Bitcoin Forum
December 12, 2018, 08:40:14 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Poll
Question: Do you want to see improvements in Ethash dual-mining with GGS?
I desperately need it. - 8 (15.7%)
It would be nice. - 11 (21.6%)
It's not worth it anymore. - 32 (62.7%)
Total Voters: 51

Pages: « 1 ... 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 [176] 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Gateless Gate Sharp 1.3.8: 30Mh/s (Ethash) on RX 480!  (Read 204362 times)
UnclWish
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 616
Merit: 251


View Profile
April 30, 2018, 07:06:26 PM
 #3501

GGS on eth algo gives 2MH/s less speed than Claymore and Phoenix miner on RX 580 8Gb. Maybe Eth kernel needs optimiztion?
Tried on default parameters.

I told you GGS is not optimized for your card yet.
You really need to run the optimizer to get the best performance for now.
Ok. I want to try.
1st step is to flash original bios.
2nd - set clocks to 1750MHz.
3nd - run mining and catch timings
4th - set TFAW to 0.
5th - run optimization.

All right?
1544604014
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544604014

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544604014
Reply with quote  #2

1544604014
Report to moderator
1544604014
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544604014

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544604014
Reply with quote  #2

1544604014
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1544604014
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544604014

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544604014
Reply with quote  #2

1544604014
Report to moderator
1544604014
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544604014

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544604014
Reply with quote  #2

1544604014
Report to moderator
1544604014
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544604014

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544604014
Reply with quote  #2

1544604014
Report to moderator
zawawa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 300


Miner Developer


View Profile
April 30, 2018, 07:17:01 PM
 #3502

Looks good to me!

GGS on eth algo gives 2MH/s less speed than Claymore and Phoenix miner on RX 580 8Gb. Maybe Eth kernel needs optimiztion?
Tried on default parameters.

I told you GGS is not optimized for your card yet.
You really need to run the optimizer to get the best performance for now.
Ok. I want to try.
1st step is to flash original bios.
2nd - set clocks to 1750MHz.
3nd - run mining and catch timings
4th - set TFAW to 0.
5th - run optimization.

All right?

Gateless Gate Sharp, an open-source ETH/XMR miner: http://bit.ly/2rJ2x4V
BTC: 1BHwDWVerUTiKxhHPf2ubqKKiBMiKQGomZ
UnclWish
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 616
Merit: 251


View Profile
April 30, 2018, 08:24:13 PM
 #3503

Looks good to me!

GGS on eth algo gives 2MH/s less speed than Claymore and Phoenix miner on RX 580 8Gb. Maybe Eth kernel needs optimiztion?
Tried on default parameters.

I told you GGS is not optimized for your card yet.
You really need to run the optimizer to get the best performance for now.
Ok. I want to try.
1st step is to flash original bios.
2nd - set clocks to 1750MHz.
3nd - run mining and catch timings
4th - set TFAW to 0.
5th - run optimization.

All right?
Can't do optimization. I'll describe:
1. Flashed default bios. Restarted.
2. Run GGS, set OC enable and set 1250MHz core 1750MHz memory.
3. Run ethash mining. Mining started normal. If 21,5M speed on eth is normal ))).
4. Captured timings during mining.
5. Stop mining.
6. Enable timings option.
7. Restart GGS and start mining to check - would it work with unchanged captured timings.
8. After generating DAG BSOD appears THREAD_STUCK...

Tried the same moves with cryptonightv7 algo. Same result.

Now some questions:
1. Why you removed "Release momory"? It was usefull. Return it, please.
2. What do checkbox "Hardware acceleration"? Does it need be enabled to use timings? I didn't enabled it yet. Only Phymem used.
3. Captured timigs during mining eth and cryptonight are differes from each other. It normal?

And main question: Why enabled timigs in GGS with any timings, uncluding captured from original bios, GGS leads to BSOD?

Windows 10 x64 Pro license, 12Gb RAM, Adrenalin 18.3.4 driver. No Afterburner, no OverdriveN tool or any other software used.
zawawa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 300


Miner Developer


View Profile
April 30, 2018, 08:34:48 PM
 #3504

You then need to run the optimizer to find a good starting point.
I strongly recommend a USB watchdog or something similar for automatic reboots.
There will be a lot of BSOD's, I guarantee it!
If you don't want all that, wait until I optimize GGS for Hynix GDDR5.

