Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 10:32:37 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BTCMiner - Open Source Bitcoin Miner for ZTEX FPGA Boards, 215 MH/s on LX150  (Read 153785 times)
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
November 26, 2011, 04:43:06 PM
 #121

Will there be an option to change the frequency manually in the future ? After 48h or so i'm down to 180 to 190 MH/s but that's at 184 MHz. Would be nice to be able to play around with the frequency  Wink

1481149957
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149957

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149957
Reply with quote  #2

1481149957
Report to moderator
1481149957
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149957

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149957
Reply with quote  #2

1481149957
Report to moderator
1481149957
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149957

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149957
Reply with quote  #2

1481149957
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481149957
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149957

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149957
Reply with quote  #2

1481149957
Report to moderator
1481149957
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149957

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149957
Reply with quote  #2

1481149957
Report to moderator
sadpandatech
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
November 26, 2011, 04:57:23 PM
 #122

Will there be an option to change the frequency manually in the future ? After 48h or so i'm down to 180 to 190 MH/s but that's at 184 MHz. Would be nice to be able to play around with the frequency  Wink

  if I understand his software correctly, it automaticly adjusts the freq up/down based on the error rate. With that in mind if we 'force' the unit to 200MHz and it is getting a theoretical 10% error rate the hash rate would still be 180MHs.  It would be nice to have the option to manually adjust the error tolerance though to set the optimum limit of error/freq ourselves.

  Have you done anything to try and further cool the chip to see if that helps?

If you're not excited by the idea of being an early adopter 'now', then you should come back in three or four years and either tell us "Told you it'd never work!" or join what should, by then, be a much more stable and easier-to-use system. - GA
It is being worked on by smart people. -DamienBlack
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
November 26, 2011, 05:06:18 PM
 #123

if I understand his software correctly, it automaticly adjusts the freq up/down based on the error rate. With that in mind if we 'force' the unit to 200MHz and it is getting a theoretical 10% error rate the hash rate would still be 180MHs.  It would be nice to have the option to manually adjust the error tolerance though to set the optimum limit of error/freq ourselves.

  Have you done anything to try and further cool the chip to see if that helps?

I have an extra 92mm fan blowing at the board. Your right about self adjustment. It changes to 192 MHz on startup but then always goes back to 184 MHz. At 184 the error rate is below 0.3 %.

trilby
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45


View Profile
November 26, 2011, 06:42:41 PM
 #124

if I understand his software correctly, it automaticly adjusts the freq up/down based on the error rate. With that in mind if we 'force' the unit to 200MHz and it is getting a theoretical 10% error rate the hash rate would still be 180MHs.  It would be nice to have the option to manually adjust the error tolerance though to set the optimum limit of error/freq ourselves.

  Have you done anything to try and further cool the chip to see if that helps?

I have an extra 92mm fan blowing at the board. Your right about self adjustment. It changes to 192 MHz on startup but then always goes back to 184 MHz. At 184 the error rate is below 0.3 %.

my one is different it starts at 200 then it changes to 192 and holds stable

Have I helped you send me a donation - 1LaZmd9ZzpmjA4gkXxiQPsmfQ8zSc5mTZo
sadpandatech
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
November 26, 2011, 06:46:56 PM
 #125

if I understand his software correctly, it automaticly adjusts the freq up/down based on the error rate. With that in mind if we 'force' the unit to 200MHz and it is getting a theoretical 10% error rate the hash rate would still be 180MHs.  It would be nice to have the option to manually adjust the error tolerance though to set the optimum limit of error/freq ourselves.

  Have you done anything to try and further cool the chip to see if that helps?

I have an extra 92mm fan blowing at the board. Your right about self adjustment. It changes to 192 MHz on startup but then always goes back to 184 MHz. At 184 the error rate is below 0.3 %.

my one is different it starts at 200 then it changes to 192 and holds stable

  Your's sounds more what I would expect from the latest production he has out.  I am wondering, do you guys know what voltage your units are? I.E. what resistance is on R12/R13?

