Bitcoin Forum
May 28, 2024, 05:54:25 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 ... 102 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [GUIDE] GridSeed 5-Chip USB, Blade & Black Miner Support/Tuning  (Read 308645 times)
suchmoon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3682
Merit: 8935


https://bpip.org


View Profile WWW
March 13, 2014, 10:01:48 PM
 #541

Question about SSH:

I can figure out how to SSH into the Ubuntu box, and start it mining. If I close the connection, what happens to the terminal process that is running the miners? If I SSH back into the computer, does it reopen that window?

I still do not have the ubuntu box fully set up. I was able to simultaneously open multiple SSH windows into the Ubuntu box, and it started me thinking.

Use screen:

Code:
screen -S miner

"miner" can be anything, it's just a name that you can use later to get back to it. This will give you a new shell. Start cgminer there.

Ctrl-A, then Ctrl-D will exit the new shell and will keep cgminer running.

To verify that it's indeed running in the background use this:

Code:
ps auxwww | grep cgminer

You can now disconnect SSH etc. To get back to your cgminer:

Code:
screen -D -r miner
daddyfatsax
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 857
Merit: 1000


Anger is a gift.


View Profile
March 13, 2014, 11:10:30 PM
 #542

Scripta is the way to go on the pi. Finally have scryptguild showing the same speed as cgminer. Running 20 off 2 rosewill 10 port hubs.
lajz99
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
March 13, 2014, 11:12:39 PM
 #543


I just made an image, gridseed supported.
Just write image it to 4gb sdcard, stick it into your pi, fire up. Miners should start automatically after you've entered mining pool.
Hope this helps.

I am sorry, first upload was bad.....
https://mega.co.nz/#!uZAGFI6S!xVhHZdNvGij2L6gJk_VXnaTewgr7gFjOjnOCTtO_HHU


Thanks to all from litecointalk, who made this possible.

Let me know if that works for you.

Sorry, but can someone tell me what needs to be done step by step once the image has been copied over?

I can access the page and enter a pool but when I restart it never starts mining...

daddyfatsax
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 857
Merit: 1000


Anger is a gift.


View Profile
March 14, 2014, 12:12:02 AM
 #544

I just entered the pool info and saved it. Refreshed the page and it worked.
surgexvb
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 445
Merit: 100



View Profile
March 14, 2014, 12:34:28 AM
 #545

Has anyone tried a large amount of gridseeds on cgminer?  I am trying 28 of them on a rasberry pi and it stops accepting shares and eventually crashes after about 2 minutes.  Running 28 instances of cpuminer works great, stable, and multipool reports right about where the hash rate should be.

Mine's been stable since upgrading to the "next" kernel (3.10.30+):
sudo apt-get install rpi-update
sudo BRANCH=next rpi-update

This is potentially great news!  I've been having stability issues and set a cron job to do a reboot every 6 hours.  I've applied the update and disabled the cron job on 1 of 2 of my Pi's and i'll monitor over the next 24 hours.

Oh and just a recommendation, i've been using JuiceSSH for Android to remotely manage my RPI's and it works great.  I even set up some port forwarding on my router so I can remote access from anywhere I have cell service!  Has come in handy on several occasions (issuing a quick reboot command when needed).

-EMoomjean


I tried that and now cgminer just crashes on startup.  Did you have to recompile cgminer after updating?

Nope, I just executed the 2 commands and performed a reboot afterwards.  BTW, I double checked and the slub debug command in the cmdline.txt persists through the update (I only mention it because I saw cmdline.txt scroll by as one of the files that was touched in the patch).

-EMoomjean

Just recompiled and checked my cmdline.txt, was missing the stability fix.  Changed and now cgminer starts, but I get some HW errors and some miners dont accept any shares.  Power usage is only 140 watts compared to 240 running cpuminer.

Sounds like either cgminer isn't seeing all your miners or the RPI isnt seeing them.  I would try running the lsusb -t command to verify all of your miners are recognized by the RPI as a first step.

If you're using the 10 port hub that came with the Lightning Asic kits the ports with comm/data are the miner ports (should be 1-6, then 7 is Class=hub under which you'll see another 1-4).

