Bitcoin Forum
April 24, 2017, 05:30:47 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Ubuntu Natty Narwhal 11.04 Mining Guide / HOWTO  (Read 274357 times)
SchizophrenicX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

"I'm not psychic; I'm just damn good"


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 04:06:27 AM
 #181

Somebody?

1493055047
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493055047

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493055047
Reply with quote  #2

1493055047
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1493055047
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493055047

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493055047
Reply with quote  #2

1493055047
Report to moderator
1493055047
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493055047

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493055047
Reply with quote  #2

1493055047
Report to moderator
Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1276


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 04:07:24 AM
 #182

What's the case for putting your stream path in local.conf as opposed to the .bashrc file?
It will always be available. If it's in .bashrc you have to set it explicitly if you're for instance running the script from cron or a boot script.

Also, it turns out the lib path in the 32 bit package is just lib/x86, not lib/x86_32.
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
May 31, 2011, 04:20:44 AM
 #183

Fair enough... made the change and fixed the _32

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
SchizophrenicX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

"I'm not psychic; I'm just damn good"


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 05:15:11 AM
 #184

I think it works now but boot fail after reboot -.- this might have nothing to do with this. I'm reinstalling a fresh

Anyway, how do I run it as a script? Like save as what file and how do I run it? just double click? hmm..?

befuddled
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 10:33:45 AM
 #185

I can verify the instructions work for 2.4/69xx cards too. I have a 6850 and a 6970 that are running phoenix now on 64-bit Ubuntu. I just needed to substitute 2.4 APP SDK here:

http://developer.amd.com/sdks/AMDAPPSDK/downloads/Pages/default.aspx#one

for the 2.1 Stream SDK that's in the instructions. And use the icd-registration.tgz that comes with it instead of the one in the instructions. Of course that ripples through to the /opt paths so that they are /opt/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx?? instead of /opt/ATI-STREAM-SDK-v2.1-lnx??.

I had a few quirks, like the wget failed for me; stopped downloading before it had the whole file (stopped after only a few KB, instead of all 70-some MB) so I just downloaded from the APP SDK page in firefox and copied it.

One minor thing: When it says:

Code:
cd poclbm
./poclbm

I think it means
Code:
cd poclbm
./poclbm.py

Which works for me.

And in case other newbies are setting up machines: I had a trouble getting Ubuntu installed. Installer would fail. I finally stumbled on disabling the integrated video on the motherboard, and putting in one of the ATI cards. Then it installed, but graphics were hosed on booting to where you couldn't log in. So hitting escape before boot brings up the grub menu where you can select a low-graphics boot. Then once logged in, I saw the package for proprietary ATI drivers on the software manager. Installed those and then it was fine, and I proceeded as described above.

Been almost a decade since I used a bash shell in linux, but it's coming back.
marcus_of_augustus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226



View Profile
May 31, 2011, 10:56:05 AM
 #186

I can verify the instructions work for 2.4/69xx cards too. I have a 6850 and a 6970 that are running phoenix now on 64-bit Ubuntu. I just needed to substitute 2.4 APP SDK here:

http://developer.amd.com/sdks/AMDAPPSDK/downloads/Pages/default.aspx#one

for the 2.1 Stream SDK that's in the instructions. And use the icd-registration.tgz that comes with it instead of the one in the instructions. Of course that ripples through to the /opt paths so that they are /opt/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx?? instead of /opt/ATI-STREAM-SDK-v2.1-lnx??.

I had a few quirks, like the wget failed for me; stopped downloading before it had the whole file (stopped after only a few KB, instead of all 70-some MB) so I just downloaded from the APP SDK page in firefox and copied it.

One minor thing: When it says:

Code:
cd poclbm
./poclbm

I think it means
Code:
cd poclbm
./poclbm.py

Which works for me.

And in case other newbies are setting up machines: I had a trouble getting Ubuntu installed. Installer would fail. I finally stumbled on disabling the integrated video on the motherboard, and putting in one of the ATI cards. Then it installed, but graphics were hosed on booting to where you couldn't log in. So hitting escape before boot brings up the grub menu where you can select a low-graphics boot. Then once logged in, I saw the package for proprietary ATI drivers on the software manager. Installed those and then it was fine, and I proceeded as described above.

Been almost a decade since I used a bash shell in linux, but it's coming back.


If this is a dedicated mining rig, here's a tip: if you do have integrated mobo  AMD graphics, you can use that to drive the monitor (assuming you aren't in headless mode) i.e. make the integrated graphics the default adapter for xorg and then the GPU's will work better for dedicated mining ... the GPU that would have been attached to the monitor screen would have been getting fairly frequent xorg calls and interruptions.

befuddled
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 11:19:07 AM
 #187

Schizo-

That message:
Code:
src/wrapper/wrap_cl.hpp:20:19: fatal error: CL/cl.h: No such file or directory

is telling you the compiler can't find the openCL header file "cl.h". That can be either because it's not there, or it's looking in the wrong place. To verify it's actually there, look at the files in:
/opt/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx32/include/CL/
(assuming you running 32-bit). You should see a file "cl.h" in that directory.

It should have been put there when you did:
Code:
11. sudo tar xvfz ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx32.tgz -C /opt
which is "unzipping" the contents of the tgz file and dumping them in /opt.

