Bitcoin Forum
July 18, 2018, 06:45:17 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 [812] 813 814 815 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2559405 times)
moharni
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 12, 2018, 09:52:25 AM
 #16221

Statistical question:

1) Why the average days to find a block in the past 6 months is 30 days while it used to be 5 days?



Technical questions:

2) I connected to someone's node (because I do not know how to create one) that has an average ping time of 75 ms, is this good?

3) Is there video tutorial for beginner like me showing how to create a local node?

For example I do not know how to "run bitcoin with the RPC interface enabled" and how to"Run a miner daemon"

thanks
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
jtoomim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 818
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
February 12, 2018, 12:50:46 PM
 #16222

1) Why the average days to find a block in the past 6 months is 30 days while it used to be 5 days?
Because p2pool has not gained as much hashrate as the rest of the Bitcoin network. In other words, p2pool has relatively less hashrate than it used to.

Quote
2) I connected to someone's node (because I do not know how to create one) that has an average ping time of 75 ms, is this good?
75 ms is fine. The network latency to the node is a lot less important than the CPU speed of the node. A node with a slow CPU might take 3000 ms to hand out new work to your workers, whereas a node with a fast CPU might only take 500 ms. Whether you're adding 1 ms or 200 ms of network latency to that is nearly (but not quite) irrelevant.

Someone else might be able to answer #3.

Hosting bitcoin miners for $65 to $80/kW/month on clean, cheap hydro power.
http://Toom.im
moharni
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 12, 2018, 02:31:57 PM
 #16223


2) I connected to someone's node (because I do not know how to create one) that has an average ping time of 75 ms, is this good?
75 ms is fine. The network latency to the node is a lot less important than the CPU speed of the node. A node with a slow CPU might take 3000 ms to hand out new work to your workers, whereas a node with a fast CPU might only take 500 ms. Whether you're adding 1 ms or 200 ms of network latency to that is nearly (but not quite) irrelevant.


looking at the nodes' scanner page, is there anything can tell us about CPU speed of a node?
Tornado_of_Coins
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
February 12, 2018, 04:51:43 PM
 #16224


3) Is there video tutorial for beginner like me showing how to create a local node?

For example I do not know how to "run bitcoin with the RPC interface enabled" and how to"Run a miner daemon"

thanks
Good Question, Im surprised that no one has made a youtube video showing step by step for noobies like me!
I have access to a large scale network with hundreds of VM's if I knew how I'd create one, however I don't think it really benefits us anymore than what is available now, just need more people joining the current ones for better hashrates.

http://martyfriedman.com
Tornado_of_Coins
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
February 12, 2018, 04:53:48 PM
 #16225


2) I connected to someone's node (because I do not know how to create one) that has an average ping time of 75 ms, is this good?
75 ms is fine. The network latency to the node is a lot less important than the CPU speed of the node. A node with a slow CPU might take 3000 ms to hand out new work to your workers, whereas a node with a fast CPU might only take 500 ms. Whether you're adding 1 ms or 200 ms of network latency to that is nearly (but not quite) irrelevant.


looking at the nodes' scanner page, is there anything can tell us about CPU speed of a node?
I think you mean hashrate, and yes this is JT's currently:
Local rate: 58.1TH/s (2.1% DOA) Expected time to share: 2.1 minutes
http://ml.toom.im:9332/static/

http://martyfriedman.com
moharni
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 12, 2018, 05:13:15 PM
 #16226


2) I connected to someone's node (because I do not know how to create one) that has an average ping time of 75 ms, is this good?
75 ms is fine. The network latency to the node is a lot less important than the CPU speed of the node. A node with a slow CPU might take 3000 ms to hand out new work to your workers, whereas a node with a fast CPU might only take 500 ms. Whether you're adding 1 ms or 200 ms of network latency to that is nearly (but not quite) irrelevant.


looking at the nodes' scanner page, is there anything can tell us about CPU speed of a node?
I think you mean hashrate, and yes this is JT's currently:
Local rate: 58.1TH/s (2.1% DOA) Expected time to share: 2.1 minutes
http://ml.toom.im:9332/static/

Not the hashrate, jtoomim said CPU speed of the node is more important than network latency, So I was wondering if the scanner page provide such information. It could be "GBTL =Get Block Template Latency," but I do not know what dose it mean.  any idea?

moharni
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 12, 2018, 05:25:26 PM
 #16227


3) Is there video tutorial for beginner like me showing how to create a local node?

For example I do not know how to "run bitcoin with the RPC interface enabled" and how to"Run a miner daemon"

thanks
Good Question, Im surprised that no one has made a youtube video showing step by step for noobies like me!
I have access to a large scale network with hundreds of VM's if I knew how I'd create one, however I don't think it really benefits us anymore than what is available now, just need more people joining the current ones for better hashrates.

I agree, the pool needs more hash rate. But also, it is important to connect to a node that has small Latency (according to p2pool in this page: http://p2pool.org/learn/start.php). so is my case few node that I can mine with efficiently
jtoomim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 818
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
February 13, 2018, 01:52:47 AM
 #16228

looking at the nodes' scanner page, is there anything can tell us about CPU speed of a node?
Not really, no.

