Bitcoin Forum
July 16, 2018, 09:39:37 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 ... 191 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN]: cpuminer-opt v3.8.8.1, open source optimized multi-algo CPU miner  (Read 411302 times)
Epsylon3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386
Merit: 1075


ccminer/cpuminer developer


View Profile WWW
January 17, 2016, 05:25:01 PM
 #61

Thanks for the explanations, i plan indeed to include argon2 algo in a near future. but first i need to tag the 1.2 (which is my linux branch with the --show-diff stuff)

Then i need to rebase my multi pool branch in the next version.

Sorry if i was a bit "direct" in my answer. Ive read your posts this week and didnt see any source until today Wink

You are welcome on the project. I already know (at least a part) of these SSE implementations, seen in Ig0tik projects... But for me it was not stable enough to be imported. I want to keep at least VStudio and MinGW compatibility, im not focused on linux or windows unlike what sp say for ccminer, i want it to works correctly on both Wink

IMO, SSE or AVX implementation should only be imported if there is more than 20% improvement, and if the code doesnt break windows or linux support. (can be hard with VStudio not supporting ASM in x64 mode) but they have low level instructions for AVX (seen in nicehash axiom project)

your way to copy the scan_hash functions is correct, we can tune the -march flag then in the Makefile.am (like what is made in ccminer) Its the same in vstudio, an unit can be optimized specifically for AVX

just... check my linux branch, i made a big change in the way the work structure is passed to these functions. It was already required by some algos (like ZR5), and this method seems better for the future

BTC: 1FhDPLPpw18X4srecguG3MxJYe4a1JsZnd - My Projects: ccminer - cpuminer-multi - yiimp - Forum threads : ccminer - cpuminer-multi - yiimp
1531733977
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531733977

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531733977
Reply with quote  #2

1531733977
Report to moderator
1531733977
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531733977

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531733977
Reply with quote  #2

1531733977
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1531733977
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531733977

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531733977
Reply with quote  #2

1531733977
Report to moderator
1531733977
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531733977

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531733977
Reply with quote  #2

1531733977
Report to moderator
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1016


View Profile
January 17, 2016, 05:53:37 PM
 #62

Thanks for the explanations, i plan indeed to include argon2 algo in a near future. but first i need to tag the 1.2 (which is my linux branch with the --show-diff stuff)

Then i need to rebase my multi pool branch in the next version.

Sorry if i was a bit "direct" in my answer. Ive read your posts this week and didnt see any source until today Wink

You are welcome on the project. I already know (at least a part) of these SSE implementations, seen in Ig0tik projects... But for me it was not stable enough to be imported. I want to keep at least VStudio and MinGW compatibility, im not focused on linux or windows unlike what sp say for ccminer, i want it to works correctly on both Wink

IMO, SSE or AVX implementation should only be imported if there is more than 20% improvement, and if the code doesnt break windows or linux support. (can be hard with VStudio not supporting ASM in x64 mode) but they have low level instructions for AVX (seen in nicehash axiom project)

I'm reluctant to distribute binaries but will do it as there is demand, if I ever get Windows to compile.

Igotid did the sse2 optimizations? Thanks I'll add him to the credits.

I think this will work out just as I envisioned and am glad to get your support. I respect your opinion about importing
lower quality optimizations. I'll stay focussed on speed while you can continue with your approach. our fork can
coexist nicely.

Don't worry about being direct. Some times is the best or only way to get the message accross. I can also be direct
at times if I think someone is being closed minded. I'm ok with it as long as it doesn't get personal. As heated as some
of the discussion got on the other thread I was still ok with most of it. It came close to the line but never crossed it IMO.

I'll stay out of the base code for now and let you finish with 1.2. I'll go ahead and merge cryptonight and neoscrypt
and release it. Then I'll do argon2 for my next release. When you get some other alt alt algos in working condition
I can start integrating the optimized kernels.

