Bitcoin Forum
July 17, 2018, 07:48:40 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 [48] 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 ... 191 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN]: cpuminer-opt v3.8.8.1, open source optimized multi-algo CPU miner  (Read 411354 times)
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1016


View Profile
August 01, 2016, 01:01:07 AM
 #941

cpuminer-opt v3.3.9 released with hodl optimizations from optiminer.

source: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0lVSGQYLJIZVjBTbkNSU0d6X0k/view?usp=sharing

Windows binaries courtesy cryptomining Blog:
TBD

New in v3.3.9:

- Hodl algo AVX2 optimized 218%, AVX2 is available on Haswell and newer CPUs
- minor bug fixes and enhancements

Hodl algo has seperate optimizations for CPUs with AES, AES + AVX, AES + AVX + AVX2 and without AES.
Each CPU should compile the appropriate hodl optimizations for its architecture, however, this release
has not been tested on all architectures. Due to code changes affecting each one differently there
is a greater chance of undiscovered bugs. Please report any problems and include your CPU model,
compile options, ie -march=, compile errors if any, and CPU capabilities check when cpuminer starts.

In spite of the fact hodlcoin appears to be dying hodl algo can be mined at Nicehash and EuropeCoin can be
mined an Suprnova.

All credit for these hodl optimizations go to optiminer:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1317918.msg15768475#msg15768475

Edit: I'm also interested in performance of hodl on different CPU architectures. AVX2 should provide the best
improvement on Haswell and newer CPUs, AVX should improve Sandybridge and Ivybridge, and older CPUs will likely
see no improvement. AMD is as mystery to me.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
August 01, 2016, 10:00:01 AM
 #942

@joblo hodl improvements on amd:

- A10-6800K from ~60-70 to ~105
- FX-8320E from ~90-100 to ~195

intel:

- Xeon E3-1265Lv2 from ~120 to ~250

to come (Windows):

- A6-6400K
- i5-3330

br

joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1016


View Profile
August 01, 2016, 01:11:27 PM
 #943

@joblo hodl improvements on amd:

- A10-6800K from ~60-70 to ~105
- FX-8320E from ~90-100 to ~195

intel:

- Xeon E3-1265Lv2 from ~120 to ~250

to come (Windows):

- A6-6400K
- i5-3330

br

Thanks for testing. It's good to have confirmation it works on other architectures.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
ReiMomo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475
Merit: 252



View Profile
August 01, 2016, 08:07:47 PM
 #944

Do you think is possible to make Lyra2RE to mine on AVX2? That will compete with the newest Nvidia cards.


 ▄████████████████████▄
 ▀████████████████████▀


       ▄▄██████▄▄          ████        ████
    ▄██████████████▄       █████       ████
  ▄█████▀▀    ▀▀█████▄     ██████      ████
 ▄████▀          ▀████▄    ███████     ████      ▄▄█████▄▄
 ████              ████    ████████    ████    ▄███████████▄
████                ████   ████ ████   ████   ▄████▀   ▀████▄
████                ████   ████  ████  ████   ████       ████
████                ████   ████   ████ ████   ███████████████
 ████              ████    ████    ████████   ████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
 ▀████▄          ▄████▀    ████     ███████   ████▄      ▄█▄▄
  ▀█████▄▄    ▄▄█████▀     ████      ██████   ▀█████▄▄▄▄████▀
    ▀██████████████▀       ████       █████    ▀███████████▀
       ▀▀██████▀▀          ████        ████      ▀▀█████▀▀
████    ██
  ████    ██
    ████    ██
      ████    ██
        ████    ██
          ████    ██
          ████    ██
        ████    ██
      ████    ██
    ████    ██
  ████    ██
████    ██

████
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
████

    ██
    ██
█  ██  █
█  ██  █
█  ██  █
█  ██  █
█  ██  █
█  ██  █
    ██
    ██

████
    ██
    ██
    ██
    ██
    ██
    ██
    ██
    ██
████
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1016


View Profile
August 01, 2016, 08:25:48 PM
 #945

Do you think is possible to make Lyra2RE to mine on AVX2? That will compete with the newest Nvidia cards.

Anything is possible but it would take a complete redesign of the miner engine and every algorithm to be able to process
multiple streams per thread to achieve parallelism. Each CPU thread would process multiple streams in parallel
instead of just one. Hodl was unique in that it lends itself to parallel processing within a single thread so it didn't
require a major design change.

The effort required would outweigh any benefits.

BTW, do you know which coin uses Lyra2RE?

