Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 06:16:54 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Algorithmically placed FPGA miner: 255MH/s/chip, supports all known boards  (Read 109595 times)
O_Shovah
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 410


Watercooling the world of mining


View Profile
December 29, 2011, 02:02:25 PM
 #41

Have you considered trying to lay this out in an Altera Cyclone IV?
I have, however, looked at a couple of SASIC platforms that I could port to fairly easily.  If an investor were to fall out of the sky, I know which one to go with.

Cheesy I certainly may not fund a complete AASIC platform i guess but i wouldn't mind helping.May you please reveal what you have in mind here ?
I still study FPGA designs and therefor am highly interested in you doing Smiley

1481264214
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481264214

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481264214
Reply with quote  #2

1481264214
Report to moderator
1481264214
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481264214

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481264214
Reply with quote  #2

1481264214
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481264214
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481264214

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481264214
Reply with quote  #2

1481264214
Report to moderator
1481264214
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481264214

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481264214
Reply with quote  #2

1481264214
Report to moderator
mcorlett
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 308



View Profile
December 29, 2011, 02:03:39 PM
 #42

I have, however, looked at a couple of SASIC platforms that I could port to fairly easily.  If an investor were to fall out of the sky, I know which one to go with.
How much money are we talking here?

ursa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 72


View Profile
December 29, 2011, 02:58:20 PM
 #43

I have, however, looked at a couple of SASIC platforms that I could port to fairly easily.  If an investor were to fall out of the sky, I know which one to go with.
How much money are we talking here?

Hi,
I would subscribe also....
sadpandatech
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
December 29, 2011, 04:42:59 PM
 #44

I tried to find the AOZ1025 but they seem to be hard to get. Can't find any stock.
Edit: Found it at Arrow... 3000 qty. only.
(Actually I found a couple good alternates from IR and Fairchild. Higher efficiency (90% under load) and pretty cheap. FAN2108, IR3871. Looking at them now as Digikey has.

What happens when you put two AOZ1021 / AOZ1037 in parallel? I thought that would work but then DC-DC regs are new to me. I've only used linear parts before.No longer the plan.

I'll likely drop the 3.3V anyway as an ATX PSU has regulated 3.3 already. Then just drop 12V to 1.2V as that seems to be more efficient and most PSU have more watts available on 12V. So a 20/24 pin adapter with non-standard onboard connector so users don't accidentally plug in a Molex and blow it.



 I have 260q of the AOZ1025DIL in stock if you do want to use them. Will sell q1 for $1 pu

If you're not excited by the idea of being an early adopter 'now', then you should come back in three or four years and either tell us "Told you it'd never work!" or join what should, by then, be a much more stable and easier-to-use system. - GA
It is being worked on by smart people. -DamienBlack
Enigma81
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 177



View Profile
December 30, 2011, 02:27:49 AM
 #45

I tried to find the AOZ1025 but they seem to be hard to get. Can't find any stock.
Edit: Found it at Arrow... 3000 qty. only.
(Actually I found a couple good alternates from IR and Fairchild. Higher efficiency (90% under load) and pretty cheap. FAN2108, IR3871. Looking at them now as Digikey has.

What happens when you put two AOZ1021 / AOZ1037 in parallel? I thought that would work but then DC-DC regs are new to me. I've only used linear parts before.No longer the plan.

I'll likely drop the 3.3V anyway as an ATX PSU has regulated 3.3 already. Then just drop 12V to 1.2V as that seems to be more efficient and most PSU have more watts available on 12V. So a 20/24 pin adapter with non-standard onboard connector so users don't accidentally plug in a Molex and blow it.



ATX 3.3V is not well enough regulated for supply directly into an FPGA.  Don't try it.  Regulate it yourself from ATX 5 or ATX 12

Enigma
ArtForz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
December 30, 2011, 03:35:26 AM
 #46

I tried to find the AOZ1025 but they seem to be hard to get. Can't find any stock.
Edit: Found it at Arrow... 3000 qty. only.
(Actually I found a couple good alternates from IR and Fairchild. Higher efficiency (90% under load) and pretty cheap. FAN2108, IR3871. Looking at them now as Digikey has.

