Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 02:23:22 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32 33 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BTCMiner - Open Source Bitcoin Miner for ZTEX FPGA Boards, 215 MH/s on LX150  (Read 153756 times)
Nachtwind
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700



View Profile
December 08, 2012, 11:14:39 AM
 #561

ztex any plans for stratum for BTCMiner?

The bandwidth requirement of your ZTEX cluster is a few hundred bytes per second. Your Internet connection should be able to handle this.

Implementation is not planned within the next release (but maybe later).

Is stratum still "maybe" or planned?

Implementation of one network bandwitdh saving protocol is planned. But I have not decided which one.

Rupy, why did you ask for this feature (at least two times)? Do you have bandwitdh shortage? Your cluster requires about 100 Bytes per second.






Simply go with the majority of pools: Stratum
1481034202
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481034202

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481034202
Reply with quote  #2

1481034202
Report to moderator
1481034202
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481034202

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481034202
Reply with quote  #2

1481034202
Report to moderator
1481034202
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481034202

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481034202
Reply with quote  #2

1481034202
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481034202
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481034202

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481034202
Reply with quote  #2

1481034202
Report to moderator
1481034202
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481034202

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481034202
Reply with quote  #2

1481034202
Report to moderator
1481034202
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481034202

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481034202
Reply with quote  #2

1481034202
Report to moderator
narousberg
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
December 08, 2012, 11:25:28 AM
 #562

+1 for Stratum)))

fydel
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 526


Hasta la Bitcoin siempre!


View Profile
December 08, 2012, 04:38:01 PM
 #563

Dear Santa, we wish for stratum under the christmas tree, please.
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
December 09, 2012, 12:38:35 AM
 #564

2) Slush gives you transaction fee if you use stratum.

You can use stratum proxy...

slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
December 09, 2012, 12:40:33 AM
 #565

Dear Santa, we wish for stratum under the christmas tree, please.

Lol, can I qoute it?

antirack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 491


Immersionist


View Profile
December 09, 2012, 03:52:20 AM
 #566

Is it intention that devices still show up with (i)nfo once they are (d)isconnected with d 'serial number'?
rupy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 724



View Profile
December 09, 2012, 07:37:03 AM
 #567

2) Slush gives you transaction fee if you use stratum.

You can use stratum proxy...

I have bitcoin client on port 8332, so even if my old linux can run your code I have to mess around with configs... Sad

Also it's written in python... :/

BANKBOOK GWT Wallet & no-FIAT Billing API
BTC 14xr5Q1j61A1eA6Mrs5MRhUmYZKboY8iq2 | Vanillacoin FPGA Miner
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
December 09, 2012, 09:28:36 AM
 #568

I have bitcoin client on port 8332, so even if my old linux can run your code I have to mess around with configs... Sad

There is no config, just simple parameters.

Code:
./mining_proxy.py -gp 8001

This will do the job for you (gp means getwork port).

Quote
Also it's written in python... :/

I'm sorry if you have personal aversion against Python for some reason. Otherwise the installation is really simple, as documented here: https://github.com/slush0/stratum-mining-proxy . It takes literally 5 minutes to get it run.

lens
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
December 15, 2012, 07:25:56 PM
 #569

Has anyone tried to port the BTCMiner to ARM-architecture? When i try running the .jar on the raspberry pi and OpenJDK Runtime Environment (IcedTea7 2.3.2) i get this error:

Code:
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: /tmp/libusbJavaSt.so: /tmp/libusbJavaSt.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory (Possible cause: can't load IA 32-bit .so on a ARM-bit platform)
        at java.lang.ClassLoader$NativeLibrary.load(Native Method)
        at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary1(ClassLoader.java:1935)
        at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary0(ClassLoader.java:1860)
        at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary(ClassLoader.java:1821)
        at java.lang.Runtime.load0(Runtime.java:792)
        at java.lang.System.load(System.java:1059)
        at ch.ntb.usb.LibLoader.load(LibLoader.java:69)
        at ch.ntb.usb.LibusbJava.<clinit>(LibusbJava.java:389)
        at BTCMiner.main(BTCMiner.java:2044)
It would be very nice to run the very energy efficient Ztex-boards with a 5 Watt pc Wink

What confuses me: Why is a port needed, I always thougt java bytecode is platform independent? 
randomguy7
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 528


View Profile
December 15, 2012, 07:30:50 PM
 #570

...
What confuses me: Why is a port needed, I always thougt java bytecode is platform independent? 

The java code is platform independent but it's using some native code library which has to be ported.
BR0KK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
December 15, 2012, 07:31:22 PM
 #571

Tried it ... My pi was unstable as hell .... Worked fine for at least an hour. Then the pi shut down.


You have to call the string with "sudo" command. Otherwise it won't work


Do u have the right lib USB installed ?
Mind that cgminer and BTCminer use different ports ...

lens
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
December 15, 2012, 10:03:50 PM
 #572

Is this USB-related? Im more the hardware guy...
"Possible cause: can't load IA 32-bit .so on a ARM-bit platform"
For me this sounds as if this or all all libraries must be 64bit.

