Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2019, 06:30:03 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Poll
Question: Do you Accept Komodo ICO conversion vs Reject Komodo ICO conversion and fund new dev team?
Accept - 141 (68.1%)
Reject - 66 (31.9%)
Total Voters: 207

Pages: « 1 ... 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 [346] 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 ... 551 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BTCD is no more  (Read 1327497 times)
BTCDDev
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 08, 2014, 01:48:58 PM
 #6901

Progress update!

Sending/receiving messages seems to be working well now. Teleport debugging starting very soon, probably this week.

We now have two new functions in SuperNET API: "savefile" and "restorefile"

These functions allow for the encryption of files and their secure storage. (Currently in RAM, soon in cloud)

In this line, I saved and encrypted the file m_unix:

Code:
matthew@matthew-Satellite-P845:~/Desktop/btcd/src$ ./BitcoinDarkd SuperNET '{"requestType":"savefile","filename":"../m_unix","L":0,"M":2,"N":2,"usbdir":"/tmp","password":"1234"}'

Then it gave me some information, such as 'sharenrs' and an array of 'txid' values. These MUST be remembered for restoration of the file.

Then:

Code:
./BitcoinDarkd SuperNET '{"requestType":"restorefile","filename":"m_unix","L":0,"M":2,"N":2,"usbdir":"/tmp","txids":["16996257282448948276", "15989003265508946305"],"destfile":"newfile", "password": "1234"}'

restored m_unix to a new file, newfile.

Think about the future applications that can be developed around this.  Smiley These files are also quite secure. An attacker would need to know your password, sharenrs, txids (in order), m, and n to restore your file.

It should support up to M-of-254 encryption.
Here is my output from saving m_unix with 200 of 254 encryption

http://pastebin.com/QfYrQ1Tx

However, restoring was too much for it. We are calling on testers now to test the current working limits of this value.

Matthew

P.S. if you aren't volunteering yet and would like to, head over to https://forum.thesupernet.org/index.php?topic=66.0 and get started testing!

BitcoinDark: RPHWc5CwP9YMMbvXQ4oXz5rQHb3pKkhaxc
Top Donations: juicybirds 420BTCD ensorcell 84BTCD Stuntruffle: 40BTCD
Top April Donations: juicybirds 420BTCD; ensorcell: 42BTCD
Visit and contribute to reddit.com/r/Bitcoin
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1575570603
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1575570603

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1575570603
Reply with quote  #2

1575570603
Report to moderator
1575570603
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1575570603

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1575570603
Reply with quote  #2

1575570603
Report to moderator
1575570603
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1575570603

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1575570603
Reply with quote  #2

1575570603
Report to moderator
Cassius
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1031


View Profile WWW
October 08, 2014, 02:09:50 PM
 #6902

Making slow progress. Compiled ok but asking for BitcoinDark.conf
I created the file using pico BitcoinDark.conf and pasted in the text in OP, substituting the rpcuser= and rpcpassword= with the ones it suggested. Also changed permissions to 700 as recommended. Next time around, I got the same message.

Put your BitcoinDark.conf in .BitcoinDark in your home directory.


That directory doesn't seem to exist.
Edit: found hidden file with ls -a
Steep learning curve for me today.
when your build environment is working, you should go:
cd
git clone https://github.com/jl777/btcd
cd btcd/libjl777
./onetime
<go into nacl directory, build, lib, until you find the randombytes.o and libnacl.a>
cp randombytes.o libnacl.a ~/btcd/libjl777/libs
cd ~/btcd
./m_unix
<make a SuperNET.conf>
./BitcoinDarkd

Ok up to ./onetime

Can't find nacl directory
find / randombytes.o -> No such file or directory

BTCDDev
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 08, 2014, 02:25:47 PM
 #6903

Making slow progress. Compiled ok but asking for BitcoinDark.conf
I created the file using pico BitcoinDark.conf and pasted in the text in OP, substituting the rpcuser= and rpcpassword= with the ones it suggested. Also changed permissions to 700 as recommended. Next time around, I got the same message.

