Bitcoin Forum
April 19, 2014, 10:08:04 PM *
News: Due to the OpenSSL heartbleed bug, changing your forum password is recommended.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40
  Print  
Author Topic: bitZino - Bitcoin Casino - Blackjack, Roulette, 3 Card Poker, Slots and more!  (Read 35153 times)
libertaad
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 04, 2012, 06:48:41 PM
 #241

1.  I've read about how to play craps several times before, and played it on various sites, but each time I come back to it I've forgotten what all the bets mean.  Some basic introduction to the game would be helpful.  But I guess that's not what you do - none of your other games have 'help' pages either.

We do plan on adding instructions for all of our games at some point, but for now, we are focusing on attracting gamblers that already know how to play these games. However, I do think that the fact that we present all the odds in an easy-to-digest manner should at least help those that are passingly familiar with craps.

2.  My first impression was that the font used on the table clashed with the usual bitZino sans-serif font.  It looks like it may be the browser's default font, and that the CSS styling isn't working.  Or maybe that's the font you chose on purpose.

We did intentionally go with a serif font for the table. It's supposed to contrast somewhat with the rest of the site, and look a litlte more like a traditional craps table, which typically uses elegant serif fonts to display their bets. Although, I'm no typography expert, so maybe this is a faux pas.. I'm open to suggestions.

Also - are you still using Chromium on Ubuntu? All of your screenshot's table layouts look like they are off by a few pixels, which is pretty ugly. I can't seem to replicate it on my linux Chromium install though.

1397945284
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397945284

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397945284
Reply with quote  #2

1397945284
Report to moderator
Unbeatable Service & Product Support
Grab Your Miners at GAWMiners.com
Order Before April 25th to receive
Double your Hashing Power for 1 week!

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1397945284
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397945284

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397945284
Reply with quote  #2

1397945284
Report to moderator
1397945284
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397945284

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397945284
Reply with quote  #2

1397945284
Report to moderator
ryanAC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110



View Profile

Ignore
October 04, 2012, 07:18:44 PM
 #242

Just tried it and I like the craps, but now there is another way for me to lose the bitcoins I have been trying to collect!

Domain registration with Bitcoin! http://www.namecheap.com/?aff=46859
dooglus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


firstbits: 1doog7


View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 04, 2012, 10:27:23 PM
 #243

Those were definitely some very bad bugs. Thank you for finding them! They have now been fixed. You are truly a bug finding master, Dooglus! I have added 1 BTC to your account to thank you.

Thanks.  I was thinking after I sent the bug report that it would have been smarter to have played some 1 BTC per game throws, waited until you paid out a few 2-2 and didn't pay out some 2-1 rolls, and then complained that the 2-1 winning rolls didn't get paid out.  You would have made good on them I'm sure, and the odds would have been in my favour.  Then I thought maybe others would do the same after seeing my bug report.  I hope it didn't cause you that kind of trouble.

Quote
The reason we made this error is really quite silly of us. All of our prop bets pay out 35 for X, where X is the number of possible outcomes. Of course, 35 for 2 does not equal 34 to 2, which is the error that we made. Unfortunately, we spent the majority of our QA testing the more complicated multi-roll wagers.

OK, so you don't need to see the screenshot I just made of being paid 8.75 for winning the "any craps" bet...  I played the hand before going out this morning and only just got back to screenshot it.  I expect you've fixed that one too now.

Quote
Thank you again for spotting this Dooglus, you really have helped so much in making bitZino a better site.

You're welcome.  It's refreshing to have my bug reports appreciated, acted upon, and rewarded.  Rather than having the site owners ban me (sapphire casino), or ask me to stop posting (btcdice).  A site that gets mad when you point out their errors rather than seeing it as an opportunity to improve isn't a site I want to be playing at.