Looks good to me!

GGS on eth algo gives 2MH/s less speed than Claymore and Phoenix miner on RX 580 8Gb. Maybe Eth kernel needs optimiztion?
Tried on default parameters.

I told you GGS is not optimized for your card yet.
You really need to run the optimizer to get the best performance for now.
Ok. I want to try.
1st step is to flash original bios.
2nd - set clocks to 1750MHz.
3nd - run mining and catch timings
4th - set TFAW to 0.
5th - run optimization.

All right?
Can't do optimization. I'll describe:
1. Flashed default bios. Restarted.
2. Run GGS, set OC enable and set 1250MHz core 1750MHz memory.
3. Run ethash mining. Mining started normal. If 21,5M speed on eth is normal ))).
4. Captured timings during mining.
5. Stop mining.
6. Enable timings option.
7. Restart GGS and start mining to check - would it work with unchanged captured timings.
8. After generating DAG BSOD appears THREAD_STUCK...

Tried the same moves with cryptonightv7 algo. Same result.

Now some questions:
1. Why you removed "Release momory"? It was usefull. Return it, please.
2. What do checkbox "Hardware acceleration"? Does it need be enabled to use timings? I didn't enabled it yet. Only Phymem used.
3. Captured timigs during mining eth and cryptonight are differes from each other. It normal?

And main question: Why enabled timigs in GGS with any timings, uncluding captured from original bios, GGS leads to BSOD?

Windows 10 x64 Pro license, 12Gb RAM, Adrenalin 18.3.4 driver. No Afterburner, no OverdriveN tool or any other software used.

Gateless Gate Sharp, an open-source ETH/XMR miner: http://bit.ly/2rJ2x4V
BTC: 1BHwDWVerUTiKxhHPf2ubqKKiBMiKQGomZ
skablast
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 30, 2018, 09:50:39 PM
 #3505

I don't understand why starting from scratch, or from a white paper in the form of a stock card.
I understand that a starting point is needed but seem a "Sisifo" job to me

Normally my card are Rx 580/570 8gb with micron memory, 60% Sapphire and the rest what I was able to get.

they do 31.7 Mh/s with low energy while dual mining xvg, 1130/820 / 2224/820 power -8

All of them reach 960 on CNV7 at 1198/838  2098/838 power -10 at around 100 w atw

All Polaris one click.

I know that with better timings results can be higher in CN.and I suppose that GGS can't make miracle and increase 2 Mhs on etash

So,  I don't think I need to start from stock for everything  I will start from what I have.

I start from stock  it with the Rx480 samsung . without the watchdog.(its not arrived yet) and it take a lot of time and one pc for it.

I will start from what I have for C/N and let you know if the time needed is slighty less







WhyMe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 432
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 30, 2018, 10:23:28 PM
 #3506

Trying to test custom timings functionality, but launching Boost mode on a RX580 without bios mod immediately crash gpu Sad
UnclWish
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 616
Merit: 251


View Profile
April 30, 2018, 10:40:57 PM
 #3507

What starting point you talking about? GGS can't set timings for my cards even captured from stock bios. Why? How optimizer can work, if timings can't be applied at all?

Ready optimized parameters can't help. I tried on 2 different cards RX 580 8Gb with hynix mjr memory, but different manufacter. Whey bios straps identical. But GGS captures a little different timings with all other parameters equal. This means, I think, that cards memory can work different ways even the same type.
And I can't apply ready timings if you add it, because any timings applying leads to BSOD.

And please:
1. Why you removed "Release momory"? It was usefull. Return it, please.
2. What does checkbox "Hardware acceleration"? Does it need be enabled to use timings? I didn't enabled it yet. Only Phymem used.

You then need to run the optimizer to find a good starting point.
I strongly recommend a USB watchdog or something similar for automatic reboots.
There will be a lot of BSOD's, I guarantee it!
If you don't want all that, wait until I optimize GGS for Hynix GDDR5.

Looks good to me!

