Bitcoin Forum
October 19, 2019, 04:14:11 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Which USB hub to use with Block Erupters | NanoFury NF1 | BPMC Red Fury | Ant U1  (Read 128274 times)
dresdenreader
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 239
Merit: 100



View Profile
September 16, 2013, 08:04:00 PM
 #501

Man, I'm jealous of all you folks with those internal hubs.

I just checked pricing this morning w/shipping and bleh it sucks.

It would cost me 0.37 for the hub and then I'd have to tack on like .31 for shipping, and that's really not cheap. I'm basically looking at 85 dollars or so total. So I'm looking at around 6.50 per usable port.

If I go with the recommendation from Visdude I'm looking at... 8.86 for this http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002FFZGCU/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 (I went with the amazon prime shipping option) and I already ordered one of these http://www.ebay.com/itm/5V-5A-AC-DC-Power-Supply-Replacement-Adapter-with-2-1mm-x-5-5mm-Tip-Center-/220961860354?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item33725a6b02 for 12.24.

With that option above I'm looking at approx 3.01 per usable port, and I actually plan on only running 5/6 each in those, which at the most with only 5 ports puts me at about 4.22 per port.

Still considerably cheaper.

I'm not sure how much longer I'll be grabbing erupters though with the constant rise in insane difficulty every 2000 blocks. 

BTC - 16CCpAqNiuqVNkihfEY3UjDsR5UAFYbiMX
DARK LORD CTHULHU BE PRAISED - OFF - QgdYCLwJAE8CA287xUVi5Zkv6NN9PDaA78
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=294383.0
1571501651
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571501651

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571501651
Reply with quote  #2

1571501651
Report to moderator
"Bitcoin: the cutting edge of begging technology." -- Giraffe.BTC
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1571501651
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571501651

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571501651
Reply with quote  #2

1571501651
Report to moderator
1571501651
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571501651

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571501651
Reply with quote  #2

1571501651
Report to moderator
1571501651
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571501651

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571501651
Reply with quote  #2

1571501651
Report to moderator
Nemo1024
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1004



View Profile WWW
September 16, 2013, 08:08:54 PM
 #502

For good measure here's some pictures of my setup using the 13 port hubs provided by WTCR: http://imgur.com/a/ddCPb

Nice solution. I think I'll sink mine into the case as well and place a speed-reduced 92mm fan over them.
Just ordered 2 more of those hubs.

“Dark times lie ahead of us and there will be a time when we must choose between what is easy and what is right.”
“We are only as strong as we are united, as weak as we are divided.”
“It is important to fight and fight again, and keep fighting, for only then can evil be kept at bay, though never quite eradicated.”
dresdenreader
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 239
Merit: 100



View Profile
September 16, 2013, 08:12:35 PM
 #503

For good measure here's some pictures of my setup using the 13 port hubs provided by WTCR: http://imgur.com/a/ddCPb

Nice solution. I think I'll sink mine into the case as well and place a speed-reduced 92mm fan over them.
Just ordered 2 more of those hubs.

Are you located in Canada or the US? Just wondering how you're able to justify the shipping (which actually costs more than the item itself.)

BTC - 16CCpAqNiuqVNkihfEY3UjDsR5UAFYbiMX
DARK LORD CTHULHU BE PRAISED - OFF - QgdYCLwJAE8CA287xUVi5Zkv6NN9PDaA78
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=294383.0
atta2k15
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 315
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 16, 2013, 08:41:15 PM
 #504

Burned out 3 hubs today!
Type: BIGTec 10-port (mentioned in BEWARE section, page #1)
see photo.

NB: was working fine for 1-2weeks, now burned out.
OldDutchman777
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 16, 2013, 09:07:52 PM
 #505

My best performing hubs are the "GEARMO" 10 port 3.0.  Also, have an AITECH 10 port that does not perform as well as I expected based on reviews here.

 +1 on the Gearmo 10 ports. Very nice hubs. Looking to purchase a couple more, but can't seem to find them available on Amazon.com at this time Sad

There is a online distributor/retailer in Florida that goes by three names but all the same company/location.  I am fairly certain that the "GEARMO" brand is only that, not a manufacturer.  They told me they expect another shipment of 10 ports in about 3 weeks.  If anyone is interested perhaps we could organize one large purchase and get a better price.  The GEARMO 10 is very good but also very pricy.  The added expense of any hub obviously makes the cost/benefit of USB Sticks even sketchier than the cost of just the sticks.  The sticks price at least is coming down as difficulty rises-not so with hubs.