I don't have time right now to lose the 1 BTC back to you, but hopefully soon I will...  Smiley

Edit: your post doesn't seem to explain why 2-2 was being treated as a winning roll when betting the 1-2 bet.  I guess that was just a typo, right?

dooglus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


firstbits: 1doog7


View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 04, 2012, 10:37:39 PM
 #244

Another comment:

It looks ugly to me to see odds written as "7.5 to 1", especially when just below I see "33 to 2".  Fractional odds are traditionally written using integers.  So instead of "7.5 to 1", we write "15 to 2".  Or write everything as "x to 1", so "33 to 2" becomes "16.5 to 1".  Mixing the two different forms looks weird.

I don't know if your table is a bitmapped image, or whether you can update the text on the fly, but maybe it would be nice to allow the user to chose fractional or decimal odds.  I think different formats are common in different countries.  Probably the easiest to understand is "8.5x" rather than "15 to 2" - just writing the multiplier that is applied when you win.

dooglus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


firstbits: 1doog7


View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 04, 2012, 10:48:26 PM
 #245

We did intentionally go with a serif font for the table. It's supposed to contrast somewhat with the rest of the site, and look a litlte more like a traditional craps table, which typically uses elegant serif fonts to display their bets. Although, I'm no typography expert, so maybe this is a faux pas.. I'm open to suggestions.

I'm no expert either, but I remember reading somewhere that you should never mix serif and sans-serif fonts.

Quote
Also - are you still using Chromium on Ubuntu? All of your screenshot's table layouts look like they are off by a few pixels, which is pretty ugly. I can't seem to replicate it on my linux Chromium install though.

Yes:

$ lsb_release -d
Description:   Ubuntu 12.04.1 LTS
$ dpkg -l chromium-browser | tail -1
ii  chromium-browser                    20.0.1132.47~r144678-0ubuntu0.12.04 Chromium browser

I'm also using XFCE4 rather than Unity as my desktop environment, in case that matters.  It seems unlikely though.

Also, did you change the odds in the last few hours?  Earlier I was getting 17 to 3 for "any seven" and now I'm getting 29 to 6.  That's a drop from 5.666 to 1 to 4.8333 to 1.  Ah, it's a 5 to 1 event.  Smiley  I should have bet it more earlier when you were paying better than breakeven odds for it.  Smiley

Edit: Oh, I get it.  The bug you fixed wasn't that the payouts were wrong - it was that the quoted odds were wrong.  You were always paying out the right amount and only the odds printed on the table were incorrect.

libertaad
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 04, 2012, 11:51:43 PM
 #246

Thanks.  I was thinking after I sent the bug report that it would have been smarter to have played some 1 BTC per game throws, waited until you paid out a few 2-2 and didn't pay out some 2-1 rolls, and then complained that the 2-1 winning rolls didn't get paid out.  You would have made good on them I'm sure, and the odds would have been in my favour.  Then I thought maybe others would do the same after seeing my bug report.  I hope it didn't cause you that kind of trouble.

Thank you for taking the white-hat approach Smiley

OK, so you don't need to see the screenshot I just made of being paid 8.75 for winning the "any craps" bet...  I played the hand before going out this morning and only just got back to screenshot it.  I expect you've fixed that one too now.

Yeah, we've fixed that wager too. The same issue was affecting all of our "Single Rolls" wagers, and we fixed them all.

You're welcome.  It's refreshing to have my bug reports appreciated, acted upon, and rewarded.

Your feedback has consistently been incredibly informed and very helpful. You're definitely an asset to the community, and an asset to anyone that listens to your feedback Smiley

Edit: your post doesn't seem to explain why 2-2 was being treated as a winning roll when betting the 1-2 bet.  I guess that was just a typo, right?

Yeah, that was just a bad typo. Our simulation testing didn't catch it, because the odds were still paying out what was expected, it was just paying out for the wrong rolls. Fortunately, no one had made any real-bitcoin bets on that wager since launch.


