Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 03:24:10 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 [35] 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANNOUNCE] Tenebrix, a CPU-friendly, GPU-hostile cryptocurrency  (Read 104741 times)
Lolcust
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


Hillariously voracious


View Profile
October 09, 2011, 12:54:59 PM
 #681

I've been mining at 600 khash/s (2 threads) for a few hours now, which seems to be about 15% of the power of the entire network. I find it very hard to believe that there are only six 3-year-old Macbooks mining the entire chain right now, and I haven't gotten the one block per 30 minutes that I should be. Any idea what's wrong?

Confirmed - hashrate reporting broke to shit in your case for currently unknown reason.

Actual hashrate of your box is much less, (or you managed to engage wrong PoW alltogether)

Geist Geld, the experimental cryptocurrency, is ready for yet another SolidCoin collapse Wink

Feed the Lolcust!
NMC: N6YQFkH9Gn9CTm4mpGwuLB5zLzqWTWFw67
BTC: 15F8xbgRBA1XZ4hmtdFDUasroa2A5rYg8M
GEG: gK5Lx6ypWgr69Gw9yGzE6dsA7kcuCRZRK
1481340250
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481340250

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481340250
Reply with quote  #2

1481340250
Report to moderator
1481340250
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481340250

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481340250
Reply with quote  #2

1481340250
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481340250
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481340250

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481340250
Reply with quote  #2

1481340250
Report to moderator
1481340250
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481340250

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481340250
Reply with quote  #2

1481340250
Report to moderator
1481340250
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481340250

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481340250
Reply with quote  #2

1481340250
Report to moderator
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
October 09, 2011, 02:51:22 PM
 #682

There is something wrong with your build... when one of my builds was messed up I was able to mine the genesis block and was mining a new block every 10 minutes at 3kh/s.  But of course, no other nodes in the network would confirm this.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
October 09, 2011, 03:38:13 PM
 #683

LOL 600 khash/s !!!

Any plans to merge mine this shit with Fairbrix and Litecoin ( as they are all using scrypt AMD shit ) Huh Or else I'm going to Solidcoin thank you very much.
Vitalik Buterin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 331


View Profile
October 09, 2011, 04:24:58 PM
 #684

PROOF OF WORK RESULT: false (boooo)

Got that a few times now. So it looks like I am, in fact, completing 600,000 (x2?) invalid hashes every second.

Any idea what the problem is?

Argumentum ad lunam: the fallacy that because Bitcoin's price is rising really fast the currency must be a speculative bubble and/or Ponzi scheme.
MaGNeT
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


Founder of Orlycoin | O RLY? YA RLY!


View Profile WWW
October 09, 2011, 04:26:15 PM
 #685

LOL 600 khash/s !!!

Any plans to merge mine this shit with Fairbrix and Litecoin ( as they are all using scrypt AMD shit ) Huh Or else I'm going to Solidcoin thank you very much.

Bye.
Matoking
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 352

Firstbits: 1m8xa


View Profile WWW
October 09, 2011, 04:40:47 PM
 #686

PROOF OF WORK RESULT: false (boooo)

Got that a few times now. So it looks like I am, in fact, completing 600,000 (x2?) invalid hashes every second.

Any idea what the problem is?
Are you sure you are using --algo scrypt launch parameter?

BTC : 1CcpmVDLvR7DgA5deFGScoNhiEtiJnh6H4 - LTC : LYTnoXAHNsemMB2jhCSi1znQqnfupdRkSy
Bitcoin-otc
BitBin - earn bitcoins with your pastes!
Vitalik Buterin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 331


View Profile
October 09, 2011, 04:50:44 PM
 #687

Are you sure you are using --algo scrypt launch parameter?

Just tried adding that. Now it just prints out the help text, which says that --algo can only take c, 4way, via, cryptopp and cryptopp_asm32.

Argumentum ad lunam: the fallacy that because Bitcoin's price is rising really fast the currency must be a speculative bubble and/or Ponzi scheme.
Matoking
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 352

Firstbits: 1m8xa


View Profile WWW
October 09, 2011, 05:00:04 PM
 #688

Are you sure you are using --algo scrypt launch parameter?

Just tried adding that. Now it just prints out the help text, which says that --algo can only take c, 4way, via, cryptopp and cryptopp_asm32.
You probably compiled the master branch instead of the cpumine branch (which has the scrypt algorithm implemented).

BTC : 1CcpmVDLvR7DgA5deFGScoNhiEtiJnh6H4 - LTC : LYTnoXAHNsemMB2jhCSi1znQqnfupdRkSy
Bitcoin-otc
BitBin - earn bitcoins with your pastes!
film2240
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


Professional filmmaker/Freelance videographer


View Profile WWW
October 09, 2011, 06:45:29 PM
 #689

I am a little curious about this currency? Why have you opted to make it GPU 'hostile'? What do you mean by this? I'm a little lost as I'm used to mining with GPU for everything else.Can GPU mining work but with limitations or is it all blocked from GPU? How can Tenebrix tell if CPU/APU/GPU/FPGA is used to mine it rather than being CPU mined like intended? Theoretically some guy can just point his GPU to a named worker set to mine this currency?


