Bitcoin Forum
October 22, 2019, 01:00:42 PM *
News: 10th anniversary art contest
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Warning: One or more bitcointalk.org users have reported that they strongly believe that the creator of this topic is a scammer. (Login to see the detailed trust ratings.) While the bitcointalk.org administration does not verify such claims, you should proceed with extreme caution.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 [35] 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Discontinued: Lancelot (Heavy Duty 400 Mega hashes, 2 x FPGA Mining Board)  (Read 86202 times)
wedgy2k
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 275
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 26, 2013, 08:53:44 AM
Last edit: May 26, 2013, 08:17:02 PM by wedgy2k
 #681

Hi

Will the Lancelot (Group Manufacturing Shipping 15th July) be available as a collection from Reading UK?
Could the remaining 50% be payed on collection?
You have a good rep on here and I'd rather you hold 50% of my order money than some of the "other" company's selling mining kit!

Cheers

1571749242
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571749242

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571749242
Reply with quote  #2

1571749242
Report to moderator
1571749242
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571749242

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571749242
Reply with quote  #2

1571749242
Report to moderator
1571749242
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571749242

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571749242
Reply with quote  #2

1571749242
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Pistachio
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 26, 2013, 01:36:44 PM
 #682

Yes, the 4 pin generic connector works just fine. You can daisy chain them for multiple cards.

Don't daisy chain the power cables unless you really want to burn down your house.


Good to know. I have a two way splitter on two different molex 4pin connectors from PSU to power 4 boards. The other 10 are powered through the ATX adapter. Is this a potential fire hazard?
setkeh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40
Merit: 0



View Profile
May 26, 2013, 03:11:14 PM
 #683

Yes, the 4 pin generic connector works just fine. You can daisy chain them for multiple cards.

Don't daisy chain the power cables unless you really want to burn down your house.


Good to know. I have a two way splitter on two different molex 4pin connectors from PSU to power 4 boards. The other 10 are powered through the ATX adapter. Is this a potential fire hazard?

Hmm its quite possible though you should feel the cables themselves and also the exhaust from the PSU fans to see if either are Really hot.
If its hot to the touch then on average its too hot (most people can stand temps between 60-90C on there hardened fingertips
Bogart
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 27, 2013, 02:19:15 AM
 #684

4 dual-chip boards off of one 18-ga wire (pair) is OK.  4 quad-chip boards isn't.

"All safe deposit boxes in banks or financial institutions have been sealed... and may only be opened in the presence of an agent of the I.R.S." - President F.D. Roosevelt, 1933
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2940
Merit: 1196


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 27, 2013, 09:25:12 AM
 #685

4 dual-chip boards off of one 18-ga wire (pair) is OK.  4 quad-chip boards isn't.
What quad chip boards? Tongue

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1045


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
May 27, 2013, 09:35:40 AM
 #686

It's where you glue two lancelot together :-P

Reputation  |  PGP  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
jimmy3dita
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 27, 2013, 09:42:32 AM
 #687

Hello everyone, I wish to share my quick feedback about the FPGAs and the new V42 firmware.

My configuration (following the precious feedback from Kano) is --icarus-timing 2.0=75 and I get way better results than simply chosing "short" or "long".

Note that the ICA 0 has the V42 firmware (it will last there for 24 hours, then I'll decide if apply the upgrade to all other FPGAs) and the difficulty is 2:



Any hints are welcome, I'd like to calculate the hashrate of the V42 one Smiley

Acquista il mio libro "Investire Bitcoin": clicca qui
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1045


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
May 27, 2013, 10:05:07 AM
 #688

Is.--icarus-timing 2.0=75 better than short for these units?

Reputation  |  PGP  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Xialla
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1000


/dev/null


View Profile
May 27, 2013, 10:06:32 AM
 #689

Is.--icarus-timing 2.0=75 better than short for these units?

yes. definitely..
Schrankwand
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 27, 2013, 10:13:07 AM
 #690

Hello everyone, I wish to share my quick feedback about the FPGAs and the new V42 firmware.

My configuration (following the precious feedback from Kano) is --icarus-timing 2.0=75 and I get way better results than simply chosing "short" or "long".

Note that the ICA 0 has the V42 firmware (it will last there for 24 hours, then I'll decide if apply the upgrade to all other FPGAs) and the difficulty is 2:



Any hints are welcome, I'd like to calculate the hashrate of the V42 one Smiley


You have the U Rating there. 2.89 seems to work as an average one. 3.69/2.89= 127,7%.

--> Nehmen wir die 420 als Basis, oder 399, wie angepeilt, kommen wir auf --> 536 mhash/s bzw 509mh/s


bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1045


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
May 27, 2013, 10:26:12 AM
 #691

I've seen so many, 2.5=100 etc does it really matter

Is.--icarus-timing 2.0=75 better than short for these units?

yes. definitely..

