Bitcoin Forum
July 19, 2019, 05:46:16 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 ... 2047 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XMR] Monero - A secure, private, untraceable cryptocurrency  (Read 4569914 times)
digicoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 28, 2014, 11:17:12 AM
 #241

Quote
2014-Apr-28 11:06:34.210535 [P2P2]Connect failed to 176.58.127.147:18080


I see a lot of messages like that in bitmonerod screen. What is the port 18080 used for? Do you need to open that port to the outside to allow people connect to me?
1563558376
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563558376

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563558376
Reply with quote  #2

1563558376
Report to moderator
1563558376
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563558376

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563558376
Reply with quote  #2

1563558376
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1563558376
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563558376

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563558376
Reply with quote  #2

1563558376
Report to moderator
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184
Merit: 1130



View Profile
April 28, 2014, 11:19:08 AM
 #242

Quote
2014-Apr-28 11:06:34.210535 [P2P2]Connect failed to 176.58.127.147:18080
I see a lot of messages like that in bitmonerod screen. What is the port 18080 used for?
That is the p2p.

Quote
Do you need to open that port to the outside to allow people connect to me?

Yes
superresistant
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2030
Merit: 1095



View Profile
April 28, 2014, 11:21:20 AM
Last edit: April 28, 2014, 11:36:54 AM by superresistant
 #243

On Linux
./bitmonerod
On Windows
bitmonerod.exe
On the console, type
Quote
start_mining your-wallet-address-here 8
where your-wallet-address-here is replaced with your address and 8 is replaced by your CPU core X 2

Ok thanks
It was not clear for me that I had to use ./bitmonerod instead of the miner.


digicoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 28, 2014, 11:22:04 AM
 #244

What happens if I don't open that port? Ex: I am using a laptop that is behind a corporate firewall. I can not ask the sysadmin guy to open that port on the router.

Thanks
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184
Merit: 1130



View Profile
April 28, 2014, 11:23:25 AM
Last edit: April 28, 2014, 11:34:16 AM by smooth
 #245

What happens if I don't open that port? Ex: I am using a laptop that is behind a corporate firewall. I can not ask the sysadmin guy to open that port on the router.

Thanks

It will still work. You won't be connected to the p2p as robustly and if you are mining you might have more orphans. Not encouraged since if nobody opens their port there won't be a p2p. But it will work.

Also, other nodes will still probably try (and fail) to connect to you. That might get logged on the corporate firewall. Be aware.
24core
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 529
Merit: 250


An Impressive Purely Anonymous Currency.


View Profile WWW
April 28, 2014, 11:39:29 AM
 #246

Hi there,

Going to give this coin a go so synced over night and started mining.

Has rate is as follows :-

hashrate: 17.1579
hashrate: 17.0000
hashrate: 17.0526
hashrate: 17.3158
hashrate: 17.3158
hashrate: 17.1579
hashrate: 17.1053
hashrate: 17.1053
hashrate: 17.5789

See what happens!

I now have 17 in my wallet.  I'm not sure if this is good or bad but considering I have 30 x 2.3 threads I would hope for more!  While less may be worth more, on a new coin it is nice to see more results and this inspires you to continue.  I had the same perception problem with bytecoin.  While I understand pools may come early prospectors always like to find something ;-)


Yes, there is sth strange. I have 36threads - yesterday 8 blocks found, today only one. Quite big difference. Why? Too big difference to say that it's just a matter of luck.

Difficulty went up a lot recently:
two days ago: 301298
yesterday: 346375
today: 459337

That might be why.


Yes, it's true, it could be the reason.


ok my balance is now

bitmonero   52.061086659182   

So did I get lucky or has the difficulty dropped ? 

Where can I check the current difficulty ?

DeepOnion.org
superresistant
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2030
Merit: 1095



View Profile
April 28, 2014, 11:46:22 AM
 #247


Is there a way of saving my wallet like exporting the private key ?

surfer43
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 250


"Trading Platform of The Future!"


