Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 02:27:58 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANNOUNCE] Tenebrix, a CPU-friendly, GPU-hostile cryptocurrency  (Read 104697 times)
caston
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720



View Profile WWW
October 01, 2011, 05:12:40 AM
 #361

Has anyone tried mining this on the PS3 yet? I have good feelings about the hashrate the cell processor could give if fully utilised.

18jL18iH96BBhwUCQn27FQp7ocodSxvJAB
1481164078
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481164078

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481164078
Reply with quote  #2

1481164078
Report to moderator
1481164078
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481164078

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481164078
Reply with quote  #2

1481164078
Report to moderator
1481164078
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481164078

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481164078
Reply with quote  #2

1481164078
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481164078
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481164078

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481164078
Reply with quote  #2

1481164078
Report to moderator
1481164078
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481164078

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481164078
Reply with quote  #2

1481164078
Report to moderator
worldinacoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile WWW
October 01, 2011, 06:18:28 AM
 #362

After I reinstalled the Tenebrix client, it doesn't seem to be able to download the blocks Sad , can anyone advise?
Splirow
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 164


View Profile
October 01, 2011, 06:25:18 AM
 #363

Lolcust,

The scantime option is for what?

freequant
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
October 01, 2011, 06:43:54 AM
 #364

Lolcust, when do you create CryptoTurk, the first GPU and CPU hostile, human labor friendly crypto currency?
There is already a nice mining pool at mturk.com .
freequant
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
October 01, 2011, 08:20:22 AM
 #365

Is the head on the git-hub repo really supposed to build under Linux?
I have corrected tens of things that just couldn't possibly compile, and I am still finding more and more of these.
ArtForz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
October 01, 2011, 08:33:51 AM
 #366

Is the head on the git-hub repo really supposed to build under Linux?
I have corrected tens of things that just couldn't possibly compile, and I am still finding more and more of these.
head of what? Tenebrix, Tenebrix-daemon-exp or Tenebrix-miner?

bitcoin: 1Fb77Xq5ePFER8GtKRn2KDbDTVpJKfKmpz
i0coin: jNdvyvd6v6gV3kVJLD7HsB5ZwHyHwAkfdw
freequant
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
October 01, 2011, 09:50:23 AM
 #367

Is the head on the git-hub repo really supposed to build under Linux?
I have corrected tens of things that just couldn't possibly compile, and I am still finding more and more of these.
head of what? Tenebrix, Tenebrix-daemon-exp or Tenebrix-miner?

Tenebrix

I got it built finally, but quite a few things are broken, probably due to a recent merge from Multicoin and the use of qmake instead of autoconf / automake.

  • All the moc_xxx.cpp files include files from src/thread, but this dir doesn't exist (files are in src/qt in fact, so making a symlink thread -> qt does the trick).
  • qmake doesn't generate the makefile with the right dynamic library linking directives.
    I had to add manually the following to LIB (in the below, WXLIBS contain the output of wx-config --libs)
    Quote
    -lcrypto $(WXLIBS) -ldb -ldb_cxx -lboost_system -lboost_thread -lboost_program_options -lboost_filesyst
  • I had to add manually the output of wx-config --cflags to CXXFLAGS.
  • ui.o contains symbols that conflict with bitcoingui.o
    rpc.o contains symbols that conflict with bitcoinrpc.o
    Only one of these implementations should make it to the makefile, but currently both are there which creates symbol conflicts.
    Actually, ui.cpp contains MFC code, so much for a unix build...
  • Add -DQT_GUI to DEFINES
  • Plus a few missing or conflicting symbols
    Patch there (check the raw one) : http://pastebin.com/zkwUh9Mb
    Don't apply the patch as is, this is just to point out things that break the build on Debian.
ArtForz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
October 01, 2011, 09:58:36 AM
 #368

Is the head on the git-hub repo really supposed to build under Linux?
I have corrected tens of things that just couldn't possibly compile, and I am still finding more and more of these.
head of what? Tenebrix, Tenebrix-daemon-exp or Tenebrix-miner?

Tenebrix

I got it built finally, but quite a few things are broken, probably due to a recent merge from Multicoin and the use of qmake instead of autoconf / automake.

