Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 04:41:07 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Texas Hold'em and Omaha/Omaha8 Poker Room - NL, Limit, Potlimit games  (Read 74243 times)
Cynosure
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
October 29, 2010, 07:43:50 PM
 #101

I'm sorry if I'm late to the rake discussion, but I'd like to know the current state of affairs...  I've played there a number of times.

It appeared to me that the rake was exorbitant, higher than live, especially for what are often HU games, without hand histories, etc., I can't verify these things, but it struck me that the following were the case:
  • Rake was not capped?!  I believe that in some huge pots, i.e., larger than 250 BB), the rake that flashed by was some VERY large number, and certainly not a simple, truncated number that would indicate a cap, and NO ONE has a rake structure that is capped above 250 BB, even at the lowest limit live raketraps...
  • The consequence of this is that a relatively short HU match (in hands - it's a slow interface) that involved me winning maybe about 2.5 buyins total, I ended UP maybe about 50 BB
1481388067
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481388067

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481388067
Reply with quote  #2

1481388067
Report to moderator
1481388067
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481388067

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481388067
Reply with quote  #2

1481388067
Report to moderator
1481388067
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481388067

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481388067
Reply with quote  #2

1481388067
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481388067
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481388067

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481388067
Reply with quote  #2

1481388067
Report to moderator
1481388067
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481388067

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481388067
Reply with quote  #2

1481388067
Report to moderator
1481388067
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481388067

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481388067
Reply with quote  #2

1481388067
Report to moderator
FreeMoney
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Strength in numbers


View Profile WWW
October 29, 2010, 07:59:13 PM
 #102

The rake needs capped for sure. PS and I believe other sites have a much lower rake cap for HU games. I think it's still 50 cents instead of $3. This is especially important if you need game starters. I think there are plenty of people who want to play full tables, but not HU. You need HU to get things started.

I know you are just using the default setting because it was the default, just want to make sure it's clear that it'll be important to growing a healthy active site to put a cap on.

Play Bitcoin Poker at sealswithclubs.eu. We're active and open to everyone.
Cynosure
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
October 29, 2010, 08:43:06 PM
 #103

Man this is frustrating.  I don't understand how the forum swallowed most of my post.  It was about 3x longer, well formatted, and included suggestions, etc.

Also included was what an explanation of what appeared to be a MAJOR bug in which the rake was not even based on the correct pot size!  I'm too frustrated to retype in entirety, but here's Cliff's:

* I'm 200 BB deep, Villain is 50 BB deep.  I CRAI on turn for my 200, villain called.  Rake appeared to calculated on a 250 BB pot (!!) when the pot was 100 BB (both of which, obv., should be above the cap.)

Winning ~3 BI over 75-150 hands and walking away with a ~25 BB profit is equivalent to a 92% rake.  A particularly harsh way to punish those players willing to play HU to start games, and a definite way to dry up your NL pool VERY quickly.  I wish I'd been paying more attention.

Site op, feel free to PM me with requests for elucidations/suggestions, etc...

I'm happy to deal with a perhaps necessarily clunky interface because poker and BTC are both fun things for me, but these issues really need to be addressed.

Best wishes, and kudos on the initiative; let me know if I can be of any service.

- Cynosure

I'm sorry if I'm late to the rake discussion, but I'd like to know the current state of affairs...  I've played there a number of times.

It appeared to me that the rake was exorbitant, higher than live, especially for what are often HU games, without hand histories, etc., I can't verify these things, but it struck me that the following were the case:

(....)
hippich
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile
October 30, 2010, 01:49:26 AM
 #104

Hey guys,

I think I reworked rake module to cap rake on 3BTC. Please, let me know if it will charge more.

I will try to reach author regarding HU blinds issue, but can't really tell for sure when it will happen. IMHO, He more concerned about licensing issue instead code from my short experience. =(


hippich
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile
October 30, 2010, 03:30:00 PM
 #105

i disabled rake again. will try to fix wrong pot amount used and then will turn it on again. until then - game is totally free =)

hippich
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile
November 15, 2010, 03:56:08 AM
 #106

Added "Hide Gravatar" in My Account - Edit form.

LZ
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


Satoshi everywhere!


