Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 09:38:31 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [NEW POOL & MINER] - BitcoinPool.com - Jump In! ~NO FEES~ :)  (Read 95974 times)
xenon481
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
March 27, 2011, 12:07:49 AM
 #541

Can you try a nslookup with a global DNS server like 4.2.2.1, 4.2.2.2, or 8.8.8.8 (Google's Public DNS)??

The globals work, but not the AT&T uVerse DNS server.

Tips Appreciated: 171TQ2wJg7bxj2q68VNibU75YZB22b7ZDr
1480757911
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480757911

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480757911
Reply with quote  #2

1480757911
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480757911
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480757911

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480757911
Reply with quote  #2

1480757911
Report to moderator
GuyGallowglass
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
March 27, 2011, 12:31:52 AM
 #542

Can you try a nslookup with a global DNS server like 4.2.2.1, 4.2.2.2, or 8.8.8.8 (Google's Public DNS)??

The globals work, but not the AT&T uVerse DNS server.

Makes sense, that's what I'm using.

I'm also East coast USA
Ian Maxwell
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile WWW
March 27, 2011, 02:10:21 AM
 #543

I've started putting some of my own resources into this pool. 8.0 Ghash/s is good enough to keep my variance pretty low---I can comfortably expect a few payouts a day.

If the hashrate improves further and the fees stay as low as they are, I may drop out of slush's pool entirely. No hard feelings, slush---I don't agree at all that it's somehow "unfair" to take a 2% fee, but it's only reasonable for me to charge whatever the market will bear for my hashes.

Ian Maxwell
PGP key | WoT rating
FairUser
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 261


View Profile WWW
March 27, 2011, 03:41:40 AM
 #544

Can you try a nslookup with a global DNS server like 4.2.2.1, 4.2.2.2, or 8.8.8.8 (Google's Public DNS)??

The globals work, but not the AT&T uVerse DNS server.

Makes sense, that's what I'm using.

I'm also East coast USA

ATT just bought T-Mobile, and they are in the merging process.  They are experiencing various temporary problems from delayed SMS to intermediate network connectivity issues, and I would guess DNS would be the problem in this case.
 
FairUser
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 261


View Profile WWW
March 27, 2011, 03:43:13 AM
 #545

I've started putting some of my own resources into this pool. 8.0 Ghash/s is good enough to keep my variance pretty low---I can comfortably expect a few payouts a day.

Welcome to BitcoinPool!  Smiley
GuyGallowglass
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
March 27, 2011, 04:22:19 AM
 #546

Can you try a nslookup with a global DNS server like 4.2.2.1, 4.2.2.2, or 8.8.8.8 (Google's Public DNS)??

The globals work, but not the AT&T uVerse DNS server.

Makes sense, that's what I'm using.

I'm also East coast USA

ATT just bought T-Mobile, and they are in the merging process.  They are experiencing various temporary problems from delayed SMS to intermediate network connectivity issues, and I would guess DNS would be the problem in this case.
 

Yeah... I'm not a big fan of Monopoly merger...  makes sense though.  I've been getting dropped internet all week.  My first instinct for when I can't get a page to load usually isn't to check the DNS routing lol
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
March 27, 2011, 04:52:16 AM
 #547

173.50.236.43  direct ip address works, My dns server is 203.145.184.32. seems many DNS down.
grbgout
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
March 27, 2011, 05:02:16 AM
 #548

This is frustrating.  I too am on the East Coast (of the USA), and I can not access bitcoinpool.com at all.  I can, however, access it using its IP directly.  The frustration comes from changing my DNS to 4.2.2.1 (at the router, and /etc/resolv.conf), seeing the same behavior, and all the while sites like isitup.org, and kloth's nslookup service, report it as expected.

Yet nslookup locally reports failure:
Code:
$ nslookup bitcoinpool.com 4.2.2.1                                                                                 
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached

Not so for google.com:
Code:
$ nslookup google.com
Server:         4.2.2.1
Address:        4.2.2.1#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:   google.com
Address: 74.125.226.113
...snipped

How dynamic is bitcoinpool's IP, if at all?  Is it safe to rely on the number retrieved through the aforementioned sites?  I would very much like to continue my assessment of bitcoinpool before testing the others (thanks for upping the account inactivation time, btw), but this situation has forced my hand --- well, my miner.

Hello to all, by the way.  Brand new to bitcoin, and this forum.  I finished reading this thread in its entirety on the 25th (maybe early 26th), and I'll be writing a reply in the not-too-distant future: questions, comments, suggestions, requests, et cetera, etc.

