Bitcoin Forum
April 26, 2019, 09:06:24 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 [288] 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN][RIC] Riecoin: constellations POW *CPU* HARD FORK successful, world record  (Read 660464 times)
jhdscript
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 267
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2018, 01:48:48 PM
 #5741

Hello i have some riecoin on polonie someone knows how i can move it or exchange them ?

1556269584
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1556269584

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1556269584
Reply with quote  #2

1556269584
Report to moderator
The network tries to produce one block per 10 minutes. It does this by automatically adjusting how difficult it is to produce blocks.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1556269584
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1556269584

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1556269584
Reply with quote  #2

1556269584
Report to moderator
1556269584
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1556269584

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1556269584
Reply with quote  #2

1556269584
Report to moderator
1556269584
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1556269584

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1556269584
Reply with quote  #2

1556269584
Report to moderator
PttnMe
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 66
Merit: 2

rieMiner (Riecoin miner) developer


View Profile
August 17, 2018, 02:51:25 PM
 #5742

 When you developing miner it will be better to have low difficulty, so checking if your algorithm is right will be faster, it is annoying to must wait hours or days just to check if block you found is correct Smiley

The Testnet is more meant to look like the Mainnet network, where people (not just developers) can test Riecoin with "play tokens". Developers who are creating programs other than a miner would like to be able to send and receive coins too, with new blocks found regularly.

If I am not mistaken, there exist a "regression mode", more adapted to do such testing, with an own local network. Raw performance testing is preferably done by using some fixed data from a chosen block.

 Cool, my plans are to build riecoin community site with a lot HOWTOs and information about riecoin so if you don't mind will include your miner. Your source code looks very clean and ordered, it is good to have as much as possible different and various software for riecoin, that will attract more people to the community.

No problem, and thank you for the feedback. I wish you all success with your website.

 With what error execution fails ? You are using gmplib which is highly optimized for calculations, and big parts from it are in assembler. It gives big speedup but portability is lower, for example if you compile with gmplib optimized for i7 or xeon it will fail to run on P4. many modern compilers put by default optimizing flag -mtune=native which will auto detect CPU instructions set and will optimize for it, which can break portability too. Maybe to be portable one cpu miner you should use -march=pentium4 your code will run on any modern CPU , but you will lose speed.

The failure is a bad alloc, so I do not think that the problem is CPU related. Just for fun, I compiled it once on a Pentium 3 laptop, unfortunately it has this issue. But I encountered it in some recent computers as well. I suspect that for some reason, rieMiner needs much more memory to start, than it actually uses/needs. I will investigate this later in September. I likely just removed one line too much or so.

rieMiner (https://github.com/Pttn/rieMiner) - Riecoin solo + pooled miner
cryptapus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 608
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
August 17, 2018, 02:55:05 PM
 #5743

 When you developing miner it will be better to have low difficulty, so checking if your algorithm is right will be faster, it is annoying to must wait hours or days just to check if block you found is correct Smiley

The Testnet is more meant to look like the Mainnet network, where people (not just developers) can test Riecoin with "play tokens". Developers who are creating programs other than a miner would like to be able to send and receive coins too, with new blocks found regularly.

If I am not mistaken, there exist a "regression mode", more adapted to do such testing, with an own local network. Raw performance testing is preferably done by using some fixed data from a chosen block.

 Cool, my plans are to build riecoin community site with a lot HOWTOs and information about riecoin so if you don't mind will include your miner. Your source code looks very clean and ordered, it is good to have as much as possible different and various software for riecoin, that will attract more people to the community.

No problem, and thank you for the feedback. I wish you all success with your website.

 With what error execution fails ? You are using gmplib which is highly optimized for calculations, and big parts from it are in assembler. It gives big speedup but portability is lower, for example if you compile with gmplib optimized for i7 or xeon it will fail to run on P4. many modern compilers put by default optimizing flag -mtune=native which will auto detect CPU instructions set and will optimize for it, which can break portability too. Maybe to be portable one cpu miner you should use -march=pentium4 your code will run on any modern CPU , but you will lose speed.

The failure is a bad alloc, so I do not think that the problem is CPU related. Just for fun, I compiled it once on a Pentium 3 laptop, unfortunately it has this issue. But I encountered it in some recent computers as well. I suspect that for some reason, rieMiner needs much more memory to start, than it actually uses/needs. I will investigate this later in September. I likely just removed one line too much or so.