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
JarBinks
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 143
Merit: 100



View Profile
August 01, 2016, 08:42:02 PM
 #946

Please direct me to somewhere else if this has already been answered.

I have a 32 core machine and I only want to use 16, easy enough -t 16.
But that loads up 1 processor and it runs hot, I would prefer to use half of the cores on each processor, every other would be perfect.

In comes the --cpu-affinity, which I cannot figure out.
I tried:
  --cpu-affinity 2863311530 and it seems to ignore it.
  --cpu-affinity and no -t but it just used all cores.
  --cpu-affinity AAAAAAAA and everything was moved to processor 2 (At least it did something)
 
I am probably just being a stupid human!

ReiMomo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475
Merit: 252



View Profile
August 01, 2016, 08:47:39 PM
 #947

Do you think is possible to make Lyra2RE to mine on AVX2? That will compete with the newest Nvidia cards.

Anything is possible but it would take a complete redesign of the miner engine and every algorithm to be able to process
multiple streams per thread to achieve parallelism. Each CPU thread would process multiple streams in parallel
instead of just one. Hodl was unique in that it lends itself to parallel processing within a single thread so it didn't
require a major design change.

The effort required would outweigh any benefits.

BTW, do you know which coin uses Lyra2RE?

There is Crypto [CTO], but Nice Hash seems to mine something else that have a different block number and higher difficulty. The other day their GUI was showing me 90 cents at .730 MH/s, today shows 41 cents.


 ▄████████████████████▄
 ▀████████████████████▀


       ▄▄██████▄▄          ████        ████
    ▄██████████████▄       █████       ████
  ▄█████▀▀    ▀▀█████▄     ██████      ████
 ▄████▀          ▀████▄    ███████     ████      ▄▄█████▄▄
 ████              ████    ████████    ████    ▄███████████▄
████                ████   ████ ████   ████   ▄████▀   ▀████▄
████                ████   ████  ████  ████   ████       ████
████                ████   ████   ████ ████   ███████████████
 ████              ████    ████    ████████   ████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
 ▀████▄          ▄████▀    ████     ███████   ████▄      ▄█▄▄
  ▀█████▄▄    ▄▄█████▀     ████      ██████   ▀█████▄▄▄▄████▀
    ▀██████████████▀       ████       █████    ▀███████████▀
       ▀▀██████▀▀          ████        ████      ▀▀█████▀▀
████    ██
  ████    ██
    ████    ██
      ████    ██
        ████    ██
          ████    ██
          ████    ██
        ████    ██
      ████    ██
    ████    ██
  ████    ██
████    ██

████
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
████

    ██
    ██
█  ██  █
█  ██  █
█  ██  █
█  ██  █
█  ██  █
█  ██  █
    ██
    ██

████
    ██
    ██
    ██
    ██
    ██
    ██
    ██
    ██
████
felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
August 01, 2016, 10:27:16 PM
 #948

there always is VertCoin (VTC) using Lyra2re, might be that?

joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1016


View Profile
August 01, 2016, 10:48:36 PM
 #949

there always is VertCoin (VTC) using Lyra2re, might be that?

VTC and all the others converted to Lyra2REv2. CTO seems to still use Lyra2RE but appears to have been abandoned
by its devs. I wonder what all those orders at Nicehash are about.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
August 02, 2016, 07:40:42 AM
 #950

oh indeed

clipto
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 94
Merit: 10

Presale Live!


View Profile
August 02, 2016, 11:17:26 AM
 #951

Its monacoin (well, thats what I think)

sp_
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1040

Ccminer developer


View Profile
August 02, 2016, 11:32:55 AM
 #952

Maybe it's the new Vertcoin classic and the monacoin classic? (Old fork's brought back to life?)
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1016


View Profile
August 02, 2016, 12:55:12 PM
 #953

Maybe it's the new Vertcoin classic and the monacoin classic? (Old fork's brought back to life?)

Interesting speculation but I find no evidence of it.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
johnsmithx
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 507

I don't buy nor sell anything here and never will.


