Bitcoin Forum
January 18, 2018, 08:53:30 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 [46] 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 ... 165 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN]: cpuminer-opt v3.7.10, open source optimized multi-algo CPU miner  (Read 390416 times)
hmage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


View Profile
June 20, 2016, 05:53:07 PM
 #901

Please tell me or guide me how i can handle this problem. Thanks!

QEMU supports AES, but by default it shows a minimal subset of CPU features so that the VM can be moved between physical machines and compiled code on one host will run on another host.

Add "-cpu host" to qemu commandline. But beware that the VM will not run properly on another machine that doesn't support same CPU features if you compile anything with "-march" flag.

[EDIT]: Also I don't see KVM enabled. Enable KVM with "-enable-kvm" qemu flag in command line.
1516265610
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516265610

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516265610
Reply with quote  #2

1516265610
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1516265610
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516265610

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516265610
Reply with quote  #2

1516265610
Report to moderator
1516265610
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516265610

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516265610
Reply with quote  #2

1516265610
Report to moderator
thanhhx
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
June 21, 2016, 12:10:20 AM
 #902

Please tell me or guide me how i can handle this problem. Thanks!

QEMU supports AES, but by default it shows a minimal subset of CPU features so that the VM can be moved between physical machines and compiled code on one host will run on another host.

Add "-cpu host" to qemu commandline. But beware that the VM will not run properly on another machine that doesn't support same CPU features if you compile anything with "-march" flag.

[EDIT]: Also I don't see KVM enabled. Enable KVM with "-enable-kvm" qemu flag in command line.

I don't understand what you're saying. Please guide more detailed.

I tried running the command: qemu -enable-kvm
Code:
qemu -enable-kvm
The program 'qemu' can be found in the following packages:
 * qemu-system-arm
 * qemu-system-mips
 * qemu-system-misc
 * qemu-system-ppc
 * qemu-system-sparc
 * qemu-system-x86
Try: apt-get install <selected package>

I installed the packages: qemu-system-arm qemu-system-mips qemu-system-misc qemu-system-ppc qemu-system-sparc qemu-system-x86 qemu qemu-system
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


View Profile
June 21, 2016, 01:33:39 AM
 #903



I don't understand what you're saying. Please guide more detailed.


You need to explain more about what you are doing.

Principal developer of cpuminer-opt, the optimized multi-algo CPU miner.
BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
thanhhx
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
June 21, 2016, 03:52:54 AM
 #904



I don't understand what you're saying. Please guide more detailed.


You need to explain more about what you are doing.

I sent a message to you. Please check it.
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


View Profile
June 21, 2016, 04:55:26 AM
 #905

I don't understand what you're saying. Please guide more detailed.
You need to explain more about what you are doing.
I sent a message to you. Please check it.

I replied to your message.

Your first post included CPU info that indicated you are using QEMU. Please describe the configuration of your PC
and how you are using QEMU to compile cpuminer-opt.

If you don't understand what I am asking maybe you can find some way to translate to vietnamese.

Principal developer of cpuminer-opt, the optimized multi-algo CPU miner.
BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
AngryDwarf
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
June 23, 2016, 08:02:03 AM
 #906

Superb work. Some algo's on my ageing CPU are almost half an ageing GPU.

Don't know whether it's possible to report the actual CPU frequency rather than the default CPU frequency in the stats. Some people are probably wondering how I get so much hash out of my CPU! (It's OC'd to 4.6 GHz).

You really should look at getting this onto github. It's quite simple to use. I'd suggest the following:
Create a github account and install git (sudo apt-get install git).
Fork the original source code using the web front end
Clone the fork into a new directory. (git clone <repo>)
Copy your code over the cloned fork code.
Submit the changes. (git commit -n "comment", I think)
Push the changes to github. (git push with a couple of parameters)

It's also easy to track changes made to the original and integrate them after that.

Expect a star from me! Smiley

Scaling and transaction rate: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=532.msg6306#msg6306
Do not allow demand to exceed capacity. Do not allow mempools to forget transactions. Relay all transactions. Eventually confirm all transactions.
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


View Profile
June 23, 2016, 01:34:41 PM
 #907

Superb work. Some algo's on my ageing CPU are almost half an ageing GPU.

