Bitcoin Forum
August 18, 2017, 03:08:10 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Consolidated Litecoin Mining Guide for 5xxx, 6xxx, and 7xxx GPUs  (Read 613141 times)
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
October 27, 2012, 10:52:25 PM
 #121

playing with stuff some more, see data below



this is with cgminer 2.7.6 and my 7770 in win7 x64, sdk 2.6 and 12.8 drivers, intensity 16

as you can see, the memory speed appears to have a logarithmic (or, less likely, linear) association with kh/s
core speed, on the other hand, has a wacky correlation in that it drops off above a certain level

thus I'm going to recommend a core speed / mem speed ratio of 0.7 or less

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
1503068890
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503068890

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503068890
Reply with quote  #2

1503068890
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1503068890
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503068890

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503068890
Reply with quote  #2

1503068890
Report to moderator
meebs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
October 29, 2012, 09:50:14 PM
 #122

Thanks for posting that up about the 7700. It got me to try out some more clock/mem combinations on it as well.

Why intensity 16? I found I had the best hash rate at 19. (bfgminer)

Using a clock of 975 and mem of 1500 I was able to get a solid 200 out of each of my cards. EDIT: the miner tends to crash within 15 minutes at this clock.


Now.. that said.. my 7950's are REALLY starting to confuse me.

So on one of my rigs, I reinstalled win7 yesterday, and before I was able to get 620 k/hash out of them... now I can barely get 550..

to make things even more confusing... another rig (7950 and a 7870)... the 7950 gets 650 khash..... with the exact same driver and clock settings.

makes no friggin sense..

BTC hash rate is still the same though, with 600 each @ 1150 mhz core.


EDIT/RESOLUTION: Seemed to be a kernel/driver issue. I imaged the OS drive, reinstalled windows... found out the hashrate was normal.... restored the image.. and I was back in business again.


 
 
           ▄████▄
         ▄████████▄
       ▄████████████▄
     ▄████████████████▄
    ████████████████████      ▄█▄                 ▄███▄                 ▄███▄                 ▄████████████████▀   ▄██████████

  ▄▄▄▀█████▀▄▄▄▄▀█████▀▄▄▄     ▀██▄             ▄██▀ ▀██▄             ▄██▀ ▀██▄             ▄██▀                   ██
▄█████▄▀▀▀▄██████▄▀▀▀▄█████▄     ▀██▄         ▄██▀     ▀██▄         ▄██▀     ▀██▄         ▄██▀        ▄█▄          ▀██████████████▄
████████████████████████████       ▀██▄     ▄██▀         ▀██▄     ▄██▀         ▀██▄     ▄██▀          ▀█▀                        ██
 ▀████████████████████████▀          ▀██▄ ▄██▀             ▀██▄ ▄██▀     ▄█▄     ▀██▄ ▄██▀                                       ██
   ▀████████████████████▀              ▀███▀                 ▀███▀       ▀█▀       ▀███▀      ▄███████████████████████████████████▀
     ▀████████████████▀
       ▀████████████▀
         ▀████████▀
           ▀████▀
║║


║║
.
.

║║
██
║║
.
.

║║
██
║║
.
║║


║║
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
October 29, 2012, 11:44:24 PM
 #123

that's just what ran fastest for cgminer w/ the 7770.  i should probably just install a newer version of it already.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
meebs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
October 31, 2012, 01:54:09 AM
 #124

I found out how to get 390k/hash from a 7870!!!

essentially you treat it JUST like tacotime did with his 7770's...

Why? a 7870 is almost exactly a "double" 7770... double the shaders, and double the memory bandwidth.

No matter what I tried before, I could never get above 320 khash.

Downclocking the core all the way to 920 while bumping memory up to 1360 did the trick along with intensity 19.

Funny thing is... raise the clock to 1000 and the mem to 1450... 310 khash....

LTC mining is truly an art...


 
 
           ▄████▄
         ▄████████▄
       ▄████████████▄
     ▄████████████████▄
    ████████████████████      ▄█▄                 ▄███▄                 ▄███▄                 ▄████████████████▀   ▄██████████

  ▄▄▄▀█████▀▄▄▄▄▀█████▀▄▄▄     ▀██▄             ▄██▀ ▀██▄             ▄██▀ ▀██▄             ▄██▀                   ██
▄█████▄▀▀▀▄██████▄▀▀▀▄█████▄     ▀██▄         ▄██▀     ▀██▄         ▄██▀     ▀██▄         ▄██▀        ▄█▄          ▀██████████████▄
████████████████████████████       ▀██▄     ▄██▀         ▀██▄     ▄██▀         ▀██▄     ▄██▀          ▀█▀                        ██
 ▀████████████████████████▀          ▀██▄ ▄██▀             ▀██▄ ▄██▀     ▄█▄     ▀██▄ ▄██▀                                       ██
   ▀████████████████████▀              ▀███▀                 ▀███▀       ▀█▀       ▀███▀      ▄███████████████████████████████████▀
     ▀████████████████▀
       ▀████████████▀
         ▀████████▀
           ▀████▀
║║


║║
.
.

