Bitcoin Forum
April 25, 2017, 02:58:21 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41] 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 ... 762 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2217363 times)
stevegee58
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 783



View Profile
February 17, 2012, 12:13:49 AM
 #801

When I restart everything do I get a new address?  Would the pool still know the address I was using when I interrupted it?

You are in a maze of twisty little passages, all alike.
1493089101
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493089101

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493089101
Reply with quote  #2

1493089101
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1493089101
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493089101

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493089101
Reply with quote  #2

1493089101
Report to moderator
1493089101
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493089101

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493089101
Reply with quote  #2

1493089101
Report to moderator
1493089101
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493089101

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493089101
Reply with quote  #2

1493089101
Report to moderator
ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
February 17, 2012, 12:38:53 AM
 #802

When I restart everything do I get a new address?  Would the pool still know the address I was using when I interrupted it?

Unless I misunderstood something, p2pool will try to get the old address, but generate a new one if necessary. You can specify the old address via the -a command line parameter.
In any case, the old address remains in the sharechain until it is no longer needed, so the pool doesn't forget it until you won't get payouts to that address any more.

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
Frizz23
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672



View Profile
February 17, 2012, 05:55:29 AM
 #803

At the moment I am seeing 163GH/s ... does that mean the pool split again? Or did we lose almost half of our followers?

m3ta
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 427



View Profile WWW
February 17, 2012, 06:03:09 AM
 #804

At the moment I am seeing 163GH/s ... does that mean the pool split again? Or did we lose almost half of our followers?

Pool is at 267-270 GHs.

Why the frell so many retards spell "ect" as an abbreviation of "Et Cetera"? "ETC", DAMMIT! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Et_cetera

Host:/# rm -rf /var/forum/trolls
Rubberduckie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
February 17, 2012, 07:24:53 AM
 #805

It's been a painfully long time since a block was found Sad

TheHarbinger
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


Why is it so damn hot in here?


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 07:43:51 AM
 #806

It's been a painfully long time since a block was found Sad

The fact that the price has taken a shit also isn't really helping my mood either.   Undecided

12Um6jfDE7q6crm1s6tSksMvda8s1hZ3Vj
Rubberduckie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
February 17, 2012, 10:00:53 AM
 #807

Finally a block  Grin

Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 01:05:54 PM
 #808

Pool at 315ghash/s right now
Proofer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 01:49:12 PM
 #809

A couple of recent block payments were not reported by p2pool...

bitcoind listtransactions (with "time" field converted to USA PST):
Code:
{
"account" : "",
"category" : "generate",
"amount" : 0.50812414,
"confirmations" : 194,
"time" : 1329359757 = 2012-02-15 18:35:57 -0800
},
{
"account" : "",
"category" : "generate",
"amount" : 0.51511734,
"confirmations" : 193,
"time" : 1329360054 = 2012-02-15 18:40:54 -0800
},
{
"account" : "",
"category" : "immature",
"amount" : 0.45364305,
"confirmations" : 17,
"time" : 1329471598 = 2012-02-17 01:39:58 -0800
}

p2pool output containing "BLOCK":
Code:
2012-02-15 08:05:54.522981 GOT BLOCK FROM PEER! Passing to bitcoind! 319d2ba8 bitcoin: http://blockexplorer.com/block/0000000000000a43dbd999c53981aa75c85cd5cd1fab9467a49c11b24aa0fe0f
2012-02-15 18:40:54.008730 GOT BLOCK FROM PEER! Passing to bitcoind! 30fd5ef2 bitcoin: http://blockexplorer.com/block/00000000000006d8806a9b40c53b274ca01c9a6006946b610f2005b0e77710d2

I.e., the most recent and the third most recent were not reported by p2pool.

Portnoy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876

My money; Our Bitcoin.


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 05:30:15 PM
 #810

I followed all the instructions but when I get to the point to run "python run_p2pool.py <rpc_username> <rpc_password>"
I get this error: python.exe: can't find '__main__' module in 'run_p2pool.exe'

I am using Windows 7 64bit. I downloaded and installed the 64bit versions of python, twisted etc.
( I think it would also be useful for new users coming to p2pool that the instructions include basic stuff like: put the directory "C:\Python27" in your PATH. )

I will keep mining at the pool I was using before until someone can tell me what I left out.
I wonder if p2pool would be the best choice for me anyway with only ~440 mh/s? 