Another comment:

It looks ugly to me to see odds written as "7.5 to 1", especially when just below I see "33 to 2".  Fractional odds are traditionally written using integers.  So instead of "7.5 to 1", we write "15 to 2".  Or write everything as "x to 1", so "33 to 2" becomes "16.5 to 1".  Mixing the two different forms looks weird.

I don't know if your table is a bitmapped image, or whether you can update the text on the fly, but maybe it would be nice to allow the user to chose fractional or decimal odds.  I think different formats are common in different countries.  Probably the easiest to understand is "8.5x" rather than "15 to 2" - just writing the multiplier that is applied when you win.

Hm, yeah good point. We originally decided to show the hardways bets as 9.5 to 1 and 7.5 to 1 in order to contrast with the typical 9 to 1 and 7 to 1 payouts. 19 to 2 and 15 to 2 is probably more consistent with the rest of the table now though. I went ahead and updated this.

Fortunately, it's all in HTML, so it was an easy change Smiley

I'm no expert either, but I remember reading somewhere that you should never mix serif and sans-serif fonts.

I did a little more looking into this, and it seems that it is generally acceptable if you're trying to create a contrast between different elements - which is definitely what we're trying to do: contrasting the table against the rest of the webpage. So, for now, I think we'll keep it as-is.

Yes:

$ lsb_release -d
Description:   Ubuntu 12.04.1 LTS
$ dpkg -l chromium-browser | tail -1
ii  chromium-browser                    20.0.1132.47~r144678-0ubuntu0.12.04 Chromium browser

I'm also using XFCE4 rather than Unity as my desktop environment, in case that matters.  It seems unlikely though.

This is very strange. I have the exact same version of Chromium on linux and I can't replicate the issue in your screenshots. Is the Roulette table still doing a similar thing for you? I saw your Roulette screenshots, and I was able to replicate that and I think I fixed it: The issue was using decimals in the CSS for width and height, which Chromium rounded differently than other browsers. But, now we're not using decimals in the CSS anymore, so I can't figure out why a standards-compliant browser would be off by a few pixels in this way.

Also, did you change the odds in the last few hours?  Earlier I was getting 17 to 3 for "any seven" and now I'm getting 29 to 6.  That's a drop from 5.666 to 1 to 4.8333 to 1.  Ah, it's a 5 to 1 event.  Smiley  I should have bet it more earlier when you were paying better than breakeven odds for it.  Smiley

Edit: Oh, I get it.  The bug you fixed wasn't that the payouts were wrong - it was that the quoted odds were wrong.  You were always paying out the right amount and only the odds printed on the table were incorrect.

Yeah - all the payouts were always 35 for X, where X is the number of possible winning rolls. We simply converted it into "Y to X" notation completely incorrectly.

Thanks again for all your help!

dooglus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


firstbits: 1doog7


View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 05, 2012, 01:53:12 AM
 #247

Is the Roulette table still doing a similar thing for you?

I don't really know what problem you're seeing in my screenshots, since I don't know how it's meant to look.

I often don't have pages at 100% zoom.  Could that be the issue?  Try zooming in or out and see if you can reproduce the problem.

Here's how roulette currently looks at my current zoom level:



Here's craps at my current zoom level (110%):



And here's the same craps table at 100% zoom:


dooglus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


firstbits: 1doog7


View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 05, 2012, 01:55:19 AM
 #248

Another comment:

In craps, certain bets aren't allowed at certain times.  For instance you're not allowed to make a 'come' bet as your first bet.  You should disable the mouse hover function for bets that aren't currently allowed.  Otherwise when I hover over 'come', it lights up.  I click it, see the stake box pop up, but am unable to interact with it.

Stephen Gornick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232



View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 05, 2012, 03:09:09 AM
 #249

You should disable the mouse hover function for bets that aren't currently allowed.  Otherwise when I hover over 'come', it lights up.  I click it, see the stake box pop up, but am unable to interact with it.