It could be "GBTL =Get Block Template Latency," but I do not know what dose it mean.  any idea?
GBTL is the amount of time that it takes for p2pool to get a response back from bitcoind when it asks for a new block template (i.e. a new batch of transactions). It is a poor indicator of CPU performance. It mostly just reflects block size. If the CPU is way too slow for p2pool, then this number will climb to 200 ms or longer (possibly even several seconds), but if the CPU is just a bit too slow, it won't show much at all.

Quote
But also, it is important to connect to a node that has small Latency (according to p2pool in this page: http://p2pool.org/learn/start.php)
That was written many years ago, back when block sizes were under 100 kB, long before p2pool started to show the CPU performance bottleneck.

Hosting bitcoin miners for $65 to $80/kW/month on clean, cheap hydro power.
http://Toom.im
moharni
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 13, 2018, 06:54:38 AM
 #16229

looking at the nodes' scanner page, is there anything can tell us about CPU speed of a node?
Not really, no.

It could be "GBTL =Get Block Template Latency," but I do not know what dose it mean.  any idea?
GBTL is the amount of time that it takes for p2pool to get a response back from bitcoind when it asks for a new block template (i.e. a new batch of transactions). It is a poor indicator of CPU performance. It mostly just reflects block size. If the CPU is way too slow for p2pool, then this number will climb to 200 ms or longer (possibly even several seconds), but if the CPU is just a bit too slow, it won't show much at all.

Quote
But also, it is important to connect to a node that has small Latency (according to p2pool in this page: http://p2pool.org/learn/start.php)
That was written many years ago, back when block sizes were under 100 kB, long before p2pool started to show the CPU performance bottleneck.

that make sense, thanks jtoomim for the clarification
moharni
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 13, 2018, 11:47:20 AM
 #16230

p2pool.org website is not showing full and updated information, for example, in the "miner dashboard" page, it shows only expected payout.

same thing for "P2Pool Node Data" , "Recent Blocks", "Active Miners (node)", and "Recent Shares (node)"

Anyone facing the same issue?
Staim
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 14, 2018, 08:38:57 PM
 #16231

Hello everybody.
Can someone help solve this problem?
Links to different BCH nodes:

http://95.79.102.209:9348/static/
http://tomsk.mine.nu:9338/static/classic/graphs.html?Hour
http://p2p-multipool.eu:9348/static/
http://63.135.62.197:9348/static/graphs.html?Hour

Period – Hour

Screenshots:
https://imgur.com/a/16JCp

Dips in the chart at the same time.
Nothing important or is it a problem?
Personally, I tried the source versions from jtoomim and from Sawa.
Connecting the server to Internet through NAT or without it.
Bitcoin ABC version 0.16.1, 0.16.2 and 0.16.3
But!
On these nodes, there are no such dips on the graphs.
http://siberia.mine.nu:9338/static/classic/graphs.html?Hour
http://p2p-spb.xyz:9338/static/classic/graphs.html?Hour
What is the reason? The difference in the hardware?
I'm so sorry my english isn't good.
Thanks!
NUKE4321
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 14, 2018, 09:40:07 PM
 #16232

My node also does this and I would love a fix for it. It sometimes causes a lot a asic HW errors when this happens.  I'm using jtoomim 1mb_segwit  15.0-93-gb190c56-dirty
My guess is the miners are waiting for new work and stop hashing.

Hello everybody.
Can someone help solve this problem?
Links to different BCH nodes:

http://95.79.102.209:9348/static/
http://tomsk.mine.nu:9338/static/classic/graphs.html?Hour
http://p2p-multipool.eu:9348/static/
http://63.135.62.197:9348/static/graphs.html?Hour

Period – Hour

Screenshots:
https://imgur.com/a/16JCp

Dips in the chart at the same time.
Nothing important or is it a problem?
Personally, I tried the source versions from jtoomim and from Sawa.
Connecting the server to Internet through NAT or without it.
Bitcoin ABC version 0.16.1, 0.16.2 and 0.16.3
But!
On these nodes, there are no such dips on the graphs.
http://siberia.mine.nu:9338/static/classic/graphs.html?Hour
http://p2p-spb.xyz:9338/static/classic/graphs.html?Hour
What is the reason? The difference in the hardware?
I'm so sorry my english isn't good.
Thanks!

frodocooper
Moderator
Full Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 235
Merit: 277


View Profile
February 14, 2018, 09:43:48 PM
 #16233

jtoomim, could you kindly create a new thread for your LTC and BCH P2Pool forks in Pools (Altcoins)? I'd like to keep the current P2Pool thread Bitcoin-only.
notabeliever
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 673
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
February 15, 2018, 02:37:24 AM
 #16234

Yes  good idea as this move would give P2P more exposure

Pool url: pool.burstcoin.de:8080           
Reward Assignment address: BURST-GHTV-7ZP3-DY4B-FPBFA
sawa
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1282
Merit: 1005



View Profile
February 15, 2018, 04:27:24 AM
Merited by eroxors (1)
 #16235

jtoomim, could you kindly create a new thread for your LTC and BCH P2Pool forks in Pools (Altcoins)? I'd like to keep the current P2Pool thread Bitcoin-only.
They are no different from the BTC fork. I see no reason to separate them.
Solutions found in the BCH and LTC forks will also help in the work of BTC p2pool

kr1z1s
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 15, 2018, 04:42:51 AM
 #16236

jtoomim, could you kindly create a new thread for your LTC and BCH P2Pool forks in Pools (Altcoins)? I'd like to keep the current P2Pool thread Bitcoin-only.

