Bitcoin Forum
December 15, 2017, 07:59:59 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 [151] 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [~1000 GH/sec] BTC Guild - 0% Fee Pool, LP, SSL, Full Precision, and More  (Read 375919 times)
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750



View Profile
September 13, 2011, 02:33:45 PM
 #3001

Posting problems for the PPS server in both threads is fine at the moment, as long as people don't ask about proportional in the PPS Beta thread Smiley.

My response to the PPS outage:
The server crashed while I was asleep, the server ran out of memory and I had the swapfile turned off previously when it was the SC Guild secondary server.  This is why I have the disclaimer at the top saying make sure you've got a failover server!

Back up and running today.  When I get off work this afternoon I will be moving bitcoind off the PoolServerJ server so it can have more RAM available.  I've also added a script that polls the PoolServerJ stats once per minute.  That poll forces a garbage collection, so it should help with the RAM issues.  Right now the PPS Beta is running on a repurposed server, and its setup as an "all-in-one" (MySQL, Apache, Bitcoind, and PoolServerJ all run on the same server).

RIP BTC Guild, April 2011 - June 2015
1513367999
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513367999

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513367999
Reply with quote  #2

1513367999
Report to moderator
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. The most secure are full nodes like Bitcoin-Qt, but full nodes are more resource-heavy, and they must do a lengthy initial syncing process. As a result, lightweight clients with somewhat less security are commonly used.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513367999
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513367999

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513367999
Reply with quote  #2

1513367999
Report to moderator
1513367999
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513367999

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513367999
Reply with quote  #2

1513367999
Report to moderator
1513367999
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513367999

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513367999
Reply with quote  #2

1513367999
Report to moderator
Nagios
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71


thevapebook.com


View Profile WWW
September 14, 2011, 07:26:29 PM
 #3002

Is this something to worry about?


Find something I said tip worthy? 1Nf47w5mk7a425xLTrV8U4eswqveoxwTv1
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750



View Profile
September 14, 2011, 10:26:58 PM
 #3003

No, its related to the Google Ads that show up for people who don't donate.  The AdSense scripts are served over regular HTTP, not HTTPS since they don't have SSL support for AdSense.

RIP BTC Guild, April 2011 - June 2015
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
September 14, 2011, 10:37:47 PM
 #3004

No, its related to the Google Ads that show up for people who don't donate.  The AdSense scripts are served over regular HTTP, not HTTPS since they don't have SSL support for AdSense.

Then disable it. Don't compromise the SSL session with stupidity.

phorensic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
September 15, 2011, 08:01:28 AM
 #3005

No, its related to the Google Ads that show up for people who don't donate.  The AdSense scripts are served over regular HTTP, not HTTPS since they don't have SSL support for AdSense.

Then disable it. Don't compromise the SSL session with stupidity.
I disagree.  You aren't compromising the secured traffic between you and BTC Guild.  Our main webpage has the same error because of a youtube video.  Youtube still hasn't added SSL support.  There are very complex methods to encapsulated a youtube video in your own flash player, but I decided not to spend 10 hours of time programming that because of a silly warning.  Plus, E needs to make money any way he can, his pool is donation only and I'm pretty sure he barely makes a profit after hosting costs.
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
September 15, 2011, 08:44:30 AM
 #3006

No, its related to the Google Ads that show up for people who don't donate.  The AdSense scripts are served over regular HTTP, not HTTPS since they don't have SSL support for AdSense.

Then disable it. Don't compromise the SSL session with stupidity.
I disagree.  You aren't compromising the secured traffic between you and BTC Guild.  Our main webpage has the same error because of a youtube video.  Youtube still hasn't added SSL support.  There are very complex methods to encapsulated a youtube video in your own flash player, but I decided not to spend 10 hours of time programming that because of a silly warning.  Plus, E needs to make money any way he can, his pool is donation only and I'm pretty sure he barely makes a profit after hosting costs.

What I said still applies. Don't include foreign elements on an SSL'ed page. Period.

I shouldn't have to be teaching security 101 to pool owners.

phorensic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
September 15, 2011, 09:06:33 AM
 #3007

Geez!
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
September 15, 2011, 09:38:36 AM
 #3008

Geez!

You might wish to remember who the moderator is for this part of the forum.

phorensic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
September 15, 2011, 04:01:39 PM
 #3009

Geez!

You might wish to remember who the moderator is for this part of the forum.
I hope when I hit Report to Moderator it went to the other mod for this subsection and also an Admin per the SMF documentation.
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
September 15, 2011, 05:58:46 PM
 #3010

Geez!

You might wish to remember who the moderator is for this part of the forum.
I hope when I hit Report to Moderator it went to the other mod for this subsection and also an Admin per the SMF documentation.

theymos has zero problems with how I moderate this board. If you have a problem with me having a problem with the pool I use having a problem with their security in the face of recent security problems then bring the problem up with theymos, and he will probably have a problem with you. Problem?

tysat
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966


Keep it real


View Profile
September 15, 2011, 07:23:10 PM
 #3011

Geez!