║║
██
║║
.
.

║║
██
║║
.
║║


║║
meebs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
October 31, 2012, 01:59:39 AM
 #125

It is truely interesting just HOW different the 7770/7870 class cards are from the 7950.

On the 7950.. more clock/mem = more hash rate.. end of story.. while on the 7770/7870.. more core/hash over a certain amount is LESS hashing..

I wonder if it is a driver issue or physical hardware issue.. hmm


 
 
           ▄████▄
         ▄████████▄
       ▄████████████▄
     ▄████████████████▄
    ████████████████████      ▄█▄                 ▄███▄                 ▄███▄                 ▄████████████████▀   ▄██████████

  ▄▄▄▀█████▀▄▄▄▄▀█████▀▄▄▄     ▀██▄             ▄██▀ ▀██▄             ▄██▀ ▀██▄             ▄██▀                   ██
▄█████▄▀▀▀▄██████▄▀▀▀▄█████▄     ▀██▄         ▄██▀     ▀██▄         ▄██▀     ▀██▄         ▄██▀        ▄█▄          ▀██████████████▄
████████████████████████████       ▀██▄     ▄██▀         ▀██▄     ▄██▀         ▀██▄     ▄██▀          ▀█▀                        ██
 ▀████████████████████████▀          ▀██▄ ▄██▀             ▀██▄ ▄██▀     ▄█▄     ▀██▄ ▄██▀                                       ██
   ▀████████████████████▀              ▀███▀                 ▀███▀       ▀█▀       ▀███▀      ▄███████████████████████████████████▀
     ▀████████████████▀
       ▀████████████▀
         ▀████████▀
           ▀████▀
║║


║║
.
.

║║
██
║║
.
.

║║
██
║║
.
║║


║║
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
October 31, 2012, 03:44:54 AM
 #126

I found out how to get 390k/hash from a 7870!!!

essentially you treat it JUST like tacotime did with his 7770's...

Why? a 7870 is almost exactly a "double" 7770... double the shaders, and double the memory bandwidth.

No matter what I tried before, I could never get above 320 khash.

Downclocking the core all the way to 920 while bumping memory up to 1360 did the trick along with intensity 19.

Funny thing is... raise the clock to 1000 and the mem to 1450... 310 khash....

LTC mining is truly an art...

Yes, I added the importance of core to memory clock ratios to the guide.  It seems like it holds true for the 5xxx and 6xxx too, but someone will have to test it more extensively.  I'm now getting 200+ kh/s out of a 7770 with intensity 20.  Maybe now we can pull 650+ kh/s out of 7970s.

Try a core of 950 MHz and a memory speed of 1525 MHz, you should pull over 400 kh/s I would think.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
ocminer
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1834



View Profile WWW
October 31, 2012, 10:26:47 PM
 #127

Which speeds do you guys see best for 5870s ?

I use 820/1250 which gives me around 396KH/s per Card which I think is too low.. I'm expecting at least
440KH/s ..

But whatever I change with the clock rates, KH/s are getting worse.. I even tried maintaining the 0.7 ratio.. no win..


suprnova pools - reliable mining pools - #suprnova on freenet
https://www.suprnova.cc - FOLLOW us @ Twitter ! twitter.com/SuprnovaPools
meebs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
November 01, 2012, 02:41:37 AM
 #128


Maybe now we can pull 650+ kh/s out of 7970s.

Try a core of 950 MHz and a memory speed of 1525 MHz, you should pull over 400 kh/s I would think.

I have a 7950 getting 640 kh/s at 1050/1500.

I tried your suggestion and the khash did not appear to increase.


 
 
           ▄████▄
         ▄████████▄
       ▄████████████▄
     ▄████████████████▄
    ████████████████████      ▄█▄                 ▄███▄                 ▄███▄                 ▄████████████████▀   ▄██████████

  ▄▄▄▀█████▀▄▄▄▄▀█████▀▄▄▄     ▀██▄             ▄██▀ ▀██▄             ▄██▀ ▀██▄             ▄██▀                   ██
▄█████▄▀▀▀▄██████▄▀▀▀▄█████▄     ▀██▄         ▄██▀     ▀██▄         ▄██▀     ▀██▄         ▄██▀        ▄█▄          ▀██████████████▄
████████████████████████████       ▀██▄     ▄██▀         ▀██▄     ▄██▀         ▀██▄     ▄██▀          ▀█▀                        ██
 ▀████████████████████████▀          ▀██▄ ▄██▀             ▀██▄ ▄██▀     ▄█▄     ▀██▄ ▄██▀                                       ██
   ▀████████████████████▀              ▀███▀                 ▀███▀       ▀█▀       ▀███▀      ▄███████████████████████████████████▀
     ▀████████████████▀
       ▀████████████▀
         ▀████████▀
           ▀████▀
║║


║║
.
.

║║
██
║║
.
.

║║
██
║║
.
║║


║║
jasinlee
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


Its as easy as 0, 1, 1, 2, 3


View Profile
November 01, 2012, 02:49:05 AM
 #129

Anyone get a good .conf or instructions to get 4 5970s running on ltc on any OS, havent had any luck getting it going myself.

