Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 02:26:27 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 [49] 50 51 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Algorithmically placed FPGA miner: 255MH/s/chip, supports all known boards  (Read 109576 times)
eldentyrell
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966


felonious vagrancy, personified


View Profile WWW
February 26, 2013, 02:57:17 AM
 #961

ET hasn't been too willing to work on his bitstream to support cm1.

No, the carinsmore people just haven't provided software to talk to their proprietary USB interface.

  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=49971.msg1282883;topicseen#msg1282883

ChrisP sent me some code, but it doesn't seem to work (see link above).  If I can't talk to the board there's not much more I can do.


Maybe you can email ET and ask him kindly to implement a DCM watchdog on his next bitstream

It already has one.

The printing press heralded the end of the Dark Ages and made the Enlightenment possible, but it took another three centuries before any country managed to put freedom of the press beyond the reach of legislators.  So it may take a while before cryptocurrencies are free of the AML-NSA-KYC surveillance plague.
1481163987
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481163987

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481163987
Reply with quote  #2

1481163987
Report to moderator
1481163987
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481163987

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481163987
Reply with quote  #2

1481163987
Report to moderator
1481163987
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481163987

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481163987
Reply with quote  #2

1481163987
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481163987
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481163987

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481163987
Reply with quote  #2

1481163987
Report to moderator
eldentyrell
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966


felonious vagrancy, personified


View Profile WWW
February 26, 2013, 03:06:26 AM
 #962

TML 1.70 has been released.

This release contains a lot of fixes to reduce stales.  This is mostly due to one major fix (forgetting to register work in the "get me all the work with this prevblock" table) and a lot of smaller fixes.  I strongly urge everybody to upgrade.  New software only, no new bitstream(s).

This release also adds the option prevblock_blacklist_ms, default=4000.  After the TML sees work with a prevblock it's never seen before, it immediately marks all work as invalid -- this is the "new prevblock detection".  It turns out that, for reasons which elude me, many pools will actually switch from one prevblock to another and then back.  This was causing major problems with the new prevblock detection code a few releases back, so I disabled most of it.  Now that I know what was causing the craziness, I can go back to blacklisting old prevblocks once a new one shows up, but the blacklisting is only for a short period of time -- in case the pool decides to go back to the old prevblock (again, I have no idea why it would do this…)


25.Feb.2013  Version 1.70
             Add -Dprevblock_blacklist_ms
             major overhaul of how work revocation is handled
             QueueingWorkSource: print just the exn, not the stack trace
             HttpWorkSource: catch exceptions thrown in timer thread
             HttpWorkSource: do the new-prevblk check proactively in the long poll
             WorkRevocationFilter: maintain static work-to-filter mapping
             deal with an unlikely sitaution in SCClient by simply erroring out the job
             telnet monitor updates

The printing press heralded the end of the Dark Ages and made the Enlightenment possible, but it took another three centuries before any country managed to put freedom of the press beyond the reach of legislators.  So it may take a while before cryptocurrencies are free of the AML-NSA-KYC surveillance plague.
Keninishna
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 551



View Profile WWW
February 26, 2013, 03:28:13 AM
 #963

ET hasn't been too willing to work on his bitstream to support cm1.

No, the carinsmore people just haven't provided software to talk to their proprietary USB interface.

  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=49971.msg1282883;topicseen#msg1282883

ChrisP sent me some code, but it doesn't seem to work (see link above).  If I can't talk to the board there's not much more I can do.


Maybe you can email ET and ask him kindly to implement a DCM watchdog on his next bitstream

It already has one.

Ah ok, I don't believe their usb interface is proprietary though. The bitstream for the controller is open source. We just need to get someone who develops for the cm1 like makomk or glasswalker to try and debug it with the TML bitstream then.
eldentyrell
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966


felonious vagrancy, personified


View Profile WWW
February 26, 2013, 06:47:12 AM
 #964

TML 1.71 is posted with a minor bugfix relative to 1.70.