Put your BitcoinDark.conf in .BitcoinDark in your home directory.


That directory doesn't seem to exist.
Edit: found hidden file with ls -a
Steep learning curve for me today.
when your build environment is working, you should go:
cd
git clone https://github.com/jl777/btcd
cd btcd/libjl777
./onetime
<go into nacl directory, build, lib, until you find the randombytes.o and libnacl.a>
cp randombytes.o libnacl.a ~/btcd/libjl777/libs
cd ~/btcd
./m_unix
<make a SuperNET.conf>
./BitcoinDarkd

Ok up to ./onetime

Can't find nacl directory
find / randombytes.o -> No such file or directory

The nacl folder should be in btcd/libjl777. Then navigate to build/lib/ and a few more folders to randombytes.o

The latest btcd repo no longer needs libnacl. However, you still need randombytes.o.

Matthew

BitcoinDark: RPHWc5CwP9YMMbvXQ4oXz5rQHb3pKkhaxc
Top Donations: juicybirds 420BTCD ensorcell 84BTCD Stuntruffle: 40BTCD
Top April Donations: juicybirds 420BTCD; ensorcell: 42BTCD
Cassius
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1031


View Profile WWW
October 08, 2014, 02:36:38 PM
 #6904


The nacl folder should be in btcd/libjl777. Then navigate to build/lib/ and a few more folders to randombytes.o

The latest btcd repo no longer needs libnacl. However, you still need randombytes.o.

Matthew
Thanks - hidden file and a couple of extra directories I wasn't expecting. Found it now.
I'm very new to linux and this is a baptism by fire.
cloudboy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 690
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 08, 2014, 02:53:05 PM
 #6905


The nacl folder should be in btcd/libjl777. Then navigate to build/lib/ and a few more folders to randombytes.o

The latest btcd repo no longer needs libnacl. However, you still need randombytes.o.

Matthew
Thanks - hidden file and a couple of extra directories I wasn't expecting. Found it now.
I'm very new to linux and this is a baptism by fire.

Linux takes a while to get used to. Once you really understand how the terminal works and everything, it's a powerful tool.
Cassius
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1031


View Profile WWW
October 08, 2014, 02:54:22 PM
 #6906


The nacl folder should be in btcd/libjl777. Then navigate to build/lib/ and a few more folders to randombytes.o

The latest btcd repo no longer needs libnacl. However, you still need randombytes.o.

Matthew
Thanks - hidden file and a couple of extra directories I wasn't expecting. Found it now.
I'm very new to linux and this is a baptism by fire.

Linux takes a while to get used to. Once you really understand how the terminal works and everything, it's a powerful tool.

Yeah, I get that. It's pretty cool. But I have little idea what the commands I'm typing in actually mean Smiley
Cassius
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1031


View Profile WWW
October 08, 2014, 03:22:13 PM
Last edit: October 08, 2014, 03:35:36 PM by Cassius
 #6907

So I get a load of messages when compiling (long process), ending in:
cp: cannot stat 'BitcoinDarkd': no such file or directory
./m_unix: line 20: ./BitcoinDarkd: No such file or directory

I'm also unclear what needs to go in the SuperNET.conf file.

Edit:
I've got two directories now, btcd and bitcoindark, due to the two sets of instructions.
There's also this file: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1CGUgDAhimVhz7aHAnITeZGr2S4RiZPzF2LYZIWGbJ1E/edit
Looks like this is more comprehensive. Also that I do need to install a NXT wallet too.
I'm currently not using a VPS, just an old computer with Ubuntu on it. Is that a problem?
My purpose here is just to test and understand the SuperNET API calls to create some documentation, that's all.
junsha
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 08, 2014, 03:38:14 PM
Last edit: October 08, 2014, 04:32:49 PM by junsha
 #6908

Hi, I still have sync problem.
I downloaded the config file on page 1, and followed the instructions.
but still have 0 connections.