I'll probably be using yiimp for testing them but I don't have any wallets. I could mine to your wallet address and you
can keep whatever is produced.

I'm looking forward to keeping the lights on for cpu mining.

Happy new year and happy mining.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
Wolf0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834
Merit: 1002


Miner Developer


View Profile
January 17, 2016, 06:03:16 PM
 #63

Thanks for the explanations, i plan indeed to include argon2 algo in a near future. but first i need to tag the 1.2 (which is my linux branch with the --show-diff stuff)

Then i need to rebase my multi pool branch in the next version.

Sorry if i was a bit "direct" in my answer. Ive read your posts this week and didnt see any source until today Wink

You are welcome on the project. I already know (at least a part) of these SSE implementations, seen in Ig0tik projects... But for me it was not stable enough to be imported. I want to keep at least VStudio and MinGW compatibility, im not focused on linux or windows unlike what sp say for ccminer, i want it to works correctly on both Wink

IMO, SSE or AVX implementation should only be imported if there is more than 20% improvement, and if the code doesnt break windows or linux support. (can be hard with VStudio not supporting ASM in x64 mode) but they have low level instructions for AVX (seen in nicehash axiom project)

your way to copy the scan_hash functions is correct, we can tune the -march flag then in the Makefile.am (like what is made in ccminer) Its the same in vstudio, an unit can be optimized specifically for AVX

just... check my linux branch, i made a big change in the way the work structure is passed to these functions. It was already required by some algos (like ZR5), and this method seems better for the future

Breaking Windows support is NOT breaking VS support. FUCK Visual Studio. For C, it's a worthless piece of trash. Cross compile or native compile using GCC. Or ANYTHING THE FUCK ELSE.

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1016


View Profile
January 17, 2016, 06:16:27 PM
 #64

Thanks for the explanations, i plan indeed to include argon2 algo in a near future. but first i need to tag the 1.2 (which is my linux branch with the --show-diff stuff)

Then i need to rebase my multi pool branch in the next version.

Sorry if i was a bit "direct" in my answer. Ive read your posts this week and didnt see any source until today Wink

You are welcome on the project. I already know (at least a part) of these SSE implementations, seen in Ig0tik projects... But for me it was not stable enough to be imported. I want to keep at least VStudio and MinGW compatibility, im not focused on linux or windows unlike what sp say for ccminer, i want it to works correctly on both Wink

IMO, SSE or AVX implementation should only be imported if there is more than 20% improvement, and if the code doesnt break windows or linux support. (can be hard with VStudio not supporting ASM in x64 mode) but they have low level instructions for AVX (seen in nicehash axiom project)

your way to copy the scan_hash functions is correct, we can tune the -march flag then in the Makefile.am (like what is made in ccminer) Its the same in vstudio, an unit can be optimized specifically for AVX

just... check my linux branch, i made a big change in the way the work structure is passed to these functions. It was already required by some algos (like ZR5), and this method seems better for the future

Breaking Windows support is NOT breaking VS support. FUCK Visual Studio. For C, it's a worthless piece of trash. Cross compile or native compile using GCC. Or ANYTHING THE FUCK ELSE.

Cross compiling for the windows platform? Tell me more. What do you suggest fo native compile mingw? I'm ready to change
gears. My windows compile setup is AFU and have to reset my VM to a previous snapshot so it forgets it ever had VS installed
to OI can reinstll everything from scratch. And just for fun I have to install cuda after VS. A simple way is welcome.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
pallas
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708
Merit: 1083


Black Belt Developer


View Profile
January 17, 2016, 06:34:20 PM
 #65

There is a mingw compiling tutorial into sgminer, I think it should work if you remove the opencl part.

joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1016


View Profile
January 17, 2016, 06:46:56 PM
 #66

There is a mingw compiling tutorial into sgminer, I think it should work if you remove the opencl part.