Don't click this link (http://fxnet.bitlex.org/?ref=74Cool.
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
March 27, 2011, 05:18:53 AM
 #549

It seems like .com seizure to me.

US pulled bitcoinpool.com from DNS?
GuyGallowglass
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
March 27, 2011, 05:23:16 AM
 #550

This is frustrating.  I too am on the East Coast (of the USA), and I can not access bitcoinpool.com at all.  I can, however, access it using its IP directly.  The frustration comes from changing my DNS to 4.2.2.1 (at the router, and /etc/resolv.conf), seeing the same behavior, and all the while sites like isitup.org, and kloth's nslookup service, report it as expected.

Yet nslookup locally reports failure:
Code:
$ nslookup bitcoinpool.com 4.2.2.1                                                                                 
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached

Not so for google.com:
Code:
$ nslookup google.com
Server:         4.2.2.1
Address:        4.2.2.1#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:   google.com
Address: 74.125.226.113
...snipped

How dynamic is bitcoinpool's IP, if at all?  Is it safe to rely on the number retrieved through the aforementioned sites?  I would very much like to continue my assessment of bitcoinpool before testing the others (thanks for upping the account inactivation time, btw), but this situation has forced my hand --- well, my miner.

Hello to all, by the way.  Brand new to bitcoin, and this forum.  I finished reading this thread in its entirety on the 25th (maybe early 26th), and I'll be writing a reply in the not-too-distant future: questions, comments, suggestions, requests, et cetera, etc.

My connection has been weird all day today.  Not saying this is related, but I was chatting with a couple people all within 10 miles of each other, and our screens flickered twice, first disabling windows 7 aero (almost like a graphics card failure) and the second time it enabled it again.  We all shared this experience, and realized when one of my friends was "what can cause my screen to suddenly flicker>?"

Sounds bizarre even for me, but I wouldn't doubt it having anything to do with the network troubles a few of us seems to be having here locally.
Oh, and my friends are both on Comcast.
grbgout
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
March 27, 2011, 05:46:33 AM
 #551

My connection has been weird all day today.  Not saying this is related, but I was chatting with a couple people all within 10 miles of each other, and our screens flickered twice, first disabling windows 7 aero (almost like a graphics card failure) and the second time it enabled it again.  We all shared this experience, and realized when one of my friends was "what can cause my screen to suddenly flicker>?"

Sounds bizarre even for me, but I wouldn't doubt it having anything to do with the network troubles a few of us seems to be having here locally.
Oh, and my friends are both on Comcast.
I'm not familiar with Aero, but a flickering screen certainly wouldn't have anything to do with network oddities: power issues, on the other hand.... Around what time was this?  I awoke to a locked system (alas, it was the one mining), and since it is a new build I haven't been able to adequately troubleshoot the issues.  Power has been my primary suspect.

According to my system logs, the last entry before the reboot was 18:02 (of March 26th), which I've taken to mean that's when the system locked.  The last entry in my poclbm-mod log file is 11:20:10 of March 26th, but I'm not sure what zone that is.

Don't click this link (http://fxnet.bitlex.org/?ref=74Cool.
martok
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
March 27, 2011, 05:47:35 AM
 #552

There may or may not be a problem. forget the global DNS servers, let's look at the root.
continuum:~$ dig -t ns bitcoinpool.com +short
ns63.domaincontrol.com.
ns64.domaincontrol.com.
continuum:~$ dig www.bitcoinpool.com. @ns64.domaincontrol.com.
;; Truncated, retrying in TCP mode.
;; communications error to 208.109.255.42#53: connection reset

I got the same error on my first query to ns63.domaincontrol.com but subsequent queries to either server answered correctly. For those not familiar with DNS, ns63 and ns64.domaincontrol.com host bitcoinpool.com's DNS zone.

So this could be a problem. Let's say att.net goes off to find bitcoinpool.com, it queries ns63, gets an error and then ns64 and gets the error. It will respond with a failure and correctly so.

My suggestion to bitcoinpool, it's fine you're hosted at domaincontrol.com but do consider adding a 3rd nameserver which is hosted outside that network. DNS works best when your nameservers are on diverse networks to eliminate a single point of failure.
grbgout
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
March 27, 2011, 05:57:15 AM
 #553

Interesting.
continuum:~$ dig -t ns bitcoinpool.com +short
ns63.domaincontrol.com.
ns64.domaincontrol.com.
~ $ dig -t ns bitcoinpool.com +short
~ $ echo $?
0
~ $ dig www.bitcoinpool.com. @ns64.domaincontrol.com.

