Bitcoin Forum
May 10, 2024, 04:39:54 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 [538] 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 ... 1135 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] cudaMiner & ccMiner CUDA based mining applications [Windows/Linux/MacOSX]  (Read 3426872 times)
bigjme
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 09, 2014, 08:45:51 PM
 #10741


 Grin

wow, i think at over 16Mh/s i would accept 1 validation error everything 12 accepted lmao

Owner of: cudamining.co.uk
No Gods or Kings. Only Bitcoin
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1715359194
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715359194

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715359194
Reply with quote  #2

1715359194
Report to moderator
scriptfu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 09, 2014, 09:33:45 PM
 #10742


wow, i think at over 16Mh/s i would accept 1 validation error everything 12 accepted lmao

O.o   o.O Impressive! What was done to achieve these numbers?
bigjme
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 09, 2014, 09:39:14 PM
Last edit: April 09, 2014, 10:36:57 PM by bigjme
 #10743

christian i just found a webserver to implement into ccminer for giving some json formatted output, i am able to implement it

i guess i need to add it into cpu-miner.c as thats the base
but reading through the code, i have a few options for the hashrate value, which of these is it i need?

1. 1e-3 * hashrate
2. hashrate

EDIT:

also since updating my drivers it seems i am unable to compile, i am getting the following message on new and old versions
Code:
C:\Program Files (x86)\MSBuild\Microsoft.Cpp\v4.0\BuildCustomizations\CUDA 5.5.targets(592,9): error MSB3721: The command ""C:\Program Files\NVIDIA GPU Computing Toolkit\CUDA\v5.5\bin\nvcc.exe" -gencode=arch=compute_10,code=\"sm_10,compute_10\" --use-local-env --cl-version 2010 -ccbin "M:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\VC\bin"  -I. -Icompat -Icompat\jansson -Icompat\getopt -I"..\pthreads\Pre-built.2\include" -I"..\curl-7.29.0\include" -I"..\OpenSSL-Win32\include" -I"C:\Program Files\NVIDIA GPU Computing Toolkit\CUDA\v5.5\include" -I"C:\Program Files\NVIDIA GPU Computing Toolkit\CUDA\v5.5\include" -I"C:\Program Files\NVIDIA GPU Computing Toolkit\CUDA\v5.5\include"    --keep --keep-dir Release -maxrregcount=64 --ptxas-options=-v --machine 32 --compile -cudart static -Xptxas -v,-abi=no     -DWIN32 -DNDEBUG -D_CONSOLE -D_CRT_SECURE_NO_WARNINGS -DCURL_STATICLIB -DSCRYPT_KECCAK512 -DSCRYPT_CHACHA -DSCRYPT_CHOOSE_COMPILETIME -D_MBCS -Xcompiler "/EHsc /W3 /nologo /O2 /Zi  /MD  " -o Release\fermi_kernel.cu.obj "M:\CUDAMINER\Building\CudaMiner-13-2-14\fermi_kernel.cu"" exited with code 1.

can't test it my implemented webserver works or not without compiling  Sad

you know what, its nice to have a good anti-virus but when i can't compile because its too paranoid  Cry

UPDATE:
so i added all my webserver stuff, its very basic additional code, about 12 lines. but it fails at the end of compile with this

Code:
1>cl : Command line warning D9025: overriding '/TC' with '/TP'
1>  util.c
1>  sha2.c
1>  cpu-miner.c
1>m:\cudaminer\building\ccminer-0.5\cpu-miner.c(1389): error C2731: 'main' : function cannot be overloaded
1>          m:\cudaminer\building\ccminer-0.5\cpu-miner.c(1388) : see declaration of 'main'
1>  Generating Code...
========== Build: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========

any ideas?

Owner of: cudamining.co.uk
djm34
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 1050


View Profile WWW
April 09, 2014, 11:20:31 PM
 #10744

I did a rapid test over the code modification.
I get quite a lot of "hash for nonce ... does not validate of cpu"
However the shares are accepted and the speed is 35Mh/s (instead of 28~30 depending on clock speed and number of instance)
To what corresponds this 768, is this the number of cuda core of the 750ti ? (need to see how this can be updated to the 780ti).

I only modified the cuda_hefty1.cu (I am lazy...), compiled with cuda 5.5 (didn't use either --relocatable-device-code=true) and in principle compute_3.5

djm34 facebook page
BTC: 1NENYmxwZGHsKFmyjTc5WferTn5VTFb7Ze
Pledge for neoscrypt ccminer to that address: 16UoC4DmTz2pvhFvcfTQrzkPTrXkWijzXw
scriptfu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 01:23:15 AM
 #10745

To what corresponds this 768, is this the number of cuda core of the 750ti ? (need to see how this can be updated to the 780ti).

