Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 10:42:07 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANNOUNCE] Tenebrix, a CPU-friendly, GPU-hostile cryptocurrency  (Read 104639 times)
Lolcust
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


Hillariously voracious


View Profile
September 26, 2011, 04:25:29 PM
 #101

Be nice to have a windows binary.


It's right in the first post, man


Q: Where are the windows binaries ? <<<<<<<

A: Here, with neato QT GUI and wrapped in a portability suite so that you don't have to set anything up and have easier time backing stuff up

Geist Geld, the experimental cryptocurrency, is ready for yet another SolidCoin collapse Wink

Feed the Lolcust!
NMC: N6YQFkH9Gn9CTm4mpGwuLB5zLzqWTWFw67
BTC: 15F8xbgRBA1XZ4hmtdFDUasroa2A5rYg8M
GEG: gK5Lx6ypWgr69Gw9yGzE6dsA7kcuCRZRK
1480934527
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480934527

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480934527
Reply with quote  #2

1480934527
Report to moderator
If you want to be a moderator, report many posts with accuracy. You will be noticed.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480934527
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480934527

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480934527
Reply with quote  #2

1480934527
Report to moderator
1480934527
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480934527

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480934527
Reply with quote  #2

1480934527
Report to moderator
EskimoBob
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


Quality Printing Services by Federal Reserve Bank


View Profile
September 26, 2011, 04:38:44 PM
 #102

miner looks fine, does your client work?

I got the client compiled in my kubuntu laptop and as expected, miner started to work.

But I can not run miner and client at the same time in my Gentoo box Sad


While reading what I wrote, use the most friendliest and relaxing voice in your head.
BTW, Things in BTC bubble universes are getting ugly....
Lolcust
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


Hillariously voracious


View Profile
September 26, 2011, 04:41:49 PM
 #103

miner looks fine, does your client work?

I got the client compiled in my kubuntu laptop and as expected, miner started to work.

But I can not run miner and client at the same time in my Gentoo box Sad

Eh, guess I should eventually figure out how to do a somewhat decent static build for them Linuxes, so that a lot of this will be cut out.

Did you try changing the rpcport in config ?

From the look of it, the miner seems just pointed someplace else. Did you try passing username and password as --userpass 1:1 ?

Geist Geld, the experimental cryptocurrency, is ready for yet another SolidCoin collapse Wink

Feed the Lolcust!
NMC: N6YQFkH9Gn9CTm4mpGwuLB5zLzqWTWFw67
BTC: 15F8xbgRBA1XZ4hmtdFDUasroa2A5rYg8M
GEG: gK5Lx6ypWgr69Gw9yGzE6dsA7kcuCRZRK
EskimoBob
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


Quality Printing Services by Federal Reserve Bank


View Profile
September 26, 2011, 05:09:43 PM
 #104

I got the client compiled in my kubuntu laptop and as expected, miner started to work.

But I can not run miner and client at the same time in my Gentoo box Sad

Eh, guess I should eventually figure out how to do a somewhat decent static build for them Linuxes, so that a lot of this will be cut out.

Did you try changing the rpcport in config ?

From the look of it, the miner seems just pointed someplace else. Did you try passing username and password as --userpass 1:1 ?

Nooooo! Don't build binar blobs for Linux Smiley Fix the code so it can be compiled


Quote
Did you try changing the rpcport in config ?

yes I did, no difference at all.

Quote
Did you try passing username and password as --userpass 1:1

Yes I did, It still segfaults. I pasted the strace output here: http://pastebin.com/EsWKSsJ4


While reading what I wrote, use the most friendliest and relaxing voice in your head.
BTW, Things in BTC bubble universes are getting ugly....
Lolcust
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


Hillariously voracious


View Profile
September 26, 2011, 05:22:24 PM
 #105

I got the client compiled in my kubuntu laptop and as expected, miner started to work.

But I can not run miner and client at the same time in my Gentoo box Sad

Eh, guess I should eventually figure out how to do a somewhat decent static build for them Linuxes, so that a lot of this will be cut out.

Did you try changing the rpcport in config ?

From the look of it, the miner seems just pointed someplace else. Did you try passing username and password as --userpass 1:1 ?