Thanks

Buy Bitcoin from CoinbaseXapo
Faucets & Earn Bitcoin Sites: FreeBitco.in; BitsForClicks; Moonbit
Schleicher
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 638



View Profile
February 17, 2012, 05:43:01 PM
 #811

I am using Windows 7 64bit. I downloaded and installed the 64bit versions of python, twisted etc.
There's no problem with the 32bit version using this command line:
Code:
d:\python27\python.exe D:\forrestv-p2pool-afb1066\run_p2pool.py username password

Bitcoin donations: 1H2BHSyuwLP9vqt2p3bK9G3mDJsAi7qChw
twmz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 737



View Profile
February 17, 2012, 05:45:52 PM
 #812

A couple of recent block payments were not reported by p2pool...

I.e., the most recent and the third most recent were not reported by p2pool.

That's normal.  Blocks that happen to be stale shares (because they were found after someone else found a share but they happen to have been found before the bitcoin network found a new block) are transmitted over the bitcoin network (so that everyone get's paid), but are not included in the p2pool share chain and are not transmitted throughout the entire p2pool peer to peer network, so the announcements only appear on the node that found the block and on that node's immediate neighbors.

To get the full list of blocks you can check your own bitcoin transaction logs (assuming your hashrate is high enough to ensure you have at least 1 share in all blocks) or look on blockexplorer or blockchain.info for at the donation address 1Kz5QaUPDtKrj5SqW5tFkn7WZh8LmQaQi4.

I also maintain a list of found blocks at http://btcstats.net/p2pool/ that has recently been updated to redundantly utilize all these sources of information to create as comprehensive of a list of blocks as possible.

Was I helpful?  1TwmzX1wBxNF2qtAJRhdKmi2WyLZ5VHRs
WoT, GPG

Bitrated user: ewal.
Frizz23
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672



View Profile
February 17, 2012, 06:15:48 PM
 #813

At the moment I am seeing 163GH/s ... does that mean the pool split again? Or did we lose almost half of our followers?

Pool is at 267-270 GHs.

This is what I see in the log right now:
Code:
2012-02-17 19:10:42.420000  Pool: 100GH/s Stale rate: 6.4% Expected time to block: 16.4 hours

Portnoy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876

My money; Our Bitcoin.


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 06:29:13 PM
 #814

I am using Windows 7 64bit. I downloaded and installed the 64bit versions of python, twisted etc.
There's no problem with the 32bit version using this command line:
Code:
d:\python27\python.exe D:\forrestv-p2pool-afb1066\run_p2pool.py username password

Thanks,

Can anyone confirm that all I need to do is uninstall the 64bit versions and install the 32bit versions of
all that software? 

wait... forrestv-p2pool-afb1066?  Is there some other version I should be using instead of the one
mentioned in the OP?

Buy Bitcoin from CoinbaseXapo
Faucets & Earn Bitcoin Sites: FreeBitco.in; BitsForClicks; Moonbit
m3ta
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 427



View Profile WWW
February 17, 2012, 07:00:00 PM
 #815

At the moment I am seeing 163GH/s ... does that mean the pool split again? Or did we lose almost half of our followers?

Pool is at 267-270 GHs.

This is what I see in the log right now:
Code:
2012-02-17 19:10:42.420000  Pool: 100GH/s Stale rate: 6.4% Expected time to block: 16.4 hours

Which version of P2Pool?

^ This. Upgrade, restart.

Why the frell so many retards spell "ect" as an abbreviation of "Et Cetera"? "ETC", DAMMIT! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Et_cetera

Host:/# rm -rf /var/forum/trolls
Schleicher
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 638



View Profile
February 17, 2012, 08:00:31 PM
 #816

wait... forrestv-p2pool-afb1066?  Is there some other version I should be using instead of the one mentioned in the OP?
You only need to install Python if you want to use the "source code" version.
The binary version works without installed Python.

Bitcoin donations: 1H2BHSyuwLP9vqt2p3bK9G3mDJsAi7qChw
Portnoy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876

My money; Our Bitcoin.


