Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 09:00:19 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BTCMiner - Open Source Bitcoin Miner for ZTEX FPGA Boards, 215 MH/s on LX150  (Read 153747 times)
BR0KK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
March 23, 2012, 11:56:05 AM
 #341

Is this something i can do on my own or do you need to build that into BTCMiner (or could you?)

1480971619
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480971619

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480971619
Reply with quote  #2

1480971619
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480971619
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480971619

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480971619
Reply with quote  #2

1480971619
Report to moderator
1480971619
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480971619

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480971619
Reply with quote  #2

1480971619
Report to moderator
ztex
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 367

ZTEX FPGA Boards


View Profile WWW
March 26, 2012, 08:17:05 AM
 #342

Is this something i can do on my own or do you need to build that into BTCMiner (or could you?)

No, it need to be done in the software. I will do this in the next release.

Currently only the submitted blocks are logged.

antirack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 491


Immersionist


View Profile
March 26, 2012, 02:12:43 PM
 #343

Maybe it's just a bit late, but isn't this command to program all devices?

java -cp ZtexBTCMiner-120221.jar BTCMiner -m p -f ztex_ufm1_15d3a.ihx

It just outputs a "No devices found" and exits.

But then

java -cp ZtexBTCMiner-120221.jar BTCMiner -i

outputs the following:

Code:
Enter RPC user name: <enter>
Enter RPC password: <enter>
0: bus=bus-0  device=4 (`\\.\libusb0-0004--0x221a-0x0100')  ID=221a:100
   Manufacturer="ZTEX"  Product="btcminer for ZTEX FPGA Modules"    SerialNumber="04A32E00E9"
   productID=10.0.1.1  fwVer=0  ifVer=1
1: bus=bus-0  device=5 (`\\.\libusb0-0005--0x221a-0x0100')  ID=221a:100
   Manufacturer="ZTEX"  Product="btcminer for ZTEX FPGA Modules"    SerialNumber="04A346CEC7"
   productID=10.0.1.1  fwVer=0  ifVer=1
2: bus=bus-0  device=6 (`\\.\libusb0-0006--0x221a-0x0100')  ID=221a:100
   Manufacturer="ZTEX"  Product="btcminer for ZTEX FPGA Modules"    SerialNumber="04A3469722"
   productID=10.0.1.1  fwVer=0  ifVer=1

So the devices are clearly there. It also doesn't work after power cycling, "No devices found" again.

If I run my (small) cluster with the following, everything works fine. It programs the devices then starts mining.

java -cp ZtexBTCMiner-120221.jar BTCMiner -host "http://pool.ABCPool.co:8332" -u xxx -p yyy -l 120221-d3a-cluster.log -m c

Code:
(Re)Scanning bus ...
ztex_ufm1_15d3-04A32E00E9: New device: bitfile=ztex_ufm1_15d3   f_default=200.00MHz  f_max=240.00MHz  HpC=1.0H
ztex_ufm1_15d3-04A32E00E9: FPGA configuration time: 3247 ms
ztex_ufm1_15d3-04A32E00E9: Set frequency to 200.00MHz
Starting mining thread for bus bus-0-0
bus-0-0: ztex_ufm1_15d3-04A32E00E9: added
ztex_ufm1_15d3-04A3469722: New device: bitfile=ztex_ufm1_15d3   f_default=200.00MHz  f_max=240.00MHz  HpC=1.0H
ztex_ufm1_15d3-04A3469722: FPGA configuration time: 3236 ms
ztex_ufm1_15d3-04A3469722: Set frequency to 200.00MHz
bus-0-0: ztex_ufm1_15d3-04A3469722: added
ztex_ufm1_15d3-04A346CEC7: New device: bitfile=ztex_ufm1_15d3   f_default=200.00MHz  f_max=240.00MHz  HpC=1.0H
ztex_ufm1_15d3-04A346CEC7: FPGA configuration time: 3256 ms
ztex_ufm1_15d3-04A346CEC7: Set frequency to 200.00MHz
bus-0-0: ztex_ufm1_15d3-04A346CEC7: added

Summary:
  Bus bus-0-0   : 3 devices
  Total         : 3 devices


Disconnect all devices or press Ctrl-C for exit.
Press "r" Enter for re-scanning.
ztex
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 367

ZTEX FPGA Boards


View Profile WWW
March 26, 2012, 02:26:31 PM
 #344

Maybe it's just a bit late, but isn't this command to program all devices?

java -cp ZtexBTCMiner-120221.jar BTCMiner -m p -f ztex_ufm1_15d3a.ihx

...

... programs all unprogrammed FPGA board.

