Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 10:11:45 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Ubuntu Natty Narwhal 11.04 Mining Guide / HOWTO  (Read 271149 times)
irishmick
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 134


View Profile
July 07, 2011, 03:35:49 PM
 #481

Add "noprompt" without the quotes to the kernel append line in syslinux.cfg.  I don't recall where that file is kept off hand as I don't have a Live USB install handy.

But again, I always question why anyone does a Live install to a USB key in the first place.  Why not just do a normal install to a bootable USB key?  It's what I do and it saves all the problems people consistently have with Live installs.  I honestly fail to see the point of a live install to a writable medium, it shouldn't even be an allowed option on most distro's.  The whole point of a live install is to NOT write data to the medium.  If you are enabling persistent storage to a writable medium, you should be doing a normal installation.


Thank you for the noprompt tip. I'll give it a whirl tonight.

Now that you say that I entirely agree, well mostly. Really a live boot was just the simplist/quickest way I could get an image up and running as I had borrowed a win7 enterprise install disk that I was using in "test" or unregistered mode. I believe it allows 30 days under that scenario without a check in/registration to a kms server and I was on 29 days or somesuch.

On a side note what other problems do people have running a live usb? I've had none other than the prompting.


http://doge.crypto49er.com:9555         http://doge-eu.crypto49er.com:9555
Pool donations: DTPgwgDvyDL3vcnJFf33nkhBm6o2ZxVT6G
1481451105
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481451105

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481451105
Reply with quote  #2

1481451105
Report to moderator
1481451105
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481451105

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481451105
Reply with quote  #2

1481451105
Report to moderator
1481451105
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481451105

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481451105
Reply with quote  #2

1481451105
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481451105
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481451105

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481451105
Reply with quote  #2

1481451105
Report to moderator
Nivco
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
July 07, 2011, 03:59:48 PM
 #482

Great HowTo Inaba, thanks a lot.
I followed step by step, had almost no trouble but a major pain in the a** with my extender (Ubuntu won't load properly Xorg, very weird stuff).
What's your adress for donation ? (why not in signature btw ?)
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
July 07, 2011, 05:19:37 PM
 #483

Irishmick:  As far as other problems, people have had miriad of driver issues and library issues with the live installs.  I think most of those were ironed out last month, but new problems always seem to crop up and they are all solved with a normal install.  Live installs are great for CD's but horrible for anything else.

Nivco: Huh, I have never really thought about it ... I have signatures turned off as most people have obnoxious sigs with pictures and other crap in them that nobody but the person posting cares about.  I suppose I will add it to my signature though, for those that have them turned on. Smiley  I'm of the philosophy that if your signature is more than 4 lines long, it's 3 lines too long.  There's no reason to have a signature that's bigger than most posts, other than to look like a dork. Smiley

Donation/tip address is in the first post, but here it is: 168Bgg6HL6bLiUxQDBbdmHRbXtSsMixYCT

Thanks!

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
Christian Pezza
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile WWW
July 10, 2011, 03:10:19 AM
 #484

Hello

there is a way I can have one console and manage multiple GPU in the same machine or/and more machine(GPU'S) from may LAN?

ps Inaba thank you so much for your work and all of you partecipating of this forum!!! Just open up new opportunity for me!

asap I will donate but let me get some BTC first Wink

If you like this tread consider to donate some to https://bitcointalk.org/donate.html
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
July 10, 2011, 03:12:27 AM
 #485

Not really sure what you are asking specifically?

There was/is a program floating around that does what you want I think, though I've never used it myself and I couldn't tell you what the name is off hand.  It's in the forums somewhere though.

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
irishmick
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 134


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 01:47:19 AM
 #486

Thanks. Adding noprompt worked. Gratuity on its way to you.

http://doge.crypto49er.com:9555         http://doge-eu.crypto49er.com:9555
Pool donations: DTPgwgDvyDL3vcnJFf33nkhBm6o2ZxVT6G
m0w3r
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 04:12:53 AM
 #487

The json-rpc.org site appears to be down.  Is there an alternative?  Thanks.

edit - this really sucks that I'm unable to continue due to this repository being down, now on 2nd day
stellan0r
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


Medical Translations for Bitcoins


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 08:35:09 AM
 #488

Hello

there is a way I can have one console and manage multiple GPU in the same machine or/and more machine(GPU'S) from may LAN?

ps Inaba thank you so much for your work and all of you partecipating of this forum!!! Just open up new opportunity for me!

asap I will donate but let me get some BTC first Wink

cp you can use the command "screen" in your terminal window / ssh session.
just connect to your miner via LAN (works also via internet if you have a static ip or a dynamic dns service Wink ), enter "screen" and a new prompt appears. start your miner or whatever, and then hit ctrl+A (together, hold both) and then hit C. then a new prompt appears, you get a new tab in that terminal window. like tabed browsing in firefox (just without the tabs to click at). enter your commands here. open a new "window" with ctrl+A +C again and so on.

cycle through windows with ctrl+A (again hold both keys) +N (for next) or +P (for previous) to go forward and backwards through your tabs.

you can close the terminal window with the screen ssh session and resume it even after restarting the computer you used to ssh into the miner or from another machine, just connect to your miner again and type "screen -r" into your terminal. et voila, you can flip through your screen tabs again.

