Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 02:26:32 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [REQUESTS] Minimal Electrum builds for Windows  (Read 44232 times)
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
May 25, 2012, 07:34:25 AM
 #121

Do you know if there is a way to avoid the sending to a random change address? As the change addr is not listed in the gui, you can't see the correct balance after a transaction, you always have to check it with the commands (console).
It would be great if the user could determine his own change address (in the gui), eg. the source addr.

Hi,
to my knowledge, there is currently no way of specifying a preferred change address.
I don't even know if this is possible within the bitcoin protocol, perhaps ThomasV can comment on that?

yes you can do it with the command line. see the docs.
it's just not possible with the gui at the moment.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
May 25, 2012, 07:46:07 AM
 #122

Do you know if there is a way to avoid the sending to a random change address? As the change addr is not listed in the gui, you can't see the correct balance after a transaction, you always have to check it with the commands (console).
It would be great if the user could determine his own change address (in the gui), eg. the source addr.

Hi,
to my knowledge, there is currently no way of specifying a preferred change address.
I don't even know if this is possible within the bitcoin protocol, perhaps ThomasV can comment on that?

yes you can do it with the command line. see the docs.
it's just not possible with the gui at the moment.

oh yes indeed, i wasn't aware of that.

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
bitcats
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008



View Profile
May 25, 2012, 09:07:42 AM
 #123

...
But regardless, you should always see the correct global balance in the GUI.

Yes, I can see the total balance but not in detail, i.e. the amounts of the change addr are not displayed in the gui.
Say a user imports some vanity addresses: 1customer1xxxxxxxxx, 1customer2xxxxxxxxx, 1customer3xxxxxxxxx, etc and for some reason he has to send a partial amount back to a customer, than he needs to see the remaining (partial) balance in the client (gui). For this purpose, it would be useful to get the change amount back to the source address.

I also think that it would be very useful to see the balance of the change addr in the gui (it could be marked in some way for a better distinction).

"Unser Problem ist nicht ziviler Ungehorsam, unser Problem ist ziviler Gehorsam."  - Howard Zinn
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
May 25, 2012, 11:23:26 AM
 #124

...
But regardless, you should always see the correct global balance in the GUI.

Yes, I can see the total balance but not in detail, i.e. the amounts of the change addr are not displayed in the gui.
Say a user imports some vanity addresses: 1customer1xxxxxxxxx, 1customer2xxxxxxxxx, 1customer3xxxxxxxxx, etc and for some reason he has to send a partial amount back to a customer, than he needs to see the remaining (partial) balance in the client (gui). For this purpose, it would be useful to get the change amount back to the source address.

I also think that it would be very useful to see the balance of the change addr in the gui (it could be marked in some way for a better distinction).

Agree, that would be a nice option to have!

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
May 31, 2012, 06:29:07 PM
 #125

Release 0.53-1 is out.

Just a minor release, with better error messages and further stability improvements.
As always, feel free to let me know if any issues or comments.

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
bitcats
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008



View Profile
June 04, 2012, 07:27:09 AM
 #126

Are there any limitations in the portable version?

"Unser Problem ist nicht ziviler Ungehorsam, unser Problem ist ziviler Gehorsam."  - Howard Zinn
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
June 04, 2012, 07:43:17 AM
 #127

Are there any limitations in the portable version?

No, the portable and non-portable versions are perfectly identical (they share the same SHA-1 hash), except that the portable version doesn't write ANY data outside of the folder it is stored in - it automatically considers the location of electrum.dat is next to the executable (the command-line version still needs the -w parameter, though).

I hope this answers your question. Do not hesitate to let me know if any issues. Smiley

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
June 08, 2012, 11:59:54 AM
 #128

Version 0.55 is now available, with some sexy new (advanced) features!
See this thread for more info. Enjoy!

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
bitcats
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008



View Profile
June 08, 2012, 04:04:43 PM
 #129

I tried the portable version but i cant install it (Vista). The normal version works.

Another bug: I cant see the privkey of imported addresses with the command: -o addresses -ak
With previous versions it worked. (the wallet is unencrypted)

"Unser Problem ist nicht ziviler Ungehorsam, unser Problem ist ziviler Gehorsam."  - Howard Zinn
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
June 08, 2012, 05:47:20 PM
 #130

I tried the portable version but i cant install it (Vista). The normal version works.

Hi, do you get an error message with the portable version?

Quote

Another bug: I cant see the privkey of imported addresses with the command: -o addresses -ak
With previous versions it worked. (the wallet is unencrypted)

Indeed, same problem here. I guess this is a new bug.

  File "electrum", line 398, in <module>
    addr += ':' + str(wallet.get_private_key_base58(addr, password))
  File "C:\Documents and Settings\ffly\Application Data\Electrum-P\0.55\C_\ElectrumPY\lib\wallet.py", line 388, in get_private_key_base58
    pk = self.get_private_key(address, password)
  File "C:\Documents and Settings\ffly\Application Data\Electrum-P\0.55\C_\ElectrumPY\lib\wallet.py", line 409, in get_private_key
    raise BaseException("unknown address")
BaseException: unknown address

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
bitcats
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008



View Profile
June 08, 2012, 06:34:05 PM
 #131


Hi, do you get an error message with the portable version?

Indeed, same problem here. I guess this is a new bug.

  File "electrum", line 398, in <module>
    addr += ':' + str(wallet.get_private_key_base58(addr, password))
  File "C:\Documents and Settings\ffly\Application Data\Electrum-P\0.55\C_\ElectrumPY\lib\wallet.py", line 388, in get_private_key_base58
    pk = self.get_private_key(address, password)
  File "C:\Documents and Settings\ffly\Application Data\Electrum-P\0.55\C_\ElectrumPY\lib\wallet.py", line 409, in get_private_key
    raise BaseException("unknown address")
BaseException: unknown address
- Thats the bug I get.

