Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 08:38:40 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 »
  Print  
Author Topic: bitZino - Bitcoin Casino - Blackjack, Roulette, 3 Card Poker, Slots and more!  (Read 75460 times)
libertaad
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile WWW
October 07, 2012, 07:23:21 PM
 #261

Thanks for all the feedback Dooglus! This stuff really helps us make bitZino a better website.

Here's a funny/cool/interesting one:

If I type my bet amount rather than using the mouse, I can't enter any amount that begins with an 8 or a 9.  I can type amounts with 8s and 9s in them, just not at the start.

It's hard to imagine what's special about 8 and 9 that would cause this bug.  I can type 4 then 2x to get 8, or type 7 then +1, but I can't type just 8.

This happens in both craps and roulette, and for both play money and bitcoin play.

This was one pretty bizarre! It turns out it was due to the way parseInt is implemented in javascript. We were calling parseInt without the optional second argument (which is the base of the number), and so javascript was trying to parse '08', and couldn't automatically figure out the base of the number. If you just pass the second argument (which is the correct defensive way to code it anyway), then the string is parsed correctly.

We've fixed all our javascript to call parseInt with the correct number of arguments.

A niggle:

I was just playing craps for uBTC.  I cashed out, then went to buy back in.  I hadn't noticed that the units had switched back to uBTC automatically.

I typed "100000" into the amount box and clicked 'Buy in', thinking it was still in uBTC units, not noticing it had been changed on me.  It automatically changed the 100000 to 100 (which is my whole mBTC balance) and bought in for that amount.  I could easily have started playing thinking I was playing for uBTC not mBTC since it (a) changed the units automatically and (b) reduced the amount I asked to buy it for without warning me that it was more than I had.

So I guess I'd prefer it to remember the units I select, until I change them again.  I'm not sure what would be better than automatically fixing the buy-in amount.  Maybe leave it as typed, and just give an error if the user clicks 'buy-in' with an invalid amount in the text field.

Edit: oh, and I don't see a way to change the units back from uBTC to mBTC.  I guess since it defaults to mBTC each time I play, it's not needed the way things are currently set up.

Thanks for catching this! We definitely don't want people to accidentally wager for more than they were wanting to.

We've changed the behavior here to just disable the "Cash in" button if the value you entered is invalid. So, now we will never automatically change the value on you.

The default minimum bet on a table will always be the value of your account's "Base currency" (which you can set in your account edit page). I think it may be confusing if we remembered the minimum bet of the last table you cashed out from, rather than using the value you set for your account. I hope that the new behavior of disabling the button should also help to make it clear what's going on.

We don't have the option to increase the maximum bet of an in-progress table, since this would result in a lot of corner-cases usability-wise.

We are still looking at getting rid of the whole concept of "Base currency" though, and possibly having users just always enter the minimum bet when they cash in to a new table. There are just many corner cases and usability issues to consider when making this type of change.

[/quote]
Almost everywhere I click on your site gives instant feedback of some kind, so I know the click registered.  But I just clicked the 'cash out' link in the top right and had to wait a few seconds without knowing whether my click had registered or not.  Maybe darken the text as soon as it's clicked, so I know the click 'worked'?

Good catch! We fixed this button so that it greys out when you click it.

I don't know if it's just my eyes, but I find it quite hard to read the green text on a grey background at the top of the screen after withdrawing:



Oh yeah, I had forgotten about the notification messages style. I changed the background here to be darker, and also changed the location so that it's not right at the top of the page.

This should make it somewhat better, but we'll probably give the notifications a more comprehensive UI adjustment soon.

(and I'm starting to feel like this is too much nit-picking - let me know when the level of my reports becomes annoying please)

I will never get annoyed with anyone's feedback! Keep it coming!

I've added another quarter-BTC to your account, Dooglus to thank you for all the feedback. We highly value useful feedback, so that offer is good for anyone else too!

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
dooglus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
October 07, 2012, 08:15:53 PM
 #262

This was one pretty bizarre! It turns out it was due to the way parseInt is implemented in javascript. We were calling parseInt without the optional second argument (which is the base of the number), and so javascript was trying to parse '08', and couldn't automatically figure out the base of the number. If you just pass the second argument (which is the correct defensive way to code it anyway), then the string is parsed correctly.

Ah, yes.  All numbers beginning with 0 are interpreted as octal by javascript.  8 and 9 aren't valid octal digits.

Thanks for catching this! We definitely don't want people to accidentally wager for more than they were wanting to.

We've changed the behavior here to just disable the "Cash in" button if the value you entered is invalid. So, now we will never automatically change the value on you.