  • All the moc_xxx.cpp files include files from src/thread, but this dir doesn't exist (files are in src/qt in fact, so making a symlink thread -> qt does the trick).
  • qmake doesn't generate the makefile with the right dynamic library linking directives.
    I had to add manually the following to LIB (in the below, WXLIBS contain the output of wx-config --libs)
    Quote
    -lcrypto $(WXLIBS) -ldb -ldb_cxx -lboost_system -lboost_thread -lboost_program_options -lboost_filesyst
  • I had to add manually the output of wx-config --cflags to CXXFLAGS.
  • ui.o contains symbols that conflict with bitcoingui.o
    rpc.o contains symbols that conflict with bitcoinrpc.o
    Only one of these implementations should make it to the makefile, but currently both are there which creates symbol conflicts.
    Actually, ui.cpp contains MFC code, so much for a unix build...
  • Add -DQT_GUI to DEFINES
  • Plus a few missing or conflicting symbols
    Patch there (check the raw one) : http://pastebin.com/zkwUh9Mb
    Don't apply the patch as is, this is just to point out things that break the build on Debian.
That's ... weird.
I'm pretty much seeing *zero* of those building tenebrix on debian... Are you sure you started with a clean tree?

bitcoin: 1Fb77Xq5ePFER8GtKRn2KDbDTVpJKfKmpz
i0coin: jNdvyvd6v6gV3kVJLD7HsB5ZwHyHwAkfdw
freequant
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
October 01, 2011, 10:07:03 AM
 #369

That's ... weird.
I'm pretty much seeing *zero* of those building tenebrix on debian... Are you sure you started with a clean tree?

I did a clean clone of the repo https://github.com/Lolcust/Tenebrix.git like 3h ago.
Matoking
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 352

Firstbits: 1m8xa


View Profile WWW
October 01, 2011, 10:10:44 AM
 #370

I'm still lucky enough to get one block per 2-4 hours. Tongue

What are you using to mine?
Q8800 with 3 threads at 1.10 khash/s each.

BTC : 1CcpmVDLvR7DgA5deFGScoNhiEtiJnh6H4 - LTC : LYTnoXAHNsemMB2jhCSi1znQqnfupdRkSy
Bitcoin-otc
BitBin - earn bitcoins with your pastes!
ArtForz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
October 01, 2011, 10:24:27 AM
 #371

That's ... weird.
I'm pretty much seeing *zero* of those building tenebrix on debian... Are you sure you started with a clean tree?

I did a clean clone of the repo https://github.com/Lolcust/Tenebrix.git like 3h ago.
Well, here's what build output for me on sid amd64 looks like: http://pastie.org/2621383
On ubuntu natty amd64 ... same thing. clone repo, qmake, make, Huh, profit... errr... binary built!
So... not sure wth is going wrong on your system.

edit: just tried on natty i386 ... again same thing, builds fine.

bitcoin: 1Fb77Xq5ePFER8GtKRn2KDbDTVpJKfKmpz
i0coin: jNdvyvd6v6gV3kVJLD7HsB5ZwHyHwAkfdw
freequant
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
October 01, 2011, 10:39:49 AM
 #372

That's ... weird.
I'm pretty much seeing *zero* of those building tenebrix on debian... Are you sure you started with a clean tree?

I did a clean clone of the repo https://github.com/Lolcust/Tenebrix.git like 3h ago.
Well, here's what build output for me on sid amd64 looks like: http://pastie.org/2621383
On ubuntu natty amd64 ... same thing. clone repo, qmake, make, Huh, profit... errr... binary built!
So... not sure wth is going wrong on your system.

edit: just tried on natty i386 ... again same thing, builds fine.

Strange indeed.
Debian squeeze amd64, but quite a few of my libs are local builds.
Nevermind, it works fine now.
I will take a closer look at the root cause if I still run into conflicts next time I do an update.
ama
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
October 01, 2011, 10:44:22 AM
 #373

I just lost my 24 coins when I did a reinstallation Sad , took me a long time to mine.

Have you used the box a lot since then?  Your private keys might still be there.  There are some programs which scan the data in the disk for them and recover them for you to import in a new wallet.  It might be worth it to try.

Buy me a coffee: 18NMyRMSkCjk8FnmdfAuxbuSSET4ASwBL5
Or a decaf: Lcn3xp5iVwo6aSFx8VYaRxp8qJyPGvzgah
Bitcoin Pyramid
worldinacoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile WWW
October 01, 2011, 11:03:07 AM
 #374

Thanks, but been using the box a lot.  Treating it as a lesson.  To all, do remember to backup your wallets Smiley
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
October 01, 2011, 11:20:41 AM
 #375

Actually i feel the new windows release is completely useless & a mess.
Instead of just giving a bat file with flags as last time, it asks questions to select thread, algo....which is not necessary.
Also Lolcust used same name for the file.
I too was just going to replace it with old folder & suddenly found out both has same names. So i changed old folder to tenebrix pack old & extracted new file.
After i find the new bat file useless, i just copied the new bat file, & link to start tenebrix & deleted the new folder & zip file itself, so that i won't get confuse in future.
If a NEW file is released , then it MUST HAVE some thing to differentiate from old file. So that extracting it, wont extract it to old folder & as said in other post that wisdomtool lost wallet & 24 coins won't happen.

