Bitcoin Forum
November 29, 2021, 03:00:57 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 [259] 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 ... 516 »
  Print  
Author Topic: ANTMINER S3+ Discussion and Support Thread  (Read 709373 times)
Jesehl
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 02:48:17 AM
 #5161

still have coupons. what to do with it?
1638154857
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638154857

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638154857
Reply with quote  #2

1638154857
Report to moderator
1638154857
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638154857

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638154857
Reply with quote  #2

1638154857
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Xian01
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1050


Christian Antkow


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 02:53:19 AM
 #5162

I just flashed a B5 to the newest firmware, defaulted to 237 instead of 218.75, and at 237 I was getting really bad hash-rate at ~100GHs Sad Had to set it to the default 218.75 to get her back at ~440GHs.

Was sad to see 225 was not listed in the frequency drop-down.
visdude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1079
Merit: 1001


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 03:01:30 AM
Last edit: August 15, 2014, 03:21:51 AM by visdude
 #5163

There are 262 pages not easy to read them all.

My S3 will be in my hands tomorrow. What I would like to learn is whether I can use a Butterfly labs 50GH/s Power Supply on Antminer S3 ?
I have already bought a 600W PSU with two 6 pin cables because I'm not going to overclock.
But if Butterfly labs PSU works with S3 I will give the new one back.

If anybody can give an idea I appreciate...


Please do not use BFL Single SC power supply units to power your S3s or any device for that matter.  There's a good reason why a whole lot of BFL preorder victims (including me) refrained from using them and opted to use ATX PSUs instead.  The workmanship and the quality of their components are substandard to say the least.  They're known to produce some spectacular fireworks.  Hopefully, the following videos would dissuade you from proceeding with your plan:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jGVYHYfzEq4

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3iabWK8EIgc

MoreBloodWine
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1001


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 03:02:43 AM
 #5164

I just flashed a B5 to the newest firmware, defaulted to 237 instead of 218.75, and at 237 I was getting really bad hash-rate at ~100GHs Sad Had to set it to the default 218.75 to get her back at ~440GHs.

Was sad to see 225 was not listed in the frequency drop-down.
I though I saw it but your right, it's not there. Curious as to why though when 225 is supposed to be default to the S3+ or w/e.

Curious if this new FW will even be on the S3+. No that it matters since at the current price point and projected release date and the diff increases between now and then it could easily be a wash.

To be decided...
Rabinovitch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2030
Merit: 1076


BTCLife.global participant


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 03:03:31 AM
 #5165

still have coupons. what to do with it?
Make a gift to someone until they are still valid...

From Siberia with love! Hosting by Rabinovitch!
Fundraising for BOINC Farm
Пpoфeccиoнaльнo зaнимaюcь paзвёpтывaниeм фepм (ASIC, GPU, BURST, STORJ, Filecoin), oбopyдoвaниeм пoмeщeний для мaйнингa.
hdbuck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1002



View Profile
August 15, 2014, 03:05:45 AM
 #5166

still have coupons. what to do with it?
Make a gift to someone until they are still valid...

yea, at least you will make them save 0.075BTC.
not that they will mine a lot more when they'll ship in september.
eoakland
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 504



View Profile
August 15, 2014, 03:07:51 AM
 #5167

I am curious has anyone had any RMA issues with Bitmain ?  i have provided them with the order ID and I am still having the hardest time getting RMA information from them.  They have demanded I perform a test with something called a multimeter (which i do not own, i had to go purchase one)  so i could test the chains.  My s3 device pretty much bricked itself with a firmware upgrade.  I cannot access the UI, the ip is not found (never changed from default).  I used an ipsniffer, and still zilch....anyhow, i am curious to know how Bitmain has dealt with RMA requests from others.   Thanks

Code:
               ▄▄███████▄▄
            ▄███████████████▄
           ███████████████████
          █████████████████████▄▄▄▄
      ▄▄▄████████████████████████████▄
   ▄█████ ▐▌ ██████████████████████████▄
 ▄█████       ▀█         █          ████▄
▐███████  ███  ▐█  ██▀█▄▄█▄▄██  ██▄▄█████
████████       ██     ████████  █████████
████████  ███  ▐█  ██▄█▀▀█████  ████████▀
 ██████       ▄█         ███      █████▀
  ▀██████ ▐▌ ████████████████████████▀
    ▀▀▀██████████████████████████▀▀
       ▄▄▀▀▀██████▄
    ▄██████▀▀███████▀▀▄
  ▄██████▀▄███████████▄▀▄
 ▄█ ███████████████ ████▄▄
▄██████████████████▌▐█████▄
███████████████████████████
▀▄████████▄▄▄▀▀▀████████▀▄
██████████████████████████
▀████ ████████████████████▀
 ▀████ █████████▀▄████ ██▀
  ▀████▄▀█████▀▀▄█████▌▐▀
▄███▀▄██████▄▄████▀▀▄▄▀███▄
▀██████
▀▀████▄▄▄▄▄▀▀██████▀
   ▀▀▀███████████████▀▀▀
         ▄▄▀▀██▀▀▀▀▄▄▄▄▄
      ▄▀▀██▄▄█▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄
  ▄▄▄▀▀▀█▄▄▄▀▄██████████
▄▀▀█▄▀█▄█▀███████████
▄▀████████▐▌██████
 █▀▄██████████▄████▄████
  ▀▄█████████████████████
   ▀▄█████████▀██████▀███
     ██████████▄██▄█████
      █████████████████████
       ▀▄████████████████
        ▀▄████████████████
          ▀███▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀
visdude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1079
Merit: 1001