  I'm just tossing things out, since I unfortuantly do not have one of these units to test. But I am wondering if it could be a thermal compound issue. Do we know what compound was used to set the heatsinks and what its cure time is?

If you're not excited by the idea of being an early adopter 'now', then you should come back in three or four years and either tell us "Told you it'd never work!" or join what should, by then, be a much more stable and easier-to-use system. - GA
It is being worked on by smart people. -DamienBlack
Dexter770221
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1026


View Profile
November 26, 2011, 07:38:50 PM
 #126

In GPU/CPU world each piece overclocks differently. You may have a worse piece. I've wonder what hashrate could be possible with peltier cooling Wink I have two modules (50W & 70W) from an old days when they cooled my celeron 333@560. Temp was -18C...

Under development Modular UPGRADEABLE Miner (MUM). Looking for investors.
Changing one PCB with screwdriver and you have brand new miner in hand... Plug&Play, scalable from one module to thousands.
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
November 26, 2011, 07:52:50 PM
 #127

Can this be a thermal thing ? I placed the heatsink myself. Should be perfect. I'm happy so far with the board.

ztex
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 367

ZTEX FPGA Boards


View Profile WWW
November 26, 2011, 08:25:04 PM
 #128

I have an extra 92mm fan blowing at the board. Your right about self adjustment. It changes to 192 MHz on startup but then always goes back to 184 MHz. At 184 the error rate is below 0.3 %.

The minimum guaranteed hash rate is 176 MH/s. But in fact I never saw a 1.15x board which is as slow as yours.

If your board can only do 184 MHz at an error rate of 0.3% it will hold the 192 MHz only for a few seconds. If your board holds it longer you have a cooling problem.

First check the heat sink. If it feels hot their is not enough airflow. Then check the temperature of the PCB below the FPGA. If it feels warm there is an air gap between heat sink and FPGA. More thermal grease should solve this problem




Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
November 26, 2011, 08:38:07 PM
 #129

I went with the thermal pad that came with the heatsink. The heatsink gets a bit warm but not hot. There is no problem for me with 180 mh/s 24h. Just interesting to see that others run other frequencies. I have almost zero error rate. Will the device only clock (up) at startup ?

ztex
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 367

ZTEX FPGA Boards


View Profile WWW
November 26, 2011, 08:42:03 PM
 #130

If I understand his software correctly, it automaticly adjusts the freq up/down based on the error rate.

 With that in mind if we 'force' the unit to 200MHz and it is getting a theoretical 10% error rate the hash rate would still be 180MHs.  It would be nice to have the option to manually adjust the error tolerance though to set the optimum limit of error/freq ourselves.

The software automatically chooses the frequency which delivers the highest effective hash rate.  This calculation is based on the maximum error rate (maxErroRate) in the output.

A better optimization goal would be maximize the income based on error rates and considering the energy costs. But we are talking about average improvements of fee per mill ...


ztex
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 367

ZTEX FPGA Boards


View Profile WWW
November 26, 2011, 08:51:09 PM
 #131

Your's sounds more what I would expect from the latest production he has out.  I am wondering, do you guys know what voltage your units are? I.E. what resistance is on R12/R13?

All boards that were delivered out have a core voltage of 1.23V.  The first lot with 1.25V (2% to 3% faster) will be produced end of December.

ztex
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 367

ZTEX FPGA Boards


View Profile WWW
November 26, 2011, 09:10:42 PM
 #132

I went with the thermal pad that came with the heatsink.

I never tried out this thing. Check the temperature of the (bottom side) of the PCB below the FPGA. If it feels quite warm after a runtime of at least 30min
the heat conductivity of the pad is to bad.

Quote
There is no problem for me with 180 mh/s 24h. Just interesting to see that others run other frequencies. I have almost zero error rate. Will the device only clock (up) at startup ?

The boards are clocked up at start-up until the effective hash rate decreases and then are clocked down by one step. Since the maximum error rate is used for frequency optimization the boards usually hold this frequency. BTW, nextMaxErrorRate denotes the maximum error rate of the next frequency step.