Hope here after all releases have some file name difference from others files.

Pool is needed very badly. I hope Simplecoin.us can start pool mining for tenebrix also ASAP





caston
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720



View Profile WWW
October 01, 2011, 12:11:54 PM
 #376

I agree we need a pool. My machine with an Phenom II 6 core has only found one block in about 10 hours.

18jL18iH96BBhwUCQn27FQp7ocodSxvJAB
worldinacoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile WWW
October 01, 2011, 12:14:25 PM
 #377

I thought I am the only one having such bad luck Smiley , you too!

I agree we need a pool. My machine with an Phenom II 6 core has only found one block in about 10 hours.
caston
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720



View Profile WWW
October 01, 2011, 12:36:51 PM
 #378

I thought I am the only one having such bad luck Smiley , you too!

I agree we need a pool. My machine with an Phenom II 6 core has only found one block in about 10 hours.

Yeah "average time per block at 1 kHash/s: 2 days, 2 hours, 3 minutes, 19 seconds" my arse!

18jL18iH96BBhwUCQn27FQp7ocodSxvJAB
Lolcust
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


Hillariously voracious


View Profile
October 01, 2011, 01:33:42 PM
 #379

I just lost my 24 coins when I did a reinstallation Sad , took me a long time to mine.

How did you manage to do this ? (sincere question I would like to understand to prevent such events in the future

If you overwrote the folder, the wallet of all things should have remained untouched (as the release pack does not have a wallet.dat of its own lol)...

Did you try rescan=1 ?


Actually i feel the new windows release is completely useless & a mess.
Instead of just giving a bat file with flags as last time, it asks questions to select thread, algo....which is not necessary.

It does not ask for algo selection, only IP, userpass, scantime and thread number Smiley

It was done so because I was getting a lot of questions about how to edit bat files and complaints along the lines of "I edited the minerfile thing and now it crashes, there is no god !!!"

If interactive bat does not suit your taste, you can turn it into a non-interactive one by erasing all the fluff (except the last line, the one with minerd in it) and changing %variables% to numbers

Or maybe I should add an option to execute a pre-set string instead of taking a "mining quiz" ? (I bet that would confuse and befuddle the user who tried editing his minerd tho  Undecided)


Hope here after all releases have some file name difference from others files.

Which file do you mean ?

Geist Geld, the experimental cryptocurrency, is ready for yet another SolidCoin collapse Wink

Feed the Lolcust!
NMC: N6YQFkH9Gn9CTm4mpGwuLB5zLzqWTWFw67
BTC: 15F8xbgRBA1XZ4hmtdFDUasroa2A5rYg8M
GEG: gK5Lx6ypWgr69Gw9yGzE6dsA7kcuCRZRK
worldinacoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile WWW
October 01, 2011, 01:43:16 PM
 #380

I installed the newest version and the coins disappear, did not try a rescan=1, where should I put this line in?


I just lost my 24 coins when I did a reinstallation Sad , took me a long time to mine.

How did you manage to do this ? (sincere question I would like to understand to prevent such events in the future

If you overwrote the folder, the wallet of all things should have remained untouched (as the release pack does not have a wallet.dat of its own lol)...

Did you try rescan=1 ?


Actually i feel the new windows release is completely useless & a mess.
Instead of just giving a bat file with flags as last time, it asks questions to select thread, algo....which is not necessary.

It does not ask for algo selection, only IP, userpass, scantime and thread number Smiley

It was done so because I was getting a lot of questions about how to edit bat files and complaints along the lines of "I edited the minerfile thing and now it crashes, there is no god !!!"

If interactive bat does not suit your taste, you can turn it into a non-interactive one by erasing all the fluff (except the last line, the one with minerd in it) and changing %variables% to numbers

Or maybe I should add an option to execute a pre-set string instead of taking a "mining quiz" ? (I bet that would confuse and befuddle the user who tried editing his minerd tho  Undecided)


Hope here after all releases have some file name difference from others files.

Which file do you mean ?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!