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 03:16:42 AM
Last edit: August 16, 2014, 04:12:46 AM by visdude
 #5168


Whew!  This afternoon is one of the hottest if not the hottest period for my S3s which have been hashing at 225M for the last 40 hours with the following data:

Tambient = 36C (97F)
Tdevice = 46C
Wattage at the wall = 380W
Hash Rate = 453 GH/s
HW = 0.015%

MoreBloodWine
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1001


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 03:19:02 AM
 #5169

Does anyone know of a way to "hack" the S3 so instead of say showing an HW value of 200 it takes that and the diff's, does the math and instead displays the HW % out to like x.xxx ?

To be decided...
Billbags
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250

Brainwashed this way


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 03:36:52 AM
 #5170

I am curious has anyone had any RMA issues with Bitmain ?  i have provided them with the order ID and I am still having the hardest time getting RMA information from them.  They have demanded I perform a test with something called a multimeter (which i do not own, i had to go purchase one)  so i could test the chains.  My s3 device pretty much bricked itself with a firmware upgrade.  I cannot access the UI, the ip is not found (never changed from default).  I used an ipsniffer, and still zilch....anyhow, i am curious to know how Bitmain has dealt with RMA requests from others.   Thanks

It took me 2 1/2 weeks of those emails back and fourth. I finally told them I would sell it for parts on Bitcointalk.org and tell everyone about them not honoring warranty. Then and only then did they sent a RMA form. I sent it(controller) off 3 weeks ago and still don't have a replacement. Good luck.

Listen: meat beat manifesto ~ Edge of no control (pt.1)
Read:"He who controls the past controls the future. He who controls the present controls the past." ~ George Orwell
Think: http://unenumerated.blogspot.com/2014/12/the-dawn-of-trustworthy-computing.html
Jesehl
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 04:01:03 AM
 #5171

anyone buying S3+? still have 2 coupons. Just buy me a beer. =)
1Neptune
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 241
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 15, 2014, 04:08:15 AM
 #5172

I am curious has anyone had any RMA issues with Bitmain ?  i have provided them with the order ID and I am still having the hardest time getting RMA information from them.  They have demanded I perform a test with something called a multimeter (which i do not own, i had to go purchase one)  so i could test the chains.  My s3 device pretty much bricked itself with a firmware upgrade.  I cannot access the UI, the ip is not found (never changed from default).  I used an ipsniffer, and still zilch....anyhow, i am curious to know how Bitmain has dealt with RMA requests from others.   Thanks

It took me 2 1/2 weeks of those emails back and fourth. I finally told them I would sell it for parts on Bitcointalk.org and tell everyone about them not honoring warranty. Then and only then did they sent a RMA form. I sent it(controller) off 3 weeks ago and still don't have a replacement. Good luck.

It would seem to be a safe statement to say that the S3's do not hold up to the quality shown and expected from the S1's and S2's.

Sad.

And unnecessary. And expensive for us, the customer.

Their reputation is taking many hits and they're not all good. It's the result of someone's active decisions and they weren't good for the short term and certainly not for the long term.
windpath
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1256
Merit: 1026


View Profile WWW
August 15, 2014, 04:45:24 AM
 #5173

I would strongly suggest not upgrading to the newest firmware!
(antMiner_S320140811.bin)

Effect on hashrate as reported at pool - 30 mins:



Miner dashboard - 30 minutes:



It changed the frequency to 237.5 according to the new advanced settings tab under miner configuration, but it does not show any frequency on miner stats page (above).

Best speed seen since upgrade: 119.27GH/s

Average speed prior to upgrade: 447.82GH/s (@Freq 225, surprisingly not an option under advanced settings)

lordmykl
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 04:51:44 AM
 #5174

I would strongly suggest not upgrading to the newest firmware!
(antMiner_S320140811.bin)

Effect on hashrate as reported at pool - 30 mins:

https://www.evernote.com/shard/s91/sh/92474b28-f2dd-4e45-ba72-7b5f74eff5a2/f74007a355d29198760d9391ef613c4a/deep/0/P2Pool-Graphs.png

Miner dashboard - 30 minutes:

https://www.evernote.com/shard/s91/sh/973026a8-27e4-4ff9-bd1e-2918cc73c308/b6f9c5c0f81154d1c6eb5a38a126cf64/deep/0/Ant-Miner.png

It changed the frequency to 237.5 according to the new advanced settings tab under miner configuration, but it does not show any frequency on miner stats page (above).