-EMoomjean

Thanks for all your help.  I am using the monoprice 24 port hub, with another 7 port hub daisy chained.  Cpuminer sees all of the devices so I assume cgminer would as well.  28 total gridseeds

screen -dmS 1 sudo ./cgminer --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://us-west2.multipool.us:7777 -u myuser.gs1 -p x --gridseed-options=baud=115200,freq=800,chips=5 --hotplug 0

When I run lsusb -t I get this:
Code:
/:  Bus 01.Port 1: Dev 1, Class=root_hub, Driver=dwc_otg/1p, 480M
    |__ Port 1: Dev 2, If 0, Class=hub, Driver=hub/3p, 480M
        |__ Port 1: Dev 3, If 0, Class=vend., Driver=smsc95xx, 480M
        |__ Port 2: Dev 4, If 0, Class=hub, Driver=hub/7p, 480M
            |__ Port 1: Dev 5, If 0, Class=comm., Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
            |__ Port 1: Dev 5, If 1, Class=data, Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
            |__ Port 2: Dev 6, If 0, Class=comm., Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
            |__ Port 2: Dev 6, If 1, Class=data, Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
            |__ Port 3: Dev 7, If 0, Class=comm., Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
            |__ Port 3: Dev 7, If 1, Class=data, Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
            |__ Port 4: Dev 8, If 0, Class=comm., Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
            |__ Port 4: Dev 8, If 1, Class=data, Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
            |__ Port 5: Dev 9, If 0, Class=hub, Driver=hub/7p, 480M
                |__ Port 1: Dev 12, If 0, Class=comm., Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 1: Dev 12, If 1, Class=data, Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 2: Dev 13, If 0, Class=comm., Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 2: Dev 13, If 1, Class=data, Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 3: Dev 14, If 0, Class=comm., Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 3: Dev 14, If 1, Class=data, Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 4: Dev 15, If 0, Class=comm., Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 4: Dev 15, If 1, Class=data, Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 6: Dev 16, If 0, Class=comm., Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 6: Dev 16, If 1, Class=data, Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 7: Dev 17, If 0, Class=comm., Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 7: Dev 17, If 1, Class=data, Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
            |__ Port 6: Dev 10, If 0, Class=hub, Driver=hub/7p, 480M
                |__ Port 1: Dev 18, If 0, Class=comm., Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 1: Dev 18, If 1, Class=data, Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 2: Dev 19, If 0, Class=comm., Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 2: Dev 19, If 1, Class=data, Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 3: Dev 20, If 0, Class=comm., Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 3: Dev 20, If 1, Class=data, Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 4: Dev 21, If 0, Class=hub, Driver=hub/4p, 480M
                    |__ Port 1: Dev 32, If 0, Class=comm., Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                    |__ Port 1: Dev 32, If 1, Class=data, Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                    |__ Port 2: Dev 33, If 0, Class=comm., Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                    |__ Port 2: Dev 33, If 1, Class=data, Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                    |__ Port 4: Dev 34, If 0, Class=hub, Driver=hub/4p, 480M
                        |__ Port 1: Dev 35, If 0, Class=comm., Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                        |__ Port 1: Dev 35, If 1, Class=data, Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                        |__ Port 2: Dev 36, If 0, Class=comm., Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                        |__ Port 2: Dev 36, If 1, Class=data, Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                        |__ Port 3: Dev 37, If 0, Class=comm., Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                        |__ Port 3: Dev 37, If 1, Class=data, Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 5: Dev 22, If 0, Class=comm., Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 5: Dev 22, If 1, Class=data, Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 6: Dev 23, If 0, Class=comm., Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 6: Dev 23, If 1, Class=data, Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 7: Dev 24, If 0, Class=comm., Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 7: Dev 24, If 1, Class=data, Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
            |__ Port 7: Dev 11, If 0, Class=hub, Driver=hub/7p, 480M
                |__ Port 1: Dev 25, If 0, Class=comm., Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 1: Dev 25, If 1, Class=data, Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 2: Dev 26, If 0, Class=comm., Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 2: Dev 26, If 1, Class=data, Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 3: Dev 27, If 0, Class=comm., Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 3: Dev 27, If 1, Class=data, Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 4: Dev 28, If 0, Class=comm., Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 4: Dev 28, If 1, Class=data, Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 5: Dev 29, If 0, Class=comm., Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 5: Dev 29, If 1, Class=data, Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 6: Dev 30, If 0, Class=comm., Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 6: Dev 30, If 1, Class=data, Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 7: Dev 31, If 0, Class=comm., Driver=cdc_acm, 12M
                |__ Port 7: Dev 31, If 1, Class=data, Driver=cdc_acm, 12M




The command line argument you are using looks like the cgminer for windows version (boy do I spend too much time reading all these threads to spot that).  I don't use the chips=5 or --hotplug 0 variables and mine works fine.  Its a stab in the dark, but worth a try...  (though i'll admit your USB topology is slightly different so hotplug *might* be needed, though I doubt it).

-EMoomjean

Edit:  Out of curiosity, why are you daisy chaining the hubs?  The RPI has 2 USB ports (excluding the power port)  Why not plug the 24-port into one of the RPI's USB ports and the 7-port into the other?

