Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2019, 12:19:14 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 [38] 39 40 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Which USB hub to use with Block Erupters | NanoFury NF1 | BPMC Red Fury | Ant U1  (Read 128276 times)
ManeBjorn
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288
Merit: 1004



View Profile
February 12, 2014, 06:31:33 AM
 #741

Try the user Cablez on here.  He makes tons of custom cables and such.


Hey guys, I just saw this on ebay   limited seller history but seems a real decent price.  how many usable ports do you think I will get with the 1x 20V 4.5A Power Supply?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/261376179469



so I recived this hub and it works well with 4 overclocked NFY jellowjackets and 2 over clockd ants but dosnt have enough power to handle 3 Block erupters also   
  Do they make a molex to barrel adapter   or maybe a 6 pin to barrel adaper?   I took the hub apart   it looks to be 4- 5 port hubs   I don't feel comfortable removing the existing power socket ( a yellow barrel type) and wiring in atx power ( what lines? how many? ect?) I need like 12 to 15 amps I feel to populate it and overclock


1575764354
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1575764354

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1575764354
Reply with quote  #2

1575764354
Report to moderator
1575764354
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1575764354

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1575764354
Reply with quote  #2

1575764354
Report to moderator
1575764354
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1575764354

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1575764354
Reply with quote  #2

1575764354
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Mudbankkeith
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 12, 2014, 10:00:23 AM
 #742

Hey guys, I just saw this on ebay   limited seller history but seems a real decent price.  how many usable ports do you think I will get with the 1x 20V 4.5A Power Supply?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/261376179469

volts * amps = watts

20v * 4.5a = 90w

this hub has 90 watts so lets assume the hub wastes 20% in heat.

that gives you 72 watts at the ports.

asic erupters draw 2.55w each minimum, so your absolute maximum device count would be 28 devices. so for erupters you should get a full house of 20.

or worked the other way, you have a maximum wattage of 3.6w per port,(72w/20ports) as usb ports run at 5v that gives 0.72amps per port.

BTc donations welcome:-  13c2KuzWCaWFTXF171Zn1HrKhMYARPKv97
ZipTheRip
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 14, 2014, 06:53:28 PM
 #743

i can barley get 3 ants and 4 yellowjackets running  on it ants @ 2 and YJs @ 2.5   if I try and erupters in with them I get power issues...  any help on what to replace the PSU with and best way to do it?
pmorici
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 480
Merit: 250


View Profile
February 16, 2014, 06:37:00 AM
 #744

If anyone is in need of a good hub I put my ten port up on eBay the other day I was running 10x Block Erupters off it with the stock power supply w/o issue.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/221373392254
ZipTheRip
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 19, 2014, 05:24:08 AM
 #745

i can barley get 3 ants and 4 yellowjackets running  on it ants @ 2 and YJs @ 2.5   if I try and erupters in with them I get power issues...  any help on what to replace the PSU with and best way to do it?


ok so I found this
http://www.ebay.com/itm/S-120-12a-Super-Stable-Power-supply-unit-120W-DC-12V-10-5-13-8V-10AMP-/221376640397?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item338b13758d
 can I cut the cord on the psu from
http://www.ebay.com/itm/261376179469
and wire it to the new psu and get 10 amps at 12v to power a 20 port hub?   or did I miss something?
 Trying to do my own research and not ask to be spoon fed but I would hate to make an ignorant mistake that costs me moneyor mining time
pmorici
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 480
Merit: 250


View Profile
February 19, 2014, 09:52:58 AM
 #746

i can barley get 3 ants and 4 yellowjackets running  on it ants @ 2 and YJs @ 2.5   if I try and erupters in with them I get power issues...  any help on what to replace the PSU with and best way to do it?


ok so I found this
http://www.ebay.com/itm/S-120-12a-Super-Stable-Power-supply-unit-120W-DC-12V-10-5-13-8V-10AMP-/221376640397?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item338b13758d
 can I cut the cord on the psu from
http://www.ebay.com/itm/261376179469
and wire it to the new psu and get 10 amps at 12v to power a 20 port hub?   or did I miss something?
 Trying to do my own research and not ask to be spoon fed but I would hate to make an ignorant mistake that costs me moneyor mining time

USB Devices run on 5v so that 12v input is getting converted to 5v in side the hub whether or not what you want to do will work depends on if the internal components of the hub can also handle the increased current.  Unless someone has tried it it is hard to know if it will work or start a fire.
ZipTheRip
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 19, 2014, 01:40:45 PM
 #747

ok thank you.  the current plug says it outputs 20v @ 4.5 amp   I was looking to decrease the volt and increase the amp and decrease the volts for a ?quess? is %30 more total power? 
should I think about feeding it 5v?
Mudbankkeith
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 19, 2014, 01:46:40 PM
 #748

ok thank you.  the current plug says it outputs 20v @ 4.5 amp   I was looking to decrease the volt and increase the amp and decrease the volts for a ?quess? is %30 more total power? 
should I think about feeding it 5v?