Thanks I'll start digging.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1016


View Profile
January 17, 2016, 07:04:49 PM
 #67

A name change has been suggested for my fork of cpuminer-multi.

I intended to make it generic which is why I picked cpuminer. However, it was suggested
it would cause confusion with Pooler's version which is still being actively developped.

I am considering cpuminer-jdd or dminer, jminer is taken. I leaning toward cpuminer-jdd
to keep it's ties to the original.

The next release will have the new name and a bump to v3 to avoid confusion with
Pooler who is at v2.

Stay tuned.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
pallas
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708
Merit: 1083


Black Belt Developer


View Profile
January 17, 2016, 07:29:45 PM
 #68

I'd keep the "cpuminer" part of the name, it shows clearly the roots and how the program will work and look.

zTheWolfz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 231
Merit: 150



View Profile
January 17, 2016, 07:37:17 PM
 #69

Anyone mining at a pool or just to there wallets?
I tried NiceHash x11 but get  Stratum authentication failed.
I'll double check my run command line.
Epsylon3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386
Merit: 1075


ccminer/cpuminer developer


View Profile WWW
January 17, 2016, 07:39:53 PM
 #70

cpuminer-opt also Wink

BTC: 1FhDPLPpw18X4srecguG3MxJYe4a1JsZnd - My Projects: ccminer - cpuminer-multi - yiimp - Forum threads : ccminer - cpuminer-multi - yiimp
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1016


View Profile
January 17, 2016, 08:24:30 PM
 #71

cpuminer-opt also Wink

I like it. I don't have a big ego so I don't need my name in it.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
zTheWolfz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 231
Merit: 150



View Profile
January 17, 2016, 08:37:33 PM
 #72

cpuminer-opt also Wink

I like it. I don't have a big ego so I don't need my name in it.
I think there is already one out there with that name.

Some results: only using 4 CPU cores of 8.

Checking CPU compatibility...

Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700HQ CPU @ 2.60GHz

This CPU supports AES_NI, start mining at high speed...

[2016-01-17 14:22:15] Starting Stratum on stratum+tcp://mine.xpool.ca:1131



joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1016


View Profile
January 17, 2016, 08:41:12 PM
 #73

Anyone mining at a pool or just to there wallets?
I tried NiceHash x11 but get  Stratum authentication failed.
I'll double check my run command line.


I've got v2 mining x11 on Nicehash as I write around 88.5 kh/s each thread on my 4790K, low subit rate
though.

Seems like a pool problem, is it still failing?

What's your CPU and what version of the kernel is it running?

Edit: never mind I see it now

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1016


View Profile
January 17, 2016, 08:44:26 PM
 #74

cpuminer-opt also Wink

I like it. I don't have a big ego so I don't need my name in it.
I think there is already one out there with that name.

Some results: only using 4 CPU cores of 8.

Checking CPU compatibility...

Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700HQ CPU @ 2.60GHz

This CPU supports AES_NI, start mining at high speed...

[2016-01-17 14:22:15] Starting Stratum on stratum+tcp://mine.xpool.ca:1131


Awesome. Is that a laptop? Be very carefull about overheating. If you're in the northern
hemisphere go stand in a snow bank with it.

I'll look into cpuminer-opt being taken, I was going to go with it..

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
zTheWolfz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 231
Merit: 150



View Profile
January 17, 2016, 08:50:26 PM
 #75

cpuminer-opt also Wink

I like it. I don't have a big ego so I don't need my name in it.
I think there is already one out there with that name.

Some results: only using 4 CPU cores of 8.

Checking CPU compatibility...

Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700HQ CPU @ 2.60GHz

This CPU supports AES_NI, start mining at high speed...

[2016-01-17 14:22:15] Starting Stratum on stratum+tcp://mine.xpool.ca:1131


Awesome. Is that a laptop? Be very carefull about overheating. If you're in the northern
hemisphere go stand in a snow bank with it.

I'll look into cpuminer-opt being taken, I was going to go with it..