The printing press heralded the end of the Dark Ages and made the Enlightenment possible, but it took another three centuries before any country managed to put freedom of the press beyond the reach of legislators.  So it may take a while before cryptocurrencies are free of the AML-NSA-KYC surveillance plague.
lukasbradley
Donator
Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile
February 27, 2013, 04:14:10 PM
 #965

Anyone tried these updates with MMQs?
RicRock
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 288



View Profile
February 27, 2013, 06:23:20 PM
 #966

Hello,

I'm getting the following errors running 1.71

Exception in thread "Board thread for AH01ABH9" java.lang.ExceptionInInitializerError
        at com.triconemining.board.X6500Host.getBoard(X6500Host.java:33)
        at com.triconemining.miner.BoardWrapper.run_(BoardWrapper.java:91)
        at com.triconemining.miner.BoardWrapper.run(BoardWrapper.java:72)
        at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:679)
Caused by: java.lang.RuntimeException: java.lang.NullPointerException
        at com.triconemining.ftdi.LibFtdi.<clinit>(LibFtdi.java:34)
        ... 4 more
Caused by: java.lang.NullPointerException
        at com.triconemining.util.Util.copyStream(Util.java:137)
        at com.triconemining.util.Util.loadLibraryFromInputStream(Util.java:152)
        at com.triconemining.ftdi.LibFtdi.<clinit>(LibFtdi.java:31)
        ... 4 more
           
Command used to start:
java -Dclock_pin=fgg484.K20 -Dclock_pin_freq=100 -jar tml-1.71.jar x6500:AH01ABH9 <pool url>

Serial Number of X6500:
root@raspberrypi:~/tml# dmesg |grep AH
[    5.151252] usb 1-1.3.4.3: SerialNumber: AH01ABH9

Java Version:
root@raspberrypi:~/tml# java -version
java version "1.6.0_27"
OpenJDK Runtime Environment (IcedTea6 1.12.1) (6b27-1.12.1-1+rpi1)
OpenJDK Zero VM (build 20.0-b12, mixed mode)

Thanks,
Ric
kakobrekla
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Psi laju, karavani prolaze.


View Profile
February 27, 2013, 06:43:46 PM
 #967

Can you hop onto irc?

RicRock
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 288



View Profile
February 27, 2013, 10:10:45 PM
 #968

On now
abracadabra
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 946



View Profile
February 27, 2013, 11:38:31 PM
 #969

Any word on whether the java app will support stratum in the near future?  Or would I be better off just using a stratum proxy?

eldentyrell
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966


felonious vagrancy, personified


View Profile WWW
February 28, 2013, 04:49:51 PM
 #970

root@raspberrypi

The x6500 driver requires a native-code FTDI library.  The "stock" jarfile only includes Linux-x86 and Linux-amd64 binaries for this library.

You should start by getting all of this working on a normal x86 or amd64 Linux box.  Once you have that working, *then* try to move it over to your rasberry pi.

The printing press heralded the end of the Dark Ages and made the Enlightenment possible, but it took another three centuries before any country managed to put freedom of the press beyond the reach of legislators.  So it may take a while before cryptocurrencies are free of the AML-NSA-KYC surveillance plague.
rb2k
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109


View Profile
March 03, 2013, 01:56:54 PM
 #971

The FTDI libraries shoudl also be the thing that would keep me from mining on OSX using the modminer FPGA?
kakobrekla
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Psi laju, karavani prolaze.


View Profile
March 03, 2013, 02:07:06 PM
 #972

The FTDI libraries shoudl also be the thing that would keep me from mining on OSX using the modminer FPGA?

Most probably. Try using virtual machine, works fine here.

davecoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 795


View Profile
March 04, 2013, 08:50:35 PM
 #973

Hello all,

I have been playing with tml this morning and have it working on a single x6500 rev 3.

My readout is this after an hour and a half:

H:443 X:479 E:0 T:5m | H:365 E:2 A:491 R:16 T:1h39m55s

Is the "recent" history H:# the combined hashrate between the two chips? If so, why is there such a big difference between the "recent" history and the "entire" history.

The unit is running with standard north bridge heatsinks with 40mm fans attached.  Is it likely that I need better cooling to achieve a higher hashrate?

When running it on bfgminer I generally had a hashrate of 380mh/s or higher.  I am ultimately wondering if it is beneficial to be using this software vs. bfgminer.