What happens when you put two AOZ1021 / AOZ1037 in parallel? I thought that would work but then DC-DC regs are new to me. I've only used linear parts before.No longer the plan.

I'll likely drop the 3.3V anyway as an ATX PSU has regulated 3.3 already. Then just drop 12V to 1.2V as that seems to be more efficient and most PSU have more watts available on 12V. So a 20/24 pin adapter with non-standard onboard connector so users don't accidentally plug in a Molex and blow it.



ATX 3.3V is not well enough regulated for supply directly into an FPGA.  Don't try it.  Regulate it yourself from ATX 5 or ATX 12

Enigma
... says who? According to spec it should work fine, and reality over here agrees. 54 S6s happily running with vccio and vccaux fed from atx3.3.

bitcoin: 1Fb77Xq5ePFER8GtKRn2KDbDTVpJKfKmpz
i0coin: jNdvyvd6v6gV3kVJLD7HsB5ZwHyHwAkfdw
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
December 30, 2011, 04:24:37 AM
 #47

My current plan is to put a Molex MicroFit 3mm 6 pin header on board supplying 3.3V, 5V, 12V. I thought about a Sata 15pin but they're hard to find and also users might screw up by attaching one with only 5V+12V. Seems to be common to leave off the 3.3V. so bad idea. But these are small and quite robust.

Then use a Fairchild FAN2108 to drop 12V to 1.2V. The specs indicate close to 90-95% efficiency for mid-high loads which is much better than the AOZ1025 under full load. It needs 5V for bias voltage so running off a 12V adapter isn't ideal. But everyone has a ATX PSU around anyway as they've been mining w/GPUs til now Wink This all allows me to bring the board size down to minimum which saves a lot of money.

On the board the 3.3V and 1.2V are on the bottom and come in from one side where PSU is located. The GND is poured over remainder and interlocks with thick traces into 1.2V grid. Then the top layer has just a small number of signals from edge of FPGA to connectors, less than 1cm. Vias and traces just barely doable with low-cost board fab. This is all highly unusual for FPGA board but remember here we only a few small low freq signals near the board edge. Ultra minimal design. I've already drawn on paper but need to get into computer.

Each board has a 6 pin right angle header bottom center edge, and 6 pin right receptacles at other 3 sides center edge. So boards can sit next to each other and 3 neighbors connect to each master. They continue as such relaying 4 lines for each. No long signal paths, only 1-2 cm,  for a variant of SPI between boards. Each board has a simple control register and 4 way multiplexer. Control byte sets whether talking to this board or bypassing to 1 of 3 neighbors, or local data, temperature and CLKGEN sampling.

Large heatsink on board but no fan as they will be too close and just pollute each other. Large fans above force air thru and out all units. LCN75 sensor under each FPGA allows monitoring temperature.

The one master-master unit will connect by short cable to GPIO on my Core2Duo mini-itx board. Later I hope this will connect to a R-Pi instead as that's cheaper, smaller and way cool. Hopefully will write new kernel for cgminer and run that on R-Pi but unsure about that for now.

jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
December 30, 2011, 04:27:39 AM
 #48

....  I feel like I am in the dark ages running all these gpu's....

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
December 30, 2011, 04:49:02 AM
 #49

....  I feel like I am in the dark ages running all these gpu's....
Heh, I feel even darker building a new GPU based rig right now.
Oh well, my BFL pre-order is in - if they deliver, I shall be advancing into the new millennium!  Grin

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
December 30, 2011, 10:02:14 AM
 #50

... says who? According to spec it should work fine, and reality over here agrees. 54 S6s happily running with vccio and vccaux fed from atx3.3.
I'm astounded! I knew you were way ahead but didn't think it was that many.

My goal with above is to keep each unit costing $200 or less. Right now at qty 1 it's $190 (plus any shipping). At qty 25 it's $185, all sourced from Digikey and Mouser, but if I get connectors locally here in Asia then that knocks off another $7. I've got samples from 4uConn before but can't see buying the moq of 1000 each.

I'm not planning to resell these but I may sell pcb boards or kits without fpga if it actually works. Just for hardcore toaster hackers. I don't have the money nor infrastructure to get into buying & selling fpgas. Any design/code I'll most likely release as open source.