I'd like a "buy in as much as possible" button.  It turns out it was convenient to be able to type '9999999' into the buy-in box and have it replace it with the maximum.  But a "buy-in max" option would be clearer.

The default minimum bet on a table will always be the value of your account's "Base currency" (which you can set in your account edit page).

I had forgotten that there was a default setting.  That will fix the problem for me, but I think you could make it more obvious.  Maybe have a checkbox on the screen where I set the minimum bet to have it "set as default for all games" or some such.

Good catch! We fixed this button so that it greys out when you click it.

I think there's a similar issue when you withdraw funds.

I will never get annoyed with anyone's feedback! Keep it coming!

I've added another quarter-BTC to your account, Dooglus to thank you for all the feedback. We highly value useful feedback, so that offer is good for anyone else too!

Sweet, thanks.

libertaad
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile WWW
October 08, 2012, 03:18:48 PM
 #263

I'd like a "buy in as much as possible" button.  It turns out it was convenient to be able to type '9999999' into the buy-in box and have it replace it with the maximum.  But a "buy-in max" option would be clearer.

That's a good idea. That box is already a little cramped, but I think we can find a way to do this without making the UI too busy.

I had forgotten that there was a default setting.  That will fix the problem for me, but I think you could make it more obvious.  Maybe have a checkbox on the screen where I set the minimum bet to have it "set as default for all games" or some such.

Yeah, in general, the base currency settings need some re-working, which we are definitely doing. I like your idea of having a "set default" checkbox.

I think there's a similar issue when you withdraw funds.

Ah. good catch, thanks!

dooglus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
October 08, 2012, 04:21:32 PM
 #264

I think there's a similar issue when you withdraw funds.

Ah. good catch, thanks!

"Or, play with play money" also doesn't give immediate feedback.

I love how each time I find a problem with the site I mention it and it's fixed very quickly.  It's a bit like coding my own site, but without having to do the coding.

libertaad
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile WWW
October 09, 2012, 06:22:30 AM
 #265

I think there's a similar issue when you withdraw funds.

Ah. good catch, thanks!

"Or, play with play money" also doesn't give immediate feedback.

I love how each time I find a problem with the site I mention it and it's fixed very quickly.  It's a bit like coding my own site, but without having to do the coding.

Another good catch, thanks!

Este Nuno
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 826


amarha


View Profile
October 11, 2012, 03:46:21 PM
 #266

This site looks and plays great. For me at this point it's pretty much the only game in town after reading that thread regarding dooglus from the operator of Strike Sapphire. What is it about Bitcoin that makes people go crazy?

Anyway, don't mean to get off topic too much. Keep up the good work on bitZino, it's really easy to use and the only complaint I can think of is just that it could use some more games. But it seems like your working on them and adding them, so good stuff. Tried Craps today and it was good, probably my favorite so far.
dooglus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
October 11, 2012, 04:30:46 PM
 #267

This site looks and plays great. For me at this point it's pretty much the only game in town after reading that thread regarding dooglus from the operator of Strike Sapphire. What is it about Bitcoin that makes people go crazy?

I miss the multi-player games and interactive chat.  And I used to enjoy card counting at the blackjack tables, which isn't possible at bitZino since they shuffle ever hand.  That's about all though.  I think I remember something in this thread about multi-player games being a possibility for the future, but I'm not sure about that.

dooglus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
October 11, 2012, 05:22:07 PM
 #268

I just saw this on your 'about bitZino' page:

Quote
We leverage HTML5 browser standards to bring you a world-class casino right in our browser

Do you mean "right in your browser"?  It's mine, not yours!  Smiley

I was looking at that page trying to determine the maximum bet size for each of your games, but couldn't find it.  Is that written anywhere?

dooglus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
October 11, 2012, 05:34:22 PM
 #269

I lost the 0.25 BTC you recently gave me.  When I try to "play for bitcoins" I'm shown my deposit address, and the message:

"To get started, send some bitcoins to your personal deposit address. Your bitcoins will instantly be available to start playing!"

I send some bitcoins to my address, but the message stayed there.  Is it meant to update automatically, or do I need to refresh the page?  It would be nice if you could push an update when you receive my deposit, but I don't know if that's possible.  If not, maybe you should mention that a page refresh is required, or have a button or link for "refresh my balance" or similar.

