Bitcoin Forum
November 11, 2019, 07:28:45 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Which USB hub to use with Block Erupters | NanoFury NF1 | BPMC Red Fury | Ant U1  (Read 128276 times)
Trongersoll
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 02, 2013, 04:23:07 PM
 #181

Nemo, you are doing an excellent job on this thread! Thank you so much. Wink
1573500525
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1573500525

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1573500525
Reply with quote  #2

1573500525
Report to moderator
1573500525
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1573500525

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1573500525
Reply with quote  #2

1573500525
Report to moderator
1573500525
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1573500525

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1573500525
Reply with quote  #2

1573500525
Report to moderator
The Bitcoin Forum is turning 10 years old! Join the community in sharing and exploring the notable posts made over the years.
1573500525
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1573500525

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1573500525
Reply with quote  #2

1573500525
Report to moderator
1573500525
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1573500525

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1573500525
Reply with quote  #2

1573500525
Report to moderator
Nemo1024
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1004



View Profile WWW
August 02, 2013, 04:47:49 PM
 #182

24 port monster hub is listed on OP as 5v 5a but i bought one from amazon and it says 5v 4a. it seems to be a monoprice/bynovel brand and on monoprice and amazon you can see the pic of the adapter says 5v 4a. can you confirm some of these are 5a and if so where specifically did you buy it from?

I remember I gleaned that info from somewhere, but I can't find where.  Angry I don't have it myself, I bought 5 D-Links Wink

I'll update the OP with your info. It should then run max 8 ports, can you confirm?

Nemo, you are doing an excellent job on this thread! Thank you so much. Wink

You are welcome. Most of the credit should go to people who reviewed/suggested the hubs, I'm just systematising that info.

“Dark times lie ahead of us and there will be a time when we must choose between what is easy and what is right.”
“We are only as strong as we are united, as weak as we are divided.”
“It is important to fight and fight again, and keep fighting, for only then can evil be kept at bay, though never quite eradicated.”
m-sean
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0



View Profile
August 02, 2013, 06:24:39 PM
 #183

As mentioned in my previous post, the Satechi 10 port USB 3.0 hub does not work with the USB BE's, it only works well as a base hub, the main page should be updated as such.
A_Member
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 02, 2013, 07:47:31 PM
Last edit: August 02, 2013, 08:15:02 PM by A_Member
 #184

Does anyone know why the USB 3.0 hubs don't work on a Raspberry Pi?  This seems to be an issue that is block eruptor specific because other people on the internet seem to be able to use USB 3.0 hubs on their PIs.  EDIT:Would the Juiced Systems 13 port hub work on the raspberry pi?

Another question: would it be possible to just buy the cheapest well-built hub available and replace it's PSU with one that can output enough power?  USB cables have the power totally seperate from the data so the only things in the hub that should have extra power flowing through them are the wires connecting the input power directly to the USB ports.  Am I right?  Please tell me if I'm wrong because I plan to buy some cheap hubs from eBay to try this out.
A_Member
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 02, 2013, 08:11:27 PM
 #185


I noticed that one too.. got a mix of USB 2.0 and 3.0... wouldn't work with the Pi right?

according to the specs on their site:

\\
4 Upstream and down stream USB 3.0 ports. 9 Upstream and down stream USB 3.0 ports. 480mpbs and 5gbps transfer rates with on/off LED indicator with power switch for each port. Supports hot swap plug and play  devices.

**Does not need power supply to operate but recommended for high power consumption devices**

Hub weight: 140g
Cable Length 100cm
Power Supply 3.5mm DC 5v jack.

//

Can't find the Amps..

yea i couldnt either

Speedy response back from the company contact on their website... states the following:

"I believe, the units are as follows : 5 Volts , 45 Watts 9 Amps - 900mA each USB port."



I emailed them and got the same response.  But is it just me or does the math not work out? 

This is my assumption util I hear back further from them.  There are 13 ports.  USB 3.0 has 3 power configurations, low power, high power, and charging only.  Assuming the 4 USB 3.0 ones are high power, that/s 900 mA each or 18 Watts.  That leaves 27 Watts of power remaining split among the 9 remaining USB 2.0 ports.  At 5 volts a piece, that's 600 mA per port (which is a bit higher than the standard of 500mA so I don't know why they would do that).

Have you heard anything back from Juiced Systems yet?

Would posting this be considered double-posting?  Should I have instead edited my previous post to add this question?
Xian01
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1020


Christian Antkow


View Profile
August 02, 2013, 08:17:15 PM
 #186

Have you heard anything back from Juiced Systems yet?

 Has anyone actually tested with the 13 port Juiced hub yet ? Any confirmed reports rather than theoretical speculation ?
Nemo1024
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1004



View Profile WWW
August 02, 2013, 08:21:25 PM
 #187

Have you heard anything back from Juiced Systems yet?

 Has anyone actually tested with the 13 port Juiced hub yet ? Any confirmed reports rather than theoretical speculation ?

Apparently not. I update the OP with footnotes, linking to reviews people post here.

As mentioned in my previous post, the Satechi 10 port USB 3.0 hub does not work with the USB BE's, it only works well as a base hub, the main page should be updated as such.

Thanks for the reminder. Your review slipped through my radar. OP updated.

“Dark times lie ahead of us and there will be a time when we must choose between what is easy and what is right.”
“We are only as strong as we are united, as weak as we are divided.”
“It is important to fight and fight again, and keep fighting, for only then can evil be kept at bay, though never quite eradicated.”
Xian01
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1020


Christian Antkow


View Profile
August 02, 2013, 08:35:11 PM
 #188

Have you heard anything back from Juiced Systems yet?
Has anyone actually tested with the 13 port Juiced hub yet ? Any confirmed reports rather than theoretical speculation ?
Apparently not. I update the OP with footnotes, linking to reviews people post here.

