Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 02:14:40 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Ubuntu Natty Narwhal 11.04 Mining Guide / HOWTO  (Read 270818 times)
nakowa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 11:29:51 AM
 #281

I have only one 6990 card on board, but when I use aticonfig --list-adapters, I got:

* 0. 08:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 6990
   1. 07:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 6990

and I run the miner:
./poclbm -u ** --pass ** -o ***... -d 0

this miner give me about 330 mH/s rate
but when I try to launch another miner, using device 1, I got error:

pyopencl.LogicError: clGetPlatformIDs failed: invalid/unknown error code

any suggestions? thanks.


How do I start one miner, then start the second miner, then the third, and then able to switch back to the first to check the progress?
Also, the miner should not quit when I exit the shell or SSH.
Help please, thank you guys

You will want to use screen.

I create two shell scripts, the first one is to start the miners for whatever pool I want to join and has my poclbm.py command line in it.

The second script is the script that starts all the miner script(s) that I created to start poclbm.

I then use screen like this:

screen -d -m -S gpu1 ./miner.sh

This starts a screen session named "gpu1" with the miner.sh script.

Then, to reconnect to that session, I use screen -r gpu1

To detach from that session, I use CTRL-A D

The miner will stay running even if you log out and when you log back in you can re-attach to that screen if you want, with screen -r gpu1


1481163280
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481163280

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481163280
Reply with quote  #2

1481163280
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481163280
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481163280

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481163280
Reply with quote  #2

1481163280
Report to moderator
1481163280
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481163280

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481163280
Reply with quote  #2

1481163280
Report to moderator
cbeast
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722

Let's talk governance, lipstick, and pigs.


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 01:31:57 PM
 #282

I have an M4A89GTD mobo and two AMD Sapphire 5830s.

aticonfig --list-adapters
* 0. 01:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series 
  1. 02:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series 


aticonfig --adapter=0 --od-gettemperature
Adapter 0 - ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series 
            Sensor 0: Temperature - 37.00 C
aticonfig --adapter=1 --od-gettemperature
ERROR - Get temperature failed for Adapter 1 - ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series

I switched the slots for the 5830s and get the same thing. I The drivers don't seem to be working. I've re-installed Ubuntu a couple times and get the same error.

Any significantly advanced cryptocurrency is indistinguishable from Ponzi Tulips.
CubedRoot
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 01:38:53 PM
 #283

hey guys.. need some advice.  I am running my rig headless on ubuntu. I have three miners running in a separate screen session (one for each GPU).  Sometimes a miner will hang up for nefarious reasons. I can still SSH into the machine, and work and the other 2 miners will run as normal.  BUT... if I try to do a kill -15 or even a kill -9 on the PID of the froze miner, the entire system will hang and I cant do anything.  Even if I plug a monitor and keyboard back up it will still be froze.
The same thing happens if I try to reboot the machine from CLI when a mining script is hung.  Whats the best way to unstick this froze process without killing the entire system?
Is there a way to detach the particular module for the hung GPU from the kernel without killing the system?
Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1269


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 01:57:05 PM
 #284

ERROR - Get temperature failed for Adapter 1 - ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
Try
Code:
DISPLAY=:0.0 aticonfig --pplib-cmd "get temperature 0"
DISPLAY=:0.1 aticonfig --pplib-cmd "get temperature 0"
If that works you can save this as a script to get lots of info:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
export DISPLAY=:0.0
echo Card 1
aticonfig --pplib-cmd "get temperature 0"
aticonfig --pplib-cmd "get fanspeed 0"
aticonfig --pplib-cmd "get activity"
export DISPLAY=:0.1
echo Card 2
aticonfig --pplib-cmd "get temperature 0"
aticonfig --pplib-cmd "get fanspeed 0"
aticonfig --pplib-cmd "get activity"
cbeast
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722

Let's talk governance, lipstick, and pigs.