AFAIK, regtest mode isn't available on the 0.9 codebase, at least not easily... so having an easy testnet will most likely help dev work. I would suggest throttling your miner (on a low power VM) to keep the difficulty manageable.

website | PGP fingerprint: 692C 0756 E57D 2FA1 7601 3729 010B 717F 231C E7AA | BTC Address: 1CrYPTB1o7QWc8hXqBMP2LtAJh1VMtTFBh
cryptapus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 608
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
August 17, 2018, 02:58:03 PM
 #5744

...

AFAIK, regtest mode isn't available on the 0.9 codebase, at least not easily... so having an easy testnet will most likely help dev work. I would suggest throttling your miner (on a low power VM) to keep the difficulty manageable.

Correction, regtest is there. Still, it probably would be helpful to have a low diff testnet.

website | PGP fingerprint: 692C 0756 E57D 2FA1 7601 3729 010B 717F 231C E7AA | BTC Address: 1CrYPTB1o7QWc8hXqBMP2LtAJh1VMtTFBh
IGJ
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 2


View Profile
August 17, 2018, 03:03:53 PM
 #5745

Hello i have some riecoin on polonie someone knows how i can move it or exchange them ?

Hello, jhdscript

As Poloniex delisted riecoin you cant exchange them directly there. You have couple options...

1. Start your own wallet (linux or windows), sync it to the network, generate your riecoin address, and withdraw your RICs from poloniex to your wallet.

2. Create registration on zapple.com (only exchange which support ric at the moment), and move your coins there.

3. There is web wallet version, see somewhere in previous posts.

If you decide to try variant 1. read this:

http://download.riecoin-community.com/README.txt

There I wrote what you need to run your own wallet under linux and windows.
PttnMe
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 66
Merit: 2

rieMiner (Riecoin miner) developer


View Profile
August 17, 2018, 03:07:36 PM
 #5746

...

AFAIK, regtest mode isn't available on the 0.9 codebase, at least not easily... so having an easy testnet will most likely help dev work. I would suggest throttling your miner (on a low power VM) to keep the difficulty manageable.

Correction, regtest is there. Still, it probably would be helpful to have a low diff testnet.

Sure, I will mine very slowly by using cpulimit. I will try to produce about 1 block each 2,5 min at difficulty 304.

rieMiner (https://github.com/Pttn/rieMiner) - Riecoin solo + pooled miner
IGJ
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 2


View Profile
August 17, 2018, 04:53:31 PM
 #5747

The failure is a bad alloc, so I do not think that the problem is CPU related. Just for fun, I compiled it once on a Pentium 3 laptop, unfortunately it has this issue. But I encountered it in some recent computers as well. I suspect that for some reason, rieMiner needs much more memory to start, than it actually uses/needs. I will investigate this later in September. I likely just removed one line too much or so.

This exception is throw when "new" in C++ cant allocate memory. In fact calling new not guarantee it will allocate the needed memory. So it throw that exception and you have to handle it in your code, or you can stop throwing the exception and you should check if returned pointer is not null. Second method is slower, so first one is better practice. On P3 machine it is obvious that there is not enough memory, but if you doubt about memory leaks valgrind and gdb are your best friends. They will show you where you allocating memory and not freeing it.
  In DGA's fastrie miner there is some points where memory leaks are possible. but they are not a problem. It is always good practice to call "delete" in C++ when you don't need any more allocated memory from heap with "new" and  to call mpz_clear for mpz structures, even when there is no obvious point to do it.
jhdscript
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 267
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2018, 06:20:18 PM
 #5748

Hello i have some riecoin on polonie someone knows how i can move it or exchange them ?

Hello, jhdscript

As Poloniex delisted riecoin you cant exchange them directly there. You have couple options...

1. Start your own wallet (linux or windows), sync it to the network, generate your riecoin address, and withdraw your RICs from poloniex to your wallet.

2. Create registration on zapple.com (only exchange which support ric at the moment), and move your coins there.

3. There is web wallet version, see somewhere in previous posts.

If you decide to try variant 1. read this:

http://download.riecoin-community.com/README.txt

There I wrote what you need to run your own wallet under linux and windows.

Thanx a lot i make a deposit to zapple but it s long. Waiting..

PttnMe
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 66
Merit: 2

rieMiner (Riecoin miner) developer


View Profile
August 17, 2018, 08:11:35 PM
 #5749

The failure is a bad alloc, so I do not think that the problem is CPU related. Just for fun, I compiled it once on a Pentium 3 laptop, unfortunately it has this issue. But I encountered it in some recent computers as well. I suspect that for some reason, rieMiner needs much more memory to start, than it actually uses/needs. I will investigate this later in September. I likely just removed one line too much or so.