(Refreshing the page shows the deposit went through OK, so it is just that you're not updating the page when I deposit)

dooglus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
October 11, 2012, 05:36:36 PM
 #270

Possibly my nittiest pick so far, but on https://bitzino.com/user/edit I see:

Code:
Total balance 1000.000000 c฿
In-game balance:  0.000000 c฿
Unconfirmed balance:  1000.000000 c฿
Available for withdrawal 1000.000000 c฿

Two of the fields have colons and two don't.  Yuck!  Wink

ErebusBat
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560

I am the one who knocks


View Profile
October 11, 2012, 08:31:58 PM
 #271

I lost the 0.25 BTC you recently gave me.  When I try to "play for bitcoins" I'm shown my deposit address, and the message:

"To get started, send some bitcoins to your personal deposit address. Your bitcoins will instantly be available to start playing!"

I send some bitcoins to my address, but the message stayed there.  Is it meant to update automatically, or do I need to refresh the page?  It would be nice if you could push an update when you receive my deposit, but I don't know if that's possible.  If not, maybe you should mention that a page refresh is required, or have a button or link for "refresh my balance" or similar.

(Refreshing the page shows the deposit went through OK, so it is just that you're not updating the page when I deposit)
Dealing with usability in my day-job I would suggest adding the button anyway.... it eliminates user questions (dooglus is not your average user, and he had questions).

Even if you rely on some sort of push and just disable the button for 5 seconds it makes the user 'feel better'.

░▒▓█ Coinroll.it - 1% House Edge Dice Game █▓▒░ • Coinroll Thread • *FREE* 100 BTC Raffle

Signup for CEX.io BitFury exchange and get GHS Instantly!  Don't wait for shipping, mine NOW!
libertaad
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile WWW
October 11, 2012, 08:48:35 PM
 #272

This site looks and plays great. For me at this point it's pretty much the only game in town after reading that thread regarding dooglus from the operator of Strike Sapphire. What is it about Bitcoin that makes people go crazy?

Anyway, don't mean to get off topic too much. Keep up the good work on bitZino, it's really easy to use and the only complaint I can think of is just that it could use some more games. But it seems like your working on them and adding them, so good stuff. Tried Craps today and it was good, probably my favorite so far.

Thanks, and I'm glad you're liking it! We are indeed constantly working on new games. Our next game to launch will probably be three-card poker. We are also working on adding more varieties of video poker.

We would like to add multi-player games at some point - but for now we are focusing on having a full selection of single-player casino games.

I just saw this on your 'about bitZino' page:

Quote
We leverage HTML5 browser standards to bring you a world-class casino right in our browser

Do you mean "right in your browser"?  It's mine, not yours!  Smiley

I was looking at that page trying to determine the maximum bet size for each of your games, but couldn't find it.  Is that written anywhere?

Thanks for catching this typo! I can't believe how long it's been live this way, but it's fixed now Cheesy I also fixed the colon issue on our user page.

Right now we only show the maximum bets in the rules dropdown if you're cashed into a real-bitcoin table. We are planning on changing this soon so that it will show on all play-money tables as well. Thanks for bringing this up, so that we expedite this change.

I lost the 0.25 BTC you recently gave me.  When I try to "play for bitcoins" I'm shown my deposit address, and the message:

"To get started, send some bitcoins to your personal deposit address. Your bitcoins will instantly be available to start playing!"

I send some bitcoins to my address, but the message stayed there.  Is it meant to update automatically, or do I need to refresh the page?  It would be nice if you could push an update when you receive my deposit, but I don't know if that's possible.  If not, maybe you should mention that a page refresh is required, or have a button or link for "refresh my balance" or similar.

(Refreshing the page shows the deposit went through OK, so it is just that you're not updating the page when I deposit)
Dealing with usability in my day-job I would suggest adding the button anyway.... it eliminates user questions (dooglus is not your average user, and he had questions).

Even if you rely on some sort of push and just disable the button for 5 seconds it makes the user 'feel better'.

Thanks for the advice! I agree with you that a refresh button would be good here.

ryanAC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111



View Profile
October 12, 2012, 04:36:37 AM
 #273

Really like the craps.
I even managed to get a co-worker to start playing by selling him some btc that I sent right to his deposit address.  He didn't even have to know what bitcoin is as I will cash him out if he wants.  I think I have found a way to get more people using bitcoin...

Domain registration with Bitcoin! http://www.namecheap.com/?aff=46859
ErebusBat
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560

I am the one who knocks


View Profile
October 12, 2012, 12:40:53 PM
 #274

Really like the craps.
I even managed to get a co-worker to start playing by selling him some btc that I sent right to his deposit address.  He didn't even have to know what bitcoin is as I will cash him out if he wants.  I think I have found a way to get more people using bitcoin...

That is neat, micro-economy.

Just be careful not to wind up up in the pokey.

