Bitcoin Forum
January 18, 2018, 08:53:09 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 ... 165 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN]: cpuminer-opt v3.7.10, open source optimized multi-algo CPU miner  (Read 390416 times)
Roolieman
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53


View Profile
June 03, 2016, 06:20:00 AM
 #761

sry just saw it on the first page.

Westmere Xeon E5649 now works fine, 2 CPU's are throwing ~700kH/s (using cpuminer.exe)

Sandybridge build on i5-2500K gets ~250kH/s

Older Xeon's E5540 (Gainestown) with only SSE2 support are starting miner but crashes every time after receiving first data (using cpuminer.exe)

Checking CPU capatibility...
        Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU           E5540  @ 2.53GHz
   CPU arch supports AES-AVX...NO.
   CPU arch supports SSE2.....YES.
YES.
Starting mining without AES-AVX optimizations...


Thank you for your testing, the crash of Gainstown is expected because it has no AES whatsoever. This proves
the Westmere build is not compatible with core2, another significant data point.

cpuminer-opt does work on core2 on linux (all algos) and Windows (all except hodl). This I have tested. You will
either have to compile your own with -march=native or ask CMB to do it for you.

Can you post the capabilities check results from the Westmere CPUs?


Here you go, Westmere capabilities check:

Checking CPU capatibility...
        Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU           E5649  @ 2.53GHz
   CPU arch supports AES-AVX...YES.
   SW built for AES-AVX........YES.
   Algo supports AES-AVX.......YES.
Start mining with AES-AVX optimizations...

[2016-06-02 23:18:22] Starting Stratum on stratum+tcp://xre.suprnova.cc:2114
[2016-06-02 23:18:22] 24 miner threads started, using 'x11evo' algorithm.

1516265589
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516265589

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516265589
Reply with quote  #2

1516265589
Report to moderator
1516265589
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516265589

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516265589
Reply with quote  #2

1516265589
Report to moderator
1516265589
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516265589

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516265589
Reply with quote  #2

1516265589
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1516265589
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516265589

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516265589
Reply with quote  #2

1516265589
Report to moderator
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


View Profile
June 03, 2016, 07:08:59 AM
 #762


Here you go, Westmere capabilities check:

Checking CPU capatibility...
        Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU           E5649  @ 2.53GHz
   CPU arch supports AES-AVX...YES.
   SW built for AES-AVX........YES.
   Algo supports AES-AVX.......YES.
Start mining with AES-AVX optimizations...

[2016-06-02 23:18:22] Starting Stratum on stratum+tcp://xre.suprnova.cc:2114
[2016-06-02 23:18:22] 24 miner threads started, using 'x11evo' algorithm.


Thanks, more good info.

Based on the current implementation of the capabilities check, the fact the miner didn't crash
and the hash rate you're getting I believe you are mining with AES on that Westmere.

That changes things. I'm going to have to review previous data to see if it is consistent with this
new data. I'll also wait for more new data from other users.

Principal developer of cpuminer-opt, the optimized multi-algo CPU miner.
BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
Epsylon3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


ccminer/cpuminer developer


View Profile WWW
June 03, 2016, 07:14:07 AM
 #763

whitespace cleaner tool

Code:
alias trimfile="sed -r 's~[[:space:]]+\$~~g' -i"

BTC: 1FhDPLPpw18X4srecguG3MxJYe4a1JsZnd - My Projects: ccminer - cpuminer-multi - yiimp - Forum threads : ccminer - cpuminer-multi - yiimp
NeuroticFish
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1372


Please use SegWit


View Profile
June 03, 2016, 09:40:29 AM
 #764

Thanks for your fix, but it's still not working.



I get this and then crash. It's the same for nist5 and cryptonight.