If your board holds the 192 MHz for more the a few seconds and then clocks down to 184 MHz at an error rate of 0.3% this indicates a cooling problem.




Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
November 26, 2011, 09:39:56 PM
 #133

Tnx for the information. I'll check this. But as long as it runs at 184 with no error there is nothing to fear right ?

Edit: Here is a screen when i start the miner. Why does it set the initial frequency to 184 MHz in my case and 200 MHz for someone else ? The board was running more than a week when i took that pic. Not that i want to complain ! I'm just trying to understand  Wink...


ztex
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 367

ZTEX FPGA Boards


View Profile WWW
November 28, 2011, 12:16:59 PM
 #134

Edit: Here is a screen when i start the miner. Why does it set the initial frequency to 184 MHz in my case and 200 MHz for someone else ? The board was running more than a week when i took that pic. Not that i want to complain ! I'm just trying to understand  Wink...

The software always starts with 184 Mz.

Your board seems to hold 192 MHz for about 20s. Since the error rate increases very quickly at maximum frequency it should do 184MHz with (almost) no errors (<0.1%).

If the error rate increases over time (0.3% as you wrote in a previous possting) this indicates a cooling problem.


Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
November 28, 2011, 07:03:21 PM
 #135

Thanks for clarification. It is as you said. The thermal pad is sh!t !!!  Angry. Please tell your customers not to use it. I put some termal grease on and now it works at 192 MHz with max 0.68 % errorRate so far.

F.cked up one heatsink holder but i was able to replace it with a M3 screw. I could not be happier. Great product Cheesy Grin !

Edit: Here is a screen when i start the miner. Why does it set the initial frequency to 184 MHz in my case and 200 MHz for someone else ? The board was running more than a week when i took that pic. Not that i want to complain ! I'm just trying to understand  Wink...

The software always starts with 184 Mz.

Your board seems to hold 192 MHz for about 20s. Since the error rate increases very quickly at maximum frequency it should do 184MHz with (almost) no errors (<0.1%).

If the error rate increases over time (0.3% as you wrote in a previous possting) this indicates a cooling problem.



DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
November 28, 2011, 11:58:39 PM
 #136

Thanks for clarification. It is as you said. The thermal pad is sh!t !!!  Angry. Please tell your customers not to use it. I put some termal grease on and now it works at 192 MHz with max 0.68 % errorRate so far.

Good to know.  What brand thermal grease did you use?
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
November 29, 2011, 11:54:25 AM
 #137

Good to know.  What brand thermal grease did you use?

I have a spare Scythe Katana 3 CPU cooler. First the idea was to replace the heatsink with the Katana but that would have been a massive overkill in almost every way. The grease (Scythe) seems to work fine. I never did that before and was a bit afraid to f.ck up the board but it's really a nice piece of hardware. The stock heatsink pad is just too thick imo.

ztex
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 367

ZTEX FPGA Boards


View Profile WWW
November 29, 2011, 08:10:51 PM
 #138

Thanks for clarification. It is as you said. The thermal pad is sh!t !!!  Angry. Please tell your customers not to use it. I put some termal grease on and now it works at 192 MHz with max 0.68 % errorRate so far.

Good to know.  What brand thermal grease did you use?

Remember it is not a 140W CPU. Any thermal grease can be used. Thermal grease is included in the heat sink kit delivered with the board.

I dissected the pad today. It is some kind of textile with sticky grey stuff and it quite thick. IMHO it is not usable for anything.

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
November 29, 2011, 08:39:38 PM
 #139

Remember it is not a 140W CPU. Any thermal grease can be used. Thermal grease is included in the heat sink kit delivered with the board.

Good point. Smiley
Just wondered because the cooling improved so much.  Guess that was more a case of the pad sucking then the grease being super good.
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
November 29, 2011, 08:43:41 PM
 #140

Guess that was more a case of the pad sucking then the grease being super good.

Exactly

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!