GGS on eth algo gives 2MH/s less speed than Claymore and Phoenix miner on RX 580 8Gb. Maybe Eth kernel needs optimiztion?
Tried on default parameters.

I told you GGS is not optimized for your card yet.
You really need to run the optimizer to get the best performance for now.
Ok. I want to try.
1st step is to flash original bios.
2nd - set clocks to 1750MHz.
3nd - run mining and catch timings
4th - set TFAW to 0.
5th - run optimization.

All right?
Can't do optimization. I'll describe:
1. Flashed default bios. Restarted.
2. Run GGS, set OC enable and set 1250MHz core 1750MHz memory.
3. Run ethash mining. Mining started normal. If 21,5M speed on eth is normal ))).
4. Captured timings during mining.
5. Stop mining.
6. Enable timings option.
7. Restart GGS and start mining to check - would it work with unchanged captured timings.
8. After generating DAG BSOD appears THREAD_STUCK...

Tried the same moves with cryptonightv7 algo. Same result.

Now some questions:
1. Why you removed "Release momory"? It was usefull. Return it, please.
2. What do checkbox "Hardware acceleration"? Does it need be enabled to use timings? I didn't enabled it yet. Only Phymem used.
3. Captured timigs during mining eth and cryptonight are differes from each other. It normal?

And main question: Why enabled timigs in GGS with any timings, uncluding captured from original bios, GGS leads to BSOD?

Windows 10 x64 Pro license, 12Gb RAM, Adrenalin 18.3.4 driver. No Afterburner, no OverdriveN tool or any other software used.
zawawa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 300


Miner Developer


View Profile
April 30, 2018, 11:18:50 PM
 #3508

Well, you just need to get your feet wet.
Anything worthwhile takes time to master, you know.
 In the meantime, I will prepare documentation, OK?

Gateless Gate Sharp, an open-source ETH/XMR miner: http://bit.ly/2rJ2x4V
BTC: 1BHwDWVerUTiKxhHPf2ubqKKiBMiKQGomZ
UnclWish
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 616
Merit: 251


View Profile
April 30, 2018, 11:57:31 PM
 #3509

Well, you just need to get your feet wet.
Anything worthwhile takes time to master, you know.
 In the meantime, I will prepare documentation, OK?
Sure, thanks.
FFI2013
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 842
Merit: 507



View Profile
May 01, 2018, 12:24:27 AM
 #3510

I tried cn7 with my mix rig r9 270,280,390's everytime it loads the bin for first cards GGS just sits there do I have to install the latest drivers and set my clocks to stock or uninstall AF and let GGS run my cards I always used your original GG on this rig and loved the results but because of the fork thats no longer a option

Quote
  ,█████████████████████████████
  ]█████████████████████████████
  ]█████████████████████████████
  ]█████████████████████████████oooooo.
  ]████████                   ]████████
  ]████████                   ]████████
  ]████████                   ]████████
  ]████████ooooooo     ,ooooood█PPPPPPP
  ]███████████████     ]████████
  ]███████████████     ]████████
  ]███████████████_____J████████_______
  ]████████'''''7████████'''''7████████
  ]████████     ]████████     ]████████
  ]████████     ]████████     ]████████
  `PPPPPPY█oooood█PPPPPY█oooood█PPPPPPP
         ]████████     ]████████
         ]████████     ]████████
         ]████████     ]████████
          """"""Y████████""""""'
                ]████████
                ]████████
                `████████
BitValve
P2P crypto
exchange





THE MOST ADVANCED
P2P CRYPTO EXCHANGE
PLATFORM
      FOLLOW  US
.
.
















.TWITTER...............
.
.FACEBOOK..
O U R   S O L U T I O N
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
    We are building a platform for the
                Crypto Trading Industry
:   :   :   :   :   :   :   :   :   :   :
..JOIN ICO....WHITEPAPER..

UP TO 50% LESS FEES
MULTI CRYPTO. SUPPORT
CRYPTO TO CRYPTO TRADING
OFFICIAL MOBILE APPS
zawawa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 300


Miner Developer


View Profile
May 01, 2018, 01:05:50 AM
 #3511

I tried cn7 with my mix rig r9 270,280,390's everytime it loads the bin for first cards GGS just sits there do I have to install the latest drivers and set my clocks to stock or uninstall AF and let GGS run my cards I always used your original GG on this rig and loved the results but because of the fork thats no longer a option

Welcome back! Yeah, you need to update the driver. There is no way around it.

