Bitcoin Forum
May 24, 2024, 11:39:58 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Electrum - Bitcoin client for the common users (friendly and instant)  (Read 110004 times)
stepkrav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188
Merit: 100



View Profile
November 23, 2012, 02:11:09 PM
 #261

Then the only logical conclusion is that the "sudo python setup.py install" command failed.

Code:
# python setup.py install
Including all files
[b]/usr/lib/python2.7/distutils/dist.py:267: UserWarning: Unknown distribution option: 'install_requires'
  warnings.warn(msg)[/b]
running install
running build
running build_py
running build_scripts
running install_lib
running install_scripts
changing mode of /usr/local/bin/electrum to 755
running install_data
running install_egg_info
Removing /usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/Electrum-1.5.1.egg-info
Writing /usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/Electrum-1.5.1.egg-info
Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
November 23, 2012, 02:19:58 PM
 #262

Is /usr/local/bin/electrum a symlink and if so, where does it link to?

Did you install the initial version via git as well or via pip?

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
stepkrav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188
Merit: 100



View Profile
November 23, 2012, 02:26:24 PM
 #263

Is /usr/local/bin/electrum a symlink and if so, where does it link to?

Did you install the initial version via git as well or via pip?

no it's not a link. Should i link it to the electrum that i execute from the source directory?
Initial version was installed via git as well.
ThomasV
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1896
Merit: 1353



View Profile WWW
November 23, 2012, 02:45:47 PM
 #264

do this to check if you installed it correctly:
Code:
~> python
Python 2.7.3 (default, Aug  1 2012, 05:14:39)
[GCC 4.6.3] on linux2
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
>>> import electrum
>>> electrum.version.ELECTRUM_VERSION

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
stepkrav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188
Merit: 100



View Profile
November 23, 2012, 02:56:38 PM
 #265

Code:
python
Python 2.7.3rc2 (default, Apr 22 2012, 22:30:17)
[GCC 4.6.3] on linux2
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
>>> import electrum
>>> electrum.version.ELECTRUM_VERSION
'1.5.1'
ThomasV
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1896
Merit: 1353



View Profile WWW
November 23, 2012, 03:17:27 PM
 #266

Code:
python
Python 2.7.3rc2 (default, Apr 22 2012, 22:30:17)
[GCC 4.6.3] on linux2
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
>>> import electrum
>>> electrum.version.ELECTRUM_VERSION
'1.5.1'


do you happen to be launching electrum from a directory where a subdirectory named 'lib' is present?

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
stepkrav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188
Merit: 100



View Profile
November 23, 2012, 03:40:41 PM
 #267

Sorry to bother you guys with all this, i'm just missing something probably. Anyway :

if i change to the directory ~/electrum that was created when i git cloned, and i give "./electrum" its working fine. In this directory there indeed a subdir called "lib".

My problem is that electrum doesnt seem to be correctly installed system wide. That is if i execute simply the command electrum in a shell or if i try the GUI icon of electrum in Gnome3.

Tachikoma asked me before about /usr/local/bin/electrum. So this is the output :

Code:
ls -l /usr/local/bin/electrum 
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root staff 24542 Nov 23 13:08 /usr/local/bin/electrum
arsenische
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1199
Merit: 1012


View Profile
November 24, 2012, 10:00:15 PM
 #268

I love this software! It works fast and has the exact set of features I need!

Just one question: why would one want to run a public Electrum server, is there any incentive to do so?

Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
November 24, 2012, 11:40:16 PM
 #269

I love this software! It works fast and has the exact set of features I need!

Just one question: why would one want to run a public Electrum server, is there any incentive to do so?

There is no incentive except supporting Electrum.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
Pontius
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 225
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 25, 2012, 11:35:35 AM
Last edit: November 25, 2012, 12:45:10 PM by Pontius
 #270

Just one question: why would one want to run a public Electrum server, is there any incentive to do so?

