Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2019, 01:34:13 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitmain introduces the Antminer S17 Pro, Antminer S17, and the Antminer T17  (Read 8695 times)
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 2009



View Profile
July 24, 2019, 06:39:59 PM
Last edit: July 26, 2019, 03:40:20 AM by frodocooper
 #401

basically I can't lose money if I don't buy the over priced gear.

If I buy the over priced gear I could lose out..

So the 19-22 s9's

and the 25 l3+ will mine on.

I may buy a third whatsminer 20s they have been  good to me.

my t17 was 1880
my s17 pro 53th was 2250

so 4130 for 93th

if I had purchased them on 7 day deal  I would be at 7000 maybe 8500 with trump tax.

8500 usd I get 46.5 th  for free with my power deal so 46.5 x 0.00002777 = 0.0012913 btc a day x 9500 = 12.26 ssd a day or a 693 day roi  that is too long.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
1575725653
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1575725653

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1575725653
Reply with quote  #2

1575725653
Report to moderator
1575725653
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1575725653

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1575725653
Reply with quote  #2

1575725653
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1575725653
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1575725653

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1575725653
Reply with quote  #2

1575725653
Report to moderator
1575725653
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1575725653

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1575725653
Reply with quote  #2

1575725653
Report to moderator
1575725653
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1575725653

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1575725653
Reply with quote  #2

1575725653
Report to moderator
minefarmbuy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 155


We are not retail.


View Profile WWW
July 24, 2019, 07:58:52 PM
Last edit: July 24, 2019, 08:20:31 PM by minefarmbuy
 #402

Yea, tough sell imo but I suppose bitmain thinks otherwise. Have a couple s9s and 821s to look to upgrade to. Such a speculative purchase.

You can DM me if want to see wire/btc pricing for the units we have up.                     

Premier asic sourcing minefarmbuy.com #mineon
Twitter:@minefarmbuy -LN Tips-
Email: info@minefarmbuy.com PGP:1A1C A4D4 CE04 F57E 1C0C 5240 592A 09BF CCB4 F0C3
dimaze
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 179
Merit: 53


View Profile
July 24, 2019, 09:25:12 PM
Last edit: July 26, 2019, 03:40:50 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (2)
 #403

this is also interesting - per the email attached, orders of 2 or more miners will supposedly be shipped from Malaysia - which then means no tariff, correct?

or is that meaning 200 to 500? that is my guess but he did put it as 2-500 lol

https://i.ibb.co/BNxKGvN/Capture.jpg

This is only for orders of 200 or more. 2 isn't big Tongue

Standard retail orders will be shipped from the Shenzhen territory, which will be subject to substantial tariffs.

mgoz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 203
Merit: 160


View Profile
July 25, 2019, 12:10:07 AM
Merited by frodocooper (2)
 #404

Initial batch for an S17 Pro 56 TH/s cost me 0.48 BTC from Bitmain, which is around $4,700 at current BTC price. This batch is actually cheaper and 0.45 BTC. It's only more expensive if you need to buy the BTC. That being said, I still wouldn't buy since first batch has been out for over 3 months and it's really not much of a price break even if you used a $300 coupon.
thebigjdoe
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 30, 2019, 03:44:31 PM
 #405

More ridiculously priced S17's "coming soon"

tariffs are much higher now....which means total cost is way up whether or not you need to buy the btc
Stryfe
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 166


Mopar Mining, LLC


View Profile WWW
July 30, 2019, 04:46:30 PM
Last edit: July 31, 2019, 02:37:30 AM by frodocooper
 #406

the last miner I bought was in the 1200 range shipped and the tariff was around 330



Mopar Mining, LLC - small Bitcoin/altcoin farm - working on expanding!
BTC Miners: 2 S9i/S9j - 1 T15 - 1 T17 - 1 R606 Scrypt Miners: 1 Apollo
Offering escrow services https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5154480
mgoz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 203
Merit: 160


View Profile
July 30, 2019, 07:19:18 PM
 #407

tariffs are much higher now....which means total cost is way up whether or not you need to buy the btc

They've been 25% since August 23, 2018. 8543.70.9960 is in Section 301 Tariff List 2. There have been no changes to List 2 tariffs. List 3 tariffs increased from 10% to 25% in May 2019 and List 4 tariffs did not increase to 25% yet. If you only order one unit at a time you may luck out with an informal entry (if below $2,500), customs classifying it wrong, and only paying 2.6%. All of my last orders through DHL were only charged 2.6% and liquidated as such. Comes down to the customs officer completing the paperwork for informal entries. Larger orders and formal entries you'll be paying the full 27.6%.
minefarmbuy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 155


We are not retail.