Same for the Pass Line after the come-out roll, I can't add or change that bet but bitZino shows the stake box, with no further interaction though.

dooglus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


firstbits: 1doog7


View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 05, 2012, 03:29:17 AM
 #250

When I roll 6-6 on the 'no pass', it's a push.  The result is shown as "win: 1".  I think "push: 1" would be better, to make it clear that 6-6 on 'no-pass' is a push, not a win.

I'd also like to see "lose: 1" when I lose.  At the moment there seems to be no way I can tell how much I lost when I lose once the bet amount has faded out.  That makes it hard to drink and martingale bet at the same time.  Wink

ryanAC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110



View Profile

Ignore
October 05, 2012, 05:07:32 AM
 #251

I'm pretty sure there is a problem here...
When the button is 'Off', you shouldn't lose your come bets if you roll a 7. Right?  I also don't think you would lose your place bets either.  In vegas I recall you have to ask for them to be 'working' if you actually want those bets to play on a coming out roll...

Domain registration with Bitcoin! http://www.namecheap.com/?aff=46859
libertaad
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 05, 2012, 07:54:53 AM
 #252

I don't really know what problem you're seeing in my screenshots, since I don't know how it's meant to look.

I often don't have pages at 100% zoom.  Could that be the issue?  Try zooming in or out and see if you can reproduce the problem.

Ah, that is definitely the issue! It's not a huge issue, since it seems you can't even see the specific problem - but the issue is that all of the wagers have a few pixels of spacing between them, where they should be flush with each other. We'll see if we can fix it so that it looks good at all zoom levels.

Another comment:

In craps, certain bets aren't allowed at certain times.  For instance you're not allowed to make a 'come' bet as your first bet.  You should disable the mouse hover function for bets that aren't currently allowed.  Otherwise when I hover over 'come', it lights up.  I click it, see the stake box pop up, but am unable to interact with it.

Same for the Pass Line after the come-out roll, I can't add or change that bet but bitZino shows the stake box, with no further interaction though.

This is actually intentional, since we want to allow the user to click and see what the odds of that bet are, and also potentially click and see exactly how much they have wagered. However, I see that this may not be the most intuitive UI - it may be better at least not to highlight the area on hover. I'll play around with the UI here...

I'm pretty sure there is a problem here...
When the button is 'Off', you shouldn't lose your come bets if you roll a 7. Right?  I also don't think you would lose your place bets either.  In vegas I recall you have to ask for them to be 'working' if you actually want those bets to play on a coming out roll...

Each casino typically does things slightly differently with regard to whether bets are automatically 'working' on the come-out roll. We decided to go with the least confusing option, and always have all visible bets working. From our survey, this is consistent with how other online casinos handle it. Compared to a brick-and-mortar craps game, it's just much easier to quickly remove and re-add your wagers, so it's not really even worth it to have a concept of 'working'. Maybe it would help to have some UI elements to make it clear that all bets are always working though...?

libertaad
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 05, 2012, 07:05:07 PM
 #253

When I roll 6-6 on the 'no pass', it's a push.  The result is shown as "win: 1".  I think "push: 1" would be better, to make it clear that 6-6 on 'no-pass' is a push, not a win.

I'd also like to see "lose: 1" when I lose.  At the moment there seems to be no way I can tell how much I lost when I lose once the bet amount has faded out.  That makes it hard to drink and martingale bet at the same time.  Wink

We've pushed a fix for this, so now it shows a much more informative status message, including how much was won, lost and pushed on the last roll. Hopefully this make it easier to drink and gamble Smiley

We also added a subtle indication as to which wagers are active, and which ones aren't: the inactive wagers have a less dark background on mouseover.

Additionally, we've added the fact that all bets are always working to the rules dropdown.

Thanks for all the feedback everyone, keep it coming!

dooglus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


firstbits: 1doog7


View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 06, 2012, 01:40:33 AM
 #254

We also added a subtle indication as to which wagers are active, and which ones aren't: the inactive wagers have a less dark background on mouseover.

