Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 06:47:08 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 ... 744 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2028800 times)
wachtwoord
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile WWW
January 31, 2012, 06:28:31 PM
 #181

After I go to http://127.0.0.1:9332/graphs/ it says I need to install python-rrdtool but I can only find source distributions and I'm really too lazy to compile it myself (it never runs out of the box and just ends up costing a lot of time). Are there binary distributions of this project?

Are you using Windows?

Yes, I am looking for a windows binary

1480747628
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480747628

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480747628
Reply with quote  #2

1480747628
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
cheat_2_win
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215


View Profile
January 31, 2012, 06:35:02 PM
 #182

Normal output is like this: http://im.forre.st/pb/07231883.txt

Can you pastebin the output that you're getting?

The first part of the output from p2pool execution is exactly similar to your output. The second part looks like this:

http://pastebin.com/NVst55VW

It seems to be running fine. After a while cgminer is unable to access run_p2pool. I checked bitcoind by accessing it at port 8332. Bitcoind is working fine.

forrestv
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 510


View Profile
January 31, 2012, 06:52:25 PM
 #183

The first part of the output from p2pool execution is exactly similar to your output. The second part looks like this:

http://pastebin.com/NVst55VW

It seems to be running fine. After a while cgminer is unable to access run_p2pool. I checked bitcoind by accessing it at port 8332. Bitcoind is working fine.

That looks normal... Though it might be still downloading shares. Try running cgminer in debug mode (-D option) and checking if you see any errors saying "p2pool is downloading shares". Have you let P2Pool run for a while?

1J1zegkNSbwX4smvTdoHSanUfwvXFeuV23
cheat_2_win
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215


View Profile
January 31, 2012, 07:07:42 PM
 #184

The first part of the output from p2pool execution is exactly similar to your output. The second part looks like this:

http://pastebin.com/NVst55VW

It seems to be running fine. After a while cgminer is unable to access run_p2pool. I checked bitcoind by accessing it at port 8332. Bitcoind is working fine.

That looks normal... Though it might be still downloading shares. Try running cgminer in debug mode (-D option) and checking if you see any errors saying "p2pool is downloading shares". Have you let P2Pool run for a while?

How long does P2pool usually take to download the shares?

Initially, cgminer actually is able to communicate with run_p2pool.exe. Only after a while, it complains about problems while communicating.

Anyway, I will let it run for a while just to see if that solves the problem.
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
January 31, 2012, 07:10:42 PM
 #185

The first part of the output from p2pool execution is exactly similar to your output. The second part looks like this:

http://pastebin.com/NVst55VW

It seems to be running fine. After a while cgminer is unable to access run_p2pool. I checked bitcoind by accessing it at port 8332. Bitcoind is working fine.

That looks normal... Though it might be still downloading shares. Try running cgminer in debug mode (-D option) and checking if you see any errors saying "p2pool is downloading shares". Have you let P2Pool run for a while?

How long does P2pool usually take to download the shares?

Initially, cgminer actually is able to communicate with run_p2pool.exe. Only after a while, it complains about problems while communicating.

Anyway, I will let it run for a while just to see if that solves the problem.
You might have answered this, but what's your hash rate? Remember that it takes longer to find shares on p2pool compared to a traditional pool, so you have to be patient

cheat_2_win
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215


View Profile
January 31, 2012, 07:12:25 PM
 #186

The first part of the output from p2pool execution is exactly similar to your output. The second part looks like this:

http://pastebin.com/NVst55VW

It seems to be running fine. After a while cgminer is unable to access run_p2pool. I checked bitcoind by accessing it at port 8332. Bitcoind is working fine.

That looks normal... Though it might be still downloading shares. Try running cgminer in debug mode (-D option) and checking if you see any errors saying "p2pool is downloading shares". Have you let P2Pool run for a while?

How long does P2pool usually take to download the shares?

Initially, cgminer actually is able to communicate with run_p2pool.exe. Only after a while, it complains about problems while communicating.