View Profile WWW
July 30, 2019, 10:10:06 PM
 #408

I would still encourage filing correctly but there's nothing wrong with hoping a freighter makes a mistake. Just still plan for 27.6%. Which relating to the thread makes these pretty spendy but considering resellers have prices of $6k themselves for ready now units adding duties to that is even worse.

Premier asic sourcing minefarmbuy.com #mineon
Twitter:@minefarmbuy -LN Tips-
Email: info@minefarmbuy.com PGP:1A1C A4D4 CE04 F57E 1C0C 5240 592A 09BF CCB4 F0C3
mgoz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 203
Merit: 160


View Profile
July 30, 2019, 10:52:02 PM
 #409

I would still encourage filing correctly but there's nothing wrong with hoping a freighter makes a mistake.

With an informal entry you don't file anything. Customs completes all the paperwork and determines classification/rate and it's immediately liquidated upon release. With a formal entry, the importer is responsible for filing the paperwork and specifying correct classification. Formal entries aren't liquidated for up to a year, which is what allows them to review your filings and then come back and charge you more if you didn't file correctly. I still wouldn't bank on it, but I'm 3/3 for customs filing and liquidating as informal entries at 2.6% when they were supposed to be 27.6%. One of them was also slightly above $2,500 and they still processed as an informal entry. This was as recent as May 2019 for a Z11.
minefarmbuy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 155


We are not retail.


View Profile WWW
July 30, 2019, 11:56:36 PM
 #410

If a freighter comes to collect from improper poor coding you could potentially be denied service. Regardless of who's error it was or wasn't.

Premier asic sourcing minefarmbuy.com #mineon
Twitter:@minefarmbuy -LN Tips-
Email: info@minefarmbuy.com PGP:1A1C A4D4 CE04 F57E 1C0C 5240 592A 09BF CCB4 F0C3
Stryfe
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 166


Mopar Mining, LLC


View Profile WWW
July 31, 2019, 02:08:07 AM
Last edit: July 31, 2019, 02:38:49 AM by frodocooper
 #411

I have only skipped having to pay customs when buying single miners with a value under $1,000 USD anything over that has cost me in tariffs

btw - Bitmain just listed new prices for "coming soon" stock.




Mopar Mining, LLC - small Bitcoin/altcoin farm - working on expanding!
BTC Miners: 2 S9i/S9j - 1 T15 - 1 T17 - 1 R606 Scrypt Miners: 1 Apollo
Offering escrow services https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5154480
thebigjdoe
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 31, 2019, 05:41:35 AM
Last edit: July 31, 2019, 11:40:56 AM by frodocooper
 #412

They've been 25% since August 23, 2018. 8543.70.9960 is in Section 301 Tariff List 2. There have been no changes to List 2 tariffs. List 3 tariffs increased from 10% to 25% in May 2019 and List 4 tariffs did not increase to 25% yet. If you only order one unit at a time you may luck out with an informal entry (if below $2,500), customs classifying it wrong, and only paying 2.6%. All of my last orders through DHL were only charged 2.6% and liquidated as such. Comes down to the customs officer completing the paperwork for informal entries. Larger orders and formal entries you'll be paying the full 27.6%.

I was replying to the guy who said it's the same amount of BTC as when they were cheaper.  My comment was that since the price in USD is higher now, the total amount of tariffs you have to pay now is higher...
micairvas
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 296
Merit: 100



View Profile
August 06, 2019, 06:03:41 AM
Last edit: August 06, 2019, 10:29:29 AM by frodocooper
 #413

What is real power consumption of T17 antminers on 230V, bitmain is not accurate regarding this. Is there any difference in power consumption between 38 and 40THS T17 types?



I got T17 38ths version. Power consumption is 2050w on 232V.
Artemis3
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 673


★777Coin.com★ Fun BTC Casino!


View Profile WWW
August 08, 2019, 11:23:29 PM
Last edit: August 09, 2019, 02:50:35 AM by frodocooper
 #414

[...]

Add in the MicroBTs, the M20 at 48 W/T for $1830 (45T) and the M20S for $2680 (62T) also 48 W/T both with November deliveries according to Pangolin.
You could put for comparison's sake the 21s which are the lesser efficient models, the M21S at 60 W/T for $1825 (56T) and the M21 at 60 W/T for $888 (28T). Well i guess the 21s are superior to the T3 and close to the T3+, but the 20s are definitely better.

minefarmbuy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 155


We are not retail.


View Profile WWW
August 09, 2019, 08:16:31 PM
 #415

That's also new pricing that changed since the original post I think your referring to since the full quote isn't there.