A very bad idea. The source code is the same. All changes apply to any coins.

Why write the same thing in two topics? The subject cannot be split.
jtoomim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 818
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
February 15, 2018, 02:03:01 PM
 #16237

Dips in the chart at the same time.
I've seen this issue too, and have not yet been able to figure out the cause. I didn't realize it was affecting all nodes on the network at the same time. Thanks for pointing that out, it's useful information.

If you're running one of the nodes that does not have this issue (siberia.mine.nu:9338 and p2p-spb.xyz:9338) could you please contact me and let me know which version of bitcoind and which version of p2pool you're using?

Hosting bitcoin miners for $65 to $80/kW/month on clean, cheap hydro power.
http://Toom.im
Staim
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 15, 2018, 07:28:06 PM
 #16238

I've seen this issue too, and have not yet been able to figure out the cause. I didn't realize it was affecting all nodes on the network at the same time. Thanks for pointing that out, it's useful information.
These dips appears only if the rigs are connected to the nodes via the Internet.
If you connect the rig to the nodes in the local network they are not present.
In the screenshot #3 I marked it.
windpath
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1233
Merit: 1000


View Profile WWW
February 15, 2018, 09:58:55 PM
 #16239

p2pool.org website is not showing full and updated information, for example, in the "miner dashboard" page, it shows only expected payout.

same thing for "P2Pool Node Data" , "Recent Blocks", "Active Miners (node)", and "Recent Shares (node)"

Anyone facing the same issue?

I’m on vacation (which is when things typically break), but everything looks ok from here, can you elaborate?

xredirector
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 16, 2018, 02:08:21 AM
 #16240

Hi,

I have installed jtoomim p2pool, rented a miner with 1.2Th/s on miningrigrental.
I am getting an error about very high difficulty from the web interface of the mningrigrental:

Code:
High Worker Difficulty
One or more workers on this rig has been assigned a share/worker difficulty by your pool that is too high. Hashrate performance issues may occur.
The OPTIMAL Difficulty range for this rig is 1,048 - 6,286
Please either adjust your worker settings at your pool, or change pools if you are unable to do this at your current pool. Thanks!

On my pool:

Code:
2018-02-15 20:47:39.076359 P2Pool: 17489 shares in chain (8844 verified/17493 total) Peers: 7 (1 incoming)
2018-02-15 20:47:39.076644  Local: 3278GH/s in last 10.0 minutes Local dead on arrival: ~0.0% (0-66%) Expected time to share: 17.5 hours
2018-02-15 20:47:39.076732  Shares: 0 (0 orphan, 0 dead) Stale rate: ??? Efficiency: ??? Current payout: (0.0000)=0.0000 BTC
2018-02-15 20:47:39.076816  Pool: 6303TH/s Stale rate: 4.0% Expected time to block: 22.7 days
2018-02-15 20:47:47.832753 Generating a share with 1041124 bytes, 3989239 WU (new: 699568 B, 2797606 WU) in 412 tx (8 new), plus est gentx of 1668 bytes/6708 WU
2018-02-15 20:47:47.833033 Total block stripped size=984453 B, full size=1042872 B,  weight: 3996187 WU
2018-02-15 20:47:48.564074 New work for 1GM3HXExxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx! Diff: 227741.53 Share diff: 1573940.25 Block value: 12.62 BTC (412 tx, 1041 kB)

Pool web interface:
Code:
Version: 15.0-93-gb190c56
Pool rate: 6.30PH/s (4.0% DOA+orphan) Share difficulty: 1600000
Node uptime: 2.4 hours Peers: 5 out, 1 in
Local rate: 0.00H/s (NaN% DOA) Expected time to share: Infinity years
Shares: 0 total (0 orphaned, 0 dead) Efficiency: ???
Payout if a block were found NOW: 0 BTC to 1JHcxhpiCcSTbeWvR1QGK81TkWbyRAqfL8. Expected after mining for 24 hours: 0.00 BTC per block.

How does p2pool adjust the difficulty? What did I miss?
How can I lower the difficulty?
I have tried to pass "d=12000" as a password for the miner, but I do not think it made any difference.
Same miner works fine on p2pool.org:9332

What do I do wrong?

Thanks!
Pages: « 1 ... 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 [812] 813 814 815 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!