The other possibility is that this step was missed or messed up:
Code:
32-bit 22. ./configure.py --cl-inc-dir=/opt/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx32/include/ --cl-lib-dir=/opt/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx32/lib/x86_32
which is what tells pyopencl where to look for the header. You can re-run that step, but it will tell you that you have already configured, and if you want to re-configure, to delete a certain file. I forget what it's called. Just delete it, and re-run the configure step.

befuddled
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 11:34:55 AM
 #188

Quote
If this is a dedicated mining rig, here's a tip: if you do have integrated mobo  AMD graphics, you can use that to drive the monitor (assuming you aren't in headless mode) i.e. make the integrated graphics the default adapter for xorg and then the GPU's will work better for dedicated mining ... the GPU that would have been attached to the monitor screen would have been getting fairly frequent xorg calls and interruptions.

Makes sense, thanks. Weighing whether I want to expend the effort (and accept the risk) just to pick up a few MHash/sec.
marcus_of_augustus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226



View Profile
May 31, 2011, 11:38:55 AM
 #189

Quote
If this is a dedicated mining rig, here's a tip: if you do have integrated mobo  AMD graphics, you can use that to drive the monitor (assuming you aren't in headless mode) i.e. make the integrated graphics the default adapter for xorg and then the GPU's will work better for dedicated mining ... the GPU that would have been attached to the monitor screen would have been getting fairly frequent xorg calls and interruptions.

Makes sense, thanks. Weighing whether I want to expend the effort (and accept the risk) just to pick up a few MHash/sec.

Yeah, if onboard graphics is nvidia don't do it .... mostly it is for system stability if you are Ocling the mining GPUs a lot ... you can lose many MHash when system freezing all the time.

Felex
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 09:52:48 PM
 #190

Can anyone help me with this?

Code:
felo@Felo-System:~$ cd poclbm
felo@Felo-System:~/poclbm$ ./poclbm.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "./poclbm.py", line 3, in <module>
    import pyopencl as cl
ImportError: No module named pyopencl
felo@Felo-System:~/poclbm$

I did all the steps but i still get this error.
SchizophrenicX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

"I'm not psychic; I'm just damn good"


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 12:17:01 AM
 #191

Schizo-

That message:
Code:
src/wrapper/wrap_cl.hpp:20:19: fatal error: CL/cl.h: No such file or directory

is telling you the compiler can't find the openCL header file "cl.h". That can be either because it's not there, or it's looking in the wrong place. To verify it's actually there, look at the files in:
/opt/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx32/include/CL/
(assuming you running 32-bit). You should see a file "cl.h" in that directory.

It should have been put there when you did:
Code:
11. sudo tar xvfz ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx32.tgz -C /opt
which is "unzipping" the contents of the tgz file and dumping them in /opt.

The other possibility is that this step was missed or messed up:
Code:
32-bit 22. ./configure.py --cl-inc-dir=/opt/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx32/include/ --cl-lib-dir=/opt/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx32/lib/x86_32
which is what tells pyopencl where to look for the header. You can re-run that step, but it will tell you that you have already configured, and if you want to re-configure, to delete a certain file. I forget what it's called. Just delete it, and re-run the configure step.



Is what I did. I realized somehow I downloaded the x64 instead. And then I was trying to get the x86 installed. However, I looked around /opt/ati-stream-sdkv2.1-lnx64/ and realized there is an x86 folder too hmm...?

By the way. after I got everything right then reboot, Ubuntu died. Doesn't boot properly anymore. So I'll say it doesn't work? I don't know.

Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
June 01, 2011, 12:43:30 AM
 #192

Does someone with a "broken" 32 bit system want to give me SSH access and let me look at what's going on specifically?

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
SchizophrenicX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

"I'm not psychic; I'm just damn good"


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 01:11:56 AM
 #193

Actually. I might but what's SSH and how do I set it up hmm?

befuddled
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 01:29:26 AM
 #194

Quote
I got everything right then reboot, Ubuntu died. Doesn't boot properly anymore.

Err.. so what do you observe? Is it by any chance, the redish background displays for a short while, and then just a dark screen? If that happens, try hitting escape before the boot to bring up the grub menu, choose low graphics option and see if you can boot that way.

Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
June 01, 2011, 01:57:20 AM
 #195

Actually. I might but what's SSH and how do I set it up hmm?


Well, you set it up as optional step one in this guide.  However, if you're behind a firewall, you'd have to forward the port on your router to the box (port 22) and give me the ip address and the login/password information.

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
SchizophrenicX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

"I'm not psychic; I'm just damn good"


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 02:11:14 AM
 #196

Hmm I'll be glad to but I'm busy right now and can't attend to this yet. And what is (to the box port 22) forward what to where?

Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
June 01, 2011, 03:37:18 AM
 #197

You have to login to your router and forward port 22 to the internal ip address of your mining box.  It's not hard but it's not really something that's easy to explain since every router is different.

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1276


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 05:56:48 AM
 #198

...and fixed the _32
Not in step 22. You really should start using the search/replace function when you're fixing these kind of mistakes.
Crs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106



View Profile
June 01, 2011, 12:44:48 PM
 #199

thanks for this ! it worked for me using the info in this topic

If my post has been useful, you might want to donate: 1V7zr2jmQQXS5gv2kKNpUkgG6qmDffTZp
befuddled
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 04:01:07 PM
 #200

On step 11, there's a vestigial [/color] tag:
Quote
11. sudo tar xvfz ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx??.tgz -C /opt[/color]
you may wish to fix.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!