In order to re-programm devices, -pt or -ps has to be used, see http://www.ztex.de/btcminer/ for details.

antirack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 491


Immersionist


View Profile
March 26, 2012, 02:33:03 PM
 #345

Thanks. A misunderstanding I guess, I thought after power cycling they would become "unpgrogrammed".

BR0KK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
March 26, 2012, 11:56:12 PM
 #346

Somehow I managed to do this to my boards:


Every board has the same serial number? Is there any way of changing that back to normal or ar all the other serials gone?

BTC miner doesn't complain about this at all. Everything works fine Wink Just curious how I did this and if it is "bad" for some reason?

ztex
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 367

ZTEX FPGA Boards


View Profile WWW
March 27, 2012, 08:37:48 AM
 #347

Somehow I managed to do this to my boards:


Every board has the same serial number? Is there any way of changing that back to normal or ar all the other serials gone?

BTC miner doesn't complain about this at all. Everything works fine Wink Just curious how I did this and if it is "bad" for some reason?

It's gonna be bad if you have a cluster of hundred FPGA boards and one bad USB cable. The intention of the serial number is to identify the FPGA board in such cases.

If the FPGA boards are programmed with the serial number "0" they fall back to the internal (unique) one. E.g.
Code:
java -cp ZtexBTCMiner-120221.jar BTCMiner -m p -pt ztex_ufm1_15d3 -f ztex_ufm1_15d3a.ihx -s 0

But if you want to have control over which board gets which serial number you have to re-program them separately, I.e. power-on / connect only one board and reprogram it.

BR0KK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
March 30, 2012, 10:47:40 PM
 #348

thank u that worked well Smiley now every board has back its own SN.

Quote
Quote from: BR0KK on March 23, 2012, 11:56:05 AM
Is this something i can do on my own or do you need to build that into BTCMiner (or could you?)

No, it need to be done in the software. I will do this in the next release.

Currently only the submitted blocks are logged.

if u do that u could implement a pool status (Pool 0 alive) check at the start of BTC Miner too Smiley If that is possible

antirack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 491


Immersionist


View Profile
April 08, 2012, 04:27:45 AM
 #349

Here is a feature request for a future update:

(of course only if this makes sense. I may be the only person on earth that actually sees any use for this)

- add a flag to enable per device/unit logging into separate file (ie. -lu)
- logs in file with serial number as file name

I know this is asking a lot, but what would also be very nice is:

- add logging with date in log file name and roll over to new file at midnight
- enable this for standard and for per unit logging

For instance:

2012-04-08 SERIAL.log (<- logs only concerning the specific board)
2012-04-08 complete.log (<- complete log as usual)

I am not a Java programmer but I have looked at the source code and it looks as if this is not very difficult, just a bit time consuming. Since Ztex seems to be the only one working on the source and it's not on github it's probably a bit difficult to contribute without creating chaos. I'd also have to figure out how to compile the source in the archive, as said, never touched Java ever.
antirack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 491


Immersionist


View Profile
April 09, 2012, 01:49:58 PM
 #350

I have installed Ubuntu 11.10 and 10.04 on an Atom board but I can't get it to work. It seems the ZTEX USB devices are not recognized properly. Other USB device work fine (mouse, keyboard, flash drive). Connecting the boards directly without USB hub didn't make a difference.

Code:
java -cp ZtexBTCMiner-120221.jar BTCMiner -i
Enter RPC user name: <enter>
Enter RPC password: <enter>
0: bus=001  device=0 (`032')  ID=221a:100

1: bus=001  device=0 (`031')  ID=221a:100

2: bus=001  device=0 (`028')  ID=221a:100

Code:
java -cp ZtexBTCMiner-120221.jar BTCMiner -m p -f ztex_ufm1_15d3a.ihx
No devices found

Last 3 devices in the list:

Code:
lsusb
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 05e3:0723 Genesys Logic, Inc. GL827L SD/MMC/MS Flash Card Reader
Bus 001 Device 023: ID 1a40:0201 TERMINUS TECHNOLOGY INC.
Bus 001 Device 024: ID 1a40:0101 TERMINUS TECHNOLOGY INC. USB-2.0 4-Port HUB
Bus 001 Device 028: ID 221a:0100
Bus 001 Device 031: ID 221a:0100
Bus 001 Device 032: ID 221a:0100

Code:
java -version
java version "1.6.0_23"
OpenJDK Runtime Environment (IcedTea6 1.11pre) (6b23~pre11-0ubuntu1.11.10.2)
OpenJDK Server VM (build 20.0-b11, mixed mode)

The same devices look like this on Windows (USB hub disconnected from Ubuntu machine and connected to Notebook):