BTC 1JASiNZxmAN1WBS4dmGEDoPpzN3GV7dnjX DVC 1CxxZzqcy7YEVXfCn5KvgRxjeWvPpniK3                     Earn Devcoins Devtome.com
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
November 03, 2012, 06:41:25 PM
 #130

mining now with a 6970 and i'm getting 486 kh/s at 900/1375, but i'm also getting about 0.1% hardware rejects.  even if i lower the clock i still get them.  is this normal?  i tested the card with occt and it checks out okay, temps are in the 50s-60s.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
SAC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


View Profile
November 03, 2012, 06:58:42 PM
 #131

mining now with a 6970 and i'm getting 486 kh/s at 900/1375, but i'm also getting about 0.1% hardware rejects.  even if i lower the clock i still get them.  is this normal?  i tested the card with occt and it checks out okay, temps are in the 50s-60s.

Anything after cgminer 2.7.6 does the same on my 6000 cards none of the 5s get it though. It seems to be some sort of change in the way they are detected in the versions after that is giving us the rejects as 2.7.6 run for days at a time same settings as used in newer version will not give you them.
SAC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


View Profile
November 04, 2012, 11:47:12 PM
 #132

mining now with a 6970 and i'm getting 486 kh/s at 900/1375, but i'm also getting about 0.1% hardware rejects.  even if i lower the clock i still get them.  is this normal?  i tested the card with occt and it checks out okay, temps are in the 50s-60s.

Anything after cgminer 2.7.6 does the same on my 6000 cards none of the 5s get it though. It seems to be some sort of change in the way they are detected in the versions after that is giving us the rejects as 2.7.6 run for days at a time same settings as used in newer version will not give you them.

Had to log out on one of my machines with 2x 6970 in it because the compiz was taking 100% of the cpus in it. Well after doing that and logging back in as an Ubuntu Classic no effects desktop I have seen only 1 HW in over a day. So I would say the compiz using all the cpu has a bit to do with it as well them cards had hundreds of HW before this change now as close as you get to none after.
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
November 05, 2012, 03:03:54 AM
 #133

yeah, i updated to 2.8.6 and no hw errors since.  also gained 5kh/s.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
November 12, 2012, 07:26:25 PM
 #134

So, has anyone with a 7970 tried 915 MHz for core and 1360 MHz for RAM, thread_concurrency = 21000?  I think with these setting you might be able to crank the aggression up to 18 or 19 and get some decent speeds, but someone will need to confirm.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
SaltySpitoon
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


Welcome to the SaltySpitoon, how Tough are ya?


View Profile
November 12, 2012, 07:43:39 PM
 #135

I just have to say, great job on the guide. Mining LTC is a pain in the junk compared to BTC, so I'm glad someone is recording their findings, so others don't have to spend an extra 10 hours optimizing (unless they want to)

I had a 6870 that I picked up at a yard sale for like $40 a few years ago, abused the hell out of it; had it mining BTC for probably around 2 years at 100-105C. I spent next to nothing for it, so I didn't care. One day I decided to mine LTC with it. I spent about 10 hours changing the OS, SDK, and various reaper/cgminer versions and settings. When I finally got it running sort of, it just died.

Next time I give I try mining, I'll check here first  Grin
jasinlee
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


Its as easy as 0, 1, 1, 2, 3


View Profile
November 12, 2012, 07:51:17 PM
 #136

Hey taco, think you could make a program to generate batch files like cgeasy so it can setup multiple cards in the batch?

BTC 1JASiNZxmAN1WBS4dmGEDoPpzN3GV7dnjX DVC 1CxxZzqcy7YEVXfCn5KvgRxjeWvPpniK3                     Earn Devcoins Devtome.com
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
November 22, 2012, 01:11:29 AM
 #137

I don't really have time to... it's probably better to know how to tweak it yourself anyway because LTC is so finicky.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
jasinlee
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


Its as easy as 0, 1, 1, 2, 3


View Profile
November 22, 2012, 02:21:24 AM
 #138

I think the one item that seems to be overlooked in the guides is that far more ram is necessary to run LTC mining.

BTC 1JASiNZxmAN1WBS4dmGEDoPpzN3GV7dnjX DVC 1CxxZzqcy7YEVXfCn5KvgRxjeWvPpniK3                     Earn Devcoins Devtome.com
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
November 23, 2012, 04:44:06 PM
 #139

I've finally figured out a way to deal with the temperatures, which is by putting my rig outside  Cheesy



3x 7950s.  These were running at 80C+ in the summer.  Power consumption seems to be down, too.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
jasinlee
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


Its as easy as 0, 1, 1, 2, 3


View Profile
November 23, 2012, 05:03:40 PM
 #140

How much ram are you running on that machine for the 3 cards?

BTC 1JASiNZxmAN1WBS4dmGEDoPpzN3GV7dnjX DVC 1CxxZzqcy7YEVXfCn5KvgRxjeWvPpniK3                     Earn Devcoins Devtome.com
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!