Gateless Gate Sharp, an open-source ETH/XMR miner: http://bit.ly/2rJ2x4V
BTC: 1BHwDWVerUTiKxhHPf2ubqKKiBMiKQGomZ
UnclWish
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 616
Merit: 251


View Profile
May 01, 2018, 01:35:34 AM
 #3512

I didn't recommend to update AMD driver to version 18.4.1.
After update one of cards on rigs start to drop hashspeed to 0 after several seconds untill restart mining. Problem not only on my rig! Several peoples in neighbor themes wrotes about the same problem with 18.4.1 driver!
Forced to rollback to 18.3.4 version.
Pete_X
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47
Merit: 1


View Profile
May 01, 2018, 03:02:03 AM
 #3513

I didn't recommend to update AMD driver to version 18.4.1.
After update one of cards on rigs start to drop hashspeed to 0 after several seconds untill restart mining. Problem not only on my rig! Several peoples in neighbor themes wrotes about the same problem with 18.4.1 driver!
Forced to rollback to 18.3.4 version.

Thats normally a sign that intensity needs some adjustment ... strange ... as my testrig does not complain after a slight tweak on intensity. We'll see ...
UnclWish
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 616
Merit: 251


View Profile
May 01, 2018, 10:11:54 AM
 #3514

I didn't recommend to update AMD driver to version 18.4.1.
After update one of cards on rigs start to drop hashspeed to 0 after several seconds untill restart mining. Problem not only on my rig! Several peoples in neighbor themes wrotes about the same problem with 18.4.1 driver!
Forced to rollback to 18.3.4 version.

Thats normally a sign that intensity needs some adjustment ... strange ... as my testrig does not complain after a slight tweak on intensity. We'll see ...
I checked this on ethereum and cryptonight. On different miners.
I DDU 18.4.1 and install it again to check. Didn't helps.
Rolling back to 18.3.4 helps to return to notmal work with the same parameters.
FFI2013
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 842
Merit: 507



View Profile
May 01, 2018, 11:32:18 AM
 #3515

I tried cn7 with my mix rig r9 270,280,390's everytime it loads the bin for first cards GGS just sits there do I have to install the latest drivers and set my clocks to stock or uninstall AF and let GGS run my cards I always used your original GG on this rig and loved the results but because of the fork thats no longer a option

Welcome back! Yeah, you need to update the driver. There is no way around it.
Thank You tonight when I get home I'll update drivers also GGS is looking awesome

Quote
  ,█████████████████████████████
  ]█████████████████████████████
  ]█████████████████████████████
  ]█████████████████████████████oooooo.
  ]████████                   ]████████
  ]████████                   ]████████
  ]████████                   ]████████
  ]████████ooooooo     ,ooooood█PPPPPPP
  ]███████████████     ]████████
  ]███████████████     ]████████
  ]███████████████_____J████████_______
  ]████████'''''7████████'''''7████████
  ]████████     ]████████     ]████████
  ]████████     ]████████     ]████████
  `PPPPPPY█oooood█PPPPPY█oooood█PPPPPPP
         ]████████     ]████████
         ]████████     ]████████
         ]████████     ]████████
          """"""Y████████""""""'
                ]████████
                ]████████
                `████████
BitValve
P2P crypto
exchange





THE MOST ADVANCED
P2P CRYPTO EXCHANGE
PLATFORM
      FOLLOW  US
.
.
















.TWITTER...............
.
.FACEBOOK..
O U R   S O L U T I O N
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
    We are building a platform for the
                Crypto Trading Industry
:   :   :   :   :   :   :   :   :   :   :
..JOIN ICO....WHITEPAPER..

UP TO 50% LESS FEES
MULTI CRYPTO. SUPPORT
CRYPTO TO CRYPTO TRADING
OFFICIAL MOBILE APPS
UnclWish
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 616
Merit: 251


View Profile
May 01, 2018, 11:49:49 AM
 #3516

zawawa, can you help me?