Is it a known problem, and will there be a new wallet release?

Edit: after quite a long time, it start syncing Smiley  -> OK
PilotofBTC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722
Merit: 1001


View Profile
October 08, 2014, 05:35:34 PM
 #6909

1. I think that if we are going to spend 500-1000$ a month on servers we should be able to press the price a little.

2. I would like to be a part of the team working with the servers, but i have almost 2 weeks this month where I will be in Italy driving world finals in go kart, so I will not be online that 2 weeks.

Also I am no expert in driving servers, but I would like to give a hand if someone else is in charge (at least in the beginning) as the winter is coming and I don't have much else to do after work.


3. If we are to use 20+ servers, we would need to have the ability to ether clone 1 server out to all the other. Or have some service passing out the chances, from the master server, as it else would be to time consuming (and to big error rate)


Please bear in mind that i am a bit dyslexic.

50 t2.micro instances on Amazon AWS would be $476/mo.

A t2.micro instance is 1 CPU, 1 GB RAM, no perm storage.

I'm pretty sure you can create 1 image and bring up VM's using that image. You can also turn them off and only pay for what you use.
cloudboy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 690
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 08, 2014, 06:13:36 PM
 #6910

1. I think that if we are going to spend 500-1000$ a month on servers we should be able to press the price a little.

2. I would like to be a part of the team working with the servers, but i have almost 2 weeks this month where I will be in Italy driving world finals in go kart, so I will not be online that 2 weeks.

Also I am no expert in driving servers, but I would like to give a hand if someone else is in charge (at least in the beginning) as the winter is coming and I don't have much else to do after work.


3. If we are to use 20+ servers, we would need to have the ability to ether clone 1 server out to all the other. Or have some service passing out the chances, from the master server, as it else would be to time consuming (and to big error rate)


Please bear in mind that i am a bit dyslexic.

50 t2.micro instances on Amazon AWS would be $476/mo.

A t2.micro instance is 1 CPU, 1 GB RAM, no perm storage.

I'm pretty sure you can create 1 image and bring up VM's using that image. You can also turn them off and only pay for what you use.


A DigitalOcean VPS with Ubuntu 14.04 is $5/month
PilotofBTC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722
Merit: 1001


View Profile
October 08, 2014, 07:00:31 PM
 #6911

1. I think that if we are going to spend 500-1000$ a month on servers we should be able to press the price a little.

2. I would like to be a part of the team working with the servers, but i have almost 2 weeks this month where I will be in Italy driving world finals in go kart, so I will not be online that 2 weeks.

Also I am no expert in driving servers, but I would like to give a hand if someone else is in charge (at least in the beginning) as the winter is coming and I don't have much else to do after work.


3. If we are to use 20+ servers, we would need to have the ability to ether clone 1 server out to all the other. Or have some service passing out the chances, from the master server, as it else would be to time consuming (and to big error rate)


Please bear in mind that i am a bit dyslexic.

50 t2.micro instances on Amazon AWS would be $476/mo.

A t2.micro instance is 1 CPU, 1 GB RAM, no perm storage.

I'm pretty sure you can create 1 image and bring up VM's using that image. You can also turn them off and only pay for what you use.


A DigitalOcean VPS with Ubuntu 14.04 is $5/month

That's 512 MB of RAM VM. But, the price is certainly better if that will suffice.
crackfoo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2128
Merit: 1107



View Profile WWW
October 08, 2014, 07:07:38 PM
 #6912

1. I think that if we are going to spend 500-1000$ a month on servers we should be able to press the price a little.

2. I would like to be a part of the team working with the servers, but i have almost 2 weeks this month where I will be in Italy driving world finals in go kart, so I will not be online that 2 weeks.

Also I am no expert in driving servers, but I would like to give a hand if someone else is in charge (at least in the beginning) as the winter is coming and I don't have much else to do after work.


3. If we are to use 20+ servers, we would need to have the ability to ether clone 1 server out to all the other. Or have some service passing out the chances, from the master server, as it else would be to time consuming (and to big error rate)


Please bear in mind that i am a bit dyslexic.