.BITSLER.                 ▄███
               ▄████▀
             ▄████▀
           ▄████▀  ▄██▄
         ▄████▀    ▀████▄
       ▄████▀        ▀████▄
     ▄████▀            ▀████▄
   ▄████▀                ▀████▄
 ▄████▀ ▄████▄      ▄████▄ ▀████▄
█████   ██████      ██████   █████
 ▀████▄ ▀████▀      ▀████▀ ▄████▀
   ▀████▄                ▄████▀
     ▀████▄            ▄████▀
       ▀████▄        ▄████▀
         ▀████▄    ▄████▀
           ▀████▄▄████▀
             ▀██████▀
               ▀▀▀▀
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄            
▄▄▄▄▀▀▀▀    ▄▄█▄▄ ▀▀▄         
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄      
█  ▀▄▄  ▀█▀▀ ▄      ▀████   ▀▀▄   
█ █▄  ▀▄   ▀████       ▀▀ ▄██▄ ▀▀▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
█  ▀▀       ▀▄▄ ▀████      ▄▄▄▀▀▀  █
█            ▄ ▀▄    ▄▄▄▀▀▀   ▄▄  █
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
█ ▄▄   ███   ▀██  █           ▀▀  █ 
█ ███  ▀██       █        ▄▄      █ 
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀  
▀▄            █        ▀▀      █  
▀▀▄   ███▄  █   ▄▄          █   
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀    
▀▀▄   █   ▀▀▄▄▄▀▀▀         
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█▄▄▀▀▀▀              
              ▄▄▄██████▄▄▄
          ▄▄████████████████▄▄
        ▄██████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██████▄
▄     ▄█████▀             ▀█████▄
██▄▄ █████▀                ▀█████
 ████████            ▄██      █████
  ████████▄         ███▀       ████▄
  █████████▀▀     ▄███▀        █████
   █▀▀▀          █████         █████
     ▄▄▄         ████          █████
   █████          ▀▀           ████▀
    █████                     █████
     █████▄                 ▄█████
      ▀█████▄             ▄█████▀
        ▀██████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██████▀
          ▀▀████████████████▀▀
              ▀▀▀██████▀▀▀
            ▄▄▄███████▄▄▄
         ▄█▀▀▀ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ▀▀▀█▄
       █▀▀ ▄█████████████▄ ▀▀█
     █▀▀ ███████████████████ ▀▀█
    █▀ ███████████████████████ ▀█
   █▀ ███████████████▀▀ ███████ ▀█
 ▄█▀ ██████████████▀      ▀█████ ▀█▄
███ ███████████▀▀            ▀▀██ ███
███ ███████▀▀                     ███
███ ▀▀▀▀                          ███
▀██▄                             ▄██▀
  ▀█▄                            ▀▀
    █▄       █▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█
     █▄      ▀█████████▀
      ▀█▄      ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
        ▀▀█▄▄  ▄▄▄
            ▀▀█████
[]
Epsylon3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


ccminer/cpuminer developer


View Profile WWW
June 03, 2016, 10:11:21 AM
 #765

Your build doesnt look like the current git..

Code:
         **********  cpuminer-opt 3.3.4  ***********
...
Checking compatibility of this cpuminer and CPU (      Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1245 V2 @ 3.40GHz)
   cpuminer expects SSE2:           YES.
   cpuminer expects AES:            YES.
   cpuminer expects AVX:            YES.
   CPU supports SSE2:               YES.
   CPU supports AES:                YES.
   CPU supports AVX:                YES.
   requested algo supports AES+AVX: YES.
[2016-06-03 12:07:29] Starting Stratum on stratum+tcp://pwr.suprnova.cc:4242
[2016-06-03 12:07:29] 8 miner threads started, using 'nist5' algorithm.
[2016-06-03 12:07:32] Stratum difficulty set to 0.00390625
[2016-06-03 12:07:32] pwr.suprnova.cc:4242 nist5 block 20459
...
[2016-06-03 12:09:44] CPU #7: 3423.36 kH, 189.56 kH/s
[2016-06-03 12:09:44] accepted: 10/10 (100%), 35.45 MH, 1500.14 kH/s yes!
[2016-06-03 12:10:04] pwr.suprnova.cc:4242 nist5 block 20464

BTC: 1FhDPLPpw18X4srecguG3MxJYe4a1JsZnd - My Projects: ccminer - cpuminer-multi - yiimp - Forum threads : ccminer - cpuminer-multi - yiimp
USScrypto
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490

https://nucleus.vision/


View Profile
June 03, 2016, 10:47:39 AM
 #766

Nahalem CPUs like the i7 920 do NOT have AES supprot...

ljglug
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 152


View Profile
June 03, 2016, 10:51:10 AM
 #767

 xeon e5 2670 X2 @361K  HMQ1725

This speed is not abnormal?

joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


View Profile
June 03, 2016, 12:59:22 PM
 #768

Thanks for your fix, but it's still not working.