Yes its a laptop why only 4 core are being used. What is your command line so I can check t see my mistake at nicehash?
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1016


View Profile
January 17, 2016, 08:51:04 PM
 #76

cpuminer-opt also Wink

I like it. I don't have a big ego so I don't need my name in it.
I think there is already one out there with that name.

Some results: only using 4 CPU cores of 8.

Checking CPU compatibility...

Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700HQ CPU @ 2.60GHz

This CPU supports AES_NI, start mining at high speed...

[2016-01-17 14:22:15] Starting Stratum on stratum+tcp://mine.xpool.ca:1131


Awesome. Is that a laptop? Be very carefull about overheating. If you're in the northern
hemisphere go stand in a snow bank with it.

I'll look into cpuminer-opt being taken, I was going to go with it..

Edit: It's cool that you can CPU mine in a VM. You can also mine a windows binary on linux using wine.
I'm sorry about the windows delay but I find so much more frustrating and less rewarding.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1016


View Profile
January 17, 2016, 08:54:59 PM
 #77

cpuminer-opt also Wink

I like it. I don't have a big ego so I don't need my name in it.
I think there is already one out there with that name.

Some results: only using 4 CPU cores of 8.

Checking CPU compatibility...

Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700HQ CPU @ 2.60GHz

This CPU supports AES_NI, start mining at high speed...

[2016-01-17 14:22:15] Starting Stratum on stratum+tcp://mine.xpool.ca:1131


Awesome. Is that a laptop? Be very carefull about overheating. If you're in the northern
hemisphere go stand in a snow bank with it.

I'll look into cpuminer-opt being taken, I was going to go with it..

Yes its a laptop why only 4 core are being used. What is your command line so I can check t see my mistake at nicehash?

./cpuminer -a x11 -o stratum+tcp://x11.usa.nicehash.com:3336 ...

Is it hyperthreaded and can you confirm its enabled in the bios the host OS and theguest OS, should be by default.
How many cpus is your VM configured for?

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
pallas
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708
Merit: 1083


Black Belt Developer


View Profile
January 17, 2016, 08:58:05 PM
 #78

Fx-8320

Aes-mi enabled

Starts at about 500 Kh/s then drops to about 420.
Never submits any share :-/

zTheWolfz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 231
Merit: 150



View Profile
January 17, 2016, 09:00:39 PM
 #79

cpuminer-opt also Wink

I like it. I don't have a big ego so I don't need my name in it.
I think there is already one out there with that name.

Some results: only using 4 CPU cores of 8.

Checking CPU compatibility...

Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700HQ CPU @ 2.60GHz

This CPU supports AES_NI, start mining at high speed...

[2016-01-17 14:22:15] Starting Stratum on stratum+tcp://mine.xpool.ca:1131


Awesome. Is that a laptop? Be very carefull about overheating. If you're in the northern
hemisphere go stand in a snow bank with it.

I'll look into cpuminer-opt being taken, I was going to go with it..

Yes its a laptop why only 4 core are being used. What is your command line so I can check t see my mistake at nicehash?

./cpuminer -a x11 -o stratum+tcp://x11.usa.nicehash.com:3336 ...

Is it hyperthreaded and can you confirm its enabled in the bios the host OS and theguest OS, should be by default.
How many cpus is your VM configured for?

That is with your bitcoin address added as user? I have the VM set to 4 cores. Not planing on doing much
mining on this laptop< but its a gaming laptop with a 960m GPU & I can adjust the fan speed. Mid 60c on the temp.
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1016


View Profile
January 17, 2016, 09:04:34 PM
 #80

Fx-8320

Aes-mi enabled

Starts at about 500 Kh/s then drops to about 420.
Never submits any share :-/

What algo? Some take a while for the first share. I tested all supported configurations before
release and it submitted shares for all of them.

The drop in hash rate is a bit concerning though. No other major cpu activity?

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 ... 191 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!