Reputation  |  PGP  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2940
Merit: 1196


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 27, 2013, 02:13:25 PM
 #692

Is.--icarus-timing 2.0=75 better than short for these units?

yes. definitely..
IF you are referring to the standard bitstream ...

No.

Firstly: it should be --icarus-timing 2.5=100 (not --icarus-timing 2.0=100)

Since it runs at 400MH/s setting it to 2.0 will make the MH/s read higher than it really is.

Secondly: 100 vs 75 will not make much of a difference ... but the minor difference is that 100 is better than 75
75 vs 100: 75 means that it will abort work at 7.5 seconds and start a new work item
100 means 10.0 seconds
Thus 75 will use 33% more work items for the same amount of work and thus 33% more CPU for work generation in cgminer.

bitpop, the easiest way to see this is to run it --icarus-timing short and look at the "Re-estimate:"s it produces.

For my one, a complete short run gives:
Code:
[2013-05-27 22:30:04] BLT0 Re-estimate: Hs=2.500162e-09 W=6.150422e-03 read_time=10594ms fullnonce=10.744s
 [2013-05-27 22:31:32] BLT0 Re-estimate: Hs=2.500081e-09 W=6.179870e-03 read_time=10593ms fullnonce=10.744s
 [2013-05-27 22:36:02] BLT0 Re-estimate: Hs=2.500034e-09 W=6.350961e-03 read_time=10593ms fullnonce=10.744s
 [2013-05-27 22:41:43] BLT0 Re-estimate: Hs=2.500021e-09 W=6.256367e-03 read_time=10593ms fullnonce=10.744s
 [2013-05-27 22:57:04] BLT0 Re-estimate: Hs=2.500064e-09 W=6.206789e-03 read_time=10593ms fullnonce=10.744s
 [2013-05-27 23:23:27] BLT0 Re-estimate: Hs=2.500060e-09 W=6.225088e-03 read_time=10593ms fullnonce=10.744s
So you can clearly see it is 2.5 and 10s is under the 10.744s by 3/4 of a second so it's fine.

Note that above is the new code.
... which I've finally fixed all the windows MTX locking and hotplug problems that I know about that seem to have been hiding from me for a while ...

...

Now for  jimmy3dita's results:
If he is using a ~500MH/s bitstream then he should be using: --icarus-timing 2.0=75
As I've said before the 75 number has to be less than the fastest speed it will run at.
For 500MH/s that's 8.5899s
However if it is running a bit faster it will get idle if the number used is more than the hashing time.
75 means it will be OK for up to 572MH/s so it gives some leeway for the bitstream to adjust the clocking faster but still never fall idle.

Hmm I seem to be repeating this Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Xialla
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1000


/dev/null


View Profile
May 27, 2013, 02:17:35 PM
 #693

thanks for explanation Kano. reconfigured.)
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1045


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
May 27, 2013, 02:27:07 PM
 #694

Thank you amazing kano. I did see higher mhs but it was probably fake. I still don't know what I'm doing
 so I'm sticking with short. Yes I'm using standard rom and p2pool, I need it to abort quickly.

Reputation  |  PGP  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1045


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
May 27, 2013, 02:29:00 PM
 #695

Can I just keep using short and have it do it's thing?

Reputation  |  PGP  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2940
Merit: 1196


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 27, 2013, 02:42:24 PM
 #696

Can I just keep using short and have it do it's thing?
Yes.

The only advantage of not using short is that if there is some major computer performance hiccup during the ~1hr that short takes to run, it may get something strange as the performance figures it uses from 1hr forever after until you restart it.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2940
Merit: 1196


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 27, 2013, 02:44:21 PM
 #697

Thank you amazing kano. I did see higher mhs but it was probably fake. I still don't know what I'm doing
 so I'm sticking with short. Yes I'm using standard rom and p2pool, I need it to abort quickly.
Forcing it to abort earlier doesn't make any advantage for p2pool.
It checks every 100ms for an LP and aborts the work early if an LP occurs.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1045


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
May 27, 2013, 02:51:10 PM
 #698

Last question. Short vs long?

Reputation  |  PGP  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
jimmy3dita
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 27, 2013, 02:51:26 PM
 #699

For sure "short timing" is the best choice on the older firmware, with the new one I see orange leds (idle) randomly blinking, meaning that it's possible to squeeze a bit more from the chips Cheesy

Acquista il mio libro "Investire Bitcoin": clicca qui
squall1066
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2310
Merit: 1028


View Profile
May 27, 2013, 02:51:54 PM
 #700

Can anyone here help me out on this please.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=216792.0

I got help from blackarrow and he sorted in 5 min, I have had a drive crash, Now I cant get it going again, As I have no clue what he did.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 [35] 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!