I'm about 110% certain that these in fact are the same ubs as the GearMo, just different label.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA1DS0PS1238

I think you nailed the probability on that one.  Great find, thanks for the info.  Unfortunately, the price is prohibitive even for the mighty Gearmo/Orinco.
m-sean
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0



View Profile
September 16, 2013, 10:22:35 PM
 #506

For good measure here's some pictures of my setup using the 13 port hubs provided by WTCR: http://imgur.com/a/ddCPb

Nice solution. I think I'll sink mine into the case as well and place a speed-reduced 92mm fan over them.
Just ordered 2 more of those hubs.

Are you located in Canada or the US? Just wondering how you're able to justify the shipping (which actually costs more than the item itself.)

I work at WTCR ;].

Let me know how many your looking for and I can probably work out a deal!
dresdenreader
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 239
Merit: 100



View Profile
September 16, 2013, 10:53:54 PM
 #507

For good measure here's some pictures of my setup using the 13 port hubs provided by WTCR: http://imgur.com/a/ddCPb

Nice solution. I think I'll sink mine into the case as well and place a speed-reduced 92mm fan over them.
Just ordered 2 more of those hubs.

Are you located in Canada or the US? Just wondering how you're able to justify the shipping (which actually costs more than the item itself.)

I work at WTCR ;].

Let me know how many your looking for and I can probably work out a deal!

PM sent.

BTC - 16CCpAqNiuqVNkihfEY3UjDsR5UAFYbiMX
DARK LORD CTHULHU BE PRAISED - OFF - QgdYCLwJAE8CA287xUVi5Zkv6NN9PDaA78
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=294383.0
BigDaddyWooWoo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 102
Merit: 10



View Profile
September 17, 2013, 01:49:34 AM
 #508

For good measure here's some pictures of my setup using the 13 port hubs provided by WTCR: http://imgur.com/a/ddCPb

Nice solution. I think I'll sink mine into the case as well and place a speed-reduced 92mm fan over them.
Just ordered 2 more of those hubs.

Are you located in Canada or the US? Just wondering how you're able to justify the shipping (which actually costs more than the item itself.)

I work at WTCR ;].

Let me know how many your looking for and I can probably work out a deal!

Group buy!  Set it up!
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918
Merit: 1001

ASIC Wannabe


View Profile
September 17, 2013, 02:19:40 AM
 #509

Ive got some slight issues with my new setup of 8 BE USBs:

running 3 on my PC's ports and 3 on a cheapo 7-port hub with 3.5A power results in all 6 performing well.
running 3 on my PC's ports and 4 or 5 on a cheapo 7-port hub with 3.5A power results in 6 performing well and 2 producing almost entirely HW errors.

the units performing poorly tend to change at times, and seems to not always be from erupters plugged into the hub. I also get frequent '4 extra bytes' errors.

is the issue overloading a cheapo hub, or related to the computer? 3.5A to the hub should be more than enough to power 5 units attached to it.

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
bobsag3
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500

Owner, Minersource.net


View Profile
September 17, 2013, 02:23:58 AM
 #510

For good measure here's some pictures of my setup using the 13 port hubs provided by WTCR: http://imgur.com/a/ddCPb

Nice solution. I think I'll sink mine into the case as well and place a speed-reduced 92mm fan over them.
Just ordered 2 more of those hubs.

Are you located in Canada or the US? Just wondering how you're able to justify the shipping (which actually costs more than the item itself.)

I work at WTCR ;].

Let me know how many your looking for and I can probably work out a deal!

Group buy!  Set it up!
Ill do it if no one else will.
xstr8guy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1000


Glow Stick Dance!


View Profile
September 17, 2013, 04:07:47 AM
 #511

I thought I saw a link (Newegg or Amazon) in this thread for replacement power supplies for Anker (and clones) 10 port hubs.  And I think they may have been an actual upgrade from the originals.

Does anyone have the link?  I can't find the correct link and I need to pick up a few.  I have a sinking feeling that they're just going to keep failing one after the other.  Sad

Thanks!
Photon939
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 452
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 17, 2013, 04:22:12 AM
 #512

Rosewill RHB-500 running at full power after snipping the cable and wiring it into an ATX PSU already powering my BFL units, been running smoothly for a few weeks now.

Nemo1024
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1004



View Profile WWW
September 17, 2013, 07:18:15 AM
 #513

Are you located in Canada or the US? Just wondering how you're able to justify the shipping (which actually costs more than the item itself.)