Best speed seen since upgrade: 119.27GH/s

Average speed prior to upgrade: 447.82GH/s (@Freq 225, surprisingly not an option under advanced settings)



That happened to me too, after the firmware upgrade it automatically changed me from stock 218.75 to 237.5 and the hashrate went down to 100 Gh/s with the frequency not showing up in the console. If you change it to 218.75M or 250M in Advanced Configuration, however, it goes back to mining at rates you'd expect at those frequencies. For whatever reason the upgrade switches it to 237.5 and it simply doesn't work.

Interestingly enough, if I SSH into the box, the asic-freq file shows me running at a different rate than the Advanced Settings tab and the status page show. Whatever they did in the firmware upgrade apparently bypasses the asic-freq file to make the changes. In any case, I have my four 'well-behaved' miners running at 250W now, and the two trouble children that don't OC well running at 218.75 on the new firmware and all seems fine for now. But agreed, the firmware update didn't seem to help much and makes me a bit nervous now.
Xian01
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1050


Christian Antkow


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 05:03:18 AM
Last edit: August 15, 2014, 05:48:17 AM by Xian01
 #5175

/etc/config/asic-freq appears to be completely irrelevant in this latest firmware Sad

Appears to have moved to the last line in /etc/config/cgminer

option freq '18:218.75:1106'

EDIT: 225 is a bust for me on this B5 unit. Hashes @ ~350-400GHs. 218.75 is the magic number it seems for stability @ ~441GHs.

I've had horrible luck with the S3's Sad The S1's I had, the the current S2's I'm running were/are rock solid comparatively. Across a dozen S3's, nearly 40% of them are underperforming requiring underclocking, and Bitmain has not been responsive on a compensation/resolution for underperforming units Sad

Fuck Sad

EDIT2: Reverted to prior firmware. Something doesn't seem right with this latest one. Performance appears to suffer based on the short testing I have done so far on a B5 unit.
dlasher
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 467
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
August 15, 2014, 05:08:38 AM
 #5176

I am curious has anyone had any RMA issues with Bitmain ?  i have provided them with the order ID and I am still having the hardest time getting RMA information from them.  They have demanded I perform a test with something called a multimeter (which i do not own, i had to go purchase one)  so i could test the chains.  My s3 device pretty much bricked itself with a firmware upgrade.  I cannot access the UI, the ip is not found (never changed from default).  I used an ipsniffer, and still zilch....anyhow, i am curious to know how Bitmain has dealt with RMA requests from others.   Thanks

It took me 2 1/2 weeks of those emails back and fourth. I finally told them I would sell it for parts on Bitcointalk.org and tell everyone about them not honoring warranty. Then and only then did they sent a RMA form. I sent it(controller) off 3 weeks ago and still don't have a replacement. Good luck.

What were your failure symptoms? I had one die today.. going to have to go down this road...
windpath
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1256
Merit: 1026


View Profile WWW
August 15, 2014, 05:43:38 AM
 #5177

After fiddling around with it, I'll have to retract my previous statement and I'm happy to report better then previous performance with the new firmware (so far), it happened on this particular miner at a freq of 237.5, available in the new frequency drop-down.

Ant # 92:
Rate before upgrade at 237.5 = 441.73 (average over 3 days)
Rate after upgrade at 237.5 = 454.90 (30 mins)

Man these are finicky...


jimmyoh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 07:05:05 AM
 #5178

Has anyone else with a Batch 8 order lose their edit option?
Seems a little too soon for that to happen.
hurricandave
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1003



View Profile
August 15, 2014, 07:14:15 AM
 #5179

Has anyone else with a Batch 8 order lose their edit option?
Seems a little too soon for that to happen.
It may be a way of protecting your purchase at the current price. With the HUGE drop in BTC value the last couple of days It's possible they may have closed editing and will raise the btc price very soon to reflect the current exchange rate.
jimmyoh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 07:19:44 AM
 #5180

Has anyone else with a Batch 8 order lose their edit option?
Seems a little too soon for that to happen.
It may be a way of protecting your purchase at the current price. With the HUGE drop in BTC value the last couple of days It's possible they may have closed editing and will raise the btc price very soon to reflect the current exchange rate.

Sounds reasonable enough. Because the BTC price drop was the reason I pulled the trigger and placed the order. Thanks.
Pages: « 1 ... 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 [259] 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 ... 516 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!