50 t2.micro instances on Amazon AWS would be $476/mo.

A t2.micro instance is 1 CPU, 1 GB RAM, no perm storage.

I'm pretty sure you can create 1 image and bring up VM's using that image. You can also turn them off and only pay for what you use.


A DigitalOcean VPS with Ubuntu 14.04 is $5/month

That's 512 MB of RAM VM. But, the price is certainly better if that will suffice.


512 is insufficient to run NXT & BTCD effectively. 1GB may be even pushing it. I was only able to test on 768 (kept crashing) and 1.75 GB, worked ok.

jl777
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176
Merit: 1090


View Profile WWW
October 08, 2014, 11:26:22 PM
 #6913

seems there are not so many bugs
and also not so many servers
I will integrate the cloud storage into Teleport next

http://www.digitalcatallaxy.com/report2015.html
100+ page annual report for SuperNET
Azeh
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 441
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 09, 2014, 04:12:35 AM
 #6914

found this thread on page 3 again. interest dying out?




BTCD really needs a good dice site to make BTCD more known


Someone mention a dice site?

dice.btcdplays.com

Card game too

jack.btcdplays.com

Updated OP, Thanks!
SHossain
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 09, 2014, 09:53:51 AM
 #6915

OVH is providing cheap VPS as well. I'm using them and works quite fine for me. I don't work for them and no affiliation. Just using their service.

They provide 1 vCore CPU, 1GB RAM, 10GB HDD, up to 10,000 GB data transferred per month @100 Mbps, then 1 Mbps for $2.99. For $6.99 2 vCore CPU, 2GB RAM, 25GB HDD. All ports open.
jl777
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176
Merit: 1090


View Profile WWW
October 09, 2014, 10:40:17 AM
 #6916

fixed a big bug, please update
./m_unix

should be a lot more stable

http://www.digitalcatallaxy.com/report2015.html
100+ page annual report for SuperNET
Cassius
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1031


View Profile WWW
October 09, 2014, 11:09:29 AM
 #6917

OVH is providing cheap VPS as well. I'm using them and works quite fine for me. I don't work for them and no affiliation. Just using their service.

They provide 1 vCore CPU, 1GB RAM, 10GB HDD, up to 10,000 GB data transferred per month @100 Mbps, then 1 Mbps for $2.99. For $6.99 2 vCore CPU, 2GB RAM, 25GB HDD. All ports open.

Are you running SuperNET on it? Someone said ~2 Gb Ram was ideally needed.
Also, are there any good options for paying in btc?
I need to get something up and running asap, so information appreciated. I'm happy to pay for a VPS for a year if someone can help me get it set up.
timmy1979222
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 09, 2014, 02:17:32 PM
 #6918

Great Time to buy BTCD, its still price low,but increasing,in few hours,can be much more!
SHossain
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 09, 2014, 03:38:58 PM
 #6919

OVH is providing cheap VPS as well. I'm using them and works quite fine for me. I don't work for them and no affiliation. Just using their service.

They provide 1 vCore CPU, 1GB RAM, 10GB HDD, up to 10,000 GB data transferred per month @100 Mbps, then 1 Mbps for $2.99. For $6.99 2 vCore CPU, 2GB RAM, 25GB HDD. All ports open.

Are you running SuperNET on it? Someone said ~2 Gb Ram was ideally needed.
Also, are there any good options for paying in btc?
I need to get something up and running asap, so information appreciated. I'm happy to pay for a VPS for a year if someone can help me get it set up.

Using DigitalOcean for the SuperNET testing with 1 GB RAM 4 GB SWAPwith 1 core processor for $10/monthly.  Limited to 2 TB transfer, also they give you 30 GB SSD which is not available in OVH plan.
Solidsmart
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 09, 2014, 03:43:55 PM
 #6920

wWill BTCD Price increase,or why so low?
Pages: « 1 ... 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 [346] 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 ... 551 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!