I get this and then crash. It's the same for nist5 and cryptonight.

Thank you very much. This is important information. As mentioned in a subsequent post
your CPU actually uses the nehalem compile arch, the westmere build is incompatible.

This solves part of the mystery. There are two compile targets for 1st generation corei CPUs,
Nehalem which will not run the miners' AES code, and Westmere which will.

CMB has chosen to only support the AES optimizations with their binaries. I'm not sure why considering
the apparent interest, particularly with nehalem.

I continue to encourage Windows users to compile their own. That is always the best way

Principal developer of cpuminer-opt, the optimized multi-algo CPU miner.
BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
hmage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


View Profile
June 03, 2016, 01:03:09 PM
 #769

These flags are used in best_cpu_feature function.

That function isn't used anywhere. It's safe to delete it.
hmage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


View Profile
June 03, 2016, 01:07:29 PM
 #770

whitespace cleaner tool

Code:
alias trimfile="sed -r 's~[[:space:]]+\$~~g' -i"

To keep merge compatibility with joblo's google-drive dumps, I don't touch much. Cleaning up whitespace without joblo doing it in upstream will result in a lot of merge conflicts.
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


View Profile
June 03, 2016, 01:08:41 PM
 #771

xeon e5 2670 X2 @361K  HMQ1725

This speed is not abnormal?

Yes.

Principal developer of cpuminer-opt, the optimized multi-algo CPU miner.
BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


View Profile
June 03, 2016, 01:13:10 PM
 #772

whitespace cleaner tool

Code:
alias trimfile="sed -r 's~[[:space:]]+\$~~g' -i"

To keep merge compatibility with joblo's google-drive dumps, I don't touch much. Cleaning up whitespace without joblo doing it in upstream will result in a lot of merge conflicts.

What's the intended purpose? Whitespace is good.

Principal developer of cpuminer-opt, the optimized multi-algo CPU miner.
BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
hmage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


View Profile
June 03, 2016, 02:02:05 PM
 #773

whitespace cleaner tool

Code:
alias trimfile="sed -r 's~[[:space:]]+\$~~g' -i"

To keep merge compatibility with joblo's google-drive dumps, I don't touch much. Cleaning up whitespace without joblo doing it in upstream will result in a lot of merge conflicts.

What's the intended purpose? Whitespace is good.

Whitespace is good. Endspace at end of lines is not good. http://vim.wikia.com/wiki/Remove_unwanted_spaces
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


View Profile
June 03, 2016, 02:16:46 PM
 #774

whitespace cleaner tool

Code:
alias trimfile="sed -r 's~[[:space:]]+\$~~g' -i"

To keep merge compatibility with joblo's google-drive dumps, I don't touch much. Cleaning up whitespace without joblo doing it in upstream will result in a lot of merge conflicts.

What's the intended purpose? Whitespace is good.

Whitespace is good. Endspace at end of lines is not good. http://vim.wikia.com/wiki/Remove_unwanted_spaces

So that command will only strip trailing whitespace, ok.

Edit: I ran the sed command on a test file and it did nothing, it didn't strip any whitespace.

Principal developer of cpuminer-opt, the optimized multi-algo CPU miner.
BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
NeuroticFish
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1372


Please use SegWit


View Profile
June 03, 2016, 03:03:51 PM
 #775

Thank you very much. This is important information. As mentioned in a subsequent post
your CPU actually uses the nehalem compile arch, the westmere build is incompatible.

This solves part of the mystery. There are two compile targets for 1st generation corei CPUs,
Nehalem which will not run the miners' AES code, and Westmere which will.

For now I don't have the means and time to try my own compile, but whenever I can help with a run/test, just PM me and I'll give is a try.
And you... keep up the good work Smiley ! Thank you.