You might wish to remember who the moderator is for this part of the forum.
I hope when I hit Report to Moderator it went to the other mod for this subsection and also an Admin per the SMF documentation.

It goes to everyone who can moderate this board (all specified moderators, global mods, and admins).  And yea, I've also noticed how DiabloD3 acts like a giant dick whenever you disagree with him or have a conflicting opinion.
Maged
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260


View Profile
September 15, 2011, 08:32:07 PM
 #3012

What DiabloD3 said is absolutely correct. If you have a non-SSL'd element on you page, you might as well have not used SSL at all. It's that big of a security hole.

conspirosphere.tk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226


Revolution will be decentralized


View Profile
September 18, 2011, 01:18:23 PM
 #3013

Anyone can explain why when I mine on BTCGuild with my 5870@970/300 + 5750@890/300 Phoenix says that my hash rate is 420Mhs +175Mhs = 595Mhs, while my account page on BTCGuild says that I am around 490-500Mhs? Am I being scammed? Thanx 
kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
September 18, 2011, 02:19:51 PM
 #3014

Anyone can explain why when I mine on BTCGuild with my 5870@970/300 + 5750@890/300 Phoenix says that my hash rate is 420Mhs +175Mhs = 595Mhs, while my account page on BTCGuild says that I am around 490-500Mhs? Am I being scammed? Thanx 

No, the stats shown are estimated from your work submissions.  They are almost always lower than what your local client reports.

p2pcoin: a USB/CD/PXE p2pool miner - 1N8ZXx2cuMzqBYSK72X4DAy1UdDbZQNPLf - todo
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 18, 2011, 11:27:56 PM
 #3015

Anyone can explain why when I mine on BTCGuild with my 5870@970/300 + 5750@890/300 Phoenix says that my hash rate is 420Mhs +175Mhs = 595Mhs, while my account page on BTCGuild says that I am around 490-500Mhs? Am I being scammed? Thanx  
You are paid for the number of shares you submit - which, although is somewhat related to your hash rate, there is no exact relationship, only an average expected one.

Simply check that the site share count matches your program's accepted share count (which it should)

Shares are also generated based on luck - on average you should expect to get one share per 4billion hash attempts (2^32) - but a share is equivalent to a block at difficulty=1 - thus the same rules about random probability come into getting a share as for blocks.

The web site does not know your computer hash rate, so it estimates it based on your shares that are submitted - which is sometimes higher and sometimes lower than your actual hash rate.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
phorensic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
September 20, 2011, 03:41:02 AM
 #3016

Not responding on web or mining ports.  My traffic stops after this hop: hetzner-ic-134650-ffm-b2.c.telia.net [213.248.92.82]

Watched the new Two and a Half Men and it's back up.  Woohoo!
Iyeman
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
September 20, 2011, 12:01:02 PM
 #3017

Geez!

You might wish to remember who the moderator is for this part of the forum.
I hope when I hit Report to Moderator it went to the other mod for this subsection and also an Admin per the SMF documentation.

theymos has zero problems with how I moderate this board. If you have a problem with me having a problem with the pool I use having a problem with their security in the face of recent security problems then bring the problem up with theymos, and he will probably have a problem with you. Problem?

Just wondering, who has had their password hash's stolen? BTCguild or bitcointalk? Tongue

<

         %%%%%%%%%%(         
      %%%%%%%%%%%%%  %%     
    %%%%%%%%%%%%%%  .%%%%   
   %%%%%%%%        %%%%%%%   
  /%%%%%%           %%%%%%/ 
  %%%%%%(           (%%%%%% 
  %%%%%%(           (%%%%%% 
  ,%%%%%%           %%%%%%, 
   %%%%%%%%       %%%%%%%%   
    %%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%   
      %%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%     
         %%%%%%%%%%%       
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
.
. OPEN MONEY PLATFORM .
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
{}
>
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750



View Profile
September 22, 2011, 02:57:33 PM
 #3018

This weekend I will be moving the website to a different server again, changing it from a 2 gig VPS to a dedicated server.  I do not know when it will happen exactly (most likely Saturday evening, PDT).  Similar to the last move, the pools still be working as usual.  The only part going down is the website frontend, meaning you wont be able to access your stats / payouts until the move is complete (1~2 hours).

The move is for two main purposes:  1) Speeding up the website in general, especially when a long round is calculated/sync'd.  2) Making some DB schema changes to eventually allow merging the PPS option into the main pool, rather than running it as a separate pool.

RIP BTC Guild, April 2011 - June 2015
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750



View Profile
September 25, 2011, 09:09:54 PM
 #3019

Server is being moved if you're seeing the security certificate revoked message.  Revoked our old SSL cert trying to setup a wildcard subdomain so PPS pool could use the same cert.  Should be back up and running shortly.

RIP BTC Guild, April 2011 - June 2015
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
September 25, 2011, 11:38:51 PM
 #3020

Server is being moved if you're seeing the security certificate revoked message.  Revoked our old SSL cert since we're changing IPs.  Should be back up and running shortly.
Why would you do that? A cert is attached to a domain name not an IP and can move to a new IP easily.

Pages: « 1 ... 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 [151] 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!