I am in Europe, in the most expensive country in the world, where domestic shipping can quickly cost you 0.2-0.3 BTC Grin
Also, I ordered a bulk of BEs in addition to several hubs, so the shipping cost became justifiable.

@Photon939: I added your setup to the custom mention list. Looks like more of us are going the "chop off the cable" route.

@atta2k15: Warning added. These hubs are usually shipped with 1A, and it seems for a reason. Wonder who thought of including an 8A AC adapter?!

@klondike_bar: See if the problem lies with the hub. Disconnect the ones on PC an run 6 units off the hub (3A total).

“Dark times lie ahead of us and there will be a time when we must choose between what is easy and what is right.”
“We are only as strong as we are united, as weak as we are divided.”
“It is important to fight and fight again, and keep fighting, for only then can evil be kept at bay, though never quite eradicated.”
bbxx
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500


cryptoshark


View Profile WWW
September 17, 2013, 07:26:46 AM
 #514

Rosewill RHB-500 running at full power after snipping the cable and wiring it into an ATX PSU already powering my BFL units, been running smoothly for a few weeks now.



i have few unopened rosewill hubs, it can be shipped today from EU.
I paid about 0.31 BTC each (with vat and amazon shipping)

looking for 0.3 to recup (i sold my erupters)
please pm me.
shipping will be cheap
Humanxlemming
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 17, 2013, 03:22:57 PM
 #515

This needs to be pinned.

Also I have one of the BIGTec 10-port hubs and I can confirm that they are 100% load of junk the power they can use is a joke and they are so cheap I would avoid them like no tomorrow.

Wish I found this list before I bought it keep up the good work.
visdude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1071
Merit: 1001


View Profile
September 18, 2013, 03:17:31 PM
 #516

It seems the BIGTec 10-port hubs are the same generic ones from China.  Since it has been used in some successful setups posted on here including customized ones using high-amp full-on PSUs and with all ten ports fully populated, I don't think it's the hub itself that is problematic; it has to be the power brick.  I use the same generic 10-port hubs as my intermediate connection hubs with their own power supply that serves as a supplemental/backup/surplus power for the whole network of hubs.
pyra-proxy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500



View Profile
September 18, 2013, 03:37:51 PM
 #517

What's the ratio of block eruptors vs. nano furies on a usb hub?  I can't seem to find accurate power rates for the latter (probably because they are not released yet?)

Thanks!

Photon939
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 452
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 18, 2013, 05:01:07 PM
 #518

What's the ratio of block eruptors vs. nano furies on a usb hub?  I can't seem to find accurate power rates for the latter (probably because they are not released yet?)

Thanks!

The only bitfury based usb stick miner that I saw power figures on reported pretty much the same draw as an AMU, ~500mA at 5v so 1:1 power consumption give or take 10mA or so
bbxx
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500


cryptoshark


View Profile WWW
September 18, 2013, 05:12:44 PM
 #519

Here is my rig
They are looking great with Arctic fan, stacked.
I am looking to sell them, i have 3 spare or more.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=296414.0

fractalbc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 192
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 19, 2013, 01:39:00 AM
 #520

It seems the BIGTec 10-port hubs are the same generic ones from China.  Since it has been used in some successful setups posted on here including customized ones using high-amp full-on PSUs and with all ten ports fully populated, I don't think it's the hub itself that is problematic; it has to be the power brick.  I use the same generic 10-port hubs as my intermediate connection hubs with their own power supply that serves as a supplemental/backup/surplus power for the whole network of hubs.
I also use the generic 6 dollar 10 port hub from China.  There are three things to consider.

a. it is cheaply made.
b. you need to provide your own power supply - the ones that come with them are useless.
c. you need to provide the RIGHT power supply with the RIGHT plug, -OR- as many have done, remove the plug and hard wire them to the power supply.

The NEC requires you do derate a circuit 20% for continuous operation.  Applying the same thought process to the power supply for a mining strip, this suggests you should have a 5v 6.5A supply that you derate to 5v 5.2A to run 10 erupters.  Checking the spec on those plugs suggests they are good for 2-3 amps.  Pushing 5 amps through them is asking for a meltdown.  Pushing 5 amps through a 5.5mm / 2.5mm plug that will universally fit both 5.5/2.5 and 5.5/2.1 jacks is a recipe for disaster as illustrated by the picture a few posts above this one.

These cheap hubs can work.  But you have to work at it.  And, they are better suited for people with 5V, 30A supplies that want to run 50 erupters.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!