Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 08:58:30 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 [142] 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [~1000 GH/sec] BTC Guild - 0% Fee Pool, LP, SSL, Full Precision, and More  (Read 360054 times)
bak3donh1gh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
August 13, 2011, 04:05:50 AM
 #2821

Crap i just spend 6+ hours with the wrong worker name. Did the shares just disappear?

how could you even connect to the pool using a wrong user name unless it was valid for you or someone else...
and if someone else.. they just made a bit more btc..
Oops your right i just switched from deepbit and had my full aggression miner still on the old settings.

Sharecoin: SQapxnvnCZUkEUV6E9xwXXhsP6pHZEpVyX
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481403510
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481403510

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481403510
Reply with quote  #2

1481403510
Report to moderator
m3ta
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 427



View Profile WWW
August 13, 2011, 04:11:09 PM
 #2822

Stats issue for US West miners fixed (new load balancer = new port/address for the website to communicate with the scripts on US West).  Miner speed estimates for US West will take 15 minutes to correct.  You didn't suddenly stop mining, I just wiped the temporary table used to calculate your speeds.

Is that the cause of this?

Code:
2316
140695 2011-08-12 17:36:33 4:13:57 356984 89 until confirmed None None None

Because I was looking at the up and downs during this block, workers sometimes connected for some minutes, submitted shares, so I surely should have more than "None" earned.

So, data loss happened?

The block you linked is the one when the servers were going up/down.  The DDoS caused the servers to de-sync so one server was still working on an old round.  Not that many people could access the servers at all during the DDoS.

Ok. Thanks for the info.

Why the frell so many retards spell "ect" as an abbreviation of "Et Cetera"? "ETC", DAMMIT! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Et_cetera

Host:/# rm -rf /var/forum/trolls
m3ta
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 427



View Profile WWW
August 13, 2011, 04:13:17 PM
 #2823


So what is the time frame when mining data was lost?
Just so people know to expect loss if they mined shares during that time frame ...

The one referred in the post immediately above your question. You know, the one that proves you didn't even try to find an answer before asking. Smiley

Why the frell so many retards spell "ect" as an abbreviation of "Et Cetera"? "ETC", DAMMIT! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Et_cetera

Host:/# rm -rf /var/forum/trolls
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
August 13, 2011, 06:04:41 PM
 #2824

Still some residual attacks going on, been working with the ISP to continue filtering out bad traffic.  Just added a large blacklist to the perimeter of the ISP's network which should help.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
Xephan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
August 13, 2011, 06:28:53 PM
 #2825

not only is the botnet owner an asshat, he's also retarded. not smart enough to setup his own pool.

It's probably because he's a botnet owner that's why he doesn't want to setup his own pool Cheesy
It would make too obvious a target for the authorities looking for him Cheesy

186q9YUW3x8TVHC5aYBEqgZZYMxft8Cw9f
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 13, 2011, 11:29:02 PM
 #2826


So what is the time frame when mining data was lost?
Just so people know to expect loss if they mined shares during that time frame ...

The one referred in the post immediately above your question. You know, the one that proves you didn't even try to find an answer before asking. Smiley

Well that block was from 2011-08-12 13:22:36 to 2011-08-12 17:36:33
So anything mined outside that time range you guarantee was not affected?
And anything mined during those 4h 13m 57s could be lost?
Or was it a smaller time range? Or did it actually affect any before or after?

Yeah I sorta thought someone from the guild would clearly state the time range without even being asked ... rather than ignore the question asked.
Seems a pretty important answer to clearly let people know ...

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
August 14, 2011, 12:18:44 AM
 #2827

The effects of the DDoS should have been limited to Rounds 2315, 2316, and 2317.  Most miners were unable to communicate with the server between 2315 and 2316, meaning they could not submit shares.  One server was stuck on 2316 for about 15 minutes while the other was on 2317 as the DDoS was dying down and the servers were able to come back up.  So the people on that server had more shares counted during 2316, and fewer on 2317.