Enigma81
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 177



View Profile
December 30, 2011, 12:25:38 PM
 #51

I tried to find the AOZ1025 but they seem to be hard to get. Can't find any stock.
Edit: Found it at Arrow... 3000 qty. only.
(Actually I found a couple good alternates from IR and Fairchild. Higher efficiency (90% under load) and pretty cheap. FAN2108, IR3871. Looking at them now as Digikey has.

What happens when you put two AOZ1021 / AOZ1037 in parallel? I thought that would work but then DC-DC regs are new to me. I've only used linear parts before.No longer the plan.

I'll likely drop the 3.3V anyway as an ATX PSU has regulated 3.3 already. Then just drop 12V to 1.2V as that seems to be more efficient and most PSU have more watts available on 12V. So a 20/24 pin adapter with non-standard onboard connector so users don't accidentally plug in a Molex and blow it.



ATX 3.3V is not well enough regulated for supply directly into an FPGA.  Don't try it.  Regulate it yourself from ATX 5 or ATX 12

Enigma
... says who? According to spec it should work fine, and reality over here agrees. 54 S6s happily running with vccio and vccaux fed from atx3.3.

I'm astounded that it's stable enough - especially under light load..  I'm happy to hear it works, I'm just shocked.  Most ATX Supplies I've looked at with a scope have been a mess - especially at lighter loads where they have a harder time regulating.

Even the ATX Specification doesn't suggest that it would be good enough.. The tolerance for 3.3V is +/- 5% (3.135 - 3.465) and the top and bottom end of that range are both outside of the VCCAUX spec of the spartan 6 ( http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/data_sheets/ds162.pdf ).

Like I say - I'm happy it works... Just surprised it does..

Enigma
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
December 30, 2011, 02:15:18 PM
 #52

It probably is a good idea to use a high quality supply. My Corsair (bottom end) CX600 has a pic like this according to JohnnyGuru reviews. (3.3V, light load). Their high end ones are surely even better.



1% of 3.3V would be 33mV.

This design has light weight, low speed I/O and from what I read the 3.3V is just for the I/O buffers.

ArtForz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
December 30, 2011, 02:28:48 PM
 #53

Well... yeah. If you happen to find a ATX psu that's just barely within spec, it's outside of the nominal supply range of a S6. By 15mV.
ATX spec also requires a 1A min load on each of 3.3V, 5V and 12V, so below that regulation can be bad (a real problem with group-regulated PSU designs).
With modern high-efficiency psus generating their 5V and 3.3V with step-downs that issue seems to have pretty much vanished, some mV ripple at a few 100kHz+harmonics, nice and well behaved load step response even down to 0 load.
As for seeing nasties on a 'scope ... are you measuring on a unloaded/unterminated line? Try with 10uF || 330R, or you'll be mostly measuring weakly coupled interference, transmission line effects/line resonating with your probe capacitance.
But then I've only closely looked at 2 zippy and 2 superflower units, all of em 80+ gold or better and all of them good enough that I decided the added cost+complexity of a 3.3V step-down for each 8*LX150 board wasn't worth it.
Had more issues with vccint droop, on my boards a 3-phase DC/DC was at one end of a 190x85mm board... close to a 50mV drop to the furthest pair of LX150s. Salvaged by adjusting the converter up to 1230mV and adding lots of jumpers. rev1.1 moved the converter to the center of the board and rev2 changed the board geometry completely (2 rows of 4 instead of 4 rows of 2).

bitcoin: 1Fb77Xq5ePFER8GtKRn2KDbDTVpJKfKmpz
i0coin: jNdvyvd6v6gV3kVJLD7HsB5ZwHyHwAkfdw
eldentyrell
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966


felonious vagrancy, personified


View Profile WWW
December 30, 2011, 06:36:40 PM
 #54

P.S. Distributing a communications chain (USB, Serial, JTAG) is also a major consideration.  A JTAG chain is simple for 2 or 3 devices, but 64..  Another PITA - especially TCK.

One way to solve that is to have each FPGA drive the JTAG inputs of the next one; this way every signal has a fanout of 1 (credit goes to rph for this idea).