Premier asic sourcing minefarmbuy.com #mineon
Twitter:@minefarmbuy -LN Tips-
Email: info@minefarmbuy.com PGP:1A1C A4D4 CE04 F57E 1C0C 5240 592A 09BF CCB4 F0C3
favebook
Member
**
Online Online

Activity: 111
Merit: 83


View Profile
August 12, 2019, 03:32:54 PM
Merited by frodocooper (3)
 #416

For all you guys that have S17 Pro 50TH/s, I advise to be cautious with Turbo mode. My unit lost one hashboard after 2 months of use. I have sent the whole unit to Bitmain and it took them around 7 days to fix or decided to send a new one. Will see when it come to my door. Just wanted to say that after 3 years(and around 50 units over those years) of using Bitmain's products (mainly S and Z series) this is the first time that this happened to me while using default firmware without tinkering anything.


However, on the bright side S17 Pro 53TH/s on Turbo mode seems to be working fine for almost 4 months now.

Just wanted to share my experience. Smiley
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 2009



View Profile
August 12, 2019, 05:02:11 PM
Last edit: August 13, 2019, 02:22:12 AM by frodocooper
 #417

If you go back and look  I said anyone running them on turbo  risked  gear death.  let me find my post.

He set his range to 80 dB and I believe gear is at normal speed.

Try one of your s17s on normal speed and range at 80 dB.

As I see specs turbo looks to be really hard on  unit with not much gain in hash.

But this is not my gear as I was not able to order on in first batch. Since then I have decided to not purchase any new gear from bitmain.  I will buy used s17 from forum miners, but not from bitmain direct.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
favebook
Member
**
Online Online

Activity: 111
Merit: 83


View Profile
August 12, 2019, 05:09:11 PM
 #418

If you go back and look  I said anyone running them on turbo  risked  gear death.  let me find my post.

I am not complaining, just giving information if anyone cares. Also, I've read this whole thread today(gotta be honest, I rushed through it), didn't catch your warning.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 2009



View Profile
August 12, 2019, 05:20:31 PM
Last edit: August 13, 2019, 02:23:30 AM by frodocooper
 #419

It happens I just found it and  posted it above.  let us know how long they take to replace it.

more warnings here

you don't understand how they measure.

a single chip with test leads  can do 30J/TH

this gear is doing 50th at 2050 watts on = normal speed  that is 41J/TH

you are doing turbo numbers  to mine on turbo speeds gives you  a little more hash and burns power like mad.

so this gear does 41J/TH using the  fans and controller  on normal speed.  I suspect fans and controller are at least 100 watts

so it is  doing about 1950/50th = 39J/TH on normal speed

In what seems like a million years ago bit fury shows its chip in a single chip setup  it did 60J/TH  which when built into a  big machine did about 100J/TH

Turbo should never be used at the moment with current coin prices.

Normal speed should be used at the moment with current coin prices.

But I am sure some can create an example that shows turbo is smart to do at the moment.

and someone refuted me here  Grin

I have metered smart switches for each circuit-PDU so the only way I could measure each cord would be to connect to two separate circuits which I'd rather not risk. Otherwise I'd need to measure with my amp-meter with a split cord which I don't have. If I can figure out how to safely do it I'll let you know.

UPDATE: I remembered I had a dual metered PDU that reports amps (in whole numbers) that I don't use that readout anymore.  So I tried one of the S17s on that so I could measure each cord separately.  It measured exactly 5 amps each on Turbo mode.  Exactly being that it only reports round numbers.  At my voltage that is around 1150 watts per cord.  But I'm sure it is 5.x not just 5 amps.  But either way, it seems to balance the load very close between the two cords.

... Turbo should never be used at the moment with current coin prices.

Normal speed should be used at the moment with current coin prices.

But I am sure some can create an example that shows turbo is smart to do at the moment.

I'd like to see your calculation/thinking.  

By my profit model turbo mode makes sense currently.  But I am working with 5.4 cent electricity so that obviously will make a difference.  Simple Cryptocompare shows $8.50/day for Turbo, $7.84/day for Normal, $6.24/day for Low Power mode.  So Turbo currently makes the most profit.  I have wondered if the extra wear and tear is worth it and for that extra 8% profit and maybe not.  

As energy price goes up then it would flip to where normal would win out and then low power mode.

So in your case my advice was correct and his was wrong.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
favebook
Member
**
Online Online

Activity: 111
Merit: 83


View Profile
August 12, 2019, 05:25:44 PM
Last edit: August 13, 2019, 02:24:07 AM by frodocooper
 #420

Yeah, I noticed that you edited it. Thanks!
As I've said they have already replaced it and sent it. It is currently at my customs and I am unable to provide documentation until I come back from vacation.
If you are interested in exact number of days it took them from the moment they received it until they sent it, I could check.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!