If you feed it 5v then it will NOT WORK
If you increase the amps then you will kill the device and probably kill anything/anyone touching it.

20v @ 4.5a  is a 90w device.

If it works........... leave it alone.

If it wont work ...... replace it.

BTc donations welcome:-  13c2KuzWCaWFTXF171Zn1HrKhMYARPKv97
ZipTheRip
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 19, 2014, 02:09:46 PM
 #749

But it dosnt work well enough!!!!!   isn't that the other reason we all mine?!!  we like to tinker and tweak!  it will only supply enough power for like 9 MAX usbs  and that is with very mild over clocks on the ants and yellowjackets   I would like to be able to use like 4 or 5 more ports!!!
In someones more educated opinin what is the best/ safest way to get this hub more power?  I can purchase a psu or refit an old atx psu   not certain the best way to go about doing either of those thou!
Mudbankkeith
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 19, 2014, 03:52:39 PM
 #750

But it dosnt work well enough!!!!!   isn't that the other reason we all mine?!!  we like to tinker and tweak!  it will only supply enough power for like 9 MAX usbs  and that is with very mild over clocks on the ants and yellowjackets   I would like to be able to use like 4 or 5 more ports!!!
In someones more educated opinin what is the best/ safest way to get this hub more power?  I can purchase a psu or refit an old atx psu   not certain the best way to go about doing either of those thou!

My second option, as its a 90w device thats 4.5w per socket

It should support a full house of 20 devices, so replace it

BTc donations welcome:-  13c2KuzWCaWFTXF171Zn1HrKhMYARPKv97
ZipTheRip
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 19, 2014, 04:10:22 PM
 #751

not a wattage issue  its an amp issue    it was my understanding that ( and this is simplified) volts are lets say the size of the pipe and amps are the pressure in the pipe and the watts are akin to the flow rate...  so I need the same flow but in smaller pipes with more pressure...  with the overclocks  I don't feel 600-700mlamps is overkill.. im overclocking the yellowjackets up to 2.5/2.6 and the ants to 2/2.2    so they are using more than the standard usb draw,  or they want more anyways...   dose that make any sort of sence?.....
   good lord I hope I didn't just prove that im an ignorant jackass....
   but thanks for all of the help!!!!
Mudbankkeith
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 19, 2014, 05:08:49 PM
 #752

not a wattage issue  its an amp issue    it was my understanding that ( and this is simplified) volts are lets say the size of the pipe and amps are the pressure in the pipe and the watts are akin to the flow rate...  so I need the same flow but in smaller pipes with more pressure...  with the overclocks  I don't feel 600-700mlamps is overkill.. im overclocking the yellowjackets up to 2.5/2.6 and the ants to 2/2.2    so they are using more than the standard usb draw,  or they want more anyways...   dose that make any sort of sence?.....
   good lord I hope I didn't just prove that im an ignorant jackass....
   but thanks for all of the help!!!!

volts x amps = watts

20v x 4.5a = 90w input

so 90w at wall, less heat in the hub say 10w, leaves you with approx 80w at the hub

usb out is 5v

80w for 20 sockets is 4w per usb socket

4w = 5v x 0.8A


erupters use 2.55w at 5v = 0.51A(510mA)

BTc donations welcome:-  13c2KuzWCaWFTXF171Zn1HrKhMYARPKv97
ZipTheRip
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 19, 2014, 05:40:44 PM
Last edit: February 19, 2014, 06:18:57 PM by ZipTheRip
 #753

so I just have a shitty power supply with it?  im going to try to post a pic of its ratings and such  all the info found on the brick


btw   tyvm mud  I appreciate the help



EDIT   ok  I hope this link works to share the pics of the psu and set up in question   
https://plus.google.com/110534873202442008219/posts/WSmL6bEFpwU

thanks for your time again
Mudbankkeith
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 19, 2014, 05:51:34 PM
 #754

so I just have a shitty power supply with it?  im going to try to post a pic of its ratings and such  all the info found on the brick


btw   tyvm mud  I appreciate the help

It can be worthwhile investing in "Killawatt Meter" if you continue further into coin mining, there are a lot of misleading labels on "cheaper" power supplies.
Also mining device makers often claim there device is "lower in power" requirements than the testing shows.