With this method you will need only 1 window per miner with as many gpus inside as you want.

Allgemeine Gesundheitsberatung gegen Bitcoin-Zahlung. Bei Fragen einfach eine PM schicken!
If you want to send a thank you: BTC "1PZJvKvarRviQRQWejpvXW2j4e1xbT8MZb" / Doge "DHtN2YEFg1obv2VFps8RwQSL6xL1RRYyXN"
Flappy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 02:45:35 PM
 #489

The json-rpc.org site appears to be down.  Is there an alternative?  Thanks.

edit - this really sucks that I'm unable to continue due to this repository being down, now on 2nd day

Me too.
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
July 15, 2011, 03:17:28 PM
 #490

Ok, you can download the file from my site: https://eclipsemc.com/files/python-jsonrpc.tar.gz

You can then untar it in your directory and continue on instead of the svn checkout.

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
CYPER
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
July 15, 2011, 05:44:30 PM
 #491

Ok, you can download the file from my site: https://eclipsemc.com/files/python-jsonrpc.tar.gz

You can then untar it in your directory and continue on instead of the svn checkout.


Thanks you are a saviour  Wink

If this post helped you and you feel generous you know what to do: 1P9tXFy9bVgzrfPGeV7F8np26ZtFdCCWvz
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
July 15, 2011, 09:40:00 PM
 #492

No problem... USE MY POOL! Smiley

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
ThiagoCMC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


฿itcoin: Currency of Resistance!


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2011, 01:40:08 AM
 #493

Guys!

 Why this guide does not use the "ati-driver-installer-11-6-x86.x86_64.run"?

 Sorry but, my 6990 arrives today and I'm already mining but, the system is pretty weird, the GPU0 reaches 395MH but the gpu1 reaches only 300MH...

 The temperature is around 89~83, is that normal?

 The cooler is running at high speed.

Thanks!
Thiago

Mercado Forex acessível para todos os Brasileiros que tenham Bitcoins! Cadastre-se hoje mesmo! Bastar acessar aqui: https://1broker.com/m/r.php?i=8879
ThiagoCMC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


฿itcoin: Currency of Resistance!


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2011, 01:58:52 AM
 #494

Hi!

 I'm running:

 ./phoenix.py -u http://X:Y@uswest.btcguild.com:8332/ -k phatk VECTORS AGGRESSION=14 BFI_INT WORKSIZE=128 FASTLOOP=false DEVICE=0

MHash: 395
Temp: 87.0 C

 ./phoenix.py -u http://X:Y@uswest.btcguild.com:8332/ -k phatk VECTORS AGGRESSION=14 BFI_INT WORKSIZE=128 FASTLOOP=false DEVICE=1

MHash: 290
Temp: 79

 What am I doing wrong?!

Thanks!!
Thiago

Mercado Forex acessível para todos os Brasileiros que tenham Bitcoins! Cadastre-se hoje mesmo! Bastar acessar aqui: https://1broker.com/m/r.php?i=8879
Christian Pezza
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile WWW
July 16, 2011, 02:23:48 AM
 #495

Hello

there is a way I can have one console and manage multiple GPU in the same machine or/and more machine(GPU'S) from may LAN?

ps Inaba thank you so much for your work and all of you partecipating of this forum!!! Just open up new opportunity for me!

asap I will donate but let me get some BTC first Wink

cp you can use the command "screen" in your terminal window / ssh session.
just connect to your miner via LAN (works also via internet if you have a static ip or a dynamic dns service Wink ), enter "screen" and a new prompt appears. start your miner or whatever, and then hit ctrl+A (together, hold both) and then hit C. then a new prompt appears, you get a new tab in that terminal window. like tabed browsing in firefox (just without the tabs to click at). enter your commands here. open a new "window" with ctrl+A +C again and so on.

cycle through windows with ctrl+A (again hold both keys) +N (for next) or +P (for previous) to go forward and backwards through your tabs.

you can close the terminal window with the screen ssh session and resume it even after restarting the computer you used to ssh into the miner or from another machine, just connect to your miner again and type "screen -r" into your terminal. et voila, you can flip through your screen tabs again.

With this method you will need only 1 window per miner with as many gpus inside as you want.

stellan0r, thank you for the tip I just was wishing to have a more friendly way of something cn regroup up to 15 GPU. It could become too busy. I got someone told me was possible but I have to just look in the net how... so just trying to get that way to do it make it practical

In the mean time I will practice what you suggest me!

If you like this tread consider to donate some to https://bitcointalk.org/donate.html
Christian Pezza
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile WWW
July 16, 2011, 02:45:58 AM
 #496

help, I try to install another system and after all installing etc I am getting

poclbm.py: error: no such option: --SERVER

any advise please?