For better stability i use on the raspberrys hardware watchdog, if the system hangs for more than a few seconds it will be hard-resetted. Software errors can be caught by a cronjob which is checking if the miner is running, otherwise starting it.

 
lenny_
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 953



View Profile
December 18, 2012, 12:55:07 AM
 #573

Has anyone tried to port the BTCMiner to ARM-architecture?
http://blog.villekangas.com/?p=23
lenny_
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 953



View Profile
December 18, 2012, 09:25:49 PM
 #574

Hello there,
I am very happy Ztex customer and BTCMiner user. But there are some problems which makes me worried.

Sometimes FPGA boards are really slowing down when main mining pool is unavailable. BTCMiner tries to reconnect thousands of times to main pool and some of boards are idling. Backup pool reporting 30% of hashing power. I could not determine is it a problem with backup pool or BTCMiner trying to reach main pool and wasting time.
Just look at this log:
Code:
2012-12-18T20:54:34: Warning: Connection refused: disabling long polling fo 60s
2012-12-18T20:54:34: 001-0: ztex_ufm1_15y1-04A3918D14-2: Error: Connection refused: Disabling URL http://localhost:4990 for 60s
2012-12-18T20:54:34: 001-0: ztex_ufm1_15y1-04A3465EA1-1: Error: Connection refused: Disabling URL http://localhost:4990 for 60s
2012-12-18T20:54:36: 001-0: ztex_ufm1_15y1-04A3463804-2: Error: Connection refused: Disabling URL http://localhost:4990 for 60s
(...)
every single chip on 1.15y board is reporting that, spamming logfile.
And then again, every minute:
Code:
2012-12-18T20:58:34: Warning: Connection refused: disabling long polling fo 60s2012-12-18T20:57:47: 001-0: ztex_ufm1_15y1-04A39E4007-4: Error: Connection refused: Disabling URL http://localhost:4990 for 60s
2012-12-18T20:57:49: 001-0: ztex_ufm1_15y1-04A3918D14-2: Error: Connection refused: Disabling URL http://localhost:4990 for 60s
2012-12-18T20:57:49: 001-0: ztex_ufm1_15y1-04A3919EA0-4: Error: Connection refused: Disabling URL http://localhost:4990 for 60s
(...)
And continues. Why is LP disabled when main pool is unavailable? LP could be reached from backup pool.

My suggestions:

1. Add an option to choose, for how long pool should be disabled when unavailable. 60sec is just too short. When main pool fails, I would like to disable it for 10 minutes instead, to make sure it have time to settle down, whatever happening with it.

2. Disable spamming logfile from every single chip, when main pool is unavailable (when running in cluster mode). Only one message like:
Code:
Error: Connection refused: Disabling URL xxx for xxx sec
should be enough.

3. Enable logging of backup pool connections - when main pool refusing connections, BTCMiner should write in log file something like:
Code:
Error: Connection refused: Disabling URL http://localhost:4990 for 60s
Using LongPolling URL http://backup_pool:8332/lp
EDIT: I noticed that this message "Using LongPooling ..." with backup pool address appears only when main pool is down during miner startup. Later, when pool goes down, we don't know where miner is connected, there is no message about it.

4. When main pool is down, pressing "i" to see status doesn't work, it's lagging for couple of minutes to get output.

What you guys think? Smiley
lens
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
December 19, 2012, 07:43:00 AM
 #575

Thanks lenny!
Not the newest source (August) but this is working fine.
antirack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 491


Immersionist


View Profile
December 21, 2012, 11:30:40 PM
 #576

I absolutely agree that the backup pool handling is less than optimal.
fydel
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 526


Hasta la Bitcoin siempre!


View Profile
January 06, 2013, 10:21:21 AM
 #577

Yeah, word! Would be great if ztex and grobi42 could continue their great work with btcminer!  Grin

Without stratum I have between 1-2% rejected shares.  Sad

ztex
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 367

ZTEX FPGA Boards


View Profile WWW
January 07, 2013, 02:00:21 PM
 #578

Yeah, word! Would be great if ztex and grobi42 could continue their great work with btcminer!  Grin

Without stratum I have between 1-2% rejected shares.  Sad

Rejected shares are mostly duplicate shares. If pool server responds to slow BTCMiner re-submits shares. Usually a few stales occur too because by default (if submitold flag is not set) BTCMiner always submits shares which are already found.

BTCMiner will be updated from time to time as long the software is used.  (ATM I'm engaged with new SDK implementations. Next BTCMiner release will not appear before February.)

lenny_
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 953



View Profile
January 08, 2013, 01:15:15 AM
 #579

Are you planning to implement Stratum?
And also version for ARM architecture, like Raspberry Pi?
BR0KK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
January 08, 2013, 09:21:58 AM
 #580

Rpi is not handling Ztex miners very well.
I tried but the pi failed (one or multiple units) after some random time.
Has something to do with the integrated USB....


Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32 33 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!