I have two timings straps, 1 for cryptonight memory clock 1950MHz and 2nd for ethereum on 2200MHz memory clock.
Is there is a way to unite straps into 1, or flash these 2 straps in bios some way that allows to use this straps on they clocks on 1 bios?

I'm tired to reflash bios every time when changes profits from algo.
deadsix
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 631
Merit: 502


Fail to plan, and you plan to fail.


View Profile
May 01, 2018, 01:12:02 PM
 #3517

I have several RX 470's that I have tested on gatelessgate for Ethereum, here is my feedback :

  • Produces on an average 1-2mh per GPU less than Claymore (this is after sitting through the painfully long optimisation process)
  • Consumes about 30% higher power compared to Claymore
  • Messed up the powerplay tables so completely that even after uninstalling the miner and using several tools to reset fan settings or OC settings etc my GPU fans were constantly at 100%, I had to uninstall and reinstall drivers entirely

Nice UI, but I dont see the point of using something thats clearly inferior to Claymore with the same devfee.

The BEST Crypto exchange in India, where you can buy/sell/trade Bitcoin, BitcoinCash, Litecoin, Ethereum and Ripple, and use a credit card https://koinex.in/?ref=eaa2b3 Stay away, Horrible service.
Minimalist Indian Ethereum Exchange https://ethx.in/u/?ref=RAVIN14
Ethereum/Zcash/Monero Mining Bangalore https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1703592
zawawa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 300


Miner Developer


View Profile
May 01, 2018, 02:12:13 PM
 #3518

I have several RX 470's that I have tested on gatelessgate for Ethereum, here is my feedback :

  • Produces on an average 1-2mh per GPU less than Claymore (this is after sitting through the painfully long optimisation process)
  • Consumes about 30% higher power compared to Claymore
  • Messed up the powerplay tables so completely that even after uninstalling the miner and using several tools to reset fan settings or OC settings etc my GPU fans were constantly at 100%, I had to uninstall and reinstall drivers entirely

Nice UI, but I dont see the point of using something thats clearly inferior to Claymore with the same devfee.

Did you use the recommended driver? At least the third problem shouldn't have happened.
As for performance, I just started to working on W0lf's kernel again, so please come back in a few weeks.

Gateless Gate Sharp, an open-source ETH/XMR miner: http://bit.ly/2rJ2x4V
BTC: 1BHwDWVerUTiKxhHPf2ubqKKiBMiKQGomZ
zawawa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 300


Miner Developer


View Profile
May 01, 2018, 05:33:12 PM
 #3519

zawawa, can you help me?

I have two timings straps, 1 for cryptonight memory clock 1950MHz and 2nd for ethereum on 2200MHz memory clock.
Is there is a way to unite straps into 1, or flash these 2 straps in bios some way that allows to use this straps on they clocks on 1 bios?

I'm tired to reflash bios every time when changes profits from algo.

Um, no and no. It boggles my mind that a user asks me for help with modded BIOS'es when I clearly stated I don't support them...

Gateless Gate Sharp, an open-source ETH/XMR miner: http://bit.ly/2rJ2x4V
BTC: 1BHwDWVerUTiKxhHPf2ubqKKiBMiKQGomZ
UnclWish
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 616
Merit: 251


View Profile
May 01, 2018, 06:01:20 PM
 #3520

zawawa, can you help me?

I have two timings straps, 1 for cryptonight memory clock 1950MHz and 2nd for ethereum on 2200MHz memory clock.
Is there is a way to unite straps into 1, or flash these 2 straps in bios some way that allows to use this straps on they clocks on 1 bios?

I'm tired to reflash bios every time when changes profits from algo.

Um, no and no. It boggles my mind that a user asks me for help with modded BIOS'es when I clearly stated I don't support them...
My question folows from current situation. Until GGS didn't optimized for mjr memory I forced to do something else with that hynix mjr memory. And GGS gives the BSOD when I try to use memory timigs even on stock bios, that's "boggles my mind".
Last two days ethereum and cryptononight profit jumps. So I forced to reflash bios several times a day...
Pages: « 1 ... 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 [176] 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!