View Profile
April 28, 2014, 11:48:27 AM
 #248

Can anyone help with this error or recovering from it?
Code:
2014-Apr-27 11:53:59.291123 bitmonero wallet v0.8.5.294()
2014-Apr-27 11:54:05.380352 Loaded wallet keys file, with public address: 4Am734VBiL1eVH4B8WqwPYPz9uQV1tzedGqDQeRxH2kNHybGTWkZdju6uqgqE2r1iKhTKCUvQbfh9Urqdp2pBC2iRqCEm8Z
2014-Apr-27 11:54:05.380596 ERROR /home/user/bitmonero/src/common/boost_serialization_helper.h:42 Exception at [unserialize_obj_from_file], what=invalid signature
2014-Apr-27 11:54:05.380617 ERROR /home/user/bitmonero/src/wallet/wallet2.cpp:444 !r. THROW EXCEPTION: error::file_read_error
2014-Apr-27 11:54:05.380649 /home/user/bitmonero/src/wallet/wallet2.cpp:444:N5tools5error15file_error_baseILi2EEE: failed to read file "wallet.bin"
2014-Apr-27 11:54:05.380705 Error: failed to load wallet: failed to read file "wallet.bin"
Sad
Are my coins lost?  Undecided
size of wallet.bin : 0 bytes

I still have wallet.bin.address.txt and wallet.bin.keys

I had a similar issue where my bin some how got corrupted and would unlock with the password (yes, it was the right password)

Is there any sort of recovery or am I just shit out of luck?

stellarman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 60
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 28, 2014, 12:19:38 PM
 #249

So, I installed the Windows package, downloaded the blockchain successfully, worked out the firewall rules, and actually got the daemon to show that I was hashing. CPU usage with the daemon running is > 95%. I have a 2.8 GH AMD Sempron processor, 8 GB of RAM, on a 64-bit Windows 8 machine.

The problem is that the highest hash rate I have seen so far is 0.1 H/s. Most of the time it is showing zero.

What's with that??

At this point, I don't see any reason to run my processor at 100% if I am not getting any significant hashing power out of the deal

Any suggestions?

Rick



digicoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 28, 2014, 12:40:37 PM
 #250


ok my balance is now

bitmonero   52.061086659182   

So did I get lucky or has the difficulty dropped ?  

Where can I check the current difficulty ?

How many core do you have? It looks like you are rather lucky. The diff is getting higher and higher. There is no signal that it will drop. As of the current difficulty, please look at bitmonerod screen (the console one)
digicoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 28, 2014, 12:41:26 PM
 #251

So, I installed the Windows package, downloaded the blockchain successfully, worked out the firewall rules, and actually got the daemon to show that I was hashing. CPU usage with the daemon running is > 95%. I have a 2.8 GH AMD Sempron processor, 8 GB of RAM, on a 64-bit Windows 8 machine.

The problem is that the highest hash rate I have seen so far is 0.1 H/s. Most of the time it is showing zero.

What's with that??

At this point, I don't see any reason to run my processor at 100% if I am not getting any significant hashing power out of the deal

Any suggestions?

Rick





How many threads do you launch?
digicoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 28, 2014, 12:44:19 PM
 #252

What happens if I don't open that port? Ex: I am using a laptop that is behind a corporate firewall. I can not ask the sysadmin guy to open that port on the router.

Thanks

It will still work. You won't be connected to the p2p as robustly and if you are mining you might have more orphans. Not encouraged since if nobody opens their port there won't be a p2p. But it will work.

Also, other nodes will still probably try (and fail) to connect to you. That might get logged on the corporate firewall. Be aware.


Thanks. I just opened that port on one of my Azure VMs. People, do not use Windows Azure VM. It is deadly slow and unstable. I am not paying for the VM because my company owns it.  Grin
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 28, 2014, 03:34:30 PM
 #253