View Profile WWW
March 25, 2011, 12:31:57 PM
 #107

What about to play today? Smiley

"Never invest unless you can afford to lose your entire investment." © S3052
hippich
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile
March 25, 2011, 01:18:35 PM
 #108

depends on time =) i will be able to join game around 10pm GMT-5

care11
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
March 25, 2011, 03:16:41 PM
 #109

I will play, only smaller limits tho
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
March 25, 2011, 06:35:39 PM
 #110

Ohhhhhh this is just PERFECT! POKER TIME BOYSSSSSSSSS
This is whats gonna get Bitcoins up and running, work on making everything LOOK pretty so that RANDOM googlers will start playing


WHO WANTS TO LOOSE THIER .0x BTCs IN HOLD'EM BETCHES!!! Grin Grin

I've had massive bug while attempting to play poker, all players whom have a timer bar Do Not Have Any Actions to do, this occurs after the flop and after first raise, Once a player calls the raise, he is stuck with a timerbar and No Actions, leaving to whole table to spin around and time out every player, causeing whomever was the first player to push Call, to rake the entire pot

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
hippich
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile
March 25, 2011, 08:33:06 PM
 #111

Ohhhhhh this is just PERFECT! POKER TIME BOYSSSSSSSSS
This is whats gonna get Bitcoins up and running, work on making everything LOOK pretty so that RANDOM googlers will start playing


WHO WANTS TO LOOSE THIER .0x BTCs IN HOLD'EM BETCHES!!! Grin Grin

I've had massive bug while attempting to play poker, all players whom have a timer bar Do Not Have Any Actions to do, this occurs after the flop and after first raise, Once a player calls the raise, he is stuck with a timerbar and No Actions, leaving to whole table to spin around and time out every player, causeing whomever was the first player to push Call, to rake the entire pot

This is long standing bug somewhere deep in libraries I am using but not written by myself. Since there is almost no public interest and no profit for me in this project, I am too lazy to find it and fix it..

Temporary fix for this - just click F5 in the table window.

Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
March 25, 2011, 09:02:31 PM
 #112

Hippich, Y'know i wouldn't mind paying 1% of my winnings to play......

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
S3052
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


BTC Up or Down? go to www.bullbearanalytics.com


View Profile WWW
March 25, 2011, 09:41:41 PM
 #113

The Poker room overall is a great project.

Just one minor suggestion for the homepage: You could revise it and remove the "you can generate coins" part, as most people entering the poker room would be "non-miners" and therefore should not be disappointed by the false expectations of generating coins.

>15years analysis experience

Always do your own due diligence & consult your financial advisor. Never invest unless you can afford to lose your entire investment.

http://twitter.com/BitcoinAnalyst

Subscribe here
hippich
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile
April 07, 2011, 02:37:33 PM
 #114

well.. i decided to work a bit on room. there were few annoying admin bugs and I added twitter notification feature. Now every 5 minutes it checks if there are any players and if they are - post notification to http://twitter.com/betcoin

Follow it to know exactly when someone is in room and join 'em!

hippich
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile
April 07, 2011, 02:39:00 PM
 #115

Hippich, Y'know i wouldn't mind paying 1% of my winnings to play......

it was 1% before. but it did not have cap. other players were very angry =) so I put donation btc addresses. If someone feels this project is worth of effort or you just won huge pot - just tip a bit to the project. =)

bitjet
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 556


View Profile
April 09, 2011, 02:28:11 AM
 #116

theres 4 players right now.
kiba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980


View Profile
April 09, 2011, 02:34:44 AM
 #117

Hippich: your twitter message are annoying and polluting the twitter stream for #bitcoin.

I don't need to know how many players are in your poker room every time it change.

hippich
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile
April 09, 2011, 03:39:53 AM
 #118

removed hash tags =)

ColdHardMetal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 701



View Profile
April 09, 2011, 03:58:09 AM
 #119

I've played a few hands so far but I do have some comments.

1. Hand Histories. If I get to showdown with someone I should be able to look at a hand history and see what cards he had if I win.
2. I sat down in front of the button and couldn't play. That is fine and as it should be. A few hands where dealt, the button passed me by and I was sitting in the CO and my blind was automatically posted. I was not in the BB position. I should have the option to either post early or wait until the BB comes around to me. I shouldn't have to enter early if I don't want to.

ColdHardMetal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 701



View Profile
April 09, 2011, 03:59:14 AM
 #120

The betting bar should have something I can click to increase/decrease my bet amount by 1 BB instead of just the slider.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!