Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 02:47:14 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BTCMiner - Open Source Bitcoin Miner for ZTEX FPGA Boards, 215 MH/s on LX150  (Read 153733 times)
gusti
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1102


View Profile
December 01, 2011, 03:25:07 PM
 #161

Please explain you first why my PS is currently working with original switch.

I don't understand you logic. You are writing (again) that ZTEX FPGA Boards have support your power supply because your router supports it.

The power supply is supported by your router because your router has a different input voltage range.

Buddy, you told me that any supermarket power supply will fit, and you were wrong. My switch (not a router) has a similar input range, from 6 to 16 VDC, if I remember correctly. (I can publish a photo too, you seem to like photos).


  Did he not say 'a 12v supermarket PSU would fit'?  I mean, you seem to know atleast a little bit about electronics. What made you think a PSU designed for a product rated for 6 to 16v would be appropriate for a product rated for 12v? :/

  On the back fo that 3COM PSu what does it list for the output range on volt and amps?


3COM switch is rated from 6 to 16 vdc (if I remember correctly, I don´t have it here but I can check later).
But the PS is rated 12 VDC 1000 ma, and the further measures confirm that (11.3 with load and 13.5 idle)



If you don't own the private keys, you don't own the coins.
1480906034
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480906034

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480906034
Reply with quote  #2

1480906034
Report to moderator
1480906034
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480906034

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480906034
Reply with quote  #2

1480906034
Report to moderator
1480906034
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480906034

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480906034
Reply with quote  #2

1480906034
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480906034
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480906034

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480906034
Reply with quote  #2

1480906034
Report to moderator
1480906034
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480906034

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480906034
Reply with quote  #2

1480906034
Report to moderator
1480906034
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480906034

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480906034
Reply with quote  #2

1480906034
Report to moderator
ztex
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 367

ZTEX FPGA Boards


View Profile WWW
December 01, 2011, 04:37:18 PM
 #162

But the PS is rated 12 VDC 1000 ma, and the further measures confirm that (11.3 with load and 13.5 idle)

It it the peak voltage or the men voltage?

gusti
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1102


View Profile
December 01, 2011, 04:42:09 PM
 #163

But the PS is rated 12 VDC 1000 ma, and the further measures confirm that (11.3 with load and 13.5 idle)

It it the peak voltage or the men voltage?


12 VDC is the nominal voltage the power supply is rated, and showed in the front of it.
11.3 and 13.5 are measured with a digital multimeter, so I suppose they are median voltages.

If you don't own the private keys, you don't own the coins.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
December 01, 2011, 04:46:03 PM
 #164

3COM switch is rated from 6 to 16 vdc (if I remember correctly, I don´t have it here but I can check later).
But the PS is rated 12 VDC 1000 ma, and the further measures confirm that (11.3 with load and 13.5 idle)

Can you snap a pic of the label.  I am curious.
sadpandatech
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
December 01, 2011, 04:50:14 PM
 #165

3COM switch is rated from 6 to 16 vdc (if I remember correctly, I don´t have it here but I can check later).
But the PS is rated 12 VDC 1000 ma, and the further measures confirm that (11.3 with load and 13.5 idle)

Can you snap a pic of the label.  I am curious.

  I am as well, the only other thing I can think of would be the polarity. But for a standard 3Com product to have something other than the standard center pin being 'hot' would be very odd.

  I'm stuck on this one. That 3a regulator should handle by it's specs, 4-14.5v input. I did not look at its DS to verify the 16v peak but even without it, it seems that PSU should not have popped it without a bad polarity or short some place.  Edit; Is the head changeable on that PSU?

  How much would you charge, Ztex, to replace just that regulator?

If you're not excited by the idea of being an early adopter 'now', then you should come back in three or four years and either tell us "Told you it'd never work!" or join what should, by then, be a much more stable and easier-to-use system. - GA
It is being worked on by smart people. -DamienBlack
gusti
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1102


View Profile
December 01, 2011, 04:53:41 PM
 #166

3COM switch is rated from 6 to 16 vdc (if I remember correctly, I don´t have it here but I can check later).
But the PS is rated 12 VDC 1000 ma, and the further measures confirm that (11.3 with load and 13.5 idle)

Can you snap a pic of the label.  I am curious.


Sure, I will take pictures of PS and switch running, tomorrow when I go to the office.

If you don't own the private keys, you don't own the coins.
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
December 01, 2011, 04:58:29 PM
 #167

Sorry but how can his product be such a failure as you state ? Mine is running 24h a day since about 2 weeks. I never had one issue with the hardware or software. First i used a bad thermal pad and the device clocked itself down for protection.

One failure can happen but two ? Talking trash won't help anyone.

Would be nice to hear what other board owners have to say. If someone is scaming, he needs to be taken down but as far as i see this that's not the case here. What happened to your boards was a bit more than just bad luck.

gusti
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1102


View Profile
December 01, 2011, 05:03:18 PM
 #168

Sorry but how can his product be such a failure as you state ? Mine is running 24h a day since about 2 weeks. I never had one issue with the hardware or software. First i used a bad thermal pad and the device clocked itself down for protection.

One failure can happen but two ? Talking trash won't help anyone.

Would be nice to hear what other board owners have to say. If someone is scaming, he needs to be taken down but as far as i see this that's not the case here. What happened to your boards was a bit more than just bad luck.



I expect a solution, and vendor was only blaming on me from day one that I told him boards were not working.
Btw, what kind of PS are you using ?


