Bitcoin Forum
December 15, 2017, 03:07:39 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [Avalon ASIC] Batch #2 pre-Sale Thread  (Read 106957 times)
creativex
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434



View Profile
February 01, 2013, 04:40:50 PM
 #381

You mean 2000, right? Not 3000...

Nope $3000 is right for 6 modules. I'd take that, particularly as it's not vaporware and has the potential to be upgraded further if/when faster and/or more energy efficient modules become available. Speed is probably closer to 135Gh/s.

1513350459
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513350459

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513350459
Reply with quote  #2

1513350459
Report to moderator
1513350459
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513350459

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513350459
Reply with quote  #2

1513350459
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513350459
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513350459

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513350459
Reply with quote  #2

1513350459
Report to moderator
Vicus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


View Profile
February 01, 2013, 04:42:03 PM
 #382

Does the Terms of Sale page keep looping for everyone else too? I've tried 3 browsers and the "I understand..." button just goes takes me back to the top of the page  Undecided
No! I just ordered 20 units. page says there 10 units more is availible for that moment! Hurry!
creativex
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434



View Profile
February 01, 2013, 04:46:52 PM
 #383

WTH are you saying? Sad

You just sent $30,000 to order from a batch that was postponed yesterday TBA within the week?

BitcoinRate.com
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 116



View Profile WWW
February 01, 2013, 04:47:56 PM
 #384

Does the Terms of Sale page keep looping for everyone else too? I've tried 3 browsers and the "I understand..." button just goes takes me back to the top of the page  Undecided

Yeah that's on purpose, they're not open for orders yet.

★ Get +16GB extra on your Dropbox: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=142163.0
Fuzzy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
February 01, 2013, 04:48:13 PM
 #385

Does the Terms of Sale page keep looping for everyone else too? I've tried 3 browsers and the "I understand..." button just goes takes me back to the top of the page  Undecided
No! I just ordered 20 units. page says there 10 units more is availible for that moment! Hurry!

NVM, got my order for 50 through, finally.  Cheesy

Just waiting for 6 confirmations.





/troll
cedivad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134



View Profile
February 01, 2013, 04:48:58 PM
 #386

Quote
The Trade-In Orders are not part of the 600 unit limitation existing in Batch #2.

Sad

My anger against what is wrong in the Bitcoin community is productive:
Bitcointa.lk - Replace "Bitcointalk.org" with "Bitcointa.lk" in this url to see how this page looks like on a proper forum (Announcement Thread)
Hashfast.org - Wiki for screwed customers
creativex
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434



View Profile
February 01, 2013, 04:53:50 PM
 #387

Why is that a problem?

darkip
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 160


View Profile
February 01, 2013, 04:54:24 PM
 #388

Nice. For $3,000 (not including shipping) you can have a 900 watt 'desktop' sized box running at 132GH/s. I suppose that's decent if you're thinking of short term gains.

This is what I'm considering. But I do have some concerns:
1. Will the power supply be overloaded with 6 hashing units? (Can it supply ~ 900w?)
2. I assume things are going to get mighty toasty in the box with 6 hashing units in there. Considering the review of the first unit and its problems with overheating, is this going to be even more unstable?
cedivad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134



View Profile
February 01, 2013, 04:54:29 PM
 #389

Why is that a problem?
More units, less money per unit.

My anger against what is wrong in the Bitcoin community is productive:
Bitcointa.lk - Replace "Bitcointalk.org" with "Bitcointa.lk" in this url to see how this page looks like on a proper forum (Announcement Thread)
Hashfast.org - Wiki for screwed customers
cedivad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134



View Profile
February 01, 2013, 04:55:28 PM
 #390

Nice. For $3,000 (not including shipping) you can have a 900 watt 'desktop' sized box running at 132GH/s. I suppose that's decent if you're thinking of short term gains.

This is what I'm considering. But I do have some concerns:
1. Will the power supply be overloaded with 6 hashing units? (Can it supply ~ 900w?)
2. I assume things are going to get mighty toasty in the box with 6 hashing units in there. Considering the review of the first unit and its problems with overheating, is this going to be even more unstable?
let me add an IMAP header to your message.

x-troll-detected: yes

My anger against what is wrong in the Bitcoin community is productive:
Bitcointa.lk - Replace "Bitcointalk.org" with "Bitcointa.lk" in this url to see how this page looks like on a proper forum (Announcement Thread)
Hashfast.org - Wiki for screwed customers
MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274


View Profile
February 01, 2013, 04:57:51 PM
 #391

It might depend on shipping, but why would you buy one unit and three upgrades for $3000 when you could just buy two units for $3000? If you really want to space, gut one unit, mount the three boards in the other, and sell the PSU and other stuff.
darkip
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 160


View Profile
February 01, 2013, 05:01:21 PM
 #392

let me add an IMAP header to your message.

x-troll-detected: yes
Pretty sure you mean a MIME / RFC 2047 header.

Also: Not trolling, I think they're perfectly reasonable questions?

It might depend on shipping, but why would you buy one unit and three upgrades for $3000 when you could just buy two units for $3000? If you really want to space, gut one unit, mount the three boards in the other, and sell the PSU and other stuff.

A pretty good point, although I guess you'd have to pay more shipping?
creativex
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434



View Profile
February 01, 2013, 05:01:54 PM
 #393

Why is that a problem?
More units, less money per unit.

