Bitcoin Forum
September 16, 2019, 05:06:04 AM *
News: If you like a topic and you see an orange "bump" link, click it. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  

Warning: Moderators do not remove likely scams. You must use your own brain: caveat emptor. Watch out for Ponzi schemes. Do not invest more than you can afford to lose.

Pages: « 1 ... 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 [69] 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 ... 140 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [BTC-TC] Virtual Community Exchange [CLOSED]  (Read 315988 times)
ArcticWolf
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 23, 2013, 07:32:03 AM
 #1361

I got the invalid input too ...

Seems btc-tc is down or has problems, there hasnt been any transactions in 90 minutes (check the Realtime tab)

https://www.crypto-trade.com/ref/arcticwolf Try CryptoTrade.com, a new exchange for trading Currencies and Securities
1568610364
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568610364

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568610364
Reply with quote  #2

1568610364
Report to moderator
1568610364
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568610364

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568610364
Reply with quote  #2

1568610364
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1568610364
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568610364

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568610364
Reply with quote  #2

1568610364
Report to moderator
freedomno1
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1036


Learning the troll avoidance button :)


View Profile WWW
July 23, 2013, 07:56:27 AM
 #1362

Was about to ask why I was getting so many invalid inputs but reading through not alone so will wait on the update
Also about the bots do what the german's do
http://www.eurexchange.com/blob/exchange-en/3150-410008/410090/4/data/HFT-BAI-presentation.pdf
dexX7
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1005



View Profile WWW
July 23, 2013, 09:40:22 AM
 #1363

Was about to ask why I was getting so many invalid inputs but reading through not alone so will wait on the update
Also about the bots do what the german's do
http://www.eurexchange.com/blob/exchange-en/3150-410008/410090/4/data/HFT-BAI-presentation.pdf

Interesting read. Some keywords to dig: quote stuffing, momentum ignition, layering and spoofing

Not necessary bound to bots though.

pascal257
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 23, 2013, 10:39:47 AM
 #1364

Well I don't want to hate or anything, but exceeding 100k BTC per month in transaction volume should enable burnside to upgrade the hardware and maybe employ someone for support.
lewicki
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 23, 2013, 11:55:04 AM
 #1365

There have been 3 securities sitting at a 4/0 approval rating for a week now. Are there any behind the scenes discussions on these securities, or are they just languishing?
twentyseventy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386
Merit: 1000


View Profile
July 23, 2013, 01:13:31 PM
 #1366

Is the exchange down? Not seeing any activity for the last 7 hours?
David Chen
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 23, 2013, 01:14:46 PM
 #1367

Well I don't want to hate or anything, but exceeding 100k BTC per month in transaction volume should enable burnside to upgrade the hardware and maybe employ someone for support.
+1

reputation is everything.
jshinra
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 23, 2013, 01:27:41 PM
 #1368

Is the exchange down? Not seeing any activity for the last 7 hours?

I've been trying to set up some trades but keep getting "Invalid Ask Input."
ArcticWolf
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 23, 2013, 01:31:54 PM
 #1369

What happened that made it seem as if the bot had advance knowledge about your trades?
The point is that the frontend of BTCT waits before it reloads the page. Why is this "wait time" programmed in the front end when it is not needed?

Because of the trade bots have an advantage.

The wait-period is a standard, though perhaps somewhat outdated, method for a website to show a successful request message. Show a short message, then automatically return to the previous page. Not showing a message and instantly reloading the previous page is, in my opinion, bad design and can leave users confused.

A better, more modern solution is to use AJAX-methods for submitting orders and make a popup box appear on the page when an order is submitted and the contents of the page are updated without actually reloading the page.

As for the bot-advantage, I believe the order is processed when you reach the message-page, so there is no delay in actually having the order listed, just a short delay in seeing the new orderbook.

I agree that the ajax response would be nice.  To do it though you have to ajaxify not just the response, but also the reload of the underlying page.  I was concerned that I'd miss something trying to reload just certain pieces of the underlying page, so I chose to do something that reloads the entire page.

Say we do a simple buy transaction.  The parts of the page that need to reload are:

- the header (balance display)
- the ticker table showing recent trade stats
- the volume graph
- the market depth graph
- the table of your current orders
- the order book
- the trade history (trade tab)
- the outstanding share count (details tab)


Regarding the bots...