.BITSLER.                 ▄███
               ▄████▀
             ▄████▀
           ▄████▀  ▄██▄
         ▄████▀    ▀████▄
       ▄████▀        ▀████▄
     ▄████▀            ▀████▄
   ▄████▀                ▀████▄
 ▄████▀ ▄████▄      ▄████▄ ▀████▄
█████   ██████      ██████   █████
 ▀████▄ ▀████▀      ▀████▀ ▄████▀
   ▀████▄                ▄████▀
     ▀████▄            ▄████▀
       ▀████▄        ▄████▀
         ▀████▄    ▄████▀
           ▀████▄▄████▀
             ▀██████▀
               ▀▀▀▀
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄            
▄▄▄▄▀▀▀▀    ▄▄█▄▄ ▀▀▄         
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄      
█  ▀▄▄  ▀█▀▀ ▄      ▀████   ▀▀▄   
█ █▄  ▀▄   ▀████       ▀▀ ▄██▄ ▀▀▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
█  ▀▀       ▀▄▄ ▀████      ▄▄▄▀▀▀  █
█            ▄ ▀▄    ▄▄▄▀▀▀   ▄▄  █
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
█ ▄▄   ███   ▀██  █           ▀▀  █ 
█ ███  ▀██       █        ▄▄      █ 
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀  
▀▄            █        ▀▀      █  
▀▀▄   ███▄  █   ▄▄          █   
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀    
▀▀▄   █   ▀▀▄▄▄▀▀▀         
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█▄▄▀▀▀▀              
              ▄▄▄██████▄▄▄
          ▄▄████████████████▄▄
        ▄██████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██████▄
▄     ▄█████▀             ▀█████▄
██▄▄ █████▀                ▀█████
 ████████            ▄██      █████
  ████████▄         ███▀       ████▄
  █████████▀▀     ▄███▀        █████
   █▀▀▀          █████         █████
     ▄▄▄         ████          █████
   █████          ▀▀           ████▀
    █████                     █████
     █████▄                 ▄█████
      ▀█████▄             ▄█████▀
        ▀██████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██████▀
          ▀▀████████████████▀▀
              ▀▀▀██████▀▀▀
            ▄▄▄███████▄▄▄
         ▄█▀▀▀ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ▀▀▀█▄
       █▀▀ ▄█████████████▄ ▀▀█
     █▀▀ ███████████████████ ▀▀█
    █▀ ███████████████████████ ▀█
   █▀ ███████████████▀▀ ███████ ▀█
 ▄█▀ ██████████████▀      ▀█████ ▀█▄
███ ███████████▀▀            ▀▀██ ███
███ ███████▀▀                     ███
███ ▀▀▀▀                          ███
▀██▄                             ▄██▀
  ▀█▄                            ▀▀
    █▄       █▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█
     █▄      ▀█████████▀
      ▀█▄      ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
        ▀▀█▄▄  ▄▄▄
            ▀▀█████
[]
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


View Profile
June 03, 2016, 04:23:04 PM
 #776

Ok, once more around the block with capabilities checks.

Edit: made some changes and added more examples.

Edit2: changed checking order to all AES variables first. For this quasi-debug release it
wil continue to perform all checks. The production version will only check SSE2 in AES fails.
For the debug release SSE2 support is taken literally but in the production version it will
mean (SSE2 && !AES) to the YES/NO response is more appropriate.

I am trying out a more detailed permissive check that will display all variables used
and hopefuly give an informative message to the user. I hope this balances out the need
for technical info and user-friendliness. The only risk is that the miner will always attempt
to mine and may crash if incompatible.

Here are some examples of the output most users are likely to see. I don't check for the newer features like AVX2
because they are not used in the decision making that determines the final message.

AES:
Code:
Checking CPU capatibility...
        Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz
   CPU arch has AES...........YES.
   CPU arch has AVX...........YES.
   SW built for AES & AVX.....YES.
   Algo supports AES & AVX....YES.
   System supports AES & AVX..YES.
   CPU arch has SSE2..........YES.                  
   SW built for SSE2..........YES.
   System supports SSE2.......YES.
Start mining with AES-AVX optimizations...

SSE2:
Code:
Checking CPU capatibility...
        Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz
   CPU arch has AES...........NO.
   CPU arch has AVX...........NO.
   CPU arch has SSE2..........YES.
   SW built for AES & AVX.....NO.
   SW built for SSE2..........YES.
   Algo supports AES & AVX....YES.
   System supports AES & AVX..NO.
   System supports SSE2.......YES.
AES not available, starting mining with SSE2 optimizations...