My Bitmain S1 claims to be 180Gh at 350Watts,   It actually tests as 175Gh at 400watts  ... and that is a better than average result.

BTc donations welcome:-  13c2KuzWCaWFTXF171Zn1HrKhMYARPKv97
ZipTheRip
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 19, 2014, 06:22:40 PM
 #755

https://plus.google.com/110534873202442008219/posts/WSmL6bEFpwU
 the link
 and the psu is med warm to the touch  not hot but warm in a cool place
pmorici
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 480
Merit: 250


View Profile
February 19, 2014, 09:14:32 PM
 #756

ok thank you.  the current plug says it outputs 20v @ 4.5 amp   I was looking to decrease the volt and increase the amp and decrease the volts for a ?quess? is %30 more total power? 
should I think about feeding it 5v?

You typically can't change the input volts and have it just work w/o destroying something you can buy a higher quality power supply with the ability to supply more amps though.  It really all depends on the internal components of that Hub and what they are rated for.
Rawted
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500



View Profile
February 20, 2014, 07:21:09 AM
 #757

Amazon has their own custom built 7 port usb 2.0 hubs with 5v/4a adapter for $19 shipped (prime). Ordered 7 for an antminer project, i'll report back how they work out.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00DQFGJR4/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER
vs3
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 622
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
February 20, 2014, 07:45:38 AM
 #758

Amazon has their own custom built 7 port usb 2.0 hubs with 5v/4a adapter for $19 shipped (prime). Ordered 7 for an antminer project, i'll report back how they work out.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00DQFGJR4/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

Actually they were $12 at some point ... I should've ordered more of them at that time. I've been using them for testing various quantities of NanoFury boards and so far they've been performing pretty well.

vs3
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 622
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
March 15, 2014, 08:48:57 PM
 #759

Amazon has their own custom built 7 port usb 2.0 hubs with 5v/4a adapter for $19 shipped (prime). Ordered 7 for an antminer project, i'll report back how they work out.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00DQFGJR4/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

Actually they were $12 at some point ... I should've ordered more of them at that time. I've been using them for testing various quantities of NanoFury boards and so far they've been performing pretty well.

A follow-up :

I've been using those Amazon ones for testing of the dual-chip design and I am very impressed by them - I've plugged them into USB3 ports and 3 miners are happily hashing there when pushed to the limit.


And a very disappointing observations from this one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817111981
(and there are a lot of similar ones with 2.5A power brick)
The power brick is a piece of junk and as soon as you add some load to the hub (let's say 1-1.5A) the voltage drops to 4.6-4.7V and if you push it even harder it goes even below 4V.
This was a nasty surprise for my desktop which in essence ended up having to provide all the power as that power brick's voltage was well below the PC's 5V.

oskuro
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 251


View Profile
April 15, 2014, 10:27:40 PM
Last edit: April 15, 2014, 10:42:53 PM by oskuro
 #760

Amazon has their own custom built 7 port usb 2.0 hubs with 5v/4a adapter for $19 shipped (prime). Ordered 7 for an antminer project, i'll report back how they work out.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00DQFGJR4/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

Actually they were $12 at some point ... I should've ordered more of them at that time. I've been using them for testing various quantities of NanoFury boards and so far they've been performing pretty well.

A follow-up :

I've been using those Amazon ones for testing of the dual-chip design and I am very impressed by them - I've plugged them into USB3 ports and 3 miners are happily hashing there when pushed to the limit.


And a very disappointing observations from this one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817111981
(and there are a lot of similar ones with 2.5A power brick)
The power brick is a piece of junk and as soon as you add some load to the hub (let's say 1-1.5A) the voltage drops to 4.6-4.7V and if you push it even harder it goes even below 4V.
This was a nasty surprise for my desktop which in essence ended up having to provide all the power as that power brick's voltage was well below the PC's 5V.

Hi do you recommend me that  usb hub for mining with antminers u2+? or what usb hub can you guys recommend me? because antminers u2+ have heat sink and are harder to fit Wink thanks
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 [38] 39 40 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!