Bitcoin Forum
January 27, 2020, 05:56:26 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin Windows gadget which displays BTC and currency amounts  (Read 68417 times)
Domchi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 256
Merit: 151


View Profile
October 06, 2019, 11:09:23 PM
 #241

I did add the value you recommended but the behavior didn't change.
I still get 100 api request per second after I apply the settings.

What I noticed it's only on my Windows 10 machine with "8gadgetpack" installed.
Maybe that's the reason for the strange behavior?

It's hard to say without more data what causes this, but after applying settings, gadget simply can't send that many requests. It will send only one request to a single API, unless you have configured to call a single API for multiple things.

How do you detect those 100 API requests, and which API server is spammed?

How many gadgets do you have open?

What settings are you using (especially URLs)?
1580147786
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1580147786

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1580147786
Reply with quote  #2

1580147786
Report to moderator
1580147786
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1580147786

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1580147786
Reply with quote  #2

1580147786
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1580147786
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1580147786

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1580147786
Reply with quote  #2

1580147786
Report to moderator
paduser
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 435
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 07, 2019, 01:18:21 PM
 #242

Hi here are some answers to your questions.

  • I use fiddler to detect and debug API requests.
  • At the moment I have one instance of each gadget open. 1x Bitcoin, 1x Litecoin and 1x MyCoin

What data would help you to find the source of this issue?
Domchi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 256
Merit: 151


View Profile
October 07, 2019, 01:25:03 PM
 #243

Hi here are some answers to your questions.

  • I use fiddler to detect and debug API requests.
  • At the moment I have one instance of each gadget open. 1x Bitcoin, 1x Litecoin and 1x MyCoin

What data would help you to find the source of this issue?

Can you try this? Clear Fiddler log. Open settings of a single gadget, say MyBitcoins. Apply settings - which should refresh all values in that gadget. How many requests do you get in Fiddler, to which servers? Is that in line with your settings?
paduser
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 435
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 07, 2019, 06:05:38 PM
 #244

Ok here are the results when I have open the litecoin gadget and edit the mycoin gadget:



Every API request is valid but it sends just 100 per second until I get blocked for to many requests.
Domchi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 256
Merit: 151


View Profile
October 08, 2019, 05:30:16 PM
Merited by paduser (2)
 #245

OK, I fixed it. Thanks for reporting it! Please visit http://domchi.cc/mybitcoins/ (or http://domchi.cc/mycoins/) to download the latest version.
paduser
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 435
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 11, 2019, 08:09:11 AM
 #246

OK, I fixed it. Thanks for reporting it! Please visit http://domchi.cc/mybitcoins/ (or http://domchi.cc/mycoins/) to download the latest version.

Yes, I can confirm it works now as intended on my machine. Do you mind telling me what caused the issue?

Thanks again for fixing.
Domchi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 256
Merit: 151


View Profile
October 11, 2019, 09:48:04 AM
 #247

Yes, I can confirm it works now as intended on my machine. Do you mind telling me what caused the issue?

A bug in saving exchange data update interval, which was introduced in the latest version, which I inadvertently introduced after testing, while packaging gadget for release. Pretty lame actually. Smiley
paduser
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 435
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 11, 2019, 09:53:31 AM
 #248

Still thanks for telling and actually fixing it  Smiley
movellan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 325
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 19, 2019, 10:19:56 AM
 #249

Thank you, sir. Worked nicely.

Due to circumstances beyond my control, I must convert several machines to Windoze 10 (Ugh!). What is the best method/utility for running the gadget on 10? TIA.
Domchi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 256
Merit: 151


View Profile
October 19, 2019, 12:11:47 PM
 #250

Due to circumstances beyond my control, I must convert several machines to Windoze 10 (Ugh!). What is the best method/utility for running the gadget on 10? TIA.

I'm probably not the best person to give advice as I'm still running Win7. Maybe the folks using the gadget on Win10 can chip in?

That said, it seems there are at least three alternatives nowadays:
https://windows.gadgethacks.com/how-to/bring-desktop-gadgets-windows-10-0163567/
https://gadgetsrevived.com/download-sidebar/
paduser
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 435
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 19, 2019, 06:08:22 PM
 #251

Due to circumstances beyond my control, I must convert several machines to Windoze 10 (Ugh!). What is the best method/utility for running the gadget on 10? TIA.

I'm probably not the best person to give advice as I'm still running Win7. Maybe the folks using the gadget on Win10 can chip in?

That said, it seems there are at least three alternatives nowadays:
https://windows.gadgethacks.com/how-to/bring-desktop-gadgets-windows-10-0163567/
https://gadgetsrevived.com/download-sidebar/


I personal use https://8gadgetpack.net/.
They still push updates and also they've updated the old gadget with new high dpi versions.
movellan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 325
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 28, 2019, 06:14:49 AM
 #252

Due to circumstances beyond my control, I must convert several machines to Windoze 10 (Ugh!). What is the best method/utility for running the gadget on 10? TIA.

I'm probably not the best person to give advice as I'm still running Win7. Maybe the folks using the gadget on Win10 can chip in?

That said, it seems there are at least three alternatives nowadays:
https://windows.gadgethacks.com/how-to/bring-desktop-gadgets-windows-10-0163567/
https://gadgetsrevived.com/download-sidebar/


I personal use https://8gadgetpack.net/.
They still push updates and also they've updated the old gadget with new high dpi versions.

8gadgetpack works nicely. Thanks for the tip.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!