 Shocked I will try that, I had them daisy chained because all the ports are full on the hubs and was using the other usb for keyboard and mouse.  I now just ssh in so I dont need the port.  Didnt cross my mind because cpuminer was working flawlessly.

|██████| | ██████SECURE AND LICENSED CRYPTOCURRENCY EXCHANGE██████ |██████| |
| INVECH |
WHITEPAPER | ANN THREAD | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | TELEGRAM | MEDIUM | INVECH |
|██████| | ███████JOIN INVECH INITIAL EXCHANGE OFFERING NOW!████████ |██████| |
wolfey2014
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
March 14, 2014, 01:09:37 AM
 #546

Hello everyone!
This data will definitely help with Tuning your GridSeed 5 chip USB miner/s.

I just received this data from GRIDSEED via HASHRA.com today. 3-13-14
I'm paraphrasing for general clarity.
I've also added some of my own observations based on direct experience with my own GS5's.

GRIDSEED GS3355 5 Chip USB Miner - Flashing RED and GREEN LED's - What They Actually Mean.

All timings are either approximate or exact, if not darn close!
Your clock speed may vary slightly. Wink

GREEN flashing LED means - 5V is ON / drive electronics are powered up.
GREEN LED is ON for 1 second, OFF for 1 second.

RED flashing LED - ON 3 seconds / OFF 3 seconds means - Miner Is Hashing /

Processing Data.

RED flashing LED - ON 60 to 70 seconds - OFF 60 to 70 seconds:
Miner is Not Hashing / Processing Data.

If Fan is OFF and RED LED IS STUCK ON or OFF i.e. not flashing:
12V is OFF - 5V is ON.

FAN is ON but no GREEN OR RED LED's are flashing ON or OFF, means:
12V ON - 5V OFF.

When first powering the miner on, the best sequence I have found is:
First, 12V ON
Second, 5V (USB POWER) ON

After 5V power is turned ON, after a few seconds, the GREEN LED's will start
to flash ON/OFF as written above.
After 12V power is turned ON, in about 60 to 70 seconds,
the RED LED's will start to sequence ON/OFF as written above.

Hope this helps! Smiley
Peace
Wolfey2014

LR6U7jB2Fb4pJYogbergqQHZgBRQ5UAqBG (LTC)
1G9uTT2YvygQXPMw4CaLWPJmg6asJBqM5f (BTC)
DMtMWd492Y4PrzZBA6fvkXywnGtgNcFdBd (DOGE)

I Modify Miners Professionally! PM me for details!
surgexvb
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 445
Merit: 100



View Profile
March 14, 2014, 01:33:51 AM
 #547

Shocked I will try that, I had them daisy chained because all the ports are full on the hubs and was using the other usb for keyboard and mouse.  I now just ssh in so I dont need the port.  Didnt cross my mind because cpuminer was working flawlessly.


changing the ports didn't help.  Whats really wierd is if I let it sit long enough, they all enventually submit shares, except the power usage fluctuates alot, 140 watts up to 220, and back down.  Almost like the Pi just isnt fast enough to run 28 in cgminer. Maybe the code is less cpu efficient than cpuminer.  I get the feeling it cant keep up and miners are going idle and then back online, which would explain the power fluctuations.

|██████| | ██████SECURE AND LICENSED CRYPTOCURRENCY EXCHANGE██████ |██████| |
| INVECH |
WHITEPAPER | ANN THREAD | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | TELEGRAM | MEDIUM | INVECH |
|██████| | ███████JOIN INVECH INITIAL EXCHANGE OFFERING NOW!████████ |██████| |
richmke
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 14, 2014, 01:54:08 AM
 #548

Use screen:

Got it. I need to read up on Screen. Seems like it spawns a terminal with the name you give it, and that will keep running independently of the ssh session.
richmke
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 14, 2014, 02:00:27 AM
 #549

Hop over to the purchase and setup guide: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=494625.0
Then come back here once you have everything set.

Unfortunately, I know enough to be dangerous, but not enough to be helpful.

I followed the steps in "Part 5: Throwing it all away and using A:Linux (and PI) B:Windows" that links to
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=494625.msg5448813#msg5448813
In Part 5A.1: Linux, I could build cpuminer, but it could not build cgminer (I skipped over the ubuntu 13.10 instructions). The cd /home/miner/usb-miner/software/cgminer directory was not there, but I did find one at cd /home/usb-miner/software/cgminer. But, that directory did not have the autogen.sh file.

Is it ok to follow these instructions instead for cgminer:
  *Cgminer for Scrypt on Linux: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=494625.msg5538853#msg5538853
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=494625.msg5538853#msg5538853

and then continue with the Part 5A.1 instructions?

Or, should I just abandon what I've done and follow the 2nd set of instructions?
miner765
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 14, 2014, 02:55:14 AM
 #550

Anything over 16 miners will get my cgminer to crash. Why so? It will just freeze and then crash. 16 miners work fine. Can anyone help please?
joeventura
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 14, 2014, 03:07:22 AM
 #551

Anything over 16 miners will get my cgminer to crash. Why so? It will just freeze and then crash. 16 miners work fine. Can anyone help please?