Don't know whether it's possible to report the actual CPU frequency rather than the default CPU frequency in the stats. Some people are probably wondering how I get so much hash out of my CPU! (It's OC'd to 4.6 GHz).

You really should look at getting this onto github. It's quite simple to use. I'd suggest the following:
Create a github account and install git (sudo apt-get install git).
Fork the original source code using the web front end
Clone the fork into a new directory. (git clone <repo>)
Copy your code over the cloned fork code.
Submit the changes. (git commit -n "comment", I think)
Push the changes to github. (git push with a couple of parameters)

It's also easy to track changes made to the original and integrate them after that.

Expect a star from me! Smiley

Thanks for the tips.

I agree with CPU freq. Simply displaying the default freq is of no use, it just happens to be part of the brand string.
I'm sure the actual freq can be found, the code may already exist.

About github, I presume your suggestion to fork the original cpuminer-multi is to maintain its history, this is a good thing.
I wanted to wait until the development slowed down so I wouldn't be trying to  learn github while trying to fix bugs in cpuminer.

Now may be a good time to dig into it. I need to play in a sandbox for a while before I comit to it.

Principal developer of cpuminer-opt, the optimized multi-algo CPU miner.
BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
AngryDwarf
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
June 23, 2016, 03:53:03 PM
 #908

Superb work. Some algo's on my ageing CPU are almost half an ageing GPU.

Don't know whether it's possible to report the actual CPU frequency rather than the default CPU frequency in the stats. Some people are probably wondering how I get so much hash out of my CPU! (It's OC'd to 4.6 GHz).

You really should look at getting this onto github. It's quite simple to use. I'd suggest the following:
Create a github account and install git (sudo apt-get install git).
Fork the original source code using the web front end
Clone the fork into a new directory. (git clone <repo>)
Copy your code over the cloned fork code.
Submit the changes. (git commit -n "comment", I think)
Push the changes to github. (git push with a couple of parameters)

It's also easy to track changes made to the original and integrate them after that.

Expect a star from me! Smiley

Thanks for the tips.

I agree with CPU freq. Simply displaying the default freq is of no use, it just happens to be part of the brand string.
I'm sure the actual freq can be found, the code may already exist.

About github, I presume your suggestion to fork the original cpuminer-multi is to maintain its history, this is a good thing.
I wanted to wait until the development slowed down so I wouldn't be trying to  learn github while trying to fix bugs in cpuminer.

Now may be a good time to dig into it. I need to play in a sandbox for a while before I comit to it.

github not to hard to learn, at its basics. Original developer might be terse and not open for discussion. Which is not good for a serial forker.

Scaling and transaction rate: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=532.msg6306#msg6306
Do not allow demand to exceed capacity. Do not allow mempools to forget transactions. Relay all transactions. Eventually confirm all transactions.
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


View Profile
June 24, 2016, 05:30:24 PM
 #909

Superb work. Some algo's on my ageing CPU are almost half an ageing GPU.

Don't know whether it's possible to report the actual CPU frequency rather than the default CPU frequency in the stats. Some people are probably wondering how I get so much hash out of my CPU! (It's OC'd to 4.6 GHz).
Thanks for the tips.

I agree with CPU freq. Simply displaying the default freq is of no use, it just happens to be part of the brand string.
I'm sure the actual freq can be found, the code may already exist.

CPU freq is not so simple. It can be read diectly from the /sys/ or /proc/ file systems on Linux but I don't know of an API
for Windows.

Using /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/cpuinfo_cur_freq would be preferred because it returns a simple numeric string.
But it is root access only.

/proc/cpuinfo is accessible and also includes the CPU freq but it needs to be filtered from two pages of output.

This will require more thought and more work.