Nehalem CPU using Westmere build:
Code:
Checking CPU capatibility...
        Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz
   CPU arch has AES...........YES.
   CPU arch has AVX...........NO.
   CPU arch has SSE2..........YES.
   SW built for AES & AVX.....YES.
   SW built for SSE2..........YES.
   Algo supports AES & AVX....YES.
   System supports AES & AVX..NO.
   System supports SSE2.......YES.
Unsupported CPU or SW configuration, miner will likely crash!

This will hopefully solve the issue for good. Only when this code has proven itself
will I consider turning enforcement back on.

At this time there are no pressing issues to prompt a new release. Too many releases in the past week.

I'll wait for more feedback from users especially those with 1st gen corei CPUs before releasing.
However I can provide the source code to those who can compile their own and are willing to share
their test results. This change only affects the CPU capabilities check at miner startup so if you don't
have any problems with that you don't need this and can wait for the general release.

Principal developer of cpuminer-opt, the optimized multi-algo CPU miner.
BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


View Profile
June 03, 2016, 04:36:28 PM
 #777

Thank you very much. This is important information. As mentioned in a subsequent post
your CPU actually uses the nehalem compile arch, the westmere build is incompatible.

This solves part of the mystery. There are two compile targets for 1st generation corei CPUs,
Nehalem which will not run the miners' AES code, and Westmere which will.

For now I don't have the means and time to try my own compile, but whenever I can help with a run/test, just PM me and I'll give is a try.
And you... keep up the good work Smiley ! Thank you.

And thank you for the kind words. If you ever get the urge to try to compile your owm I'm here to help.

Principal developer of cpuminer-opt, the optimized multi-algo CPU miner.
BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
Dabs
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918



View Profile
June 03, 2016, 09:30:43 PM
 #778

I continue to encourage Windows users to compile their own. That is always the best way

How would I go about doing that? LOL. Is there a "free" Windows compiler out there? I have Xeon E5640.

I do have access to Visual Studio Community 2015; supposed to be the same as Professional without CodeLens.

On the other hand, is there some "newbie" guide to doing this with a fresh install of say, Debian 8.4? (Or would you recommend Ubuntu?)

I just made a Debian 8.4 VM. Maybe I'll do it over again.

Escrow Service (Services) - GPG ID: 32AD7565, OTC ID: Dabs
All messages concerning escrow or with bitcoin addresses are GPG signed. Please verify.
CompTIA A+, Microsoft Certified Professional, MCSA: Windows 10; Windows Server 2012, MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure; Productivity; Messaging
hmage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


View Profile
June 03, 2016, 09:46:39 PM
 #779

On the other hand, is there some "newbie" guide to doing this with a fresh install of say, Debian 8.4? (Or would you recommend Ubuntu?)

I just made a Debian 8.4 VM. Maybe I'll do it over again.

Simple way to do it on fresh Debian or Ubuntu is this (assuming sudo is already configured):
Code:
sudo apt-get install git build-essential libssl-dev libcurl4-openssl-dev libjansson-dev libgmp-dev automake
git clone https://github.com/hmage/cpuminer-opt
cd cpuminer-opt
./build.sh

With git it's easier to get the source code in command line than from joblo's google drive — there are no direct links to tar.gz.
ctgiant
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 298


View Profile WWW
June 03, 2016, 10:14:06 PM
 #780

I continue to encourage Windows users to compile their own. That is always the best way

How would I go about doing that? LOL. Is there a "free" Windows compiler out there? I have Xeon E5640.

I do have access to Visual Studio Community 2015; supposed to be the same as Professional without CodeLens.

On the other hand, is there some "newbie" guide to doing this with a fresh install of say, Debian 8.4? (Or would you recommend Ubuntu?)

I just made a Debian 8.4 VM. Maybe I'll do it over again.

This is compiled on windows with a free compiler, but it is a pain to set up if you don't know what you are doing.  It can compile using mingw-w64 and msys, but you need to first compile all of the dependencies and link everything correctly.

MiningAlts Block Explorers and Windows/Mac Wallet Building Services - http://miningalts.com
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 ... 165 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!