ANNOUNCING... A potentially breaking change, depending on how your bot is written.

I will be rolling out a change tonight that will limit any bid or ask order to a maximum of 4 significant digits.  What does this mean?  Here are some examples:

Bid           Becomes

10123.5    10120.0
1012.35    1012.00
101.235    101.200
10.1235    10.1200
1.01235    1.01200
0.101235    0.101200
0.0101235    0.0101200

I hope that makes sense.  It will thus require any order placed to be a semi-reasonable increment above or below existing orders.  Bots should no longer be able to outbid you by using insignificant digits.  Important note!  The system already rounds down on bids and up on asks but this change will make this behavior that much more apparent.  If you place a bid or ask and it shows up for more or less than you were expecting, it's the rounding and it is intentional.

I expect to roll out this change in 6-8 hours.

Cheers.


Something to do with this change being implemented maybe?

https://www.crypto-trade.com/ref/arcticwolf Try CryptoTrade.com, a new exchange for trading Currencies and Securities
Rannasha
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 23, 2013, 01:59:52 PM
 #1370

Trading seems to be going on normally again at BTCT
burnside
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 1004


Lead Blockchain Developer


View Profile WWW
July 23, 2013, 02:10:06 PM
 #1371

What happened that made it seem as if the bot had advance knowledge about your trades?
The point is that the frontend of BTCT waits before it reloads the page. Why is this "wait time" programmed in the front end when it is not needed?

Because of the trade bots have an advantage.

The wait-period is a standard, though perhaps somewhat outdated, method for a website to show a successful request message. Show a short message, then automatically return to the previous page. Not showing a message and instantly reloading the previous page is, in my opinion, bad design and can leave users confused.

A better, more modern solution is to use AJAX-methods for submitting orders and make a popup box appear on the page when an order is submitted and the contents of the page are updated without actually reloading the page.

As for the bot-advantage, I believe the order is processed when you reach the message-page, so there is no delay in actually having the order listed, just a short delay in seeing the new orderbook.

I agree that the ajax response would be nice.  To do it though you have to ajaxify not just the response, but also the reload of the underlying page.  I was concerned that I'd miss something trying to reload just certain pieces of the underlying page, so I chose to do something that reloads the entire page.

Say we do a simple buy transaction.  The parts of the page that need to reload are:

- the header (balance display)
- the ticker table showing recent trade stats
- the volume graph
- the market depth graph
- the table of your current orders
- the order book
- the trade history (trade tab)
- the outstanding share count (details tab)


Regarding the bots...

ANNOUNCING... A potentially breaking change, depending on how your bot is written.

I will be rolling out a change tonight that will limit any bid or ask order to a maximum of 4 significant digits.  What does this mean?  Here are some examples:

Bid           Becomes

10123.5    10120.0
1012.35    1012.00
101.235    101.200
10.1235    10.1200
1.01235    1.01200
0.101235    0.101200
0.0101235    0.0101200

I hope that makes sense.  It will thus require any order placed to be a semi-reasonable increment above or below existing orders.  Bots should no longer be able to outbid you by using insignificant digits.  Important note!  The system already rounds down on bids and up on asks but this change will make this behavior that much more apparent.  If you place a bid or ask and it shows up for more or less than you were expecting, it's the rounding and it is intentional.

I expect to roll out this change in 6-8 hours.

Cheers.


Something to do with this change being implemented maybe?

Trading is back.  I was working on the release above.  I apologize for how long it took.  Should have been super simple but when I rolled my dev code into prod it wasn't working and tracking down the issue took a while.  I'm getting too old for the middle of the night roll-outs.  Wink

Note that filling some orders now is going to be kind of tricky.  Ex:

order book ask: 0.11111
you bid: 0.11111
system rounds to 4 significant digits: 0.1111
0.1111 < 0.11111 so an order gets placed instead.
You'd have to bid 0.1112 to fill the order.

I'm currently working on this issue.