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 09:00:26 PM
 #817

wait... forrestv-p2pool-afb1066?  Is there some other version I should be using instead of the one mentioned in the OP?
You only need to install Python if you want to use the "source code" version.
The binary version works without installed Python.

Okay another try...

First off I run bitcoin-qt.exe.

In the bitcoin.conf I have:
rpcuser=someusername x
rpcpassword=some password y
server=1

then I run run_p2pool.exe:
run_p2pool.exe x* y*

and run_p2pool.exe says, "Testing bitcoind RPC connection to 'http://127.0.0.1:8332/' with username x*"
and then "...success!"

( Why does the OP mention port 9332 when 8332 is displayed here? )

And then when I try to run my miner like this:
poclbm.exe x*:y*@127.0.0.1:8332 -d0 -v -w128 -f1

I get an error from run_p2pool.exe which says, "Bitcoin connection lost. Reason: Connection to the other side was lost in a non-clean fashion."

I try the miner with port 9332 instead but it gives the error, "Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC..."

---

*x being the same rpcuser name I use in bitcoin.conf
*y being the same rpcpassword I use in bitcoin.conf

Buy Bitcoin from CoinbaseXapo
Faucets & Earn Bitcoin Sites: FreeBitco.in; BitsForClicks; Moonbit
thirdlight
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 281



View Profile
February 17, 2012, 09:13:09 PM
 #818

First off I run bitcoin-qt.exe.
Use bitcoind.exe instead - qt is unstable with p2pool.
In the bitcoin.conf I have:
rpcuser=someusername x
rpcpassword=some password y
server=1

then I run run_p2pool.exe:
run_p2pool.exe x* y*
That's right.
and run_p2pool.exe says, "Testing bitcoind RPC connection to 'http://127.0.0.1:8332/' with username x*"
and then "...success!"

( Why does the OP mention port 9332 when 8332 is displayed here? )

And then when I try to run my miner like this:
poclbm.exe x*:y*@127.0.0.1:8332 -d0 -v -w128 -f1
use
Code:
poclbm.exe anything:anything_or_vip@127.0.0.1:9332 -d0 -v -w128 -f1

p2pool talks to bitcoind on 8332, your miner talks to p2pool on 9332.

The miner password can be anything, but if it matches the contents of the "vip_pass" file in p2pool/data/bitcoin the worker will show in the graphs at 127.0.0.1:9332/graphs . This bit needs rrdtool, apparently this is difficult on windows.
it gives the error, "Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC..."
Is bitcoind still downloading blocks? It needs to be up to date before it can mine.

Stick with it, you're nearly there!
stevegee58
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 783



View Profile
February 17, 2012, 09:31:59 PM
 #819

Bitcoind is kind of a pain because it doesn't print any helpful messages on the console like "done synchronizing" or "ready for use".
Here's a hint to know when bitcoind has finished and is stable to use:

1. Run bitcoind from a command prompt.
2. From another command prompt type "bitcoind getblockcount" (This communicates with the instance you started in #1)
3. Keep doing #2 until the displayed block count stops incrementing.
4. Bitcoind is now ready.

If you go to http://blockchain.info/ you'll see what the current world-wide block count is.  The final block count reported by bitcoind should equal this value.

You are in a maze of twisty little passages, all alike.
forrestv
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 514


View Profile
February 17, 2012, 09:43:34 PM
 #820

P2Pool release 0.8.6 - tag: 0.8.6

Windows py2exe binary: http://u.forre.st/u/szpnzcpo/p2pool_win32_d222f8d.zip
Source tarball: https://github.com/forrestv/p2pool/tarball/0.8.6

Changes:
* IRC announcer doesn't spam as much
* Some possible bugs in sharechain ranking have been fixed, so forks may be prevented
* Outgoing connections are constrained to one per /16, making Sybil attacks harder

Note: I would recommend switching to Bitcoin 0.6.0 RC 1, which includes the RPC getblock call. The getblock call lets P2Pool keep track of block heights more robustly, and so might protect you from sharechain forks. Download it from https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=63165.0

Frizz23 and anyone else having problems with apparent forks, upgrade to this and follow the above advice.

1J1zegkNSbwX4smvTdoHSanUfwvXFeuV23
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41] 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 ... 762 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!