This exception is throw when "new" in C++ cant allocate memory. In fact calling new not guarantee it will allocate the needed memory. So it throw that exception and you have to handle it in your code, or you can stop throwing the exception and you should check if returned pointer is not null. Second method is slower, so first one is better practice. On P3 machine it is obvious that there is not enough memory, but if you doubt about memory leaks valgrind and gdb are your best friends. They will show you where you allocating memory and not freeing it.
  In DGA's fastrie miner there is some points where memory leaks are possible. but they are not a problem. It is always good practice to call "delete" in C++ when you don't need any more allocated memory from heap with "new" and  to call mpz_clear for mpz structures, even when there is no obvious point to do it.

Ok, so you are right, I did some quick debugging, and the problem occurs when I use new for an array called segment_hits. It is allocating almost 30 GB... For some reason, the miner is much more sensitive to this problem on Windows than Linux, so I thought at first that it was a Windows specific problem.

Unfortunately, as I did not study the miner optimizations, I do not have any idea of what are the "segment hits" :| ... The huge memory allocation problem seems to be fixable by reducing the max_increments value (with for example 1 << 25 instead of 1 << 29), but this seems to decrease noticeably the performance (by about 40%). But by doing that, I was able to get the Pentium 3 laptop mining properly! It is about 100 x slower than one 2700X unthrottled thread, but would still find a Testnet block each hour. This variable might simply be an user configurable variable, like the sieve size.

I will commit in minutes to reflect these observations (essentially updating the Readme and restore the allocation checks that I stupidly removed). Thank you for pointing out the bad alloc origin.

rieMiner (https://github.com/Pttn/rieMiner) - Riecoin solo + pooled miner
IGJ
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 2


View Profile
August 18, 2018, 11:27:08 AM
 #5750

Unfortunately, as I did not study the miner optimizations, I do not have any idea of what are the "segment hits" :| ...

My quick look over the code, leading me to few thoughts... As I understand segment_hits is pointer to array of pointers, the way you declare it, and use it may lead to sure memory leaks. In C (not sure for C++ but should be same) when you just declare pointer, it points to nowhere in the memory.
In C I would declare and initialize it like this...

uint32_t **segment_hits;
sgment_hits = malloc( maxiter * sizeof(uint32_t *) );
if ( !segment_hits ) {do something allocation of memory failed}
for (int i=0; i < maxiter; i++) {
   segmet_hits\[i\] = malloc( entriesPerSegment * sizeof(uint32_t) );
   if ( !segment_hits\[i\] ) {do something allocation of memory failed}
}
note: The forum do not allow me to directly put "[" and "]" thats why I'm escaping them.

Also check deeper the code, because from what i see usage of segment_hits in your code may go out of array boundaries. Anyway, when I start riecoin community forum we may move there to talk for that and to look deeper in codes Smiley

Hope this helps.
guytp
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57
Merit: 12


View Profile
August 18, 2018, 12:19:33 PM
 #5751

Thanx a lot i make a deposit to zapple but it s long. Waiting..

Hi,

Guy from Zapple here.  If you're still having a problem raise a support ticket and I'll get it escalated to have a look at for you.  You can PM me here as well but I'm less likely to see a message quickly.

Thanks,

Guy
PttnMe
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 66
Merit: 2

rieMiner (Riecoin miner) developer


View Profile
August 18, 2018, 12:47:37 PM
 #5752

Anyway, when I start riecoin community forum we may move there to talk for that and to look deeper in codes Smiley

If you set a forum up, it will be more appropriate to continue the discussion there, in a topic dedicated to rieMiner, to keep this one clean for general discussion.

I will come back in September to continue working on it. If you could set your forum up until then, it would be nice.

rieMiner (https://github.com/Pttn/rieMiner) - Riecoin solo + pooled miner
millepag
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 20, 2018, 03:18:13 PM
 #5753

[...]
And congrats Guytp, Cryptoid is now using Zapple to show the price! Next step is CoinMarketCap!

Has anyone tried to contact them regarding this? I'd say getting relisted at CoinMarketCap is quite important, no?


[...]
All kind of help, ideas or recommendations are welcome.

