Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 04:32:45 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANNOUNCE] Tenebrix, a CPU-friendly, GPU-hostile cryptocurrency  (Read 104706 times)
iopq
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
October 06, 2011, 08:45:39 AM
 #561

Probably because these "issues" aren't issues unless you have a ancient P4 or something.
My PhenomII is happily hashing along at 20kHps while increasing system power usage at the wall by 108W.
2^32 * 0.0926 / 20000 / 3600 ... about 5.5h/block
so ~108tbx/day for 2.6kWh/day
*checks btc-e* 108tbx = about 0.83 btc less fees, let's say 0.8
at 4.82/btc ... $3.85/day less power... about $3.20
Yeah, can't see why people are throwing as many CPUs as they can find at it...
because I have an E8400 so only 2.6khps

also, the fan is loud as hell
actually, hold on, I'll start mining to heat my house Cheesy

1481214765
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481214765

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481214765
Reply with quote  #2

1481214765
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481214765
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481214765

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481214765
Reply with quote  #2

1481214765
Report to moderator
1481214765
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481214765

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481214765
Reply with quote  #2

1481214765
Report to moderator
caston
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720



View Profile WWW
October 06, 2011, 11:04:08 AM
 #562

ArtForz: do you think this would work?
Nope, haven't played with nv yet, and certainly not with teslas.
But looking at the spec and architecture...
14 CUs with 64kB L1/LDS per CU and 768kB global cache (128k per 64-bit memory controller). 32 ALUs/CU, clocked at 1.15GHz
6970 = 24 CUs with 64kB L1/LDS per CU and 512kB global cache. 64 ALUs/CU, clocked at 880MHz
nv L1 can do 2 reads/clock, so... wild-ass guess... might end up at 30kH/s or so.
Of course the lack of a native rotate won't exactly help, scrypt is sha256 (we know that one...) and salsa20, in which *every 2nd op* is a rotate.
so... probably more like 20kH/s.

Thank you for showing us the working. It looks like ATI/AMD's do have native rotate so something in the FirePro range may get a good hash rate. Either that or the new HD7000 series as Bitcoin Express suggested.

18jL18iH96BBhwUCQn27FQp7ocodSxvJAB
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
October 06, 2011, 11:14:51 AM
 #563

Aren't the new 7xxx series supposed to be a new CU architecture has a separate access to the LDS with 128 Bytes/clock bandwidth?

Thought I read that a while back somewhere?
Hmm I read they will most likely use half the power with the same performance (28nm)... but other than that ... ?

A clarification.  The "low end cards" 77xx and 78xx series use same architecture as 6xxx series with a die shrink.  So simplisticly double the performance per $ and performance per watt and not much else new.  They will continue to use the VLIW4 instruction set.

The 79xx series will use a completely new architecture currently coded named "GCN" (Graphics Core Next) by AMD.  Not much is known about it.  It could have much better or worse performance per clock than 5xxx and 6xxx series.  Wouldn't it be ironic is the 79xx series did well on "CPU friendly" chains and sucked at traditional SHA-256 chains.
afro25
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123


View Profile
October 06, 2011, 12:31:25 PM
 #564

When i mine this on my i3, the hash rate of my Gpu's goes down from ~300mh/s to ~20mh/s :|

Matoking
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 352

Firstbits: 1m8xa


View Profile WWW
October 06, 2011, 12:37:35 PM
 #565

When i mine this on my i3, the hash rate of my Gpu's goes down from ~300mh/s to ~20mh/s :|
Use 1 or 2 less threads, the GPU miner needs to have a CPU thread too.

BTC : 1CcpmVDLvR7DgA5deFGScoNhiEtiJnh6H4 - LTC : LYTnoXAHNsemMB2jhCSi1znQqnfupdRkSy
Bitcoin-otc
BitBin - earn bitcoins with your pastes!
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
October 06, 2011, 12:48:41 PM
 #566

When i mine this on my i3, the hash rate of my Gpu's goes down from ~300mh/s to ~20mh/s :|
Use 1 or 2 less threads, the GPU miner needs to have a CPU thread too.

Exactly while GPU is doing the heaving lifting it does need CPU time.  Not enough CPU time means the GPU becomes starves and is sitting idle for large periods of time (looks like 33% in your case).

Another thing you could try is make the GPU mining process high priority and the CPU mining process low priority.  The CPU process will use the "unused" clock cycles from GPU thread without starving it.  In otherwords when the GPU needs CPU time it gets it but when it doesn't those cycles can CPU mine.

Right now that might not work if you are suffering from the 100% CPU bug (multiple AMD GPU) but if AMD ever fixes their 100% CPU bug it would be a way to maximize your CPU "time.
Syberia
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
October 06, 2011, 01:29:34 PM
 #567

Anyone know how to squeeze more hashes out of my 2500k?  Running at 4.2 ghz with 4 threads, I am getting a little over 2 khash per thread using the default settings for the Windows miner.
localhost
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 389


View Profile
October 06, 2011, 02:44:34 PM
 #568

Btw, where can i find a calculator to show how long till i have 25%, 50% and 100% chance of having found a block (or somthing like that)?
1 difficulty in the real world (and here also) represents 2^32 hashes.
multiply 2^32 by the difficulty and that gives you an average expected number of hashes per share.
It would be nice to have a place where we can check the current difficulty.