Nooooo! Don't build binar blobs for Linux Smiley Fix the code so it can be compiled

It obviously can be compiled, and was compiled and tested, for Windows XP, W 7 64, Ubuntu LTS and Fedora ^__^

Binary blobs, when done right, have their merits (doin them right is somewhat outside my league tho)

I'll see what I can do, but that would require me to set up a Gentoo VM.



Yes I did, It still segfaults. I pasted the strace output here: http://pastebin.com/EsWKSsJ4



Thanks, I'll see what can be done

Geist Geld, the experimental cryptocurrency, is ready for yet another SolidCoin collapse Wink

Feed the Lolcust!
NMC: N6YQFkH9Gn9CTm4mpGwuLB5zLzqWTWFw67
BTC: 15F8xbgRBA1XZ4hmtdFDUasroa2A5rYg8M
GEG: gK5Lx6ypWgr69Gw9yGzE6dsA7kcuCRZRK
wannaBhacker
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96


View Profile
September 26, 2011, 05:31:29 PM
 #106

I get the same SIGSEGV strace that eskimo gets. Where is the headless build for linux? I do the build, and only get a bitcoin-qt exe. This is a remote box, and I'm not going to install x server on this box.Am I missing the headless build? In the windows binaries, there is a d version but I don't see it after I make the git repo.

I set up a windows box, and set up an RPC server. Tested from another windows machine, no problems. When I connect the miner to it, it fails. If the username and password are wrong, it binds, and never works. But if I supply valid credentials, it segfaults. This is ubuntu 11.04 32 bit. Running the miner with sudo Huh
CosicMiner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 135



View Profile
September 26, 2011, 05:35:40 PM
 #107

Can you please give some more info on the difficulty adjustment?
Retarget is every 1 week. Is it entirely timebased?
How can I check current difficulty when using the gui?
ArtForz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
September 26, 2011, 05:45:34 PM
 #108

It's 2016 blocks with *4 /4 limits like bitcoin, just with 5 min nominal/block.
Min difficulty is 1/4096 to account for scrypt(N=1024,p=1,r=1) being well over a factor 1000 slower than sha256(sha256()).
There's no cmdline daemon yet, porting the multicoin-qt->tenebrix changes to multicoin should be pretty trivial.

bitcoin: 1Fb77Xq5ePFER8GtKRn2KDbDTVpJKfKmpz
i0coin: jNdvyvd6v6gV3kVJLD7HsB5ZwHyHwAkfdw
Bobnova
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
September 26, 2011, 05:50:07 PM
 #109

Be nice to have a windows binary.


It's right in the first post, man


Q: Where are the windows binaries ? <<<<<<<

A: Here, with neato QT GUI and wrapped in a portability suite so that you don't have to set anything up and have easier time backing stuff up

Gah.  I even downloaded it an hour before posting thing.
Braindead this morning, sorry.

BTC:  1AURXf66t7pw65NwRiKukwPq1hLSiYLqbP
EskimoBob
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


Quality Printing Services by Federal Reserve Bank


View Profile
September 26, 2011, 06:04:37 PM
 #110

... Running the miner with sudo Huh
Please, do not do that!

While reading what I wrote, use the most friendliest and relaxing voice in your head.
BTW, Things in BTC bubble universes are getting ugly....
Bobnova
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
September 26, 2011, 06:11:35 PM
 #111

Mining away happily!
Definitely the easiest solo mining setup experience I've run into, on windows at least.
In linux it still doesn't work, but that's a different story.

BTC:  1AURXf66t7pw65NwRiKukwPq1hLSiYLqbP
wannaBhacker
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96


View Profile
September 26, 2011, 06:22:55 PM
 #112

... Running the miner with sudo Huh
Please, do not do that!

Not what I normally do but making sure it has all the permission it needs to run. I think there is a problem with the linux miner. Does anyone successfully have the linux miner working? I now have the GUI working in linux, but the miner still fails an an ubuntu desktop install now.
EskimoBob
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


Quality Printing Services by Federal Reserve Bank


View Profile
September 26, 2011, 06:38:29 PM
 #113

... Running the miner with sudo Huh
Please, do not do that!

Not what I normally do but making sure it has all the permission it needs to run. I think there is a problem with the linux miner. Does anyone successfully have the linux miner working? I now have the GUI working in linux, but the miner still fails an an ubuntu desktop install now.

I have it running on my Kubuntu laptop but can not get the miner work in Gentoo. Client works fine and even mines some coin but this is obviously not the way to go. Miner compiles OK, but crashes if client is running at the same port.