Launching a CUDA kernel uses the following syntax (ignoring optional parameters for now):

Code:
kernel_name<<<blocks_per_grid, threads_per_block>>>(kernel_function_args...)

768 is the number of threads launched per block. The 750 Ti has 640 cores (128/SM (multiprocessor), 5 SMs/card). The 780 Ti has 2880 cores (192/SM, 15 SMs/card). I used very a basic calculation, essentially choosing a block count that is some multiple of the number of cores. In the case of the 780 Ti, 100 * SM count, or 100 * 15 == 1500. I haven't looked closely at the 780's specs, so one might run into a limitation on how many blocks per grid the card can support. You should be able to glean additional information from the following references:


djm34
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 1050


View Profile WWW
April 10, 2014, 02:16:03 AM
 #10746

On the original version the program is using 683blocks and 768 threads per block.
With your modification it is using 32x15=480 and 768 thread/block
However the number of thread is 524288, which in my opininon in the reason why I get
"the does not validate on cpu" and why 683 got chosen, since it is just thread/thread_per_block
This gives me around 36MHash/s

I changed 768 by 512 and then I get 39~40MHash/s
no rejected, however high rate of "does not valitate".
Which means large fraction of the shares are just thrown

I have the feeling it is faster because it throws away  a lot of things...

Would be interesting to have Christian opinion on that.
In there a way to decrease the number of thread ? (assuming it works) ?

djm34 facebook page
BTC: 1NENYmxwZGHsKFmyjTc5WferTn5VTFb7Ze
Pledge for neoscrypt ccminer to that address: 16UoC4DmTz2pvhFvcfTQrzkPTrXkWijzXw
scriptfu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 03:00:21 AM
 #10747

On the original version the program is using 683blocks and 768 threads per block.
With your modification it is using 32x15=480 and 768 thread/block
However the number of thread is 524288, which in my opininon in the reason why I get
"the does not validate on cpu" and why 683 got chosen, since it is just thread/thread_per_block
This gives me around 36MHash/s

Yes, your numbers are correct, though it is not as simple as dividing the number of total threads by desired threads per block. Not all of the 524288 threads can be executed simultaneously; max resident threads for 3.x-5.x devices is 2048/SM (10240 on 750 Ti for example). However, they can be scheduled, and are processed once resources become available as previous tasks complete.
 
I have the feeling it is faster because it throws away  a lot of things...

This is indeed what happens when you get the "does not validate" error. The CPU tries to recreate the hash one last time before submitting it as proof, and it gets dropped if it fails validation. Work in this case is simply trashed. I have not finished instrumenting the code fully to provide exact details. What I do have is verification from pools through higher reported hashrate (calculated from rate of valid shares) and in particular a correlated increase in valid share counts.

Would be interesting to have Christian opinion on that.
In there a way to decrease the number of thread ? (assuming it works) ?

Agreed, I will 100% defer to Christian on this subject Smiley

scriptfu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 03:12:31 AM
 #10748

On the original version the program is using 683blocks and 768 threads per block.
threads = 524 288
threadsperblock = 768
blocks = dim3 grid((threads + threadsperblock-1)/threadsperblock); = 682

http://runnable.com/U0YK9Jzak4RoTzpU/ccminer-grid-dimensions-example-for-c%2B%2B
cbuchner1 (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 502


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 07:02:20 AM
Last edit: April 10, 2014, 07:30:31 AM by cbuchner1
 #10749

How on earth did you manage that? We havent been able to get over 13Mh/s

Just by benchmarking various launch configs until I found one that worked well, in addition to the other changes I listed in my original post. I modified the hefty_cpu_hash function in cuda_hefty1.cu. Changes made are expressed in this diff: https://gist.github.com/danryan/6a631e0ece773e5f6788

this change is potentially dangerous as the total number of threads run on the GPU is not aligned with the "throughput" variable as used by the heavycoin scanhash function (passed in as the variable "threads" into the function you modified). This could lead to overlapping shares being found (same nonce leading to rejects), part of the nonce space to be skipped (not actually a problem), or buffers to be overrun (potentially serious).

You need to add some code to compute the throughput variable (=total number of GPU threads) based on device properties, e.g. in an early function call to the cuda_hefty1.cu module.

Christian
cbuchner1 (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 502


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 07:21:59 AM
 #10750

any ideas?

do you have two main functions in the code now?  does your extra main function use a different argument list?