Outside of those rounds, no data has been lost, though the servers have still had some residual attacks hitting it, which caused higher levels of idles and stales.  These issues have since gone away, and thanks to the attack I was able to implement the better load balancer on US West while the servers recovered.  For the last few hours, the servers have been functioning better than ever.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 14, 2011, 01:00:33 AM
 #2828

Thanks Smiley - that's what I wanted to know.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
PcChip
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
August 14, 2011, 03:48:03 AM
 #2829

in between refreshes of my workers:

24 Hour Luck      4,353,849

All rates with Phoenix 1.50 / PhatK
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
5850 - 400 MH/s  |  5850 - 355 MH/s | 5830 - 310 MH/s  |  GTX570 - 115 MH/s | 5770 - 210 MH/s | 5770 - 200 MH/s
Kermee
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
August 14, 2011, 07:33:57 AM
 #2830

in between refreshes of my workers:

24 Hour Luck      4,353,849

Yeah... Looks better now though! Wink



Cheers,
Kermee

mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
August 14, 2011, 11:24:05 PM
 #2831

I liked the % +/- luck indicator better IMHO.

brandon@sourcewerks
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62



View Profile
August 15, 2011, 12:37:46 PM
 #2832

Is the site being DDOS'ed again?  I cant connect to API or the website.
useful_idiot
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
August 15, 2011, 02:17:32 PM
 #2833

Is the site being DDOS'ed again?  I cant connect to API or the website.

Same here, I havent been able to access the website since about Thursday last week. Miners seem OK though...

 *Image Removed*
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
August 15, 2011, 02:56:30 PM
 #2834

Are you forgetting to put www. on the URL?  The DDoS only took us down for a few hours.  Site and API have been working fine ever since.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
useful_idiot
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
August 15, 2011, 03:33:03 PM
 #2835

well wash my arm, i feel stupid.

By the way, thanks for all your efforts on running such an awesome pool.

 *Image Removed*
Coolhwip
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119


View Profile
August 15, 2011, 05:56:28 PM
 #2836

Is there any way to know for certain if a block will become invalid before it gets confirmed? Does the pool keep internal time down to the millisecond? Maybe that would settle it. I ask because block 141008 was found by both us and simplecoin:

jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
August 15, 2011, 06:06:02 PM
 #2837

Is there any way to know for certain if a block will become invalid before it gets confirmed? Does the pool keep internal time down to the millisecond? Maybe that would settle it. I ask because block 141008 was found by both us and simplecoin:



I'm still new to this stuff, but let me take a stab at this.

the bitcoin client, or bitcoind  will declare which block is valid.  Since the bitcoin software is open source, I suppose it is possible to go into the source code, figure out which block would be valid. ( I believe it is strictly timestamp, not sure here) and do the same thing that the bitcoin client would do.


::hoping a bitcoin guru will chime in here.


1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
[Tycho]
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
August 15, 2011, 06:07:56 PM
 #2838

Is there any way to know for certain if a block will become invalid before it gets confirmed? Does the pool keep internal time down to the millisecond? Maybe that would settle it. I ask because block 141008 was found by both us and simplecoin:
Reporting blocks by numbers is a bit wrong because you can't be sure what number it will take.
Correct way is to report blocks by it's hashes. It's unique and will allways be correct, so you'll see if it's valid or not.

Welcome to my bitcoin mining pool: https://deepbit.net - Both payment schemes (including PPS), instant payout, no invalid blocks !
ICBIT Trading platform : USD/BTC futures trading, Bitcoin difficulty futures (NEW!). Third year in bitcoin business.
gentakin
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
August 15, 2011, 06:22:51 PM
 #2839

The simplecoin frontend is known for getting block numbers wrong. Ask BurningToad from ArsBitcoin, he uses that frontend (probably heavily modified) as well and tried to fix these problems. Sometimes the simplecoin frontend also misses a found block when two blocks are found within a certain time frame.

1HNjbHnpu7S3UUNMF6J9yWTD597LgtUCxb
kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
August 15, 2011, 06:30:38 PM
 #2840

If two blocks are found at nearly the same time, and both of them end up on the network, each will be correct on a fraction of the network.  That means that part of the network will be working on the next block following one of them, and the rest of the network will be working on extending the other.  If there is a clear winner when the next block is found by one side, the race is over in favor.  Or, if the next round is another tie, the network remains split and goes on to the next round.

Because finding blocks is somewhat random, if the initial split isn't perfectly even, one side or the other will have a considerable advantage, and that advantage will grow quickly.  I don't think that any splits caused by honest block races have gone past a third round.

p2pcoin: a USB/CD/PXE p2pool miner - 1N8ZXx2cuMzqBYSK72X4DAy1UdDbZQNPLf - todo
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
Pages: « 1 ... 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 [142] 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!