While reading what I wrote, use the most friendliest and relaxing voice in your head.
BTW, Things in BTC bubble universes are getting ugly....
MaGNeT
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


Founder of Orlycoin | O RLY? YA RLY!


View Profile WWW
September 26, 2011, 09:19:27 PM
 #114

Getting 0 connections...
Any ports I should open? Nodes to add?

No connection problems with 5 other coins...

edit: Looks like the same problem I had with GeistGeld -> IRC recv failed: 10060
We solved it than by adding nodes, what IP's can I try?
Lolcust
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


Hillariously voracious


View Profile
September 26, 2011, 09:51:31 PM
 #115

Getting 0 connections...
Any ports I should open? Nodes to add?

No connection problems with 5 other coins...

edit: Looks like the same problem I had with GeistGeld -> IRC recv failed: 10060
We solved it than by adding nodes, what IP's can I try?

69.120.6.210:7777

90.2828.223.65:7777

24.6.159.24:7777

81.165.1.128:7777

72.234.181.254:7777


Geist Geld, the experimental cryptocurrency, is ready for yet another SolidCoin collapse Wink

Feed the Lolcust!
NMC: N6YQFkH9Gn9CTm4mpGwuLB5zLzqWTWFw67
BTC: 15F8xbgRBA1XZ4hmtdFDUasroa2A5rYg8M
GEG: gK5Lx6ypWgr69Gw9yGzE6dsA7kcuCRZRK
MaGNeT
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


Founder of Orlycoin | O RLY? YA RLY!


View Profile WWW
September 26, 2011, 09:54:00 PM
 #116

Getting 0 connections...
Any ports I should open? Nodes to add?

No connection problems with 5 other coins...

edit: Looks like the same problem I had with GeistGeld -> IRC recv failed: 10060
We solved it than by adding nodes, what IP's can I try?

69.120.6.210:7777

90.2828.223.65:7777

24.6.159.24:7777

81.165.1.128:7777

72.234.181.254:7777



That fixed it!

Thanx for the great support, again Smiley
Splirow
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 164


View Profile
September 26, 2011, 10:22:55 PM
 #117

Hey Lolcust,

Can I use my APU to mine? or is the network hostile to that also?
steelhouse
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
September 26, 2011, 10:43:10 PM
 #118

What does it mean when it says boo or yay sometimes?  When I get a yay, it shows up as a transaction, but not necessarily as 25 TBX?  I really appreciate the quietness of mining. 

I have a question so the difficulty changes every week, is that time based or block based?

how many coin will there be in existence?  I guess you can stop the block and change it at will?
Lolcust
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


Hillariously voracious


View Profile
September 26, 2011, 11:02:52 PM
 #119

Hey Lolcust,

Can I use my APU to mine? or is the network hostile to that also?

Well, there are no APU-optimized miners of course, but it is an interesting question to ponder, APUs are interesting and exotic beasts....could be good Tenebrix performers (the future is APU farms lol Wink )

What does it mean when it says boo or yay sometimes?  When I get a yay, it shows up as a transaction, but not necessarily as 25 TBX?  I really appreciate the quietness of mining.  

I think it counts near-solutions and orphans as transactions, looking into it.

I have a question so the difficulty changes every week, is that time based or block based?

Same as BTC, but faster.
how many coin will there be in existence?

no limit, except for natural balance of generation / loss that will be achieved at some point.

I guess you can stop the block and change it at will?

Ha-ha, that's the other coin's prerogative.

Geist Geld, the experimental cryptocurrency, is ready for yet another SolidCoin collapse Wink

Feed the Lolcust!
NMC: N6YQFkH9Gn9CTm4mpGwuLB5zLzqWTWFw67
BTC: 15F8xbgRBA1XZ4hmtdFDUasroa2A5rYg8M
GEG: gK5Lx6ypWgr69Gw9yGzE6dsA7kcuCRZRK
Bobnova
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
September 26, 2011, 11:38:58 PM
 #120

APU = CPU with GPU onboard.
If it sucks for GPU, it sucks for the GPU portion of the APU.  The CPU portion will run it like the Phenom II cores that it's built out of. (which is to say, pretty well)

AMD's new APU stuff isn't really that new, it's just wildly more powerful of a GPU than previous IGP solutions.

BTC:  1AURXf66t7pw65NwRiKukwPq1hLSiYLqbP
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!