I notice that the "don't pass odds" and "pass odds" buttons are completely inactive when I first play.  No "less dark background" - just a dead UI element.  Seems a little inconsistent, since the "don't come odds" and "come odds" buttons are always at least slightly active...

dooglus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


firstbits: 1doog7


View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 06, 2012, 01:46:51 AM
 #255

We've pushed a fix for this, so now it shows a much more informative status message, including how much was won, lost and pushed on the last roll. Hopefully this make it easier to drink and gamble Smiley

Thanks!

It's just a nit-pick, but I'd prefer the status message to appear earlier, before the losing bets start fading, and persist longer, while I'm placing the next bet.

As soon as I click to place my first bet, the status vanishes, and I have to remember the amount for up to 2 seconds!

libertaad
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 06, 2012, 06:45:23 AM
 #256

I notice that the "don't pass odds" and "pass odds" buttons are completely inactive when I first play.  No "less dark background" - just a dead UI element.  Seems a little inconsistent, since the "don't come odds" and "come odds" buttons are always at least slightly active...

The "pass odds" and "don't pass odds" wagers don't have any popups associated with them when there isn't a point established. This is because it yet to be determined what the payout of that wager will be. But, I kinda agree that this is confusing. Maybe we should just show a popup and not show any payout information before the point is established.

It's just a nit-pick, but I'd prefer the status message to appear earlier, before the losing bets start fading, and persist longer, while I'm placing the next bet.

As soon as I click to place my first bet, the status vanishes, and I have to remember the amount for up to 2 seconds!

Your wish is my command Wink You're right though, the status message was showing up too late, and going away too quickly. We've pushed a fix for this.

dooglus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


firstbits: 1doog7


View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 06, 2012, 06:54:19 PM
 #257

Your wish is my command Wink You're right though, the status message was showing up too late, and going away too quickly. We've pushed a fix for this.

Here's a funny/cool/interesting one:

If I type my bet amount rather than using the mouse, I can't enter any amount that begins with an 8 or a 9.  I can type amounts with 8s and 9s in them, just not at the start.

It's hard to imagine what's special about 8 and 9 that would cause this bug.  I can type 4 then 2x to get 8, or type 7 then +1, but I can't type just 8.

This happens in both craps and roulette, and for both play money and bitcoin play.

dooglus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


firstbits: 1doog7


View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 06, 2012, 07:02:35 PM
 #258

A niggle:

I was just playing craps for uBTC.  I cashed out, then went to buy back in.  I hadn't noticed that the units had switched back to uBTC automatically.

I typed "100000" into the amount box and clicked 'Buy in', thinking it was still in uBTC units, not noticing it had been changed on me.  It automatically changed the 100000 to 100 (which is my whole mBTC balance) and bought in for that amount.  I could easily have started playing thinking I was playing for uBTC not mBTC since it (a) changed the units automatically and (b) reduced the amount I asked to buy it for without warning me that it was more than I had.

So I guess I'd prefer it to remember the units I select, until I change them again.  I'm not sure what would be better than automatically fixing the buy-in amount.  Maybe leave it as typed, and just give an error if the user clicks 'buy-in' with an invalid amount in the text field.

Edit: oh, and I don't see a way to change the units back from uBTC to mBTC.  I guess since it defaults to mBTC each time I play, it's not needed the way things are currently set up.

dooglus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


firstbits: 1doog7


View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 06, 2012, 07:44:31 PM
 #259

Almost everywhere I click on your site gives instant feedback of some kind, so I know the click registered.  But I just clicked the 'cash out' link in the top right and had to wait a few seconds without knowing whether my click had registered or not.  Maybe darken the text as soon as it's clicked, so I know the click 'worked'?

(and I'm starting to feel like this is too much nit-picking - let me know when the level of my reports becomes annoying please)

dooglus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


firstbits: 1doog7


View Profile WWW

Ignore
October 07, 2012, 04:11:34 AM
 #260

I don't know if it's just my eyes, but I find it quite hard to read the green text on a grey background at the top of the screen after withdrawing:


Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!