- No error message. It locked up (in German: it hangs)

"Unser Problem ist nicht ziviler Ungehorsam, unser Problem ist ziviler Gehorsam."  - Howard Zinn
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
June 08, 2012, 06:49:49 PM
 #132

A few more questions: Did you run the portable version off a USB stick, or your hard drive? It's supposed to unpack all Python files into a subdirectory (the Electrum-P folder), next to the executable (elec055-portable.exe). Did it do that?

I will try to find a Vista machine so I can do some testing.

EDIT: Note that in portable mode, the executable doesn't need the -w parameter. It will automatically use the wallet file (electrum.dat) located in the same directory. Sorry, I should have mentioned this.

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
June 08, 2012, 06:54:58 PM
 #133


Hi, do you get an error message with the portable version?

Indeed, same problem here. I guess this is a new bug.

  File "electrum", line 398, in <module>
    addr += ':' + str(wallet.get_private_key_base58(addr, password))
  File "C:\Documents and Settings\ffly\Application Data\Electrum-P\0.55\C_\ElectrumPY\lib\wallet.py", line 388, in get_private_key_base58
    pk = self.get_private_key(address, password)
  File "C:\Documents and Settings\ffly\Application Data\Electrum-P\0.55\C_\ElectrumPY\lib\wallet.py", line 409, in get_private_key
    raise BaseException("unknown address")
BaseException: unknown address
- Thats the bug I get.

- No error message. It locked up (in German: it hangs)


I just noticed this bug. it is not related to imported keys.
just fixed it, see version 0.55a

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
June 08, 2012, 07:10:10 PM
 #134


Hi, do you get an error message with the portable version?

Indeed, same problem here. I guess this is a new bug.

  File "electrum", line 398, in <module>
    addr += ':' + str(wallet.get_private_key_base58(addr, password))
  File "C:\Documents and Settings\ffly\Application Data\Electrum-P\0.55\C_\ElectrumPY\lib\wallet.py", line 388, in get_private_key_base58
    pk = self.get_private_key(address, password)
  File "C:\Documents and Settings\ffly\Application Data\Electrum-P\0.55\C_\ElectrumPY\lib\wallet.py", line 409, in get_private_key
    raise BaseException("unknown address")
BaseException: unknown address
- Thats the bug I get.

- No error message. It locked up (in German: it hangs)


I just noticed this bug. it is not related to imported keys.
just fixed it, see version 0.55a


Thanks, I've just updated the windows builds to 0.55a too.

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
bitcats
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008



View Profile
June 08, 2012, 07:12:59 PM
 #135

A few more questions: Did you run the portable version off a USB stick, or your hard drive? It's supposed to unpack all Python files into a subdirectory (the Electrum-P folder), next to the executable (elec055-portable.exe). Did it do that?

EDIT: Note that in portable mode, the executable doesn't need the -w parameter. It will automatically use the wallet file (electrum.dat) located in the same directory. Sorry, I should have mentioned this.
Indeed, I installed it on a USB Stick. (without -w)
During the unpacking process, it locked up. I had to shutdown.

"Unser Problem ist nicht ziviler Ungehorsam, unser Problem ist ziviler Gehorsam."  - Howard Zinn
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
June 09, 2012, 08:26:39 AM
 #136

A few more questions: Did you run the portable version off a USB stick, or your hard drive? It's supposed to unpack all Python files into a subdirectory (the Electrum-P folder), next to the executable (elec055-portable.exe). Did it do that?

EDIT: Note that in portable mode, the executable doesn't need the -w parameter. It will automatically use the wallet file (electrum.dat) located in the same directory. Sorry, I should have mentioned this.
Indeed, I installed it on a USB Stick. (without -w)
During the unpacking process, it locked up. I had to shutdown.


Hi,

could you try this new portable version (elec055a-portable.exe) from your USB drive?
(SHA1: fef79d30fb663465af38211ab272dcafdf7dde93)

also keep in mind that USB throughput is usually much lower than a local hard disk,
so the unpacking process takes a bit longer (but shouldn't exceed 30-45 seconds).

Do you have the same issue with it?

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
bitcats
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008



View Profile
June 09, 2012, 11:56:18 AM
 #137

Thanks, this update works. I could install it on the stick.

When I open the console (shift) it shows some strange letters: electrum -w ÄIÜÊlectrumêlectrum.datÄ -o addresses

"Unser Problem ist nicht ziviler Ungehorsam, unser Problem ist ziviler Gehorsam."  - Howard Zinn
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
June 09, 2012, 12:22:53 PM
 #138

Thanks, this update works. I could install it on the stick.

OK that's good news!

Quote
When I open the console (shift) it shows some strange letters: electrum -w ÄIÜÊlectrumêlectrum.datÄ -o addresses


Hmm, that codepage thing again... I'll investigate and fix it in the next release (perhaps later today, or tomorrow)

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
June 09, 2012, 01:23:11 PM
 #139

OK, do you still get the bad characters with this one?  (Yes, this is 0.56!)

SHA1 093637ca269b6024e35b5dc92a61b97262f845d0

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
bitcats
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008



View Profile
June 09, 2012, 02:14:10 PM
 #140

Now i get this:  electrum -W Ä..#..#..#..#electrum.datÄ -o addresses
And no colors.

"Unser Problem ist nicht ziviler Ungehorsam, unser Problem ist ziviler Gehorsam."  - Howard Zinn
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!