Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 10:01:45 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [Avalon Asic] trade-in Thread  (Read 42750 times)
yxt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile WWW
May 30, 2013, 03:22:27 AM
 #201

I have skipped normal batch 1&2 because of the promise of trade in ... Huh Roll Eyes

1511042505
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511042505

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511042505
Reply with quote  #2

1511042505
Report to moderator
Transactions can optionally carry transaction fees. Whoever mines the block which ends up containing your transaction will get the fee. The Bitcoin client will sometimes force you to pay a fee when it thinks that no miner will accept your transaction otherwise.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511042505
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511042505

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511042505
Reply with quote  #2

1511042505
Report to moderator
1511042505
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511042505

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511042505
Reply with quote  #2

1511042505
Report to moderator
greaterninja
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
May 30, 2013, 03:27:10 AM
 #202

I think Yifu will come through...lets stay vigilant.
HorseRider
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1369


View Profile
May 30, 2013, 04:22:56 AM
 #203

I have skipped normal batch 1&2 because of the promise of trade in ... Huh Roll Eyes

Same here.  Most people who originally ordered from ngzhang skipped batch #1&#2 expecting to trade-in as announced.

I guess when we got trade-in email in April, Avalon team expected to ship them soon, but something must have
happened after that to derail that plan.  I got an impression from that email that batch 2 and trade-ins will be shipped
within a week or two.  My guess is they got into some production problems, maybe delayed by supplier or one of their
"friends".  SMT from Japan, delayed by customs followed by setup problems...Wild guess of course.

Just have to be patient.

I have the same kind of hope like you.

16SvwJtQET7mkHZFFbJpgPaDA1Pxtmbm5P
yxt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile WWW
May 30, 2013, 06:23:18 AM
 #204

I have no problem with a delay.
But as more and more Batch2 be sent out a single short line would be helpful.  Smiley
Costs Avalon 30seconds

rudrigorc2
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064



View Profile
May 30, 2013, 06:29:15 AM
 #205

costs 30 seconds...
and for us? one day of waiting is like 300 USD!
I have some free time here in China I put myself avaiable to work for them somehow, if that would fasten things a litte bit
fhh
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204



View Profile
May 30, 2013, 06:53:23 AM
 #206

I have skipped normal batch 1&2 because of the promise of trade in ... Huh Roll Eyes

with the early adopters discount for batch 1 there was no reason to skip;)
But i didnt ordered an other one on batch 2 cause of trade in offer...
and also b3 as it was to expensive in compare to trade in

 

Deutsche Bitcoinbörse: https://www.bitcoin.de/r/yyfrkv
das passende Konto gibts bei der fidor Bank https://banking.fidor.de/registrierung?ibid=43076568
yxt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile WWW
May 30, 2013, 09:37:25 AM
 #207

batch1 was no way to trade in, afaik
 Huh

server
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 815


~\/~


View Profile
May 30, 2013, 11:02:14 AM
 #208

If my used memory serves me right the message to "the special ones" was to wait for a personalised offer.

                                                                      UndecidedEmbarrassedAngry SadCryLips sealed
 
 
Raize
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1409


View Profile
May 30, 2013, 02:55:40 PM
 #209

There's one thing for sure at this point:
Trade-ins are NOT special.

We have now went over a month without Icarus mining profits, worth approximately $100 per Icarus in value.

OrganofCorti's Neighbourhood Pool Watch - The most informative website on blockchain health
Icoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 585



View Profile WWW
May 30, 2013, 04:00:08 PM
 #210

There's one thing for sure at this point:
Trade-ins are NOT special.

We have now went over a month without Icarus mining profits, worth approximately $100 per Icarus in value.


To be honest i feel treated like shit.
The hardware for trade-in was sent early in week 16 cause the AVALON Team seems to have no record of the sold Lancelot and Icarus devices we had to send them the hardware. Meanwhile we are at the end of week 22 and we dnt even got a confirmation from the AVALON Team.
If there are plans that the proof of work method will probably become obsolete till the end of the year, i start to doubt that Avalon devices will ever be a return of investment, when they keep up with this delay. This is not just for the trade-in's a probability, but for everyone who is getting ASIC for mining.

We all from the trade-in trusted the words of BitSyncom, well he got my trust trough the flawless treatment of Ngzhang douring the Lancelot period in 2012 (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=90880.msg1098328#msg1098328). But today Ngzhang does not even answer the mails and BitSyncom just realeases news mostly unrelated to trade-ins !!

We helped back in 2012 this project to rise up, today it seems they dont care about us anymore.

I guess the AVALON Watercooling element will be rendered obsolete this way to.



allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338



View Profile
May 30, 2013, 10:49:00 PM
 #211

Hmm these delays make me regret paying DHL for expedited shipping (over $150!). Hopefully they'll start ramping up production and ship these trade-in units cause I sense a lot of anger in the air here.


rudrigorc2
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064



View Profile
May 30, 2013, 11:39:03 PM
 #212

Hmm these delays make me regret paying DHL for expedited shipping (over $150!). Hopefully they'll start ramping up production and ship these trade-in units cause I sense a lot of anger in the air here.