-
iopq
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
October 06, 2011, 02:49:16 PM
 #569

Btw, where can i find a calculator to show how long till i have 25%, 50% and 100% chance of having found a block (or somthing like that)?
1 difficulty in the real world (and here also) represents 2^32 hashes.
multiply 2^32 by the difficulty and that gives you an average expected number of hashes per share.
It would be nice to have a place where we can check the current difficulty.
allchains.info

bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
October 06, 2011, 02:55:32 PM
 #570

Please can somebody also post a OpenCL miner as I think it could be useful even with scrypt algo. Thanks !
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 06, 2011, 02:59:03 PM
 #571

Btw, where can i find a calculator to show how long till i have 25%, 50% and 100% chance of having found a block (or somthing like that)?
1 difficulty in the real world (and here also) represents 2^32 hashes.
multiply 2^32 by the difficulty and that gives you an average expected number of hashes per share.
It would be nice to have a place where we can check the current difficulty.
No idea what name the daemon is called by default (I changed it to "tbd")
but if you run 'tbd getinfo' it will tell you the difficulty (among other things) if the daemon is running
Maybe the qt one will do it too? No idea

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 06, 2011, 02:59:29 PM
 #572

Please can somebody also post a OpenCL miner as I think it could be useful even with scrypt algo. Thanks !
LOL that is seriously funny

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
caston
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720



View Profile WWW
October 06, 2011, 03:40:13 PM
 #573



A clarification.  The "low end cards" 77xx and 78xx series use same architecture as 6xxx series with a die shrink.  So simplisticly double the performance per $ and performance per watt and not much else new.  They will continue to use the VLIW4 instruction set.

The 79xx series will use a completely new architecture currently coded named "GCN" (Graphics Core Next) by AMD.  Not much is known about it.  It could have much better or worse performance per clock than 5xxx and 6xxx series.  Wouldn't it be ironic is the 79xx series did well on "CPU friendly" chains and sucked at traditional SHA-256 chains.

I found an article about it http://www.anandtech.com/show/4455/amds-graphics-core-next-preview-amd-architects-for-compute

It looks like a rig with a bulldozer CPU and multiple CGN architecture graphics cards will flood the hashrates seen today.

18jL18iH96BBhwUCQn27FQp7ocodSxvJAB
Bobnova
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
October 06, 2011, 03:50:12 PM
 #574

Just a bulldozer will decimate everything seen today most likely.

BTC:  1AURXf66t7pw65NwRiKukwPq1hLSiYLqbP
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
October 06, 2011, 04:14:07 PM
 #575

It looks like a rig with a bulldozer CPU and multiple CGN architecture graphics cards will flood the hashrates seen today.

The registers are still 64 bit in the 7xxx series... what people don't understand about the cache is that they take up a significant part of the die.  The point of GPUs is to execute parallel instructions from sequentially stored memory because that's what graphics acceleration and scientific process acceleration requires.  They won't add giant caches and make the die size 150% larger (making the effective cost per unit 50% higher) if 99% of their consumers won't use it.

http://www.anandtech.com/show/2702/2

For instance, with Phenom II's the L2 cache size is slightly less than the size of an extra two cores and the combined L1, L2, and L3 cache system consumes about as much space as all the cores.  The whole point of a GPU/CPU combined system is that the CPU handles instructions that require rapid random access to small amounts of memory on the cache while the GPU handles large parallel instructions that operate with small amounts of cache and sequentially read memory at high rates.  If they both could do everything, we wouldn't need both.


Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
October 06, 2011, 04:32:43 PM
 #576

Btw, where can i find a calculator to show how long till i have 25%, 50% and 100% chance of having found a block (or somthing like that)?
1 difficulty in the real world (and here also) represents 2^32 hashes.
multiply 2^32 by the difficulty and that gives you an average expected number of hashes per share.
It would be nice to have a place where we can check the current difficulty.
http://bitcoinx.com/tenebrix/

also displays average time for a block at 1kH/s so you can easily scale it

blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
TiagoTiago
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


Firstbits.com/1fg4i                :Ƀ


View Profile
October 06, 2011, 04:41:41 PM
 #577

Awesum, thx

(I dont always get new reply notifications, pls send a pm when you think it has happened)

Wanna gimme some BTC for any or no reason? 1FmvtS66LFh6ycrXDwKRQTexGJw4UWiqDX Smiley

The more you believe in Bitcoin, and the more you show you do to other people, the faster the real value will soar!

Do you like mmmBananas?!
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
October 06, 2011, 04:53:47 PM
 #578

Awesum, thx

http://allchains.info/ has estimated difficulty change too, it's set to more than double in a day

current network speed is 4 mh/s or 4000 kh/s or about 360 quad core amd processors.  you will only get 2 TBX/day-kh/s in about 24 hours!  mine fast, mine hard.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
TiagoTiago
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


Firstbits.com/1fg4i                :Ƀ


View Profile
October 06, 2011, 05:01:18 PM
 #579

Damn, yet again i came in a bit too late :/

(I dont always get new reply notifications, pls send a pm when you think it has happened)

Wanna gimme some BTC for any or no reason? 1FmvtS66LFh6ycrXDwKRQTexGJw4UWiqDX Smiley

The more you believe in Bitcoin, and the more you show you do to other people, the faster the real value will soar!

Do you like mmmBananas?!
woooooofa
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
October 06, 2011, 05:56:11 PM
 #580

Can someone post a walkthrough of how to get this started.

I have Bitminter running at the same time and Tenebrix says that it cannot bind to port 8333 because bitcoin is already running...can I not run both at the same time?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!