[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
October 09, 2011, 06:48:33 PM
 #690

I am a little curious about this currency? Why have you opted to make it GPU 'hostile'? What do you mean by this? I'm a little lost as I'm used to mining with GPU for everything else.Can GPU mining work but with limitations or is it all blocked from GPU? How can Tenebrix tell if CPU/APU/GPU/FPGA is used to mine it rather than being CPU mined like intended? Theoretically some guy can just point his GPU to a named worker set to mine this currency?



LOL. Read up mate. The algo is scrypt shit. Cannot be accelerated on GPUs. Only Linux 64 bit AMD plastic shit CPUs. No love for Intel on Linux 64 or even Windblows.
Vitalik Buterin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 331


View Profile
October 09, 2011, 06:56:23 PM
 #691

You probably compiled the master branch instead of the cpumine branch (which has the scrypt algorithm implemented).

Thank you!!! Much more reasonable 0.80 khash/s now.

Argumentum ad lunam: the fallacy that because Bitcoin's price is rising really fast the currency must be a speculative bubble and/or Ponzi scheme.
ama
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
October 09, 2011, 07:11:54 PM
 #692

You probably compiled the master branch instead of the cpumine branch (which has the scrypt algorithm implemented).

How do you compile the cpumine branch, please?

Buy me a coffee: 18NMyRMSkCjk8FnmdfAuxbuSSET4ASwBL5
Or a decaf: Lcn3xp5iVwo6aSFx8VYaRxp8qJyPGvzgah
Bitcoin Pyramid
film2240
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


Professional filmmaker/Freelance videographer


View Profile WWW
October 09, 2011, 07:13:51 PM
 #693

I am a little curious about this currency? Why have you opted to make it GPU 'hostile'? What do you mean by this? I'm a little lost as I'm used to mining with GPU for everything else.Can GPU mining work but with limitations or is it all blocked from GPU? How can Tenebrix tell if CPU/APU/GPU/FPGA is used to mine it rather than being CPU mined like intended? Theoretically some guy can just point his GPU to a named worker set to mine this currency?



LOL. Read up mate. The algo is scrypt shit. Cannot be accelerated on GPUs. Only Linux 64 bit AMD plastic shit CPUs. No love for Intel on Linux 64 or even Windblows.

Ok thanks.I don't get much of a chance to go on these forums much anymore due to constant work I have to do elsewhere so I can't really read up on much these days.Most of us have jobs including me and sometimes those jobs can get in the way of having a social life (I know,it's annoying but that's life I guess)

Anyways thank you for giving me an idea of why GPUs will be useless with mining this currency.Motto is if you want to mine with GPU,look elsewhere.

[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
Lolcust
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


Hillariously voracious


View Profile
October 09, 2011, 07:14:54 PM
 #694

I am a little curious about this currency? Why have you opted to make it GPU 'hostile'? What do you mean by this? I'm a little lost as I'm used to mining with GPU for everything else.Can GPU mining work but with limitations or is it all blocked from GPU? How can Tenebrix tell if CPU/APU/GPU/FPGA is used to mine it rather than being CPU mined like intended? Theoretically some guy can just point his GPU to a named worker set to mine this currency?



LOL. Read up mate. The algo is scrypt shit. Cannot be accelerated on GPUs. Only Linux 64 bit AMD plastic shit CPUs. No love for Intel on Linux 64 or even Windblows.

Ok thanks.I don't get much of a chance to go on these forums much anymore due to constant work I have to do elsewhere so I can't really read up on much these days.Most of us have jobs including me and sometimes those jobs can get in the way of having a social life (I know,it's annoying but that's life I guess)

Anyways thank you for giving me an idea of why GPUs will be useless with mining this currency.Motto is if you want to mine with GPU,look elsewhere.

You can mine this with CPU while mining something else with GPU.


Geist Geld, the experimental cryptocurrency, is ready for yet another SolidCoin collapse Wink

Feed the Lolcust!
NMC: N6YQFkH9Gn9CTm4mpGwuLB5zLzqWTWFw67
BTC: 15F8xbgRBA1XZ4hmtdFDUasroa2A5rYg8M
GEG: gK5Lx6ypWgr69Gw9yGzE6dsA7kcuCRZRK
Matoking
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 352

Firstbits: 1m8xa


View Profile WWW
October 09, 2011, 07:17:15 PM
 #695

I am a little curious about this currency? Why have you opted to make it GPU 'hostile'? What do you mean by this? I'm a little lost as I'm used to mining with GPU for everything else.Can GPU mining work but with limitations or is it all blocked from GPU? How can Tenebrix tell if CPU/APU/GPU/FPGA is used to mine it rather than being CPU mined like intended? Theoretically some guy can just point his GPU to a named worker set to mine this currency?