Not too worried about a few more units from Avalon in the face of AsicMiner's 12Th and possibly even BFL(someday) if they manage to remove their thumbs from their nether regions. As I recall many hashrate doomsday prognosticators had us at many times current hashrate by now.

cedivad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134



View Profile
February 01, 2013, 05:02:45 PM
 #394

Pretty sure you mean a MIME / RFC 2047 header.
Oh sh*t. I confuse the 2 every time, sorry.

My anger against what is wrong in the Bitcoin community is productive:
Bitcointa.lk - Replace "Bitcointalk.org" with "Bitcointa.lk" in this url to see how this page looks like on a proper forum (Announcement Thread)
Hashfast.org - Wiki for screwed customers
rocks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1149


View Profile
February 01, 2013, 05:17:10 PM
 #395

OK, can someone explain this to me?

Quote from: AvalonWebsite
Why Batch Orders?
Utilizing a short time frame, batch based, and built-to-order sales method allows to manage finances properly and reduce risk for all parties.

For example, Avalon will not be responsible if a Bitcoin bug is introduced rendering it useless between the period of time which a batch of Avlaon units are build.

One way to read this is Avalon is saying if they make some technical update/changes to a batch, and that update causes problems and none of the units work correctly, that Avalon stays that is the risk of the customers of that batch and the customers will take the hit.

So if batch #1 and #2 work, and they make a modification that introduces a bug into batch #3, the batch #3 customer of SOL.

If Avalon has a working ASIC part there are ZERO reasons to make mask or wafer level changes for a while and they should be running the exact same ASIC design for several batches at the very least.

So why would Avalon add this disclaimer? Or am I just reading this wrong.
creativex
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434



View Profile
February 01, 2013, 05:20:25 PM
 #396

Bitcoin bug = changes to hashing algorithm or the like. Things beyond their control is how I interpreted.

MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274


View Profile
February 01, 2013, 05:21:31 PM
 #397

OK, can someone explain this to me?

Quote from: AvalonWebsite
Why Batch Orders?
Utilizing a short time frame, batch based, and built-to-order sales method allows to manage finances properly and reduce risk for all parties.

For example, Avalon will not be responsible if a Bitcoin bug is introduced rendering it useless between the period of time which a batch of Avlaon units are build.

One way to read this is Avalon is saying if they make some technical update/changes to a batch, and that update causes problems and none of the units work correctly, that Avalon stays that is the risk of the customers of that batch and the customers will take the hit.

So if batch #1 and #2 work, and they make a modification that introduces a bug into batch #3, the batch #3 customer of SOL.

If Avalon has a working ASIC part there are ZERO reasons to make mask or wafer level changes for a while and they should be running the exact same ASIC design for several batches at the very least.

So why would Avalon add this disclaimer? Or am I just reading this wrong.
They aren't saying that a change on their end will not be granted a refund. They're saying that if a bug is introduced into Bitcoin or something else happens like a protocol change before you get your unit, you can't cancel and get a refund.
fcmatt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204



View Profile
February 01, 2013, 05:25:54 PM
 #398

I am curious if you order a batch #2 unit.. and then order 3 extra modules.. how will they ship?
Do you get your unit sometime in the future and then the other 3 modules trickle in later on in
a different shipment?

Maybe you would be better off just ordering 2 units and having a shot at getting everything
at once or very close together. You could just combine the two units into 1 if you desire (i guess).

Price wise it does not make sense to buy extra units. Just buy more complete kit units. Then cooling
is less of an issue, more redundancy, etc...

██
█║█
║║║
║║║
█║█
██
'BTC MULTI-WALLET SOON'
▬▬▬▬ Download WHITEPAPER ▬▬▬▬

                    ▄██▄
                  ▄██████▄
                ▄██████████
              ▄██████████▀   ▄▄
            ▄██████████▀   ▄████▄
          ▄██████████▀    ████████▄
         ██████████▀      ▀████████
         ▀███████▀   ▄███▄  ▀████▀   ▄█▄
    ▄███▄  ▀███▀   ▄███████▄  ▀▀   ▄█████▄
  ▄███████▄      ▄██████████     ▄█████████
  █████████    ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
   ▀█████▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
     ▀▀▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ▀███████▀      █████████▀
            ▀███▀   ▄██▄  ▀█████▀
                  ▄██████▄  ▀▀▀
                  █████████
                   ▀█████▀
                     ▀▀▀
e i d o o
██

███▀▀
▐▐▌
▐▌
▐▌
▐▐▌
███▄▄
▀▀███
▐▌▌
▐▌
▐▌
▐▌▌
▄▄███
darkip
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 160


View Profile
February 01, 2013, 05:30:08 PM
 #399

As previously noted, it makes NO sense to buy individual hashing modules at the moment. You would have thought they'd be marketed as cheaper than just a 1/3 of the price of a full unit.
rocks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1149


View Profile
February 01, 2013, 05:30:19 PM
 #400

Bitcoin bug = changes to hashing algorithm or the like. Things beyond their control is how I interpreted.

OK, that can make sense and is reasonable for an ASIC company to take. If BitCoin changes the algorithm, the boxes are done.

But the statement refers to the time between when a customer orders and the batch is fulfilled, which is just 2-3 months. Considering the fact that there are zero chances of the algorithm changing this year, why bother to make the statement at all? The statement also refers to a bitcoin bug, the core developers still make updates to fix security issues, but my understanding is none of these changes have effected or will effect the core hashing algorithm. This is why the same FPGA bitstreams have worked for so long...

I just want to be sure the statement refers to changes outside of Avalon's control (completely reasonable), and not to development bugs on their end (worrying statement).
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!