If you don't own the private keys, you don't own the coins.
ztex
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 367

ZTEX FPGA Boards


View Profile WWW
December 01, 2011, 05:03:41 PM
 #169

How much would you charge, Ztex, to replace just that regulator?

If on overvoltage occures the input voltage breaks through, i.e. the chance that FPGA and µC survived is almost zero.

I tested this on an Experimental Board 1.3 (same circuit) about a half year ago.

1.2 V regulators cannot be repalced by hand if lead free solder has to be used because bottom side pads have to be soldered.


ztex
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 367

ZTEX FPGA Boards


View Profile WWW
December 01, 2011, 05:07:43 PM
 #170

3COM switch is rated from 6 to 16 vdc (if I remember correctly, I don´t have it here but I can check later).
But the PS is rated 12 VDC 1000 ma, and the further measures confirm that (11.3 with load and 13.5 idle)

Can you snap a pic of the label.  I am curious.

If the label says 6V to 16V this does not need to mean that it does not survive 19V. Furthermore the router does not run in idle mode as the FPGA boards if they are unconfigured.



gusti
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1102


View Profile
December 01, 2011, 05:12:04 PM
 #171

How much would you charge, Ztex, to replace just that regulator?

If on overvoltage occures the input voltage breaks through, i.e. the chance that FPGA and µC survived is almost zero.

I tested this on an Experimental Board 1.3 (same circuit) about a half year ago.

1.2 V regulators cannot be repalced by hand if lead free solder has to be used because bottom side pads have to be soldered.



From this statement, I may assume that the overvoltage protection of your boards, are the boards themselves.

Is this a good circuit design ?

Can you really advise to use "supermarket power supplies" if you know that the slight overvoltage will damage the whole boards without chance to repair them ?




If you don't own the private keys, you don't own the coins.
ztex
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 367

ZTEX FPGA Boards


View Profile WWW
December 01, 2011, 05:52:36 PM
 #172

From this statement, I may assume that the overvoltage protection of your boards, are the boards themselves.

Is this a good circuit design ?

The board cannot be considered as over voltage protected, as most consumer electronics. If you don't believe it, try out your switch with 24V. After that you can return it to Crisco and write them that the developed a bad design.

Quote
Can you really advise to use "supermarket power supplies" if you know that the slight overvoltage will damage the whole boards without chance to repair them ?

Due to that the recommended range is narrower the the absolute maximum range. If you run your board within the recommended range you have a margin of 2V.

ursa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 72


View Profile
December 01, 2011, 06:15:20 PM
 #173

Ztex,
You should put this warning on packing:

Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
December 01, 2011, 06:26:02 PM
 #174

Btw, what kind of PS are you using ?

This... should be good enough for future boards  Wink


gusti
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1102


View Profile
December 01, 2011, 06:44:16 PM
 #175

From this statement, I may assume that the overvoltage protection of your boards, are the boards themselves.

Is this a good circuit design ?

The board cannot be considered as over voltage protected, as most consumer electronics. If you don't believe it, try out your switch with 24V. After that you can return it to Crisco and write them that the developed a bad design.

Quote
Can you really advise to use "supermarket power supplies" if you know that the slight overvoltage will damage the whole boards without chance to repair them ?

Due to that the recommended range is narrower the the absolute maximum range. If you run your board within the recommended range you have a margin of 2V.


Cisco have decades of superb design and customer service.
Your company sells boards with a crap design, that leads for having no protection at all.
Customers beware.


If you don't own the private keys, you don't own the coins.
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
December 01, 2011, 08:03:47 PM
 #176

Idk. You burn two boards and then you blame the board design. Sad that you choose to attack ztex instead of trying to find a fair solution for both with him. You played your cards bad imo. What do you expect him to do now ? Give you a full refund ? If i want something like that i would "blow sugar in his a$$" (being as polite as possible) to handle something out. I fear it's too late now. Sorry for your loss because the boards work very well with intact regulators...

gusti
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1102


View Profile
December 01, 2011, 08:28:40 PM
 #177

Idk. You burn two boards and then you blame the board design. Sad that you choose to attack ztex instead of trying to find a fair solution for both with him. You played your cards bad imo. What do you expect him to do now ? Give you a full refund ? If i want something like that i would "blow sugar in his a$$" (being as polite as possible) to handle something out. I fear it's too late now. Sorry for your loss because the boards work very well with intact regulators...


I politely asked ztex for a solution, and he blamed me from day one.
btw, are you a ztex reseller or only a freebie bigmouth ?

If you don't own the private keys, you don't own the coins.
ztex
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 367

ZTEX FPGA Boards


View Profile WWW
December 01, 2011, 08:46:32 PM
 #178

Cisco have decades of superb design and customer service.
Your company sells boards with a crap design, that leads for having no protection at all.
Customers beware.

I really don't understand you logic: Cisco build superb designs, even if they are not be overvoltage protected. I develop crap designs, because they are not really over voltage protected.

A (almost) save overvoltage protection would be an voltage monitor and a transistor which swithes the power supply off if the voltage is not in range.
Another way is to use a voltage monitor and a power supply with power good signal, but I dont think that your power supply has a power good signal.

Both solutions costs money and I'm assuming that most customers prefer to met the specifications instead to pay a higher price.

ztex
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 367

ZTEX FPGA Boards


View Profile WWW
December 01, 2011, 08:49:09 PM
 #179

Is it possible that Gustie tries to get this thread locked?

Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
December 01, 2011, 08:50:38 PM
 #180



Freebie bigmouth. Have a nice life gusti ha ha ha

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!