I feel the same, after had delivered FPGA for more than one month and without getting a contact, its clear that they dont care about trade in process. Being one old costumer this now just looks...disapointing.
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338



View Profile
May 31, 2013, 09:02:53 PM
 #213

Hmm these delays make me regret paying DHL for expedited shipping (over $150!). Hopefully they'll start ramping up production and ship these trade-in units cause I sense a lot of anger in the air here.

$150?  You got lucky. 

Try $240+plus $390 import duties in China.  Thanks to rudrigorc2 who paid them on my behalf.

DHL charged me $390 here in Canada for import duties in China and then told me that they cannot pay DHL China so I had to arrange to pay it myself.
DHL Canada still did not refund me the $390 I paid.  It is in "processing and investigation" since Apr 19th.

I jumped through many hoops to get this package delivered.

Wow, sorry to hear that. That definitely sucks. However you should NOT have paid any duties as this is a RMA, not an export product. Did you make sure to declare it as such? Even if it was an export product $390 in import duties means you declared a really high value on the shipment.




greaterninja
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
May 31, 2013, 09:38:56 PM
 #214

It was declared as RMA.  I had it insured for $2000,  they slap me with $390 in duties, take it or leave it type of a deal.

I declared mine as a VGA component RMA with a value of $40.   I still had to pay ~$190.  Its frustrating to not have my Icarus miner and no news for ~1.5 months!

Screw it...i'm gonna drink some whiskey and sit by the pool.
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338



View Profile
May 31, 2013, 11:15:53 PM
 #215

Ok, something is not right then. I did not have to pay any duties. I declared a value of $60 and said it was RMA computer board (I specified it was for repair).


allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338



View Profile
June 02, 2013, 03:27:11 AM
 #216

Ohwell, what can you do now. Dealing with customs is a nightmare. Now let's look on the bright side, if the Avalon team pull through and deliver the trade-in units soon everyone will recover the expensive import fees within a couple of days Smiley


HorseRider
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1369


View Profile
June 02, 2013, 03:31:02 PM
 #217

Ohwell, what can you do now. Dealing with customs is a nightmare. Now let's look on the bright side, if the Avalon team pull through and deliver the trade-in units soon everyone will recover the expensive import fees within a couple of days Smiley



Avalon team does not comply with the rules which have been made by themselves.

16SvwJtQET7mkHZFFbJpgPaDA1Pxtmbm5P
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338



View Profile
June 02, 2013, 10:49:50 PM
 #218

Ohwell, what can you do now. Dealing with customs is a nightmare. Now let's look on the bright side, if the Avalon team pull through and deliver the trade-in units soon everyone will recover the expensive import fees within a couple of days Smiley



Avalon team does not comply with the rules which have been made by themselves.

True. They did say they will give trade-in customers shipping priority over batch 2 - and we all know how that went down. At this point I think we are pretty much at the mercy of their arbitrary rules.

If I was in their shoes I would've delayed batch two shipments by a few days and took care of the trade-in customers first.

rudrigorc2
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064



View Profile
June 02, 2013, 11:23:45 PM
 #219

I guess many people here including me had enough BTC to pay one full order...
Anyone sent btc on the first wave, where people could chose tradein option?

Why are they doing this? No contact? Where is Yifu?
Raize
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1409


View Profile
June 03, 2013, 12:51:37 AM
 #220

I guess many people here including me had enough BTC to pay one full order...
Anyone sent btc on the first wave, where people could chose tradein option?

Why are they doing this? No contact? Where is Yifu?

From what I remember, the reason why they did the trade-ins as a whole separate thing is because so many people were "ordering" trade-ins that there was no limitation on the number of orders. You didn't have to actually pay anything to get a trade-in order, so they scrapped that for the second round of Batch #2 orders. It was at that point several of us ordered thinking that we had to order enough to cover our trade-ins, but then, a few months later we were told that no, the second round of orders was for full Avalon orders.

I don't mind that I paid for more than my trade-in, but I *do* mind that I sent in several Icarus units that have not been mining for a month now, and I'm apparently not getting that much of an advantage on my Feb 27th order of 50+ BTC per Avalon when the price was under $30 over the batch #3s who made their payment when the price was over $100.

With the direct ASIC chip orders as well, it's looking like I might not ever get an ROI on the ordered ASICs, which I think is the reason why they had to break the promise to the trade-ins, but every day they delay the trade-ins, is lost revenue, so I don't know which is the more moral route for them to take here. Seems like no matter what, everyone's gonna be upset, especially since ASICMiner *is* shipping, and fast, too.

OrganofCorti's Neighbourhood Pool Watch - The most informative website on blockchain health
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!