.0.zip  Linux: http://setup.hashfast.com/hashfast-minepeon-1.0.img.bz2

3. If running windows, we recommend the Win32DiskImager: http://sourceforge.net/projects/win32diskimager/, If running Linux, you can simply type:
Code:
bzcat hashfast-minepeon-1.0.img.bz2 | sudo dd bs=1M of=/dev/xxx
(Where /dev/xxx is the device name of your SD card.  If unsure, type "dmesg" after inserting your card.)

4. Boot RPI with the new SD image.  Note that it may take up to 2 minutes to collect current updates from us before it will begin mining.  You can browse here to see when your system comes online and what it's IP address is: http://setup.hashfast.com/.  If for some reason it doesn't come up after a few minutes, power-cycle it.  (We've seen some brands of SD card cause it to hang on reboot)

5. Log into the web interface and restore your backed up MinePeon settings (if any).  Note that the RPI will generate a new wallet when you first boot from the new SD image, and will begin mining using that wallet.  It's important to switch your mining settings using the "Pools" tab so that your mining proceeds end up in the right wallet!

6. If you have any problems, please post them here and I'll do what I can to help.  I'll try to check in here at least once a day.


If you don't want your RPI checking in for updates, you can disable this in the Settings tab, but I advise you to at least do it manually once in while.  We hope to have some new firmware and software soon!  We also advise you to set a password on MinePeon, especially if exposed to the outside internet.  (not behind a router/firewall)

I know the difficulty just went up and it stinks, but please bear with us.  All of us really are working our butts off to ensure we have the best mining products in the world!

-Phil
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 1180


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 22, 2014, 01:34:31 PM
 #6

Default clock is 550.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
ImI
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946
Merit: 1019



View Profile
January 22, 2014, 02:05:26 PM
 #7


so it comes underclocked
CeeCee
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 230
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 03:07:22 PM
 #8


so it comes underclocked
i think they want from their customers to overclock it and void the guarantee. clever! Cheesy
dropt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1000



View Profile
January 22, 2014, 04:22:40 PM
 #9

Wasn't it supposed to self tune for max HR based on feedback from the on-die temp sensor, or am I imagining things again?
CoinHoarder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1024

In Cryptocoins I Trust


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 05:05:29 PM
 #10

Wasn't it supposed to self tune for max HR based on feedback from the on-die temp sensor, or am I imagining things again?
As far as I can tell, the temperature sensor on the die is not working, otherwise it would show up under the "Temp" column in the list of devices.

See screenshot of MinePeon: https://www.dropbox.com/s/nw0b10iqhrh7432/Screenshot%202014-01-22%2010.57.07.png

I have not overclocked yet.. I am a bit apprehensive to OC without a working temperature sensor. I think I'll just wait to hear how other's OCing experience goes before doing so myself. They shipped them at this clock rate for a reason.. I'm sure they tested heavily with higher clock rates and saw stability problems/failure of hardware. There's probably a little wiggle room to overclock, but I wouldn't bump it up too much (especially because of the aforementioned broken temperature sensor.)

PS: I'm thinking that the first device hashing at.... 12 Mh (lol) is the CPU of the Raspberry Pi...  Huh
Big Time Coin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 328
Merit: 250



View Profile
January 22, 2014, 05:31:08 PM
 #11

Can someone link to a setup guide?  These baby jets come with no instructions other than to call the number, which is just a voicemail.

Big time, I'm on my way I'm making it, big time, oh yes
- Peter Gabriel
xuemike
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 05:34:38 PM
 #12

I have 2 units coming in today. I am curious about how well it can clock as well.  But no temp sensor also worries. Me.
dropt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1000



View Profile
January 22, 2014, 05:35:27 PM
 #13

Wasn't it supposed to self tune for max HR based on feedback from the on-die temp sensor, or am I imagining things again?
As far as I can tell, the temperature sensor on the die is not working, otherwise it would show up under the "Temp" column in the list of devices.

See screenshot of MinePeon: https://www.dropbox.com/s/nw0b10iqhrh7432/Screenshot%202014-01-22%2010.57.07.png

I have not overclocked yet.. I am a bit apprehensive to OC without a working temperature sensor. I think I'll just wait to hear how other's OCing experience goes before doing so myself. They shipped them at this clock rate for a reason.. I'm sure they tested heavily with higher clock rates and saw stability problems/failure of hardware. There's probably a little wiggle room to overclock, but I wouldn't bump it up too much (especially because of the aforementioned broken temperature sensor.)

PS: I'm thinking that the first device hashing at.... 12 Mh (lol) is the CPU of the Raspberry Pi...  Huh


 Huh


Quote
https://twitter.com/HashFast/status/408717508330270720

2:00 PM - 5 Dec 13

@HashFast

GN chip bringup - Both the temperature and voltage sensors have now been shown to work!


Will wonders never cease?
wpgdeez
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 05:39:47 PM
 #14

Better use that 10 days of warranty while you got it!
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1000



View Profile
January 22, 2014, 05:43:49 PM
 #15

So, how are these networked?  Do you have to use the ethernet cable, or can you USB connect to a windows/linux box and mine externally with cgminer?

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
xuemike
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 06:14:56 PM
 #16

How do you OC these bastards?
Big Time Coin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 328
Merit: 250



View Profile
January 22, 2014, 06:19:18 PM
 #17

So far I have one working over a hardwire ethernet connection - I see no way in the MinePeon settings to set up to work over wireless, which is my preferred option.

Big time, I'm on my way I'm making it, big time, oh yes
- Peter Gabriel
edgie13
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 155
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 06:31:03 PM
Last edit: January 22, 2014, 07:16:23 PM by edgie13
 #18

So far I have one working over a hardwire ethernet connection - I see no way in the MinePeon settings to set up to work over wireless, which is my preferred option.

Minepeon is built on Arch Linux. Buy a usb wifi adapter (get one recommend to work with the RPI & Arch Linux).  You can then configure the adapter in Arch Linux.  I  had issues getting wifi to work properly on the RaspberryPi and Minepeon.  It would lock up on me all the time.  I have since been running my Raspberry PIs on ethernet.  You can try the Minepeon forums for some help (http://minepeon.com/forums/).

Also, I think that the newest version of Minepeon has a wifi config area in it's gui.  It's still a pre-release version though.

BTC Scotch fund: 1GFZos2WGknCeVgDtjpHwo3jeJ4tSLVrXS
Ghrindy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 06:33:16 PM
 #19


so it comes underclocked
i think they want from their customers to overclock it and void the guarantee. clever! Cheesy

Exactly!
Check first video of the https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=425019.msg4630770 "Guess who got a HashFast Baby Jet today..."-thread @ 1:37

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MoxG2WH3mZM

Letter from Amy:
"...
These machines may be overclocked, however OC'ing will void the warrantee and be entirely at your own risk.
..."
MinorMiner
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 07:11:07 PM
 #20

People are actually receiving units ? ... wow. I got told in an email they expect January 28th.

/hopeful

All contributions gratefully received 1G6Wia22Jnpz2DUisA5EoAC6KJ7MHm6QyP
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 ... 56 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!