If you like this tread consider to donate some to https://bitcointalk.org/donate.html
ThiagoCMC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


฿itcoin: Currency of Resistance!


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2011, 02:52:08 AM
 #497

help, I try to install another system and after all installing etc I am getting

poclbm.py: error: no such option: --SERVER

any advise please?

Just remove "--server"

./poclbm.py -d0 -f0 -w128 http://X:Y@uswest.btcguild.com:8332

Mercado Forex acessível para todos os Brasileiros que tenham Bitcoins! Cadastre-se hoje mesmo! Bastar acessar aqui: https://1broker.com/m/r.php?i=8879
ThiagoCMC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


฿itcoin: Currency of Resistance!


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2011, 03:05:49 AM
 #498

Hi!

 I'm running:

 ./phoenix.py -u http://X:Y@uswest.btcguild.com:8332/ -k phatk VECTORS AGGRESSION=14 BFI_INT WORKSIZE=128 FASTLOOP=false DEVICE=0

MHash: 395
Temp: 87.0 C

 ./phoenix.py -u http://X:Y@uswest.btcguild.com:8332/ -k phatk VECTORS AGGRESSION=14 BFI_INT WORKSIZE=128 FASTLOOP=false DEVICE=1

MHash: 290
Temp: 79

 What am I doing wrong?!

Thanks!!
Thiago

Hi! I figure out the following to stabilize:

 "Do not run the gnome / X applications while mining!"  \o/

1- reboot
2- login via SSH with root
3- run: service gdm stop
4- run: screen -aAdR
5- run: X

6- Press: control+a c
7- run: ./poclbm.py -d0 -f0 -w128 http://X:Y@uswest.btcguild.com:8332 - getting [357.657 MH/s (~400 MH/s)] - temp 89.50 C

8- Press: control+a c
9- run: ./poclbm.py -d1 -f0 -w128 http://X:Y@uswest.btcguild.com:8332 - getting [357.701 MH/s (~250 MH/s)] - temp 89.50 C

 But if I change the poclbm to phoenix, I got:

7- run: ./phoenix.py -u http://X:Y@uswest.btcguild.com:8332/ -k phatk VECTORS AGGRESSION=12 BFI_INT WORKSIZE=128 FASTLOOP=false DEVICE=0 - [395.46 Mhash/sec] - temp 98.00 C


9- run: ./phoenix.py -u http://X:Y@uswest.btcguild.com:8332/ -k phatk VECTORS AGGRESSION=12 BFI_INT WORKSIZE=128 FASTLOOP=false DEVICE=1 - [395.34 Mhash/sec] - temp 97.10 C

All coolers are running at 100%.

No overclock, I just bought the 6990 and install, all defaults from factory.


My question is: It is safe to run close to 100 ºC ??!


Code:
root@garimpeiro-2:~# aticonfig --odgc --adapter=all

Adapter 0 - AMD Radeon HD 6990
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    880           1250
             Current Peak :    880           1250
  Configurable Peak Range : [500-1200]     [1250-1500]
                 GPU load :    99%

Adapter 1 - AMD Radeon HD 6990
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    880           1250
             Current Peak :    880           1250
  Configurable Peak Range : [500-1200]     [1250-1500]
                 GPU load :    99%

 Second question: anybody running water-cooled 6990?
 I'm thinking in get one of these:

 http://www.koolance.com/water-cooling/product_info.php?product_id=1117
 http://www.swiftech.com/epsilonhd-6990fullcovervgawaterblock.aspx

 What do you guys think?!

Cheers,
Thiago

Mercado Forex acessível para todos os Brasileiros que tenham Bitcoins! Cadastre-se hoje mesmo! Bastar acessar aqui: https://1broker.com/m/r.php?i=8879
Christian Pezza
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile WWW
July 16, 2011, 03:12:36 AM
 #499

works thank you

about 100c from my reading and some users asked XFX customer service they don't suggest to go over 94c!

I already burn one 6950 because of it :/

If you like this tread consider to donate some to https://bitcointalk.org/donate.html
ThiagoCMC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


฿itcoin: Currency of Resistance!


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2011, 03:17:23 AM
 #500

Now I chaged poclbm:

./poclbm.py -v -d0 -f0 http://X:Y@uswest.btcguild.com:8332 - [392.275 MH/s (~113 MH/s)] - 92.50 ºC

./poclbm.py -v -d1 -f0 http://X:Y@uswest.btcguild.com:8332 - [392.422 MH/s (~112 MH/s)] - 93.50 ºC

 I'm very concerned about the temperature... Please, some advice?! Bought a watercooler?

 I'll disable "-v" for instance...

Thanks!
Thiago

Mercado Forex acessível para todos os Brasileiros que tenham Bitcoins! Cadastre-se hoje mesmo! Bastar acessar aqui: https://1broker.com/m/r.php?i=8879
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!