░▒▓█ Coinroll.it - 1% House Edge Dice Game █▓▒░ • Coinroll Thread • *FREE* 100 BTC Raffle

Signup for CEX.io BitFury exchange and get GHS Instantly!  Don't wait for shipping, mine NOW!
dooglus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
October 12, 2012, 06:22:04 PM
 #275

Dealing with usability in my day-job I would suggest adding the button anyway.... it eliminates user questions (dooglus is not your average user, and he had questions).

I was kind of playing dumb - I realised pretty quickly that I was going to have to refresh the page myself, but thought I shouldn't have to realise that, and that some wouldn't.

dooglus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
October 12, 2012, 06:26:48 PM
 #276

Right now we only show the maximum bets in the rules dropdown if you're cashed into a real-bitcoin table. We are planning on changing this soon so that it will show on all play-money tables as well. Thanks for bringing this up, so that we expedite this change.

After asking what the maximum bet was, I found the information in your first post of this thread:

  • A wide range of limits: Bet anywhere from 1 μBTC all the way up to 10 BTC.

So I loaded up 10 BTC and started martingale-betting on craps.  Imagine my surprise when I lost a 1.6 btc bet and it wouldn't let me double up to 3.2 btc.  It turns out the maximum bet is really only 2 btc.  I ended up throwing a mini-tantrum and losing the rest on blackjack.

I think you should either not mention the maximum bet in that first post, or correct it.  It doesn't feel fair to give incorrect information there.  I wouldn't have been betting how I did if I had realised the max bet was 5 times smaller than stated.  Sad

libertaad
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile WWW
October 13, 2012, 04:10:38 AM
 #277

Really like the craps.
I even managed to get a co-worker to start playing by selling him some btc that I sent right to his deposit address.  He didn't even have to know what bitcoin is as I will cash him out if he wants.  I think I have found a way to get more people using bitcoin...

This is a really cool story! I originally built bitZino with the main purpose of bringing bitcoin to the masses, so I'm glad to see that is starting to happen Smiley


Right now we only show the maximum bets in the rules dropdown if you're cashed into a real-bitcoin table. We are planning on changing this soon so that it will show on all play-money tables as well. Thanks for bringing this up, so that we expedite this change.

After asking what the maximum bet was, I found the information in your first post of this thread:

  • A wide range of limits: Bet anywhere from 1 μBTC all the way up to 10 BTC.

So I loaded up 10 BTC and started martingale-betting on craps.  Imagine my surprise when I lost a 1.6 btc bet and it wouldn't let me double up to 3.2 btc.  It turns out the maximum bet is really only 2 btc.  I ended up throwing a mini-tantrum and losing the rest on blackjack.

I think you should either not mention the maximum bet in that first post, or correct it.  It doesn't feel fair to give incorrect information there.  I wouldn't have been betting how I did if I had realised the max bet was 5 times smaller than stated.  Sad

I'm sorry about that! I have updated the original post so that it is more correct.

We do take bets up to 10 BTC, but only in Blackjack and Roulette. Video Poker has a max bet of 1 BTC per hand, and Craps has a max bet of 2 BTC per wager-type. Roulette also has a max bet of 1 BTC for the number wagers.

The main reason we have to make our Craps maximum wager smaller is because we support up to 5x odds wagers. This means that a wager of 2 BTC on pass and a subsequent maximum odds wager of 10 BTC is technically a 12 BTC wager on pass.

dooglus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
October 13, 2012, 04:47:02 PM
 #278

I'm sorry about that! I have updated the original post so that it is more correct.

I was kind of hoping you'd reimburse my loss, but not really expecting you to.  It's cool though.

libertaad
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile WWW
October 13, 2012, 06:01:33 PM
 #279

I'm sorry about that! I have updated the original post so that it is more correct.

I was kind of hoping you'd reimburse my loss, but not really expecting you to.  It's cool though.

You've always been incredibly helpful, Dooglus, so I just went in and added 1 BTC to your account.

ErebusBat
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560

I am the one who knocks


View Profile
October 13, 2012, 08:18:21 PM
 #280

I'm sorry about that! I have updated the original post so that it is more correct.

I was kind of hoping you'd reimburse my loss, but not really expecting you to.  It's cool though.

You've always been incredibly helpful, Dooglus, so I just went in and added 1 BTC to your account.
I am sure that he will 'give' it back anyway.

░▒▓█ Coinroll.it - 1% House Edge Dice Game █▓▒░ • Coinroll Thread • *FREE* 100 BTC Raffle

Signup for CEX.io BitFury exchange and get GHS Instantly!  Don't wait for shipping, mine NOW!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!