Can anyone help with this error or recovering from it?
Code:
2014-Apr-27 11:53:59.291123 bitmonero wallet v0.8.5.294()
2014-Apr-27 11:54:05.380352 Loaded wallet keys file, with public address: 4Am734VBiL1eVH4B8WqwPYPz9uQV1tzedGqDQeRxH2kNHybGTWkZdju6uqgqE2r1iKhTKCUvQbfh9Urqdp2pBC2iRqCEm8Z
2014-Apr-27 11:54:05.380596 ERROR /home/user/bitmonero/src/common/boost_serialization_helper.h:42 Exception at [unserialize_obj_from_file], what=invalid signature
2014-Apr-27 11:54:05.380617 ERROR /home/user/bitmonero/src/wallet/wallet2.cpp:444 !r. THROW EXCEPTION: error::file_read_error
2014-Apr-27 11:54:05.380649 /home/user/bitmonero/src/wallet/wallet2.cpp:444:N5tools5error15file_error_baseILi2EEE: failed to read file "wallet.bin"
2014-Apr-27 11:54:05.380705 Error: failed to load wallet: failed to read file "wallet.bin"
Sad
Are my coins lost?  Undecided
size of wallet.bin : 0 bytes

I still have wallet.bin.address.txt and wallet.bin.keys

I had a similar issue where my bin some how got corrupted and would unlock with the password (yes, it was the right password)

Is there any sort of recovery or am I just shit out of luck?

I haven't seen this before.  However, you should be able to access the wallet from backed up wallet.bin files.  Remember to always exit the wallet with "exit".

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 28, 2014, 03:38:53 PM
 #254


ok my balance is now

bitmonero   52.061086659182   

So did I get lucky or has the difficulty dropped ?  

Where can I check the current difficulty ?

How many core do you have? It looks like you are rather lucky. The diff is getting higher and higher. There is no signal that it will drop. As of the current difficulty, please look at bitmonerod screen (the console one)

Yup, we are closing in on ByteCoin now (remember that Monero difficulty is equivalent to 2x that of ByteCoin).

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 28, 2014, 03:39:50 PM
 #255

So, I installed the Windows package, downloaded the blockchain successfully, worked out the firewall rules, and actually got the daemon to show that I was hashing. CPU usage with the daemon running is > 95%. I have a 2.8 GH AMD Sempron processor, 8 GB of RAM, on a 64-bit Windows 8 machine.

The problem is that the highest hash rate I have seen so far is 0.1 H/s. Most of the time it is showing zero.

What's with that??

At this point, I don't see any reason to run my processor at 100% if I am not getting any significant hashing power out of the deal

Any suggestions?

Rick

That CPU is likely too slow, especially if you're hashing with GPUs on that machine.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
digicoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 28, 2014, 03:41:17 PM
 #256

Adam back seems to like CryptoNote the better than Zerocash https://twitter.com/adam3us/status/453493394472697856
surfer43
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 250


"Trading Platform of The Future!"


View Profile
April 28, 2014, 03:44:32 PM
 #257

I haven't seen this before.  However, you should be able to access the wallet from backed up wallet.bin files.  Remember to always exit the wallet with "exit".
No backup. Is it possible to recover from wallet.bin.keys and wallet.bin.address.txt? It appears bitmonerod wiped my wallet.bin  Sad

digicoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 28, 2014, 03:47:20 PM
 #258

All,

It looks like there is a way to decrease block time to eh ... seconds https://eprint.iacr.org/2013/881.pdf Is it practical to do so?
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 28, 2014, 03:53:53 PM
 #259

All,

It looks like there is a way to decrease block time to eh ... seconds https://eprint.iacr.org/2013/881.pdf Is it practical to do so?

The practicality of this has been debated, because at the point when blocks are generated in seconds you end up with massive bandwidth loss due to most blocks containing duplicate tx (which the paper doesn't really address).  Still, it's good as an "orphan capture" technology that adds orphan work to the main chain to help further secure it, hence why ethereum is using it with 1 minute blocks.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
digicoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 28, 2014, 03:55:38 PM
 #260

Regarding to orphan blocks, my rig has one few seconds ago

Quote
2014-Apr-28 15:53:49.332577 [P2P6]----- BLOCK ADDED AS ALTERNATIVE ON HEIGHT 15469
id:     <2f9dd355ce328de4e5ab1e3bb3280e01d6a1a8ad15353092d0d52be8094f7da9>
PoW:    <e9fbb9f40ff343ea990aba7f8117922d92788bade7e21c198e436855ea050000>
difficulty:     547511

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 ... 2047 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!