I've worked as a developer (mainly js/.net/mssql) for many years. Anything at all I can help with - I'd be happy to. Unfortunately, I have very limited experience with C/C++. But there might be something else for the community site. If you can think of anything, I'm a pm away.
IGJ
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 2


View Profile
August 20, 2018, 06:32:55 PM
 #5754

  Greetings millepag

Has anyone tried to contact them regarding this? I'd say getting relisted at CoinMarketCap is quite important, no?

  I am not tried to contact coinmarketcap, but every advertising right now is important.

I've worked as a developer (mainly js/.net/mssql) for many years. Anything at all I can help with - I'd be happy to. Unfortunately, I have very limited experience with C/C++. But there might be something else for the community site. If you can think of anything, I'm a pm away.

Thank you for your help offer. These days I'm working to deploy new hosting machine which will carry VMs where to put community things. Forum nearly ready but fighting with phpbb bulshits, also need to customize few things in php scripts to make it look more professional and riecoin oriented. Anyway soon will announce it.
  About the site, Yes, I need a lot of help there ! If somebody can start working on it will be great.. here is what I'm thinking about...

  1. Simple design, should be very intuitive (like for americans Smiley), responsive of course, should look good on mobile and on desktop.
  2. Mostly informative, we will put information about algorithm, how to install wallet, different miners, pools, links, everything. I believe as many information we can give to all, as many people we will attract to community and to the project.
  3. As hopeguy mention it , news section is necessary.
I'm sure missing a lot of things, so everybody can say freely what thinking and ideas about the site.

I have and one other idea where your skills will be helpful, but it is still in early stage in my mind... Open source web wallet with payment API and SDK (think of it like paypal is, but for riecoin). So people who want (also easy way for those who don't want to install own wallets), can store their coins there, and merchandisers who want to accept payment in riecoins can integrate something small (mostly js) to their sites. And all of this open source, so if somebody or some organization want to create own web wallet or own all payment system, can get it for free Smiley. It will not be easy because a lot of security problems, but if we struct well the code from beginning and write it clear , will be possible. I have not searched if there are currently something like this for other coin, but if there are we could use something from it.

millepag
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 20, 2018, 09:34:26 PM
 #5755

Great idea IGJ!

I found the CoinMarketCap form for adding/updating a coin:
https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSeqpM6DVuxNRJ43oD90fCsm8UltR9oIiFaVxxqt3ch_eJ5Dlw/viewform

(source: https://coinmarketcap.com/faq/ - What is the criteria for a cryptocurrency to be listed on CoinMarketCap?)

Maybe you can submit it Guytp, since you have the API details for the criteria "Must be on a public exchange with an API that reports the last traded price and the last 24 hour trading volume."?
guytp
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57
Merit: 12


View Profile
August 21, 2018, 02:18:12 AM
 #5756

Maybe you can submit it Guytp, since you have the API details for the criteria "Must be on a public exchange with an API that reports the last traded price and the last 24 hour trading volume."?


Already been in contact with them.  They have stated that they base which exchanges they list based on their user-demand so I'd suggest everyone that wants to see Zapple on there to submit it to CMC.  We've already provided all API details.
guytp
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57
Merit: 12


View Profile
August 21, 2018, 02:19:26 AM
 #5757

I wish Zapple was open to those of us in the US to do this!
Seriously? Why is it not open for US people? Geographic restrictions should be a thing of the past, this is disappointing... Is it a marketing strategy to earn some reputation before opening to so many potential customers?


We are now accepting sign-ups from USA.
millepag
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 21, 2018, 08:29:01 AM
 #5758

We are now accepting sign-ups from USA.

Great news!

Now there is no excuse for anyone not to move their riecoins from Poloniex. There is still several million RICs at Polo, with less than two weeks to withdraw (2nd of september).

For alternatives, see IGJ:s great post
Pon13
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 572
Merit: 123



View Profile WWW
August 22, 2018, 07:57:44 AM
 #5759

back from holidaze and i'm happy to see the steady progress in Riecoin.

zapple.com looks really promising due to the fact that guytp is unbelievably responsive and helpful with all the issues.  Cool

In Bill Hicks we trust....
millepag
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 23, 2018, 10:14:09 AM
 #5760

I've requested Zapple to be added to coinranking.com, for proper price statistics of Riecoin.

I included the public ticker API endpoint, and I got a positive response:

Quote
Thank you for reaching out and also for notifying us!
I have made a notification of your request and the public API.
We're looking forward to integrate Zapple exchange into Coinranking and If you have any questions feel free to reach out to us again.
Pages: « 1 ... 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 [288] 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!