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 02:20:43 PM
 #285

ERROR - Get temperature failed for Adapter 1 - ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
Try
Code:
DISPLAY=:0.0 aticonfig --pplib-cmd "get temperature 0"
DISPLAY=:0.1 aticonfig --pplib-cmd "get temperature 0"
If that works you can save this as a script to get lots of info:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
export DISPLAY=:0.0
echo Card 1
aticonfig --pplib-cmd "get temperature 0"
aticonfig --pplib-cmd "get fanspeed 0"
aticonfig --pplib-cmd "get activity"
export DISPLAY=:0.1
echo Card 2
aticonfig --pplib-cmd "get temperature 0"
aticonfig --pplib-cmd "get fanspeed 0"
aticonfig --pplib-cmd "get activity"

With   sudo DISPLAY=:0 aticonfig --pplib-cmd "get temperature 0"
Temperature for thermal controller 0 is 37.000000
With   sudo DISPLAY=:0.1 aticonfig --pplib-cmd "get temperature 0"
ati_pplib_cmd: Unable to open display `:0.1'.
aticonfig: parsing the command-line failed.

Any significantly advanced cryptocurrency is indistinguishable from Ponzi Tulips.
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
June 07, 2011, 02:28:14 PM
 #286

hey guys.. need some advice.  I am running my rig headless on ubuntu. I have three miners running in a separate screen session (one for each GPU).  Sometimes a miner will hang up for nefarious reasons. I can still SSH into the machine, and work and the other 2 miners will run as normal.  BUT... if I try to do a kill -15 or even a kill -9 on the PID of the froze miner, the entire system will hang and I cant do anything.  Even if I plug a monitor and keyboard back up it will still be froze.
The same thing happens if I try to reboot the machine from CLI when a mining script is hung.  Whats the best way to unstick this froze process without killing the entire system?
Is there a way to detach the particular module for the hung GPU from the kernel without killing the system?


I have the same problem and hasn't been able to find a way around it.  I have to end up rebooting the system.  Occasionally, if the shell won't even respond I have to pull the power.  Usually, though, if I do a reboot, it will eventually reboot.

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
June 07, 2011, 02:29:31 PM
 #287

Nakowa & CBeast:

Are you guys sure you've done sudo aticonfig --initial -f --adapter=all ?  The errors you describe are usually related to the cards not being listed in the xorg.conf file.

You might try doing that again and reboot and see if it fixes your problem.

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
cbeast
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722

Let's talk governance, lipstick, and pigs.


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 03:08:22 PM
 #288

I started over with a fresh install of Ubuntu 11.04 x64
at line 22 I get
./configure.py --cl-inc-dir=/opt/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx64/include/ --cl-lib-dir=/opt/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx64/lib/x86_64
bash: ./configure.py: No such file or directory


wow, somehow I missed the CD step before.

Any significantly advanced cryptocurrency is indistinguishable from Ponzi Tulips.
Felex
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 03:45:57 PM
 #289

When i start mining, after 10 sec i get this msg:

Quote
Verification failed, check hardware!

Don't know why is that. I can mine in W7 without any problems.
The VGA's are not overclocked.

 Huh
cbeast
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722

Let's talk governance, lipstick, and pigs.


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 07:22:05 PM
 #290

When i start mining, after 10 sec i get this msg:

Quote
Verification failed, check hardware!

Don't know why is that. I can mine in W7 without any problems.
The VGA's are not overclocked.

 Huh

I got the same thing so I CD to phoenix and it works fine!

Any significantly advanced cryptocurrency is indistinguishable from Ponzi Tulips.
percymate
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 07:04:16 PM
 #291

The guide works great for me. However, when I try to add a 5970 to my motherboard, X will never start.

I just get a blank screen that is on, but nothing there. I usually get a cursor on the screen, but it's nowhere to be found.

Any ideas?
minerX
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 07:07:50 PM
 #292

hey guys.. need some advice.  I am running my rig headless on ubuntu. I have three miners running in a separate screen session (one for each GPU).  Sometimes a miner will hang up for nefarious reasons. I can still SSH into the machine, and work and the other 2 miners will run as normal.  BUT... if I try to do a kill -15 or even a kill -9 on the PID of the froze miner, the entire system will hang and I cant do anything.  Even if I plug a monitor and keyboard back up it will still be froze.
The same thing happens if I try to reboot the machine from CLI when a mining script is hung.  Whats the best way to unstick this froze process without killing the entire system?
Is there a way to detach the particular module for the hung GPU from the kernel without killing the system?