LOL. Read up mate. The algo is scrypt shit. Cannot be accelerated on GPUs. Only Linux 64 bit AMD plastic shit CPUs. No love for Intel on Linux 64 or even Windblows.
It's not Tarsnap's or Lolcust's problem if you can't compile the program with Intel-specific optimizations, silly. Smiley

You could be actually getting more khashes out of your Intel CPU if you would have done some research instead of spouting nonsense like you've been doing for the last 100+ posts.

BTC : 1CcpmVDLvR7DgA5deFGScoNhiEtiJnh6H4 - LTC : LYTnoXAHNsemMB2jhCSi1znQqnfupdRkSy
Bitcoin-otc
BitBin - earn bitcoins with your pastes!
Raoul Duke
aka psy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
October 09, 2011, 07:18:05 PM
 #696

WOW, this sh*t is still alive? lol Bitcointalk never ceases to amaze me Cheesy

bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
October 09, 2011, 07:18:22 PM
 #697

I am a little curious about this currency? Why have you opted to make it GPU 'hostile'? What do you mean by this? I'm a little lost as I'm used to mining with GPU for everything else.Can GPU mining work but with limitations or is it all blocked from GPU? How can Tenebrix tell if CPU/APU/GPU/FPGA is used to mine it rather than being CPU mined like intended? Theoretically some guy can just point his GPU to a named worker set to mine this currency?



LOL. Read up mate. The algo is scrypt shit. Cannot be accelerated on GPUs. Only Linux 64 bit AMD plastic shit CPUs. No love for Intel on Linux 64 or even Windblows.

Ok thanks.I don't get much of a chance to go on these forums much anymore due to constant work I have to do elsewhere so I can't really read up on much these days.Most of us have jobs including me and sometimes those jobs can get in the way of having a social life (I know,it's annoying but that's life I guess)

Anyways thank you for giving me an idea of why GPUs will be useless with mining this currency.Motto is if you want to mine with GPU,look elsewhere.

You can mine this with CPU while mining something else with GPU.



Yes it is magic !!! Keep in mind that this only works for AMD processors. Intel + Windblows = speed sucks / unusable.
Lolcust
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


Hillariously voracious


View Profile
October 09, 2011, 07:21:59 PM
 #698

You probably compiled the master branch instead of the cpumine branch (which has the scrypt algorithm implemented).

How do you compile the cpumine branch, please?

It's the default branch.

Geist Geld, the experimental cryptocurrency, is ready for yet another SolidCoin collapse Wink

Feed the Lolcust!
NMC: N6YQFkH9Gn9CTm4mpGwuLB5zLzqWTWFw67
BTC: 15F8xbgRBA1XZ4hmtdFDUasroa2A5rYg8M
GEG: gK5Lx6ypWgr69Gw9yGzE6dsA7kcuCRZRK
ama
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
October 09, 2011, 07:26:08 PM
 #699

How do you compile the cpumine branch, please?

It's the default branch.

Ah, excellent, thank you.  :-)

Buy me a coffee: 18NMyRMSkCjk8FnmdfAuxbuSSET4ASwBL5
Or a decaf: Lcn3xp5iVwo6aSFx8VYaRxp8qJyPGvzgah
Bitcoin Pyramid
MaGNeT
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


Founder of Orlycoin | O RLY? YA RLY!


View Profile WWW
October 09, 2011, 07:43:10 PM
 #700

I am a little curious about this currency? Why have you opted to make it GPU 'hostile'? What do you mean by this? I'm a little lost as I'm used to mining with GPU for everything else.Can GPU mining work but with limitations or is it all blocked from GPU? How can Tenebrix tell if CPU/APU/GPU/FPGA is used to mine it rather than being CPU mined like intended? Theoretically some guy can just point his GPU to a named worker set to mine this currency?



LOL. Read up mate. The algo is scrypt shit. Cannot be accelerated on GPUs. Only Linux 64 bit AMD plastic shit CPUs. No love for Intel on Linux 64 or even Windblows.

For SandyBridge CPUs (corei7 with four digit model numbers).

git the package.
./configure
(screw the flags)
gedit Makefile
find "CFLAGS = "
Change that line to: CFLAGS = -march=native -O3 -Wall -msse2 -msse3 -msse4.1 -msse4.2 -msse4 -mavx
Brought my performance from 2.6kh/s per core (running one thread per core) to 3.66-3.7kh/s per core.

Tested with 6 threads, +2 kh/s in total.
HT works now!
Just needed some hardcore flags, that's all.

 Grin
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 [35] 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!