Code:
java -cp ZtexBTCMiner-120221.jar BTCMiner -i
Enter RPC user name: <enter>
Enter RPC password: <enter>
0: bus=bus-0  device=1 (`\\.\libusb0-0001--0x221a-0x0100')  ID=221a:100
   Manufacturer="ZTEX"  Product="btcminer for ZTEX FPGA Modules"    SerialNumber="04A3469722"
   productID=10.0.1.1  fwVer=0  ifVer=1
1: bus=bus-0  device=2 (`\\.\libusb0-0002--0x221a-0x0100')  ID=221a:100
   Manufacturer="ZTEX"  Product="btcminer for ZTEX FPGA Modules"    SerialNumber="04A346CEC7"
   productID=10.0.1.1  fwVer=0  ifVer=1
2: bus=bus-0  device=3 (`\\.\libusb0-0003--0x221a-0x0100')  ID=221a:100
   Manufacturer="ZTEX"  Product="btcminer for ZTEX FPGA Modules"    SerialNumber="04A32E00E9"
   productID=10.0.1.1  fwVer=0  ifVer=1

Any ideas?
roomservice
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 190



View Profile
April 09, 2012, 04:45:55 PM
 #351

I have installed Ubuntu 11.10 and 10.04 on an Atom board but I can't get it to work. It seems the ZTEX USB devices are not recognized properly. Other USB device work fine (mouse, keyboard, flash drive). Connecting the boards directly without USB hub didn't make a difference.

Code:
java -cp ZtexBTCMiner-120221.jar BTCMiner -i
Enter RPC user name: <enter>
Enter RPC password: <enter>
0: bus=001  device=0 (`032')  ID=221a:100

1: bus=001  device=0 (`031')  ID=221a:100

2: bus=001  device=0 (`028')  ID=221a:100

Code:
java -cp ZtexBTCMiner-120221.jar BTCMiner -m p -f ztex_ufm1_15d3a.ihx
No devices found

Last 3 devices in the list:

Code:
lsusb
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 05e3:0723 Genesys Logic, Inc. GL827L SD/MMC/MS Flash Card Reader
Bus 001 Device 023: ID 1a40:0201 TERMINUS TECHNOLOGY INC.
Bus 001 Device 024: ID 1a40:0101 TERMINUS TECHNOLOGY INC. USB-2.0 4-Port HUB
Bus 001 Device 028: ID 221a:0100
Bus 001 Device 031: ID 221a:0100
Bus 001 Device 032: ID 221a:0100

Code:
java -version
java version "1.6.0_23"
OpenJDK Runtime Environment (IcedTea6 1.11pre) (6b23~pre11-0ubuntu1.11.10.2)
OpenJDK Server VM (build 20.0-b11, mixed mode)

The same devices look like this on Windows (USB hub disconnected from Ubuntu machine and connected to Notebook):

Code:
java -cp ZtexBTCMiner-120221.jar BTCMiner -i
Enter RPC user name: <enter>
Enter RPC password: <enter>
0: bus=bus-0  device=1 (`\\.\libusb0-0001--0x221a-0x0100')  ID=221a:100
   Manufacturer="ZTEX"  Product="btcminer for ZTEX FPGA Modules"    SerialNumber="04A3469722"
   productID=10.0.1.1  fwVer=0  ifVer=1
1: bus=bus-0  device=2 (`\\.\libusb0-0002--0x221a-0x0100')  ID=221a:100
   Manufacturer="ZTEX"  Product="btcminer for ZTEX FPGA Modules"    SerialNumber="04A346CEC7"
   productID=10.0.1.1  fwVer=0  ifVer=1
2: bus=bus-0  device=3 (`\\.\libusb0-0003--0x221a-0x0100')  ID=221a:100
   Manufacturer="ZTEX"  Product="btcminer for ZTEX FPGA Modules"    SerialNumber="04A32E00E9"
   productID=10.0.1.1  fwVer=0  ifVer=1

Any ideas?


Try to run BTCMiner with sudo command.

"Tonight's the night. And it's going to happen again, and again. It has to happen. Nice night."
antirack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 491


Immersionist


View Profile
April 10, 2012, 01:50:47 AM
 #352

Try to run BTCMiner with sudo command.

Thanks, that solved my problem. I feel rather stupid now, but it's been a couple of years since I was using RedHat EL.

I am now mining with BTCMiner on Ubuntu from a CF card on my first Atom board. It draws 27Watt from the wall right now. The brick PSUs output is 12V so I can probably power the board from my ATX power supply that I am using for my FPGA boards. It even seems to be using the same socket as Ztex or Icarus boards so I probably don't even have to make new wires.

I'll see if I can disable any unnecessary devices (Wifi, Bluetooth) things in the BIOS and Ubuntu and shave down a couple of watt. Maybe disabling the GUI will also save some energy.