; <<>> DiG 9.7.3 <<>> www.bitcoinpool.com. @ns64.domaincontrol.com.
;; global options: +cmd
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached
~ $

I still have my name servers pointed to variations of 4.2.2.1, but I doubt that would make a difference in your examples.

Don't click this link (http://fxnet.bitlex.org/?ref=74Cool.
FairUser
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 261


View Profile WWW
March 27, 2011, 07:57:22 AM
 #554

It seems like .com seizure to me.

US pulled bitcoinpool.com from DNS?

No.  I checked from a server in NY and Chicago.  Both can resolve it just fine.
FairUser
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 261


View Profile WWW
March 27, 2011, 08:06:18 AM
 #555

Interesting.
continuum:~$ dig -t ns bitcoinpool.com +short
ns63.domaincontrol.com.
ns64.domaincontrol.com.
~ $ dig -t ns bitcoinpool.com +short
~ $ echo $?
0
~ $ dig www.bitcoinpool.com. @ns64.domaincontrol.com.

; <<>> DiG 9.7.3 <<>> www.bitcoinpool.com. @ns64.domaincontrol.com.
;; global options: +cmd
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached
~ $

I still have my name servers pointed to variations of 4.2.2.1, but I doubt that would make a difference in your examples.

Well, I got something different.

Code:
root@www [~]# dig bitcoinpool.com.  @ns64.domaincontrol.com.

; <<>> DiG 9.3.6-P1-RedHat-9.3.6-4.P1.el5_5.3 <<>> bitcoinpool.com. @ns64.domaincontrol.com.
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 59519
;; flags: qr aa; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;bitcoinpool.com.               IN      A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
bitcoinpool.com.        1800    IN      A       173.50.236.43

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
bitcoinpool.com.        3600    IN      NS      ns63.domaincontrol.com.
bitcoinpool.com.        3600    IN      NS      ns64.domaincontrol.com.

;; Query time: 6 msec
;; SERVER: 208.109.255.42#53(208.109.255.42)
;; WHEN: Sun Mar 27 04:02:29 2011
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 101

I think the Internet tubes are full of crap today.  From some people having DNS issues, to different dig answers, something is amidst.  Patience is a virtue, I guess.  Use the IP address if need be.
geebus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 258



View Profile WWW
March 27, 2011, 08:41:42 AM
 #556

*** UPDATES ***
  • Fixed blockcount issue to reflect the correct block numbers on solved blocks.
  • Increased payment threshold upper limit to 5.0 BTC before payment.
  • Now that we support long polling, I set the server to only accept shares for the current block in the round.
    This should not have any effect on your payouts.

Feel like donating to me? BTC Address: 14eUVSgBSzLpHXGAfbN9BojXTWvTb91SHJ
nobody
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
March 27, 2011, 09:13:23 AM
 #557

I'm also having problems connecting to BitcoinPool.com.  I tried via IP in the miner.  It mines, then I get "Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC", then it mines some more.

1AHUZbtv7Tp5KhaTBybr6Zzq22kFrXtKWe
geebus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 258



View Profile WWW
March 27, 2011, 09:16:30 AM
 #558

I'm also having problems connecting to BitcoinPool.com.  I tried via IP in the miner.  It mines, then I get "Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC", then it mines some more.

If it occurred in the past 10 minutes, it was due to a few hiccups during daemon restarts on the server.

Feel like donating to me? BTC Address: 14eUVSgBSzLpHXGAfbN9BojXTWvTb91SHJ
nobody
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
March 27, 2011, 09:18:25 AM
 #559

I'm also having problems connecting to BitcoinPool.com.  I tried via IP in the miner.  It mines, then I get "Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC", then it mines some more.

If it occurred in the past 10 minutes, it was due to a few hiccups during daemon restarts on the server.

Ok thanks, yes it seems to be going more smoothly now.

1AHUZbtv7Tp5KhaTBybr6Zzq22kFrXtKWe
grbgout
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
March 27, 2011, 09:23:34 AM
 #560

I think the Internet tubes are full of crap today.  From some people having DNS issues, to different dig answers, something is amidst.  Patience is a virtue, I guess.  Use the IP address if need be.

I checked from a server in NY and Chicago.  Both can resolve it just fine.

Something is awry, indeed!  I'm in NY.

I wasn't being impatient, just trying to figure out what's wrong.  As per my original post, everything seemed to suggest it's something on my end.  Since you tested through NY, I would be certain it is an issue on my end (router, PC, w/e) if it weren't for all the other people having issues.

Thanks for confirming the IP will suffice.

Don't click this link (http://fxnet.bitlex.org/?ref=74Cool.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!