I'm running one just for the fun.  Cool
ThomasV
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1896
Merit: 1353



View Profile WWW
November 25, 2012, 11:47:27 AM
 #271

I love this software! It works fast and has the exact set of features I need!

Just one question: why would one want to run a public Electrum server, is there any incentive to do so?

For the moment there is no financial incentive to do so.
But I guess this could change in the future; servers operators could charge a small fee for the service they provide.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
tnkflx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 349
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 25, 2012, 12:25:08 PM
 #272

I love this software! It works fast and has the exact set of features I need!

Just one question: why would one want to run a public Electrum server, is there any incentive to do so?

For the moment there is no financial incentive to do so.
But I guess this could change in the future; servers operators could charge a small fee for the service they provide.

Maybe a donate button in Electrum itself? And when someone donates, it will be divided between all Electrum servers?

| Operating electrum.be & us.electrum.be |
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386
Merit: 1097



View Profile WWW
November 25, 2012, 12:45:55 PM
 #273

Maybe a donate button in Electrum itself? And when someone donates, it will be divided between all Electrum servers?

Anyone can setup as many virtual Electrum server as he wish...

Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
November 25, 2012, 12:48:13 PM
 #274

I love this software! It works fast and has the exact set of features I need!

Just one question: why would one want to run a public Electrum server, is there any incentive to do so?

For the moment there is no financial incentive to do so.
But I guess this could change in the future; servers operators could charge a small fee for the service they provide.


I think it's very hard to offer something on a paid server that a non-paid server can't do. There has to be an incentive to pay for the server, something that differs from the free servers.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
molecular
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2772
Merit: 1019



View Profile
November 25, 2012, 01:14:32 PM
 #275

Just one question: why would one want to run a public Electrum server, is there any incentive to do so?

I'm running one just for the fun.  Cool

Are you recording IP-Address to Public Seed mapping information? It might be possible to monetize such info at some point in time. It's an issue.

PGP key molecular F9B70769 fingerprint 9CDD C0D3 20F8 279F 6BE0  3F39 FC49 2362 F9B7 0769
Pontius
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 225
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 25, 2012, 01:50:54 PM
 #276

Are you recording IP-Address to Public Seed mapping information? It might be possible to monetize such info at some point in time. It's an issue.

No, I don't. I'm not even keeping the logs for longer then a day (lograte just throws them away at midnight).
tnkflx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 349
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 25, 2012, 01:53:05 PM
 #277

Maybe a donate button in Electrum itself? And when someone donates, it will be divided between all Electrum servers?

Anyone can setup as many virtual Electrum server as he wish...

Didn't even think of that...  Well, donate button for the server you're connected to then Smiley

| Operating electrum.be & us.electrum.be |
arsenische
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1199
Merit: 1012


View Profile
November 26, 2012, 12:53:36 AM
 #278

Maybe a donate button in Electrum itself? And when someone donates, it will be divided between all Electrum servers?

Anyone can setup as many virtual Electrum server as he wish...

Didn't even think of that...  Well, donate button for the server you're connected to then Smiley

how do IRC servers make for living?

BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1009


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
November 26, 2012, 02:04:03 AM
 #279

I would think this could be built into the client as an option. eg. it has an option for default transaction fee now but this could be split into two items or simply have the value split in half.

Then when the client builds a "send" transaction it adds an output for the server's btc address for the fee portion. This seems to me like the most transparent yet configurable way to allow a small stream of fees to support the server handling transactions. It's not even much code to do that. But it would perhaps require that servers have an api call that provides the correct address as parsing it out of the Wall text seems like a poor idea.

slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386
Merit: 1097



View Profile WWW
November 26, 2012, 07:46:35 AM
 #280

Then when the client builds a "send" transaction it adds an output for the server's btc address for the fee portion. This seems to me like the most transparent yet configurable way to allow a small stream of fees to support the server handling transactions. It's not even much code to do that. But it would perhaps require that servers have an api call that provides the correct address as parsing it out of the Wall text seems like a poor idea.

I have been thinking about this as well. However this is becoming privacy issue...

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!