If anyone is interested in Installation instructions for Ubuntu and BTCMiner, you can check this post I made in the 'Atom Boards for Cluster' thread:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=75669.msg843971#msg843971

This should also work with non-atom boards, it might help other Ubuntu newbies like me.
ztex
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 367

ZTEX FPGA Boards


View Profile WWW
April 10, 2012, 09:21:21 AM
 #353

- add a flag to enable per device/unit logging into separate file (ie. -lu)
- logs in file with serial number as file name

Per-device log files can be created from the main log file using the 'grep' command.

Quote
- add logging with date in log file name and roll over to new file at midnight
- enable this for standard and for per unit logging

Date and time are logged.

For log rotating usually 'logrotate' is used. But I don't know what happens if it tries to rotate open files.


iongchun
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76


View Profile
April 14, 2012, 01:45:01 AM
 #354


Date and time are logged.

For log rotating usually 'logrotate' is used. But I don't know what happens if it tries to rotate open files.


I think logrotate will only rename the log file, the application still write to the original file.
So conventionally logrotate is configured to send a HUP signal to the application,
and the application should then close and re-open the log file (so it will create a file).

Bitcoin: 1NFMpJUW7sTKmnVKj12MxhPvCvzAKQ5gUV
Namecoin: N5Tnt3JyMeizsoAFAZDr7CSxjzDtPSisK8
Mining with P2Pool. Graph. Blocks.
ztex
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 367

ZTEX FPGA Boards


View Profile WWW
April 18, 2012, 01:00:05 PM
 #355

A new BTCMiner version has been released at http://www.ztex.de/btcminer .

Changes are:
  • Support of USB-FPGA Modules 1.15y USB-FPGA Modules 1.15y
  • New command: s(uspend): suspend cluster
  • New command: c(ounter_reset): reset performance and error counters
  • Cluster partitioning using serial number filter
  • Dummy Firmware: allows BTCMiner to identify the device and automatically load the latest Firmware.

The new Features require updating the firmware.

The command q(uit) should be used to exit BTCMiner because this command supends all boards.

roomservice
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 190



View Profile
April 18, 2012, 01:43:09 PM
 #356

A new BTCMiner version has been released at http://www.ztex.de/btcminer .

Changes are:
  • Support of USB-FPGA Modules 1.15y USB-FPGA Modules 1.15y
  • New command: s(uspend): suspend cluster
  • New command: c(ounter_reset): reset performance and error counters
  • Cluster partitioning using serial number filter
  • Dummy Firmware: allows BTCMiner to identify the device and automatically load the latest Firmware.

The new Features require updating the firmware.

The command q(uit) should be used to exit BTCMiner because this command supends all boards.


Firmware update was very easy in cluster mode. Good job!

Here is a little typo mistake in the help text:

"Tonight's the night. And it's going to happen again, and again. It has to happen. Nice night."
ztex
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 367

ZTEX FPGA Boards


View Profile WWW
April 18, 2012, 01:59:23 PM
 #357

Here is a little typo mistake in the help text:

Thanks for the hint. (Will be fixed in the next release. I hope users can live with that Wink )

Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
April 18, 2012, 06:22:28 PM
 #358

 Smiley thank you for the new software.

antirack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 491


Immersionist


View Profile
April 22, 2012, 12:44:36 PM
 #359

Here is a little typo mistake in the help text:

Thanks for the hint. (Will be fixed in the next release. I hope users can live with that Wink )


Here are a couple of other typos:

Maximum aoumount of backup servers reached
ihx file name expected afe -f
s|t|p|c expected afe -m

If I only use the -i parameter and nothing else (java -cp ZtexBTCMiner-120417.jar BTCMiner -i) I am still asked for the RPC user name and password (line 1962 if ( mode != 't' && mode != 'p' )).

If it makes sense to others too, could you please add the previous frequency to the output on a frequency change:
001-0: ztex_ufm1_15d4-04A3469722-1: Set frequency from 220MHz to 224.00MHz

I am currently experimenting with cooling. When there are too many FPGAs connected you have to look for the corresponding device in the previous output, in order to know if it changed the frequency upwards or downwards.
ztex
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 367

ZTEX FPGA Boards


View Profile WWW
April 24, 2012, 09:56:07 AM
 #360

If it makes sense to others too, could you please add the previous frequency to the output on a frequency change:
001-0: ztex_ufm1_15d4-04A3469722-1: Set frequency from 220MHz to 224.00MHz

I am currently experimenting with cooling. When there are too many FPGAs connected you have to look for the corresponding device in the previous output, in order to know if it changed the frequency upwards or downwards.

That can be done easily.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!