View Profile
August 02, 2016, 01:28:15 PM
 #954

Coincidentally Nicehash's Lyra2RE stopped working for me since the weekend, I am getting "stratum_recv_line failed" from all 4 (usa,eu,hk,jp) of their servers. Can anybody please check it because I am going crazy:

cpuminer -a lyra2re -o stratum+tcp://lyra2re.usa.nicehash.com:3342

My list of 44(+1) reviewed Bitcoin forks | You don't have to download the pre-fork blockchain again for each fork! | Beware of fraudulent AWS accounts sellers and dangerous edu AWS codes! + My personal list of legit sellers and scammers | Never publicly reveal your btc addresses, ownership or any other details and stay very far away from anybody who asks you to! | The general rule of safe buying is: if the seller is a newbie, with no reputation, with no topic nor trust feedback, offering no vouches and/or selling from a locked or self-moderated topic and unwilling to go first or use escrow => AVOID. Always check the trust feedback first and make sure that you have enabled "Show untrusted feedback by default" in "Profile / Forum Profile Information".
felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
August 02, 2016, 02:30:51 PM
 #955

it works for me, but i had a similar problem when i pointed multiple miners to nicehash, asked support, they block your address if more then a dozen ip's connect to their service for this address
if thats the case, use multiple addresses for each location

felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
August 02, 2016, 02:38:42 PM
 #956

@joblo just ran the test for windows:

- i5-3330 from ~60-70 to ~210
- A6-6400K from ~40 to ~60


amd overall not that impressive Cheesy

pallas
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708
Merit: 1083


Black Belt Developer


View Profile
August 02, 2016, 02:42:14 PM
 #957

kinda botnet detector

joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1016


View Profile
August 02, 2016, 04:13:08 PM
 #958

@joblo just ran the test for windows:

- i5-3330 from ~60-70 to ~210
- A6-6400K from ~40 to ~60


amd overall not that impressive Cheesy

Did you compile yourself? I haven't seen CMB post their bins yet.

The A6 is not a real CPU, kinda like Celerons. Since they are new you would think they have all the
technology but they don't. They have some new tech, but not all so it's difficult to find an optimum
pre-compiled build.

Some AMD users that have compiled their own have found better performance by specifying the -march
directly instead of -march=native.

On a tangent I'm curious about the mining performance of the A6's IGPU. The CPU alone is weak but CPU+IGPU
might make up for it.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
johnsmithx
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 507

I don't buy nor sell anything here and never will.


View Profile
August 02, 2016, 04:14:22 PM
 #959

it works for me, but i had a similar problem when i pointed multiple miners to nicehash, asked support, they block your address if more then a dozen ip's connect to their service for this address
if thats the case, use multiple addresses for each location

Yes you are absolutely right, I figured that they probably block IPs. I think I will try to install a stratum proxy on a clear IP, then all my nodes will connect to the proxy and only the proxy will make one single connection to Nicehash.

Btw if anyone is interested, here I made a simple one-liner to test all Nicehash's ports on all their IPs (requires netcat => apt-get install netcat):

Code:
for port in $(seq 3333 3354); do echo "port $port"; for ip in 37.58.117.214 159.8.42.123 159.253.151.98 198.11.195.136 192.155.218.242 119.81.240.198 161.202.120.197; do echo -n " $ip: "; result=$(echo '{"id": 1, "method": "mining.subscribe", "params": ["cpuminer-multi/1.3-dev"]}' | nc -w 2 $ip $port); [ -n "$result" ] && echo $result || echo "no response"; done; echo; done

Nicehash is the only one I found where I can mine Lyra2RE, it seems to be way most profitable CPU algo. I mine ether on GPUs and Lyra2RE on CPUs. I guess everybody else is just leaving all their CPUs idle when they mine with GPUs  Huh Mining Lyra2RE makes 20-25% additional profit on my machines.

My list of 44(+1) reviewed Bitcoin forks | You don't have to download the pre-fork blockchain again for each fork! | Beware of fraudulent AWS accounts sellers and dangerous edu AWS codes! + My personal list of legit sellers and scammers | Never publicly reveal your btc addresses, ownership or any other details and stay very far away from anybody who asks you to! | The general rule of safe buying is: if the seller is a newbie, with no reputation, with no topic nor trust feedback, offering no vouches and/or selling from a locked or self-moderated topic and unwilling to go first or use escrow => AVOID. Always check the trust feedback first and make sure that you have enabled "Show untrusted feedback by default" in "Profile / Forum Profile Information".
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1016


View Profile
August 02, 2016, 04:18:53 PM
 #960

it works for me, but i had a similar problem when i pointed multiple miners to nicehash, asked support, they block your address if more then a dozen ip's connect to their service for this address
if thats the case, use multiple addresses for each location

Seems a little harsh, they should only block multiple IPs using the same BTC addr simultaneously. If all miners have
the same IP it's a farm not a botnet.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 [48] 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 ... 191 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!