Anyway, I will let it run for a while just to see if that solves the problem.
You might have answered this, but what's your hash rate? Remember that it takes longer to find shares on p2pool compared to a traditional pool, so you have to be patient

Hash rate is approx. 300 MH/s.
cheat_2_win
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215


View Profile
January 31, 2012, 07:56:34 PM
 #187

It seems P2pool is still downloading the shares. Do I need to have all the shares before I am able to mine?
cheat_2_win
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215


View Profile
January 31, 2012, 08:02:27 PM
 #188

Finally, everything seems to be working. Now, I am officially P2pool miner from Deepbit.
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
January 31, 2012, 08:20:35 PM
 #189

I still can't get p2pool to talk to bitcoind.  Sad

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
Costia
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
January 31, 2012, 08:22:22 PM
 #190

did bitcoind finish the chainblock download? (its faster with 0.5.2)
cheat_2_win
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215


View Profile
January 31, 2012, 08:24:48 PM
 #191

I still can't get p2pool to talk to bitcoind.  Sad

I used the latest Bitcoin-Qt (0.5.2) and let the run_p2pool.exe run for a while. You can also keep the cgminer running. Until there are enough shares, output will mostly be complaining about communication errors. Once enough shares are downloaded, you will see a lot of activity on the console. Then, you will know that it has worked.
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
January 31, 2012, 09:02:24 PM
 #192

did bitcoind finish the chainblock download? (its faster with 0.5.2)
No, it has not.  But I don't think that should keep p2pool from talking to bitcoind?

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
Costia
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
January 31, 2012, 09:04:05 PM
 #193

from my experience bitcoind refuses any rpc request until it has the full blockchain
so just wait Smiley
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
January 31, 2012, 09:59:45 PM
 #194

from my experience bitcoind refuses any rpc request until it has the full blockchain
so just wait Smiley
Hmm, ok I'll do taht.

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
January 31, 2012, 10:10:09 PM
 #195

from my experience bitcoind refuses any rpc request until it has the full blockchain
so just wait Smiley

That's wrong. It refuses RPC requests until it has finished loading, which takes quite a while.
If you want to verify this, start the bitcoin client with "server=1" in the config file and wait until it shows. Then issue any old command via RPC (I like "getinfo") before it has caught up with the network.

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
Costia
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
January 31, 2012, 11:13:40 PM
 #196

I know it refuses when its loading.
But does it refuse when it doesnt have the blockchain even after it finished loading but still downloading the chain?
I got the bitcoind client from git master, and accidentally messed up my blockchain. couldnt get p2pool to work. so i waited for it to sync and then it worked fine.


Quote
1:20:14.481000 p2pool.util.jsonrpc.Error: -10 Bitcoin is downloading blocks...
maybe its a specific call that fails...
so it actually doesnt refuse rpc Smiley
ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
January 31, 2012, 11:21:42 PM
 #197

But does it refuse when it doesnt have the blockchain even after it finished loading but still downloading the chain?

No, that's what I was trying to say above.

I got the bitcoind client from git master, and accidentally messed up my blockchain. couldnt get p2pool to work. so i waited for it to sync and then it worked fine.

As far as I understood, p2pool shouldn't work properly while the download is still in progress. It will, however, connect to bitcoind (I tried that a day or two back).

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
January 31, 2012, 11:26:51 PM
 #198

For the record, I reinstalled bitcoind and now p2pool can connect to it (even though it's still downloading the blockchain).

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
Comepradz
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49



View Profile
February 01, 2012, 05:28:00 AM
 #199

Is there any plan to pull p2pool support to mainstream bitcoin client?
I know it's kinda too early, but the whole process of mining will be a lot easier to implement, just as easy as old time mining via bitcoin client itself.

This signature contains 37 characters
CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1806



View Profile
February 01, 2012, 05:50:18 AM
 #200

Is it possible to specify more than one merged URL and pass?

ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - GekkoScience DL580 Breakout Boards are In Stock!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 ... 744 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!