Cpuminer is the answer
TrollboxChamp
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 14, 2014, 03:29:15 AM
 #552

Ill just leave this here  Grin

My rig...

http://youtu.be/LQ8HzyMiLd0
IchibahnSLC
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 14, 2014, 03:38:17 AM
 #553

Ill just leave this here  Grin

My rig...

http://youtu.be/LQ8HzyMiLd0

 Shocked Shocked Shocked

Lucky!

How much you making a day?
IchibahnSLC
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 14, 2014, 03:40:34 AM
 #554

On another note is there a way to mine with different gridseed set at different frequencies? Without having 40 windows open? lol
jmordica
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 99
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 14, 2014, 03:41:15 AM
 #555

What is wrong with my config? Cgminer says Start cgminer with -T to see what failed to load but when I do that, I don't see any errors..

{
    "pools": [
        {
            "url": "stratum+tcp://ltc.ghash.io:3333",
            "user": "worker.something",
            "pass": "x"
        },
        {
            "url": "stratum+tcp://ny.clevermining.com:3333",
            "user": "worker.something",
            "pass": "x"
        }
    ],
    "gridseed-options": {
        "baud": "115200",
        "freq": "850",
        "chips": "5",
        "modules": "1",
        "usefifo": "0"
    },
    "api-listen": true,
    "api-mcast-port": "4028",
    "api-port": "4028",
    "expiry": "120",
    "hotplug": "5",
    "log": "5",
    "no-pool-disable": true,
    "queue": "1",
    "scan-time": "30",
    "scrypt": true,
    "shares": "0",
    "kernel-path": "/usr/local/bin",
    "api-allow": "W:127.0.0.1"
}
quakefiend420
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1000


View Profile
March 14, 2014, 04:35:01 AM
 #556

I just made an image, gridseed supported.
Just write image it to 4gb sdcard, stick it into your pi, fire up. Miners should start automatically after you've entered mining pool.
Hope this helps.

I am sorry, first upload was bad.....
https://mega.co.nz/#!uZAGFI6S!xVhHZdNvGij2L6gJk_VXnaTewgr7gFjOjnOCTtO_HHU


Thanks to all from litecointalk, who made this possible.

Let me know if that works for you.

What's the root PW?  It's refusing SSH connections too...

got in on the web interface with default pw scripta, forgot about NoScript stopping me...lol

Still refusing SSH, however...

SSH is on port 7722. Root password "scripta".

Ah, perfect.  Thanks!

Anyone having stability issues with this image?  Seems that after 2-4 hours the pi locks and I have to hard reset it.  This has happened 3 times now.
quakefiend420
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1000


View Profile
March 14, 2014, 06:16:43 AM
 #557

I just made an image, gridseed supported.
Just write image it to 4gb sdcard, stick it into your pi, fire up. Miners should start automatically after you've entered mining pool.
Hope this helps.

I am sorry, first upload was bad.....
https://mega.co.nz/#!uZAGFI6S!xVhHZdNvGij2L6gJk_VXnaTewgr7gFjOjnOCTtO_HHU


Thanks to all from litecointalk, who made this possible.

Let me know if that works for you.

What's the root PW?  It's refusing SSH connections too...

got in on the web interface with default pw scripta, forgot about NoScript stopping me...lol

Still refusing SSH, however...

SSH is on port 7722. Root password "scripta".

Ah, perfect.  Thanks!

Anyone having stability issues with this image?  Seems that after 2-4 hours the pi locks and I have to hard reset it.  This has happened 3 times now.

Last couple times I had left an SSH session alive with top running, this time I haven't and it's been up for about 4 hours so far...

I did check and the stability fix has been applied to this image already.
gigica viteazu`
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 458
Merit: 250

beast at work


View Profile
March 14, 2014, 09:37:58 AM
Last edit: March 14, 2014, 10:48:05 AM by gigica viteazu`
 #558

i`ve managed to compile & run BFGMiner on my minepeon and I didn`t experience any lockups for 10 hours with 10 miners

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=168174.msg5689374#msg5689374

there may be a bug still... always the pool dif is set/reported to 0


copyfile
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 251



View Profile
March 14, 2014, 02:40:49 PM
 #559

I would like to detach the coolers on the gridseed miners, but I'm not a fan of just cutting the wires somewhere. Are there other options that people here have used? Is it for example possible to detach the wires inside the coolers or something? Or is everyone here just cutting the wires?
fhh
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1206
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 14, 2014, 02:47:52 PM
 #560

heard from people desoldering them ...

Deutsche Bitcoinbörse: https://www.bitcoin.de/r/yyfrkv
das passende Konto gibts bei der fidor Bank https://banking.fidor.de/registrierung?ibid=43076568
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 ... 102 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!