Thanks for the software!
-Dave
kakobrekla
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Psi laju, karavani prolaze.


View Profile
March 04, 2013, 08:56:18 PM
 #974

Hello all,

I have been playing with tml this morning and have it working on a single x6500 rev 3.

My readout is this after an hour and a half:

H:443 X:479 E:0 T:5m | H:365 E:2 A:491 R:16 T:1h39m55s

Is the "recent" history H:# the combined hashrate between the two chips? If so, why is there such a big difference between the "recent" history and the "entire" history.

The unit is running with standard north bridge heatsinks with 40mm fans attached.  Is it likely that I need better cooling to achieve a higher hashrate?

When running it on bfgminer I generally had a hashrate of 380mh/s or higher.  I am ultimately wondering if it is beneficial to be using this software vs. bfgminer.

Thanks for the software!
-Dave

Well, the H on the left is for last 5min and the H on the right for total run. Not terrible amount of errors, so yeah cooling might help (or a vmod).


davecoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 795


View Profile
March 04, 2013, 09:00:47 PM
 #975

I'm still having a hard time grasping the concept of why the hashright is so much higher, regardless of the sampling interval.  If the software knows that the chips cannot run at that high of a hashrate, why does it reset the clocks that high? This seemed to resolve itself over time.

Edit: After 10h34m it's now bumped to 446 mh/s average hashrate with 3.3% rejects so 431mh/s effective hashrate after rejects.  That is about a 50mh/s bump compared to bfgminer.

Edit: After 21h14m it's now bumped to 457 mh/s average hashrate with 3.003% rejects so 443.28mh/s effective hashrate after rejects.  

Edit: After 1d20h26m it's now bumped to 462 mh/s average hashrate with 3.5% rejects so  445.83mh/s effective hashrate after rejects.
eldentyrell
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966


felonious vagrancy, personified


View Profile WWW
March 15, 2013, 05:55:58 AM
 #976

I'm still having a hard time grasping the concept of why the hashright is so much higher, regardless of the sampling interval.  If the software knows that the chips cannot run at that high of a hashrate, why does it reset the clocks that high? This seemed to resolve itself over time.

Yes, the TML sets the clock rate by fitting an exponential curve to the error-rate-vs-frequency data, then finding the point on the curve that gives the highest valid rate.  This is usually slightly higher than the max clock rate that gives you 0% errors -- though this depends on your individual chip.

It takes at least an hour worth of data to get a good fit.

The printing press heralded the end of the Dark Ages and made the Enlightenment possible, but it took another three centuries before any country managed to put freedom of the press beyond the reach of legislators.  So it may take a while before cryptocurrencies are free of the AML-NSA-KYC surveillance plague.
davecoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 795


View Profile
March 15, 2013, 10:06:49 PM
 #977

What is the appropriate syntax to set a backup pool?

Thanks,
Dave
kakobrekla
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Psi laju, karavani prolaze.


View Profile
March 15, 2013, 10:17:14 PM
 #978

What is the appropriate syntax to set a backup pool?

Thanks,
Dave

IIRC theres only primary pool available.

davecoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 795


View Profile
March 15, 2013, 10:38:56 PM
 #979

What is the appropriate syntax to set a backup pool?

Thanks,
Dave

IIRC theres only primary pool available.

eldentyrell, can you confirm this?

Thank you.
eldentyrell
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966


felonious vagrancy, personified


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2013, 12:21:17 AM
 #980

What is the appropriate syntax to set a backup pool?

Thanks,
Dave

IIRC theres only primary pool available.

You can specify multiple pools on the command line, and the TML will use all of them.  If one goes down it will pull all work from the others.

If you want to only use pool X when pool Y is down you can't do this from the command line, but it's only two lines of Java code to do it.  I will add a command line option for this in the next release.

The printing press heralded the end of the Dark Ages and made the Enlightenment possible, but it took another three centuries before any country managed to put freedom of the press beyond the reach of legislators.  So it may take a while before cryptocurrencies are free of the AML-NSA-KYC surveillance plague.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 [49] 50 51 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!