Cheers.
Peter Lambert
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500

It's all fun and games until somebody loses an eye


View Profile
July 23, 2013, 02:33:08 PM
 #1372

should lower priced assets (like s.mpoe-pt) allow more than 6 digits past the decimal so that they can have 4 significant digits?

0.00087654 should be rounded to 0.0008765 to have four sig figs, but is being rounded to 0.000877 to have only 6 decimal places?

Use CoinBR to trade bitcoin stocks: CoinBR.com

The best place for betting with bitcoin: BitBet.us
burnside
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 1004


Lead Blockchain Developer


View Profile WWW
July 23, 2013, 02:36:48 PM
 #1373

should lower priced assets (like s.mpoe-pt) allow more than 6 digits past the decimal so that they can have 4 significant digits?

0.00087654 should be rounded to 0.0008765 to have four sig figs, but is being rounded to 0.000877 to have only 6 decimal places?

That's a display bug I'll have to fix.  Thank you for pointing it out!
pascal257
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 23, 2013, 02:55:23 PM
 #1374

should lower priced assets (like s.mpoe-pt) allow more than 6 digits past the decimal so that they can have 4 significant digits?

0.00087654 should be rounded to 0.0008765 to have four sig figs, but is being rounded to 0.000877 to have only 6 decimal places?

That's a display bug I'll have to fix.  Thank you for pointing it out!

I suppose this would also require an API change, or is it rounded correctly with the new version?
Rannasha
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 23, 2013, 03:07:32 PM
 #1375

(It took quite a bit of testing just to develop the algorithm even.)

(from the other topic, that is now locked)

I'm curious what algorithm you used, since it seems to me that the rounding of the input can be done in a single-line statement:
Code:
$res = pow(10, floor(log($p, 10))) * ceil(1000 * $p / pow(10, floor(log($p, 10)))) / 1000;
(replace ceil() by floor() for bids. I suppose you could make it more readable by splitting it in more lines)
burnside
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 1004


Lead Blockchain Developer


View Profile WWW
July 23, 2013, 03:27:13 PM
 #1376

(It took quite a bit of testing just to develop the algorithm even.)

(from the other topic, that is now locked)

I'm curious what algorithm you used, since it seems to me that the rounding of the input can be done in a single-line statement:
Code:
$res = pow(10, floor(log($p, 10))) * ceil(1000 * $p / pow(10, floor(log($p, 10)))) / 1000;
(replace ceil() by floor() for bids. I suppose you could make it more readable by splitting it in more lines)

It's the following:  (as you mentioned, floor/ceil per bid/ask)

Code:
$amount = bcdiv(floor(bcmul($amount,sigDigitMultiplier($amount))),sigDigitMultiplier($amount));

Where sigDigitMultiplier is roughly: (has some input validation around it, which is what was breaking it...)

Code:
return pow(10,ceil(0 - log10($amount)) + getsetting("sigdigits") - 1);

Let me know if you see any big holes in that... or obvious ways to reduce it down.  Smiley

ThickAsThieves
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 23, 2013, 03:40:19 PM
 #1377

Might be worth adding a 7d figure to the Dividend Yield Estimates, to get a clearer picture of the current state of things on assets that have declined in shareprice value, yet have a history of higher divs.

burnside
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 1004


Lead Blockchain Developer


View Profile WWW
July 23, 2013, 04:00:51 PM
 #1378

Might be worth adding a 7d figure to the Dividend Yield Estimates, to get a clearer picture of the current state of things on assets that have declined in shareprice value, yet have a history of higher divs.



It should already be 8 digits where applicable.  Ex: https://btct.co/security/GSDPT
ThickAsThieves
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 23, 2013, 04:04:21 PM
 #1379

Might be worth adding a 7d figure to the Dividend Yield Estimates, to get a clearer picture of the current state of things on assets that have declined in shareprice value, yet have a history of higher divs.



It should already be 8 digits where applicable.  Ex: https://btct.co/security/GSDPT



I think you might've misread my post Wink
pascal257
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 23, 2013, 04:08:08 PM
 #1380


It should already be 8 digits where applicable.  Ex: https://btct.co/security/GSDPT


Thats also available through the API? Whats the maximum digitcount for LTC-Global? Still 4 or did it also increase?
Pages: « 1 ... 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 [69] 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 ... 140 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!