Ok. Ordered one. Should know Wednesday night.
suprabitz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 148
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 02, 2013, 10:19:55 PM
Last edit: August 03, 2013, 01:05:11 PM by suprabitz
 #189

24 port monster hub 5v 4a

10 BE - will launch and run for a bit no errors then drop a BE or two in and out
9 BE - seems stable but probably stressing PSU ***Edit: One will drop in and out every minute or so
8 BE - stable

Next week will try using a 5v 20a open psu see if i can get 15-20 online without blowing something up

A_Member
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 02, 2013, 11:31:00 PM
 #190

Have you heard anything back from Juiced Systems yet?
Has anyone actually tested with the 13 port Juiced hub yet ? Any confirmed reports rather than theoretical speculation ?
Apparently not. I update the OP with footnotes, linking to reviews people post here.

Ok. Ordered one. Should know Wednesday night.

I have ordered one as well.  I'll post a review as well when I get them.
realestone
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 03, 2013, 03:38:17 AM
 #191

Have you heard anything back from Juiced Systems yet?
Has anyone actually tested with the 13 port Juiced hub yet ? Any confirmed reports rather than theoretical speculation ?
Apparently not. I update the OP with footnotes, linking to reviews people post here.

Ok. Ordered one. Should know Wednesday night.

i'll check back i wanna see if thats a viable option because i want to order 20 more usb erupters and i need more usb hubs
DPoS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 03, 2013, 04:51:42 AM
 #192

24 port monster hub 5v 4a

10 BE - will launch and run for a bit no errors then drop a BE in and out
9 BE - seems stable but probably stressing PSU
8 BE - stable



what you runnin it on? and 2.0 works?   I've seen some really crappy things with my WinXP when I add too many Bees

COM ports tripping over themselves and usb2.0 really stinks it but want to try one big hub like you have if it was 3.0

~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~Play Boardgames for Bitcoins!!~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~ Something I say help? Donate BTC! 1KN1K1xStzsgfYxdArSX4PEjFfcLEuYhid
Nemo1024
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1004



View Profile WWW
August 03, 2013, 08:53:07 AM
 #193

24 port monster hub 5v 4a

10 BE - will launch and run for a bit no errors then drop a BE in and out
9 BE - seems stable but probably stressing PSU
8 BE - stable

OP table updated with power and usable port info. Thanks.

“Dark times lie ahead of us and there will be a time when we must choose between what is easy and what is right.”
“We are only as strong as we are united, as weak as we are divided.”
“It is important to fight and fight again, and keep fighting, for only then can evil be kept at bay, though never quite eradicated.”
OtaconEmmerich
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 235
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 03, 2013, 11:31:56 AM
 #194

24 port monster hub 5v 4a

10 BE - will launch and run for a bit no errors then drop a BE in and out
9 BE - seems stable but probably stressing PSU
8 BE - stable


Is that from Monoprice? If so it seems it would be wiser to get a Anker clone for about the same price. That shit looks like it would be a pain to cool.
suprabitz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 148
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 03, 2013, 01:18:33 PM
 #195

24 port monster hub 5v 4a

10 BE - will launch and run for a bit no errors then drop a BE in and out
9 BE - seems stable but probably stressing PSU
8 BE - stable


Is that from Monoprice? If so it seems it would be wiser to get a Anker clone for about the same price. That shit looks like it would be a pain to cool.

using pi
yes monoprice thru amazon. 37.99 from amazon OP listed 10 devices so it would have been a good $ per port if 10 worked.
DPoS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 03, 2013, 02:57:01 PM
 #196

I just ordered this to see if it plays nice with 8 usbees and xp

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00CN40WZO/ref=redir_mdp_mobile?ref_=pe_385040_30332200_pe_309540_26725410_item

The super speed Orico.  It's on sale too

~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~Play Boardgames for Bitcoins!!~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~ Something I say help? Donate BTC! 1KN1K1xStzsgfYxdArSX4PEjFfcLEuYhid
Gleason
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 207
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
August 03, 2013, 03:18:25 PM
 #197

I just purchased 2 of the Juiced hubs from amazon.

Going to try them out this week and report back!

Judging by the port spacing in pictures, I am thinking you might only be able to fit about 10 if it ends up powering them with no issues.

-Brian

Find one of a kind BTC, LTC and more Cryptomemorabilia at
http://www.cryptomemorabilia.com/
suprabitz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 148
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 03, 2013, 08:57:49 PM
 #198

JUICED 13 PORT HUB only has 5v 3a adapter NOT 9a. havent tested it out yet but should only support 6. got 2 from amazon, they're going back monday
KyrosKrane
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
August 03, 2013, 10:01:51 PM
 #199

I ordered the BIGTec 10-port hub, figuring it's still pretty cheap even if I only get three usable ports out of it.  But when I opened it, I got a nasty surprise.  Even though the box clearly states a 2A power supply, the label on the adapter inside shows only 1A (1000mA).  It's going back to Amazon on Monday. =(

Tips and donations: 1KyrosREGDkNLp1rMd9wfVwfkXYHTd6j5U  |  BTC P2Pool node: p2pool.kyros.info:9332
A_Member
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 04, 2013, 02:38:27 AM
Last edit: August 04, 2013, 08:08:44 PM by A_Member
 #200

JUICED 13 PORT HUB only has 5v 3a adapter NOT 9a. havent tested it out yet but should only support 6. got 2 from amazon, they're going back monday

In that case I might be sending back my hubs from Juiced Systems as well.

EDIT: Sorry, I didn't read carefully enough.  I thought you were talking about the Juiced Systems 10 port.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!