The printing press heralded the end of the Dark Ages and made the Enlightenment possible, but it took another three centuries before any country managed to put freedom of the press beyond the reach of legislators.  So it may take a while before cryptocurrencies are free of the AML-NSA-KYC surveillance plague.
eldentyrell
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966


felonious vagrancy, personified


View Profile WWW
December 30, 2011, 06:39:49 PM
 #55

My current plan is to put a Molex MicroFit 3mm 6 pin header on board supplying 3.3V, 5V, 12V. I thought about a Sata 15pin but they're hard to find and also users might screw up by attaching one with only 5V+12V.

So don't use the 3V3; regulate it yourself from the 5V line.  The FPGAs draw negligible current from the 3V3 so you can just use some cheap+simple linear regulator.

Those four-pin molex connectors need to die.  These are hand-solderable even by klutzes like me.  Doesn't look like you can get just the power connector alone, though, so you wind up with an unconnected SATA data port.  Dremel it off if you like.

The printing press heralded the end of the Dark Ages and made the Enlightenment possible, but it took another three centuries before any country managed to put freedom of the press beyond the reach of legislators.  So it may take a while before cryptocurrencies are free of the AML-NSA-KYC surveillance plague.
eldentyrell
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966


felonious vagrancy, personified


View Profile WWW
December 30, 2011, 06:45:32 PM
 #56

But then I've only closely looked at 2 zippy and 2 superflower units, all of em 80+ gold or better and all of them good enough that I decided the added cost+complexity of a 3.3V step-down for each 8*LX150 board wasn't worth it.

Artforz, do you have any recommendations for an ATX power supply to be used as the 12V source for twelve YV09T60-0G's?  Only linear regulators on the 5V line and no use of 3V3.

A single 850W supply will power my entire cluster, so I'm willing to shell out bucks for quality if it's worth it.  Unfortunately I know very little about the analog/power-supply end of this stuff.  Your wisdom would be welcome here.

The printing press heralded the end of the Dark Ages and made the Enlightenment possible, but it took another three centuries before any country managed to put freedom of the press beyond the reach of legislators.  So it may take a while before cryptocurrencies are free of the AML-NSA-KYC surveillance plague.
eldentyrell
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966


felonious vagrancy, personified


View Profile WWW
December 30, 2011, 07:21:00 PM
 #57

Very frustrating.  I know where the wires should go, but I've spent countless hours trying to "trick" Xilinx's tools into doing what I already know how to do.

Yeesh, finally figured out how to force the router to do what I want.  Over 160mhz now and the next steps should be straightforward.

This was ridiculous.  I seriously think I've spent as much time on this one problem as all the other HDL work put together.  Nothing is worse than dev tools that think they're smarter than the human.

The printing press heralded the end of the Dark Ages and made the Enlightenment possible, but it took another three centuries before any country managed to put freedom of the press beyond the reach of legislators.  So it may take a while before cryptocurrencies are free of the AML-NSA-KYC surveillance plague.
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
December 30, 2011, 07:24:34 PM
 #58

Over 160mhz now and the next steps should be straightforward.
Gimme gimme.
Grin

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
Dexter770221
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1026


View Profile
December 31, 2011, 11:34:46 AM
 #59

Very frustrating.  I know where the wires should go, but I've spent countless hours trying to "trick" Xilinx's tools into doing what I already know how to do.

Yeesh, finally figured out how to force the router to do what I want.  Over 160mhz now and the next steps should be straightforward.

This was ridiculous.  I seriously think I've spent as much time on this one problem as all the other HDL work put together.  Nothing is worse than dev tools that think they're smarter than the human.

So, 320MH/s is possible... Nice...

Under development Modular UPGRADEABLE Miner (MUM). Looking for investors.
Changing one PCB with screwdriver and you have brand new miner in hand... Plug&Play, scalable from one module to thousands.
rph
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 176


View Profile
January 01, 2012, 04:25:17 AM
 #60

Yeesh, finally figured out how to force the router to do what I want.

heh, I'm still working on that..



-rph

Ultra-Low-Cost DIY FPGA Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=44891
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!