Code:
int main(int argc, char **argv)
bigjme
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 08:34:45 AM
 #10751

any ideas?

do you have two main functions in the code now?  does your extra main function use a different argument list?

Code:
int main(int argc, char **argv)

I checked all the code and there is no main function. The only word main in the entire files is for domain.

I will have to check through again and see whats going on

Owner of: cudamining.co.uk
ManIkWeet
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 09:01:20 AM
 #10752

Suddenly I feel no longer sad that I sold that bitcoin at the price I did, I am sad that I didn't sell my other bitcoin at the higher price Cry

Edit:
Just wondering: How can you people even get a profit out of cards like GTX 780?

BTC donations: 18fw6ZjYkN7xNxfVWbsRmBvD6jBAChRQVn (thanks!)
manydog
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 09:32:09 AM
 #10753

I'm having trouble with mining dogecoin. Getting 9 h/s. Should I do anything to the script instead of autotune?
ManIkWeet
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 09:37:13 AM
 #10754

I'm having trouble with mining dogecoin. Getting 9 h/s. Should I do anything to the script instead of autotune?
9 hashes per second, sounds like my calculator can do more Smiley

BTC donations: 18fw6ZjYkN7xNxfVWbsRmBvD6jBAChRQVn (thanks!)
djm34
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 1050


View Profile WWW
April 10, 2014, 09:42:20 AM
 #10755

I'm having trouble with mining dogecoin. Getting 9 h/s. Should I do anything to the script instead of autotune?
9 hashes per second, sounds like my calculator can do more Smiley
he didn't say what he was using...  Grin

djm34 facebook page
BTC: 1NENYmxwZGHsKFmyjTc5WferTn5VTFb7Ze
Pledge for neoscrypt ccminer to that address: 16UoC4DmTz2pvhFvcfTQrzkPTrXkWijzXw
manydog
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 09:55:48 AM
 #10756

I'm having trouble with mining dogecoin. Getting 9 h/s. Should I do anything to the script instead of autotune?

I downloaded the 337.50 beta update from Nvidia with no improvement!

Here's my specs:

Windows 8 64-bit
Intel Pentium G2020 @ 2.90GHz   35 °C
Ivy Bridge 22nm Technology
4.00GB Single-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
Acer Aspire XC600 (SOCKET 0)   28 °C
1023MB NVIDIA GeForce 605 (Elitegroup)   58 °C

cudaminer.exe -H 1 -i 0 -l auto -C 1 -o stratum+tcp://stratum.teamdoge.com:3333 -O   
ghur
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 10:01:41 AM
 #10757

NVIDIA GeForce 605 (Elitegroup)

Ouch. I think you may just have to accept you're not going to mine with that.

doge: D8q8dR6tEAcaJ7U65jP6AAkiiL2CFJaHah
Automated faucet, pays daily: Qoinpro
djm34
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 1050


View Profile WWW
April 10, 2014, 10:06:41 AM
 #10758

NVIDIA GeForce 605 (Elitegroup)

Ouch. I think you may just have to accept you're not going to mine with that.
If it is elitegroup, you should try to mine ~BCX~ the coin for the elite

djm34 facebook page
BTC: 1NENYmxwZGHsKFmyjTc5WferTn5VTFb7Ze
Pledge for neoscrypt ccminer to that address: 16UoC4DmTz2pvhFvcfTQrzkPTrXkWijzXw
manydog
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 10:19:11 AM
 #10759

NVIDIA GeForce 605 (Elitegroup)

Ouch. I think you may just have to accept you're not going to mine with that.
If it is elitegroup, you should try to mine ~BCX~ the coin for the elite

Have mercy: DABceSeUHRfeRnByhP3yGHnHk8Fx136ehR
djm34
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 1050


View Profile WWW
April 10, 2014, 10:31:17 AM
 #10760

NVIDIA GeForce 605 (Elitegroup)

Ouch. I think you may just have to accept you're not going to mine with that.
If it is elitegroup, you should try to mine ~BCX~ the coin for the elite

Have mercy: DABceSeUHRfeRnByhP3yGHnHk8Fx136ehR
oula don't fork the coin  Grin

djm34 facebook page
BTC: 1NENYmxwZGHsKFmyjTc5WferTn5VTFb7Ze
Pledge for neoscrypt ccminer to that address: 16UoC4DmTz2pvhFvcfTQrzkPTrXkWijzXw
Pages: « 1 ... 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 [538] 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 ... 1135 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!