I have the same problem and hasn't been able to find a way around it.  I have to end up rebooting the system.  Occasionally, if the shell won't even respond I have to pull the power.  Usually, though, if I do a reboot, it will eventually reboot.

This is an overclocking issue for me.  The reason why it's not responsive when you switched back to the screen is because the card crashed.  I use this method to test how high I can OC.  If one freezes I just roll it back 25 MHz.
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
June 08, 2011, 07:10:03 PM
 #293

hey guys.. need some advice.  I am running my rig headless on ubuntu. I have three miners running in a separate screen session (one for each GPU).  Sometimes a miner will hang up for nefarious reasons. I can still SSH into the machine, and work and the other 2 miners will run as normal.  BUT... if I try to do a kill -15 or even a kill -9 on the PID of the froze miner, the entire system will hang and I cant do anything.  Even if I plug a monitor and keyboard back up it will still be froze.
The same thing happens if I try to reboot the machine from CLI when a mining script is hung.  Whats the best way to unstick this froze process without killing the entire system?
Is there a way to detach the particular module for the hung GPU from the kernel without killing the system?


I have exactly the same problem.

I am using Ubuntu 11.04 (had the same problem with Ubuntu 10.04 LTS), phoenix with phatk, two 5870's. It happens more when I overclocked it more (temperature always under 70).
minerX
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 07:16:22 PM
 #294

I have only one 6990 card on board, but when I use aticonfig --list-adapters, I got:

* 0. 08:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 6990
   1. 07:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 6990

and I run the miner:
./poclbm -u ** --pass ** -o ***... -d 0

this miner give me about 330 mH/s rate
but when I try to launch another miner, using device 1, I got error:

pyopencl.LogicError: clGetPlatformIDs failed: invalid/unknown error code

any suggestions? thanks.



You got the wrong syntax for sure.   For example, this is what deepbit uses.  (I would double check the device syntax, could be --Device or -Device.)

poclbm.exe -d1 --host=pit.deepbit.net --port=8332 --user=example@example.com --pass=password -DEVICE 0
poclbm.exe -d1 --host=pit.deepbit.net --port=8332 --user=example@example.com --pass=password -DEVICE 1
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
June 08, 2011, 07:25:56 PM
 #295

The guide works great for me. However, when I try to add a 5970 to my motherboard, X will never start.

I just get a blank screen that is on, but nothing there. I usually get a cursor on the screen, but it's nowhere to be found.

Any ideas?

Are you sure you've done aticonfig --initial -f --adapter=all after you've added the 5970?

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
qualia8
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 04:54:29 AM
 #296

ah!  my problem is step #31:

PowerXpress error: Cannot stat '/usr/lib64/fglrx/switchlibGL': No such file or directory
Failed to initialize libglx for discrete GPU
Using /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Saving back-up to /etc/X11/xorg.conf.original-0
SchizophrenicX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

"I'm not psychic; I'm just damn good"


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 05:03:55 AM
 #297

How do i "install' Ubuntu onto the USB? and by the way I think I only have 4GB USB sticks -.-

Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
June 09, 2011, 05:11:46 AM
 #298

Click "install" just like you are installing on a hard drive.

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
miningnew
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476



View Profile
June 09, 2011, 12:02:14 PM
 #299

http://www.amazon.de/Corsair-Flash-Voyager-USB-Stick-8GB/dp/B000J35DR8/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1307620787&sr=8-3

Will this USB STICK will be okay for installing ubuntu and mine??

Or can i buy cheaper like http://www.amazon.de/Transcend-JetFlash-600-Speicherstick-Retail/dp/B002QCAN9S/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1307621420&sr=8-1

Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
June 09, 2011, 02:26:48 PM
 #300

Any USB stick will probably work... it just depends on how slow you want it to be.  The Rage XT ones I use are pretty speedy at 25 MB/s write, though it's definitely noticeably slower than an HD of course.  Some sticks are so slow I wouldn't use them, but I can't say for sure which sticks those would be.  I found the Rage XT to work fast enough for me, so I stick with them.

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!