Principal developer of cpuminer-opt, the optimized multi-algo CPU miner.
BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
Epsylon3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


ccminer/cpuminer developer


View Profile WWW
June 24, 2016, 08:22:51 PM
 #910

yep the only reliable way found was dmidecode | grep MHz Wink

found no way on windows to get the freq and the temperature :/ it seems to require some low level drivers to access some protected asm

BTC: 1FhDPLPpw18X4srecguG3MxJYe4a1JsZnd - My Projects: ccminer - cpuminer-multi - yiimp - Forum threads : ccminer - cpuminer-multi - yiimp
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


View Profile
July 14, 2016, 04:49:55 PM
 #911

cpuminer-opt v3.3.7 released.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0lVSGQYLJIZc0x3V2JPUXhPLWs/view?usp=sharing

- lyra2 AES optimized +7%
- small increase, ~1%, in most chained algos (x11, quark, lyra2v2, etc)
- lyra2v2 now reported as AES optimized
- added a decimal place to the accepted rate percentage if less than 100%

Windows binaries:

http://cryptomining-blog.com/wp-content/download/cpuminer-opt-3-3-7-windows.zip

Principal developer of cpuminer-opt, the optimized multi-algo CPU miner.
BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile WWW
July 19, 2016, 04:23:16 AM
 #912

hi joblo,

it seems decred (and maybe other algos?) generate 100% rejected on nicehash with the following error:
"reject reason: Invalid extranonce2 size."

is this a bug?

br

Epsylon3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


ccminer/cpuminer developer


View Profile WWW
July 19, 2016, 09:44:19 AM
 #913

nicehash is using its own protocol. Even if it looks correct, i think its not better and might create problems on future blockchain votes.

My implementation was accepted/reviewed by the decred team, they have seen the vote problem (the last bit of the vote field should never be changed by the miner, and blocks will not be accepted by "proper" pools)
First i thought it was always 1 but it can be 0 too. its a small thing but could be important later.

Nicehash made a different one without contacting decred team

Else for multi gpus, my initial protocol seems better/easier to handle

BTC: 1FhDPLPpw18X4srecguG3MxJYe4a1JsZnd - My Projects: ccminer - cpuminer-multi - yiimp - Forum threads : ccminer - cpuminer-multi - yiimp
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


View Profile
July 19, 2016, 02:58:04 PM
 #914

hi joblo,

it seems decred (and maybe other algos?) generate 100% rejected on nicehash with the following error:
"reject reason: Invalid extranonce2 size."

is this a bug?

br

Thanks for reporting this. It appears to be specific to decred and nicehash. I will look into this and do a round of testing
on nicehash to confirm only decred is broken. I'm not very motivated to implement a workaround if it only applies to one
algo in one pool.

I should also point out that decred, and other blake algos, are the worst performing algos for CPU mining.

In summary this is a very low priority issue.

Principal developer of cpuminer-opt, the optimized multi-algo CPU miner.
BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


View Profile
July 19, 2016, 08:50:46 PM
 #915

I can confirm that mining decred at nicehash is broken yet it works at zpool. I have also found some of the
other blake based algos are broken at nicehash.

I will have to do some more investigation.

Principal developer of cpuminer-opt, the optimized multi-algo CPU miner.
BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
Epsylon3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


ccminer/cpuminer developer


View Profile WWW
July 19, 2016, 08:59:36 PM
 #916

i heard skein2 too Wink

BTC: 1FhDPLPpw18X4srecguG3MxJYe4a1JsZnd - My Projects: ccminer - cpuminer-multi - yiimp - Forum threads : ccminer - cpuminer-multi - yiimp
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


View Profile
July 19, 2016, 09:28:02 PM
 #917

i heard skein2 too Wink

Yup, I broke that in 3.3.7. I knew that one of my optimizations would break it but forgot to follow up.
I had removed the automatic ctx init in the close function of all sph algos because it was unnecessary
in most cases. But it is needed in algos like skein2 that run the same algo multiple times. I simply forgot
to add an explicit init before the second skein round.


Principal developer of cpuminer-opt, the optimized multi-algo CPU miner.
BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2016, 04:20:38 PM
 #918

thanks for looking into it, yes its a low prio issue, maybe its fixed in some future release Smiley

felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2016, 04:26:58 PM
 #919

i stumbled upon this as i was running some benchmark with nicehash for my cpu autoswitching miner control software (which uses cpuminer-opt)

felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile WWW
July 21, 2016, 10:38:41 PM
 #920

is there a way to statically build/link the miner (linux) ?

i wasn't able to get it running

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 [46] 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 ... 165 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!